(2008/06) June 2008

bizz,
i don want early maternity leh.. but its my HR manager they need apply something from MOM so they asked me when i'm going to start my maternity leave loh... my HR very Kiasu nia~

bizz,
so now i have to estimated the date come out loh... and later need apply my maternity leave also... how i know my bb will out early or later.. sianz

TF,
true lor...haiz, really alot to learn..

K Ong,
tks ger....cos after eating curry, body hot hot hor =)..hee

Tera,
its painful...cos imagine the nurse puts her finger in all the way into ur V leh...yucks...i scare lor, bery pain cos 1st time mah..

liew,
yah lor..so stupid leh..come to think of it..i think i better check wif my admin on this also..my HR is in sydney..dunno wat they will do also..sianz...

Liew
I remember u can even take 1 mth b4 n 1 mth after during the times when ML was only 2 mths. U only nd to get yr supervisor agreed on when u wnt to start. For the gynae letter or approval, I think tat was only requested after the 3 mths ML benefit came effect cos the 3rd mth ML pay is actually paid by govt (nt company) n so the company nd your gynae letter to be submitted wif a form to claim for the 3rd month.

bizz,
i told them also. but they insists want me apply the date early now.. they may scare MOM will not pay back our 3rd mth salary ba... super kiasi...

Liew / bizz
Nt only your HR lah, standard practice by govt to submit the form. Its ok to gv estimate. When ur real maternity start, be it earlier or later, then u call yr HR to officially inform the actual start date.

liew,
haha..yah man..i think dat's the case lah..but for my case ah..HR in Sydney dunno anything 1..we must find out everything on our own..super sian..

tinyfeet,
when we going to received the gynae letter approval? HR need this letter before we start maternity leave or after we bk from 3mths leave?

Tera, bizznow:

we can't check dilation ourselves. Need a doctor or midwife for that. But note that different people may determine dilation differently. It's like the measurement of our tummies with the measuring tape. Different pple have different readings. It's a widely known error. It's "operator" dependent. Dilation is 2cm when cervix is 1 finger width apart, 3cm is 1.5 finger widths apart..

I guess I'll be relying on the timing and duration of the contractions, or will tahan until cannot tahan anymore. Most women who tahan at home will normally go to hospital at about 3cm or 4 cm cos the pain is usually quite great by then.

After 4cm, for 1st time moms, per 1 cm dilation is about 1 to 2 hours. From 7 to 10 cm for 1st time moms, per 1 cm dilation is 1 hour. But this is just a very rough estimate.

Felicia, your back pain is unlikely caused by banana. Your bb is facing outwards looking at your belly button is it? It sounds like your bb's back is rubbing against your spine leh...

I am a mum from Jan 08 thread. I have a Medela DUAL breastpump Mini Electric Plus for sale. I only used it for 1 time as i decided to be a full time mum and will let my bb latch on directly.

I still have unfilled warranty card, which you can fill it by yourself and send it back to Medela in S'pore. I bought this pump in Dec 07, and gave brith in Jan 08. In excellent consition.

Picture of the breastpump: http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/plus.php

Price: S$200 (brand-new is selling at S$305.90 at major department store and Mothercare). I can come with free gift too (Medela Purelan 100 & Infrared Thermometer 4 in 1)

Pls PM me if you are interested.

Liew,earliest you can start ML is 4 weeks before EDD. It's counted as 28 days, I believe, and not 1 calendar month. If have public holidays, it is still part of the 28 days and won't be considered as 28 days + public holidays.

But all this is subject to agreement with your employer.

cactus,tinyfeet,
ya i know abt it. thanks for the information.

so roughly how early all mummies here going to start maternity leave?

Liew : my doc allows me 3 cups of coffee a day ! yippeee

on ML, it differs from Company to company ... ie, for mine, it's stated in the HR policy tt you have to take ML one mth before EDD, unless you obtain a letter from Gynae certifying that you are able to work till EDD.
But my boss encouraged me to take my ML after date of delivery instead of one mth before so that i get to spend more time with baby

Liew
It may be just a letter from your gynae to state your EDD, no need ADD. U may wnt to ask your nurse hw to get this letter. They wld hve been doing. Also, r u aware u can flex your 3rd mth ML if u wnt, nt necessary to take 3 mths in a role. I've nt seen the MCYS Form, let me try n retrieve one from the website. Cos supporting doc is required to be submitted wif the form, thru HR.

Quote:
Employees should give as early a notice as possible
on the expected due date as well as submit early
application on the structure of the maternity leave,
especially if they intend to use the flexibility option
under the Employment Act.

feifei,
i koe how it felt like during the check.. cos my gynae did that to me when i bleed the last time.. bery uncomfortable.. she actually push all the way in to check..

K Ong
Huh, If yr boss can override the HR policy, then why have the HR policy that is out of MOM policy? Is like nt having that HR policy at all right? Or is it to protect those bosses who wnt 1 mth b4 EDD then let them make discretionary approval to staff?

tinyfeet,
ok, so i need to get the EDD letter from gynae rite? think next check up i will get from my gynae liao... thanks lot!

cactus,

juz now, i decide to take a walk around the office as the backache is killing me and i can feel my bb is moving inside. So, now much better liao aft some walking. Maybe the pain was caused by the reason like wat you said loh. Just now, really very uncomfortable.

liew, you may want to make sure you can clear 12 weeks of ML at a go.. if not you may not have enough time to rest and recover esp if your bb arrives late. Bbs can arrive up to 42 weeks...EDD is at 40 weeks.

liew
same to me....if i need to go straight for delivery i will go to hospital....after delivery then i sms my boss....but in my case both deliveries are in the nite so the next morning then spread the news....

TF : i think it's a general policy which also protects the company, cuz most of us will be heavy and big nearing our EDD and *may* take MC here and there right ? So the company obviously wants us to take our ML instead of MC.

K Ong
No, nt in the Employmt Act tat specify. Actually this is the 1st time i come across tat the HR policy specifically say u must take 1 month b4 EDD. So if in past when there was no 3 mths ML, yr colleagues go for 1 mth b4 n 1 mth after? Isnt tat very chiam for the mother n baby

Fennie,

Only able to find one diaper brand..Btw saw that the pigeon wipes is cheap leh at $8.53 for 3 packs.
But we had to purchase above $80 else got delivery charges.

Hi Fennie, I just saw it in today's papers. Until 13 April. That's all I know.. oh.. there may be a infant car seat (9 months to 4 years old) on sale. Forget how much but cheap and thikn it could be baby 1st/safety 1st/lucky baby brand.

cactus,
thks, just wonder if they got bb's things, btw, there will also be a popular sale same day, for those who need to get stationeries for their kids

cactus,
do u noe if there's britax car seats available in the sales anot?? i thinking of getting britax car seat leh..

Fennie, so far for JL expo sales, always have bb stuff. But not sure if they will have a wide range of bb stuff. Usually quite limited. I recall seeing alot of Pur stuff at the last JL sale.

bizznow, I've never seen britax car seats at JL expo sales leh.. Maybe you can call JL store to see if they sell britax car seats at their shops. If they don't carry this brand, it won't be selling at the sale.

bizznow
JL dun carry Britax car seat.. they only carry Maxi Cosi and Lucky Baby I tink.. Only robinsons carry Britax.. that time they were having 15% discount on britax car seat, same as take bb fair.. can check it out

No worries, Fennie. I may be going down this weekend or the next weekend to get bb clothes. I've got clothes up to 6 months old and a couple of going out clothes up to 12 months old, but still need home wear clothes between 6 to 12 months.

Ladies, for bb shoes and booties, I'm thinking of getting from mothercare (booties and and soft shoes), but for shoes, planning to get from clarks cos they appear to be better fitted for growing feet. But these are quite expensive brands - my nephew currently wears Combi. My SIL says it's quite expensive too and no point spending more cos their feet grow quickly. But I feel feet is the most important part of a child's body cos the child is starting to learn how to walk and the shoes support his weight. Does anyone have any thoughts?

Felicia,
Yes, i heard about that too, havent past 1 yr bday cannot wear shoes, but i remembered my #1 was wearing the tigger design shoe when he was aroudn 6 months old, also heard that newborn's hair must be clean shaven at 4 months, but i didnt shave my #1's hair, and he has very thick hair now

Felicia, I don't know about pantang. I don't care either. :p I'm quite keen to have bb start wearing soft booties early cos I noticed nephew having problems with shoes now. he refuses to wear socks. Perhaps it's hot and uncomfortable.