(2008/06) June 2008

Linda,

I am quite sure TMC does not provide disposable panties as the pre-natal class got said so.

feifei,

letter on EDD is for my HR to apply for ML. I tink most company require that, do check with yr co.

crystal,

thks.. i haven't check with my gynae on fenugreek. Cos haven't decide want to buy or not. i tot i dun buy first, then if BM supply not v ideal then i will ask hb to go amk hub gnc to buy for me.. cos its v nearby my house.

how much is yr fenugreek?

cactus,

oic, thks. in this case we need to get a car seat liao. wat is booster seat?

is it safe to put bb in car seat? if we put bb in car seat then hb drive, so we shd sit behind with bb and not the front seat right?

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

my ger refuses to sit inside the car seat herself so therefore i wil either sit behind with her or leave her with the maid who is sitting behind &amp; usually i think the TP will be lenient on this issues unless u are sitting in the front pax seat den maybe TP wil den warn

&amp; booster seat is for bigger toddlers </font>

Ellysia,
booster seat is for older kids,those who cant squeeze into car seat anymore, but according to SG regulations, kid have to use booster until they reach like 7yrs old, not sure if i am correct on the regulations, maybe those fulltime driving will know better

Ellysia, booster seat is just something a small child sits on to make him higher up and he also wears the normal seat belt. I had it when I was younger. hated it!!

It is definatley safe to put bb in car seat but you need to train him from young. He needs to know if he wants to get into a car, he needs to be restrained. So even if it is not your car, say your parents/ILs' car, he needs to be put in a car seat. I think the best is to have the car seat follow the bb and not the car cos you never know when who may pick up your bb.

Depends on the size of your car, whether the car seat is front or rear facing, and whether there are air bags behind or infront of the car. Usually car seat is placed behind but in some situations, can be placed in front. depends on your car and the type of seat.

to share more about car seats - there are seats from newborn onwards, then from 9 months onwards. Booster seats are usually from 3 years old onwards. erm, there are some car seats/prams like maxi cosi. If you've not bought your pram, can consider those type.. cos no need to place your bb into the seat when he gets into the car. just need to unfasten the baby carrier, and place it as a car seat in your car (but note this is only for newborns to 9 months).

also, car seats in singapore are not regulated. but they are sold according to whether they have passed european safety standards. Some of them are approved in Europe, others are not. honestly, I feel if you only drive short distances and don't really go to Malaysia, it is okay to have bb in non-European approved car seats.

Anyone has bought those nursing bras with underwire support? Heard that this will prevent sagging boobs while still able to breastfeed easily while outside. Went to a shop yesterday and it's selling like $59.90 apiece.

Pls share if u have any lobangs to get these at a cheaper price.

mylittleprince, jux something to share..i learnt fr breastfeeding class tt it's better to avoid underwire bra.. esp if u hv engorgement, it's killing...

my littleprince, i was told underwire may cause blocked ducts. not good as may worsen infection. For good support, you can consider buying cras with very wide straps.

mylittleprince,
so far, have just been using non wire ones, have not tried the ones with underwire support.if you are also looking for non underwire ones, someone posted that you can get it @$5.90 per piece at punggol area, but not sure if its punggol plaza, yesterday i saw some at giant, at $9.90 per piece, you can also check it out at triump outlets, kiddy palace,maybe marks n spencer too

Roxy -
She didnt ask us to bend our knees but rotate the pelvis only. However, during the class, she said dun rock too much if not we will give birth.
Later I will check with my gynae for more info.

crystal,
Thanks for your info on the fenugreek. Coz i was quite worry when i saw in the book written overdose will cause colic in baby but i'm not sure wat amt is overdose. Anyhow, might consider buying one to standby or wait till delivery.

Car seat : my ger oso dont like to sit in the car seat and i had to use cane to force her sit on it. But with this #2, if i were to put 2 car seat, i think nobody can sit behind liao, so even thugh my ger is not yet 3 yrs, maybe will change her to boaster seat soon.
Btw, i heard from my hubby, his collegue kana demerit point and fine due to his kid was not strap to the car seat leh.

<font color="0000ff">fenugeek

did not work on some of my gfrens though.. so its really individual.. i think the diet contributes more like drinking papaya cooked with fish </font>

cactus

thk u. me and hb considering to get a car, so we considering to get a car seat. My FIL do drive also, but unlikely he will ferry our bb cos he need the car for his business.

I also dunno wat car seat to get, whether can fit or not.. do u measure yr car before u go buy car seat or u just trial and error?

So how, if hb drive i shd sit behind with bb right.. not v safe to sit in front then leave bb behind unattended.

Morraine,

For me fenugreek will be my 'standby' list as during my 1st pregnancy i had hard time looking for the green papaya. I dare not taking pill to increase the BM as seems like there's side effect. I remember cactus even mentioned thre's pill to establish BM oso but not sure if the pill is the same i saw in one of the thread here.

In fact saw the breastfeeding for dummies, said that 1st week after delivery, our diet is very important to establish our BM. Once our BM is establish, frequent latch on or expressing will help to build up the BM.

Felicia, maybe you can get a smaller car seat for your #2? Booster seat is a good idea too.

Ellysia, my car seat is for newborn to 4 years old. Not european safety tested though.Very cheap. only $130+ from kiddy palace. We dun have our own car but will need car seat for those occassional trips between our parents' homes.

cactus,

Most probably wont get a new car seat for #2, coz will be too waste on $$. Coz i still had a baby carrier which can temporary use as car seat. Just tat i'm not sure is is legal for my ger whom is still under 3 yrs old to use a boaster seat or not?

<font color="0000ff">felicia

my ger is not sitting on a booster seat all the time leh.. she refuse to.. so only strapped her to the seat belt </font>

Felicia, I dun know about age for booster seat but I believe it is a height issue also. I see if I can get info from LTA website? If can, I'll put it on this forum.

<font color="0000ff">ellysia

get a car seat which can fit into ur car booth oso impt in times when u dun need to use it, at least it can be stored behind

hi cactus,

I checked the LTA website which refer to traffic police. so i checked traffic police website and it does not say must have booster seat or not. Just a car seat for any kids below 8 years.

Thanks for the clarification, Ellysia.
I think that answers Felicia's concern - if booster seat is suitable for her daughter in terms of weight/height, then age may not be such a big factor.

Ellysia,
yeah yeah.. ur bb oso 1.9kg.. same same.. same gynae.. same gender.. haha..

I have received the admission letter le.. and my bb head is down for the 1st time.. the past scans all is not head down.. so my gynae said most likely he will stay.. keeping my fingers cross..

my understanding is booster seat is suitable for bigger sized/older kids. car seats generally are suitable for kids up to 3 or 4 years old. depending on the make of the seat. There is also a weight issue too.

In Singapore, TP is not that strict, but can never tell when they will issue summons loh. better play safe than sorry. that's how I feel. if kid is very ver yfussy and refuse to be in the seat, at least just keep the seat in the car boot to plead for compassion with TP... better than no car seat at all.

<font color="0000ff">usually TP wil give verbal warning first.. and oso its only when u come across road block if not i dun think u wil end up having him to notice the kiddo</font>

Morraine,

Can meh? Coz i tot is compulsory for kid below 8yrs must either use boaster or car seat? In fact i got a collegue, nvr use any car seat or boaster seat for her son. And she's real lucky, untill now, her son in P1, nvr meet any TP.

ellysia,

Agreed with Mor tat get a car seat can fit into car booth is important. When we brought the car seat, we nvr consider this factor, so, everytime we had to struggle trying to put the car seat into car booth.

babycupid,

how come u ored got the admission letter?
Btw, u have ored book yr ward room right?

I booked a month ago but i cannot remember whether we paid any deposit or not. Did u remember whether u paid any deposit yet?

Felicia and Morraine,

how to ensure the car seat can fit in or not? need to check our own car measurements before buying the car seat?

felicia,
i have used car seat for my #1 when he was younger, but remember when he was 4yrs old, already nvr use car seat or any booster, nvr meet any TP

Wow so fast, I came back from lunch and meeting, this forum is on a new page liao.

TF and Bizz,
Maybe we should park alternative plus go by alternative route. We usu go by PIE then CTE. Btw, the goodies like very inconsistent leh, since Bizz only got 1 piece.

Bizz,
The BM list is on the 1st page of the notes.

Cactus,
Hope you are feeling better! Take care.

Felicia,
Yes yes, the spree lady's asking me to transfer $ to her quick. :p Yah, I KS lah, ordered more bags.

ya u gauge from ur own car booth how big and spacious lor.. for my car, i jus dump at the last row of the seat coz my booth is pathetic</font>

Hi Fennie &amp; ioio, during the confinement period, will be wearing those non-wired ones. Think I will wear non-wired ones till the milk supply is stable. Just thought of getting those wired nursing bras to provide better support after that. So u gals just buy those non-wired nursing bras and other than that, it's the normal bras?

morraine,

most likely we cannot afford a big car so maybe booth also small small too. see how. i want to pester hb to buy it faster cos dunno whether i have energy to move around next mth or not.

Btw, any car seat can fit in any car or got specific sizes?

ellysia
wif my 2 sons around i cannot sit in front liao....both sit right and left and me stuck in between them wif their car seat &amp; booster....but to tell u the truth no toddler like to seat in the car seat....been trying and persuading my 2nd son now going to b 3yrs old this august....to seat on his car seat end up want to stand or seat on my lap....so if my hb want to go to his granny hse....my hb didn't bring along my 2nd son...only the eldest sit in the booster...so now at least he can sit on his car seat but.....only in short distance he can tahan....or else been crying asking to release the belt....newborn are not advisable to put the car seat in front (next to driver).

usually its abt the same sizing.. but bear in mind if u get a too big car seat den end up u wil lose one seat space to store it when u dun need to use it</font>

mylittleprice,

i have wired nursing bras which i now wearing it sometimes cos my non-wired bras is not enuff for whole week usage.

The problem with wired bra is tat once yr breast expand, the wire sometimes cut into the breast and cause pain. Cos u need to wear extension but the wire does not fit nicely for yr breast liao.
Then i understand tat our breasts will further expand during breastfeeding, so not advisable to get wired ones. I regretted and now i am slowly buying non-wired (but got shape one so the nipple can't be seen from clothes). I ored got non-wired ones for home use.

morraine,

thks.. ya now i realise one seat most likely can't be taken with a car seat strapped on.. then seems like the car model which hb is interested can only sit 2 person or maybe 3 slim person behind.

Dan,

thks.. tat means i shd put bb in back seat then i sit besides him in case. In tat case, hard to ferry my mum and brother too dunno got space or not.

ellysia,

I think the best measurement is can get the physical car seat and put in ur car to do some testing before buying but i'm not sure if the seller is ok with it or not lah. Coz i think is quite hard to judge by seeing, even measurement oso not sure how to take.

Morraine,
i get wat u mean liao. So sometime is either 'heng' or 'suai' thing loh. hehe.....

oic.. den get one can slot inside car booth one ba den at least at times u need to ferry ur mom or bro den u jus carry the bb?

felicia

ha ha ya!!</font>

talking abt car seat..i also hvnt buy leh..but kind of decided to get the 1 from britax..cos dunno where my hb get a 15% disc for buying car seat @ mothercare..since got disc we thinking of utilising dat lor..but dunno can fit into my car anot lah..

mylittleprince,
as i intend to breastfeed my bb for at least 6 months, so i will be only wearing nursing bras for those 6 months cos its easier for me to bf the bb, i actually also bought few pieces which are strapless, like a tube bra, freesize one, as i have bought some nursing tops which are spagetti straps, and also racer back design, cant wear normal nursing bras with those tops

Ellysia, thanks for sharing on that! HENG arh, I haven't buy any wired nursing bras yet. I'm usually wearing non-wired bras at home and it's super comfy.