(2008/06) June 2008

mylittleprince,
actually i also dont know how bb hipcups feels like

tera,
didnt sleep well last nite is it?i couldnt sleep well too, my son sleeps in between us a few nights in the week, and he is already going to be 8yrs old, and very tough, his legs are strong, and likes to kick, i was worried that he may kick my tummy, so quite alert all night, and the frequent visit to the toilet makes me tired

hi muffin
Congrats.. i wish my little one head down too...

My little one still dun want to turn head down and his head is slightly big for his size, head showing week 36 though im only wk 33.. hence gynae is concerned that bb head may turn out too big for me come full term to have a natural delivery....so 2 weeks later gg to have a detailed growth and doppler scan, if by then his head still big and not down yet.. likely to have c-sect at week 38 which is from 15-20 may, 1 more mth!!
Showed my colleagues bb's 4D picture taken ydae.. they all say he has inherited my big nose, haiz duno to be happy or sad

hi ellysia
be careful when u wear maternity support belt, coz if you wear too tight or improper, you might impede baby growth or not good for your uterus..dis is wat i heard from mrs wong when i went to ask her regarding maternity support belt...

fennie,
yah, got up 2 times to go toilet. then most of the time i found myself sleeping on my back, i will turn to sleep on my left. but after a while sure go back to my sleeping on my back again. think plus i din adjust my pillows properly last nite.

Now, i found my bb likes to start practising her kicking at around 4am plus. It had been few days since she started to woke up and kick around tat period, causing me to wake up as well then had urge to go pee.
Then i'm not able to sleep back and i had to wake up at 5plus.

morning ladies!

there's a talk at suntec organised by parkway group of hosp rite?

anyone has any idea where to see the details? any website?

Tera,
so far, i have been sleeping on my back, its the most comfortable position, i dont feel comfortable sleeping on my sides, i also got up to toilet 2 times, eventhough i went once b4 go to bed and didnt drink much water at night,sign....

fennie,
haha..i nvr go durian feast yday lah..but went to giant to buy 3 packs of durian to my fren's place n eat..damn shiok..haha..

zuen,
i also dunno leh..he said normal..so i ok lor..he said during tis stage the weight taken actually not very accurate..the measurement taken in later stage then more accurate..n now bb can grow up to 500grams in a week..so let's c if there's any increase in 2weeks time when i go back for appt again lor..

mog,
it's ook lah if u dun like durian..we can go somewhere else lor..hehe...

Felicia,

Usually when i wake up to pee, i ored need to take some time to fall back to sleep liao. I am a light sleeper, so i suppose it be the same for me to walk to bb room or just to walk within our bedroom.

Besides, the problem is if bb cot is in our bedroom, the cot position may be facing the air-con and is no good for bb, so we may have to switch off air-con to sleep.

Then most problem is the cot is ored installed inside the bb room now. If want to change, have to ask hb to dissemble it and take to master bedroom then assemble again.

Ellysia, maybe you can get a moses basket for your bb to sleep in, in the master bedroom?

Or else, get a single bed for your bb's room so that you can be there with him at night?

Cos if you need time to fall back asleep, walking to and fro during the nights, you may not get much rest at all.. no joke. You can continue leaving the cot in bb's nursery. Makes most sense that way.

Morning Ladies

Ellysia
yr bb cot no wheels is it?? Its easy for me to push around the bb cot coz bought wif wheels one....

now i prefer to sleep on my back and put pillow below my tigh.....much better....

cactus,

buying a basket for bb to put in our room, then cot will be wasted.

I tink i will try out during ML. If really tired, then i can consider the single bed option. thks for giving me tat idea...
though i dun really like having to sleep on another bed cos i always have back problem, will miss my simmons bed badly :p

Most likely may only get mattress in bb room if need to sleep with bb.. getting a bed will use up space then waste the bed also.

danryan

ellysia has problem pushing it in n out of the bedrm door.. cos the bb cot she bot is too big..

mine is not here yet.. not sure whether it can be wheeled in n out of the door oso..

Dan,

Got wheels. But stupid us, when we buy we didn't realise the HDB bedroom door space is too small for the bb cot to move in and out of room.

Morning ladies, sian leh....yesterday my ofc drilling and hammering. End up my boss ask me to go home. today drilling outside my ofc....hopefully dun come in, if not ive to escape again

babycupid,

My bb cot is one of the big ones i tink, the mattress i bot from kiddy i have to get the biggest size.

We didn't realise it is tat big, the cot looks fine to us and it is really v nice and wat we like.. sigh. now got this headache problem.

maybe i just waste my sleep for the 6mths for bf lor.. walk to and fro lor..no choice.
i guess it be no different from the tired felt during pregnancy.

at most still can drink tea or coffee tat time, now can't even drink such beverages.

my colleague who just finish her bf for 7mths, she said finally can sleep well cos since pregnancy haven't been able to sleep well.

babyjo

At least yr boss ask u to go home! My office got drilling, they never bother to ask me to escape. my colleagues dun even bother.

ellysia,
icic.. i oso nvr go take note whether it can be wheeled in n out of the bedrm door.. mine oso quite big leh.. nvm lor.. the most dismantle it again..

Really have to train bb to sleep alone from young..

last time my younger bro sleep with my parents bec' i want a room for myself. Then as he get used to sleeping with them, he doesn't want to move out later on. So even though now my room at my mum house is empty, no one is using the room. my bro still prefer to sleep with my parents.

I started to sleep alone at Pri 3 bec' my brother is just born tat time and v noisy always cry so i request for a bedroom for myself.

ellysia,

In fact i had the same problem as you. During my #1, we let our bb sleep on bb cot (my collegue passed to me), then we passed to another relative and it was spoilt so we brought a playpen this round. And this playpen oso had problem in passing thru the bedroom door.
So, my mil proposed to let my bb sleep with her so just left the playpen at her room. But then i was still considering if i want to latch on during the nite. If i plan to latch on, maybe i'll sleep in our guest room with bb then just left the playpen there. If not, i'll let my mil take care of my bb during the nite then i juz expressed BM.
Who help you to do confinement? I think most importantly, you must consider if u really plan to let bb latch on during the nite or u plan to express out only, then u can arrange bb sleep place.

babycupid

actually the bed seems easy to dismantle and assemble again one. my hb said all use screws v easy, no need drilling.

ellysia,
i tink shld be easy.. everything take a step at a time bah.. we shall see which works the best when bb is born.. now still unknown..

Zuen, mylittleprince, fennie
So my case is same as littleprince, head still not down. Doc says ok still cos lots of room for him. Last nite felt the same pulse constant pulse throbbing on my left pelvic (which initially tot is hiccups). Now since head not there. maybe is the pulse of the cord tat bah. But this is the time (week31) that he starts to move alot n smtx lopsided so obvious n tighten me. Maybe trying to turn.

Felicia,

My mum proposed tat i leave bb in bb room and she will sleep inside the room during confinement. if bb cry, she will wake me up and feed bb. she want me to have more rest cos i won't need to wake up unless bb want feed.

My mum also proposed tat she help me to feed occasionally during the night so tat i can sleep more. so i may express out a bit too.

Maybe this is an idea lor.. if after my mum move back to her house, i can try to express then ask hb to feed bb if bb cry. my hb is a better sleeper, he can sleep anywhere and immediately one..

tats provided i won't get engorgement for sleeping throughout for 6 hours at night.

hi iamsnow and ioio
My friend worked out approximate shipping charges liao... Comes up to abt S$48 - S$50 per FP cot mobile plus shipping... still cheaper than singapore price of S$99. Still have 3 FP cot mobile available... if order now just nice

Ellysia, if you are breastfeeding, try not to drink too much coffee/tea cos have caffeine which can pass through breast milk. also, best is to take non-diary products in case your child develops colic/allergy.

actually, buying a moses basket is not a bad idea... cos if you bring bb outside to friends' home/ILs/Parents' home, you will need to place bb somewhere comfortable where bb is used to. Maybe can consider getting a moses basket for master bedroom, then leave the cot in bb's nursery. When bb is bigger, and can cry louder, no need moses basket already.. just use cot in the other room, leave the doors open. I think for first time parents, very anxious about child, best is to have bb next to them.

babycupid,

ya u are right. first i dun even know whether i can successfully breastfeed or not. Secondly, dunno can dong until 6mths or not. maybe end up formula feed after so much talk on breastfeeding.

i am considering once no need bf, i will ask hb to help feed bb more often liao.. he fall to sleep much better.

cactus,

unlikely to bring moses basket out so often. We will get a playpen for my MIL house bec' she be taking care of bb after my ML. As for my parents house, i hardly go bec' my parents house v small, so normally my parents visit me instead.

Go to fren house, we usu meet frens outside, dun always visit their house one.

also, if bb is used to sleep in the basket, will bb want to sleep in cot later?

cactus,

My mum will only be sleeping in bb room for 1 mth, ie. during confinement.

i am considering wat to do after 1mth.

Originally my mum propose to stay for 2mths but later she tink she may not want to stay so long liao.

ellysia,

My hubby jus like ur hubby! Can sleep anywhere and immediately. And he snore loudly too! haha....
He can even fall asleep while feeding bb.

My mil oso said, ask me to expressed out then she bottle feed during nite, easier. And then i can had my own waking up schedule, so at least i wont keep waking up juz to check on bb. But pity my mil, had to frequently wake up and she's much much light sleeper than me.

Ellysia, sorry.. I read your post wrongly.. I thought your mom will be with you for 6 months. I think it's not that bad... use that 1 month to decide what you want to do and your comfort level. I know of some parents who are very reluctant to leave bb alone in their room even with bb monitor. They don't sleep well actually cos they worry constantly about bb. The thing most first time parents do is to have the newborn by their side. Ehtier they go to the newborn's room or they bring the newborn to them. actually, in my case, I will be looking after the bb myself although there is a maid and my MIL/dad to help out.

About the bb being used to basket and refuse the cot, you can have the bb sleep in the cot during the day, and in the basket during the night. It's the same thing... having a play pen at your ILs' place. Your bb may not take it the play pen so readily if your bb is used to only the cot right?

Felicia,

Yup if we expressed at night, we can expressed at our own timing. Just put alarm clock and maybe no need to wake up so often.

Maybe this idea is better. i will try to express at my own timing then suan bian check on bb during tat time. Then will keep the milk for hb to feed bb when bb cry.

Though i am a light sleeper, i always have prob waking up in the morning. My hb is always the one who wake up at alarm clock and wake me up one.

Hi ladies...

Ellysia,
we can just do out best for BF lor...I also worried that i won't hv much milk...Going to get a tin of FM to standby...

All,
Which brand of FM u all getting for NB?

hi roxy, you guys ordering together? can reserve 1 unit for me? jux to confirm, tis is the one rite? Rainforest Peek-a-Boo Leaves Musical Mobile by Fisher-Price. let me know how to make the payment.. internet bank transfer?

cactus,

Tat is an idea too.

1st mth my mum will take care..
2nd - 3rd mth, can have alternative sleeping arrangements.
4th - 6mth, day go MIL house, night we take back to our house.

dear ladies,

thks for so much ideas on the sleeping arrangement..

Now i got more ideas to explore liao.

I guess i try to experiment with bb monitor first. Then if really v worried or bad sleep due to walking to and fro too much, i tink can either express milk out or have bb to sleep in basket/shift bb cot to master bedroom.

if no BM and formula feed, then just leave it all to hb haaaa :p

Ellysia, if u r keen to breastfeed bb, my suggestion is let ur bb dictate what time he wants to drink milk. That's the best way to encourage milk supply. At least, that's what I've learnt from reading books and speaking with people who have breastfeed for months/years. For newborns, fully on breastmilk, they need to feed every 2 to 3 hours. formula fed bbs take longer time to digest the milk though...

i dont intend to get any formula at all, because like that, I will have no excuse or backup plan, just have to suceed in bf

babyjo,

yes NAN is close to BM, colleague say if BB is senstive to FM can give NAN instead. But i understand from them tat Similac provides most nutrients, but it may cause constipation so understand shd give lesser than recommended dosage.

BabyJo, the taste of breastmilk for different ladies may be different cos the food that we take will affect the taste of our own breastmilk. But if you look at breastmilk and FM through glass containers, you will see 2 sections of breastmilk (1 thicker milkier section and the other is thinner watery milk) vs FM (homogenoues throughout). This again, I hear from experienced mothers lah.