(2008/06) June 2008

zuen
if yr fren already 36weeks now....like my previous 2 pregnancy...i almost to labour liao...both birth 2 weeks early...

Dan,
I oso told her that she might pop anything. Hers is unplanned de, so she super not kan cheong thru'out preggy. Even now, she kip saying that it wun be so soon and said that she is not ready. As of she has the choice. I had been telling her that when she will give birth is her bb choose one, not her. Haha.

TF,
Hb & I oso cannot wait for the day to come. But I will tell hb to not say that bb quickly come out, more so for June to come quickly, hehe. Dun want bb to come out pre-matured.

Fennie,

Me oso encountered pain at lower area leh especially when walking. Sometimes really feel like dont wnat to walk at all.

ZuEn,
Me need to open air-con with fan on as well. Me din cover with any blanket as well but hubby complain he's shivering.

Tera.. yes sorry I mixed you up with TF :p

Zuen, yes prob it's only bb and not contractions yet.. me also super sleepy.. everyday sleep at 10plus but every morning wake up still super tired.. always middle of nite wake to pee or toss and turn cun sleep well... i also wish time will pass very fast for us now too

tera,
i think cramp has nothing got with high salt intake leh..i think more on too little salt..i also get cramps last week..once in my left then my right...i think if we nvr try to straighten or stretch our legs too much hor..the cramp wont come leh..cos i tried wat lynda suggested..tried to bend ur leg when u wanna get wake..it works lor..so maybe u can try also..

bizznow, I used to have leg cramps when I was a teenager cos I did alot of sports. I realised increasing sale intake helped. Eating bananas also helps. I remember reading somewhere that cramps are caused by electrolye imbalance (for example, when we pespire). I'm not sure if cramping during pregnancy is the same cause, but perhaps you may want to try taking bananas too? Or food rich in potassium.

cactus
what u wrote is correct...my doc also told me not to rush ourelves to hospital...and don't waste yr time there....time and monitor the contraction....

for my experience....when i had the contraction....i was at home....from 5am already felt the contraction then abt 8pm then i go to hospital by 1255am my 1st son was born....while the 2nd son i was in the office....when walking to mrt stn to work i already felt the back pain and in the office most of the time i sat and do my work while the contraction on and off and the timing was a big gap too....my boss told me to go home but i told him its ok still can tahan....by 3pm called my doc and told him wat happen...he instruct me to hospital straightaway...but i went home wait for my hubby to come back home...by 715pm i went to hospital and 1005pm my 2nd son lai liao....so happy no need to wait n waste time in the hospital...both when check in the staff pushed me straight to labourward

cactus,
i think could be due to the same reason..but hor..i dun like to eat banana leh..hehe..but i try to lah..normally i eat half then half give my hb since he's a banana freak..haha..

Danryan, it's good that your doctor tell you that. I think alot of doctors don't bother telling their mothers this. Leaving it to the mothers to hear from what the midwives say at antenatal classes. The midwives are not wrong, but they tend to err on the side of caution. but everyone is entitled to know the facts and make their decision based on the facts. My SIL went for the classes and even after her doctor told her to go home, she decided to stay to be monitored in hospital (cos her company will pay for the delivery bill so she didn't care if she stayed in labour ward for more than 8 hours) but she regrets it now and wished she had stayed at home longer.

I hope to be like you also.. that's why planning to work all the way up till delivery.. I share an office with a colleague who is a mother of 2. I warned her that I may work through the very early stage of labour.. she was very appalled! :p

dan,
so gd leh..both ur pregnancy so short time only for the labour process..i envy sia..

back from lunch. *BIG Yawn*

bizz and cactus,
thanks gals, ok, am a little confused here but interestingly, my coll mentioned just now that cramps was due to not enough salt as well. so i think i shld increase my salt intake moderately. yes, bananas should help, learn that from my PE teacher in sec school. hehe. apparently it's the potassium in the bananas that will help curb cramps.

Dan/TF/Zuen/Fennie and many more,
Hehe, seems like many of us cannot wait for May/June to come. Let's count down to our D-Day together! Jia you, everyone!!

bizznow, bananas work for cramps cos they are rich in potassium. Maybe you can do some research to see what other food contains alot of potassium and eat more of them? Don't eat seaweed though, excessive iodine is not good for bb. Another thing you can do is to make a banana smoothie for yourself! Milk and banana is really good for you and bb!

i feel so shiok now..drinking my favourite black forest mocha from coffee bean..without whip cream..shiok ah..hehe..

Ellysia,
tks ger =)..

Cactus,
tink by wk 36, its anytime our bb will pop out liao...after i finish my hospitalisation leave this mth end, i will be wk 36 liao, scary lor...mayb no need to go bk office until after my ML...hee..

Danryan,
wow, bery good hor...but the contractions bery uncomfy leh...esp when our back aching...

Tera,Ellysia,
I also feel so hot these days, on aircon everynite...hb covers his head lor..hee

cactus,
banana with milk is a no no for me lah..i dun like milk leh..i dun smoothie 1..cos the milk smell very strong lah..i only drink ice blended mocha from coffee bean..the rest of the drinks with milk hor..i sure avoid 1..even milo i drink milo-o..without milk..hehe..

Cactus
This is true. Just heard fr my ex-colleague y'day who delivered 2nd child in Jan. She had Natural w/o Epi. So i was asking her hw is the pain, etc. And so describe to me her drama.

When she had #1, she went to hospital cos sign of little bleed. She tot she delivering soon, but ended up false alarm. Nt sure if she stayed or ask to go home. But even if she stayed, the labour was long n she had epidural. So did nt experience wat is contraction.

So for her 2nd, her same gynae told her tis time dun go hospital so early. So this time when she bleed again as sign of delivery, she had scan n showed that the baby nt engaged yet. So stay at home and observe. Next day, she starts to feel the cramp, but becos gynae told her its ok n she can rest, she continue to endue the cramp. Until at abt evening, she sense the baby is coming out and told her husband she needs to go hospital. Was dinner time n hubby also said to have dinner then go hospital, but she said she cant tahan cos each time she get the cramp interval, she stop n cant walk, but when the contraction over, she can walk n talk still. So they had dinner, send the #1 to SIL house then head to hospital at abt 8:30pm. So actually throughout, she was going thru the contraction n baby is getting engaged.

So when she called arrive and the nurse check her, she was abt 3-4cm dilated. She was asking the nurse if she needs epidural n the nurse say since she can still talk and have gone thru half the contraction, looks like she can endure w/o epidural. So then gynae make her way to TMC n just when the gynae arrive, just nice 10cm dilated for delivery.

So the morale of the story is the earlier we admit ourselves on first sign of contraction, the gan cheong we will be and may delay our contraction. Also, when in hospital, we are more tense wif the tots n likely to opt for epidural. But if u r at home n take your time going thru the 1st n 2nd stage contraction, the higher chance that it will be natural w/o epi. So mommies who hope for natural w/o epi, do consider this tip. Of course, remember safety for mum n baby come 1st.

I tot a gd one to share

feifei, good leh!! If you don't need to go back to office until after ML! I envy!!!

babycupid, my MIL told me not to eat bananas cos too cooling or something like that. but I never experienced any cramping even when eating bananas during 1st trimester so I guess it depends from person to person. If you dun experience cramping now, maybe you can eat? I don't think there is any scientific reason not to eat bananas although bananas are very high in starch so may not be good if we are overweight, bb too big, or if our blood sugar is too high.

Dan,
I will pray for my labour to be like yours, hehe! Was asking my mum how long was her first labour, she told me 12 hours. *faintz* Cos I not sure if labour time is hereditary or not, but just curious in case it is. Then the way my mum described was both funny and scary, said in KK last time, all the pregnant women in labour will be lying on the beds in one row and all groaning and moaning in pain and the nurses (who were v fierce last time) will come and check in on them from time to time and shout instructions at them.

Cactus/babycupid
Its the Del Monte bananas that are cooling. The local bananas are ok.

Tera
Mrs Wong did mentioned sthg abt the ingredients in these 2 bananas too rite (the local n Del Monte). Cos she said but Ang Moh preggies also eat Del Monte, no problem.

tera,
i hope the labour is not herediatry lor..hehe..i heard from my mum dat i was nearly delivered in the lift..the hospital lift broke down when she abt to give birth to me..luckily got ppl outside the lift..they managed to make a small opening n my mum n grandma had to climb up and get out through the small opening..luckily her tummy is small..or else i jia lat..confirm born in the lift..haha..so i think better dun be herediatry..scared i will end up like her..hehe..

TF, thanks for sharing. The exception would be mothers who need to be closely monitored during labour for certain health reasons lah. Best is to check directly with your own doctor but general advice is to labour outside hospital setting first. And don't request for epidural until you are past 4cm but before 6cm. Epidural given too early will prolong labour and increases chance that it is an emerg c-section.

For mothers who are pro natural without epidural, try to understand from your doctor what are the steps he'd be taking to facilitate the delivery and how long is he prepared to wait for each stage to occur before intervening.

I understnad that certain interventions such as breaking waterbag, augementing contractions, inducing labour, are likely to increase chance of emerg c-section. For example, if waterbag is artificially burst, bb MUST come out within a certain amount of time. but waterbag will normally burst if contractions are strong enough.

cactus,
hehe, yeah i thot it sounded kind of strange when i said i would up my salt intake cos like u said, it could lead to high BP. alrighty, will stick to bananas.

babycupid,
i have been taking bananas on-off during pregnancy. so far ok. u prob have heard this, just avoid del monte bananas (tho i am not sure how true it is).

feifei,
how u feeling today? better? rest well ya? not that i am wishing to be in a situation like urs, but i was very envious of ur 30days HL wor. hehe.

tera,
yah..i remembered mrs wong said we must avoid Del Monte banana..the small local 1s are safe for consumption..

Tera, I think labour may be herediatry to the extent that we may take after our mothers' pelvic bone structure.. :p But if our moms had a hard time, doesn't mean we have an easy time and vice versa cos our bbs may be a diff size from us.

TF, I've eaten more Del Monte than normal chinese bananas. Never had any problems, so I think is different for every woman. i've had problems with water chestnut early 2nd trimester ... after I stopped having probs with watermelon and coconut. But now, water chestnut also no probs. Cannot explain why..

TF,

I just eaten one del monte banana during lunch hr leh. Actually my mil warned me not take any big size banana but i'm not sure whwther this del monte is under the category of 'big size' banana or not leh.

Babycupid,

I did ask my Gyne before, she say can eat, so i eat loh. Think eat in moderate shld be ok. As bananas got alots produce of energy for us. so shld be fine if we eat in moderate ba.

TF and Cactus,
Thanks for sharing. I did wonder about checking into hosp too early and then having to wait there till fully dilated. So now, will try to endure 1st and 2nd stage at home, unless other conditions prevent eg water bag burst.

bizz,
wah, ur mum's delivery quite drama leh, almost happened in lift!

Cactus
Yap, those wif baby or mommy health reasons must may nt be able to afford this drama at home cos nd to watch safety of either baby n mommy on the complications.

Del Monte
I do knw Del Monte bananas may cause wind in stomach. But for some if can eat even without cramp, means u body can sustain. Tat y, the ang moh eat no problem cos they duno wat is local banana.

Felicia
I knw there are some local bananas tat are also bigger but nt Del Monte ones.

Cactus,
I see. So I guess it's more of timing the contractions till they are 5 min apart. Sorry for the silly qn huh, will we be able to check the dilation ourselves?

Tera & all

Both deliveries are normal delivery, gynea breaks the waterbag.....no epidural. The 1st birth is normal but use forcep....and the doc is not my gynea....my gynea went Melaka for holiday but i can call him as an when during pregnancy time......now the 3rd one due on June so i have ask him whether he is going for holiday...luckily he going on end June.....

Tera,
Ahyo, beta dun envy cos hor, the steriod jabs really painful lor...for once, i told myself 1 bb is enough...hee =).. But when i passby the nursery, saw e bbs there so cute and innocent, all pain forgotten again..hehe...

TF,
wow, tks for sharing e story...so meaning we also can't go to the hospital too early lor..

Cooling:
Really depends on individual. Some of us are the too Ying n some too Yang extreme. Like for me, i can't take cooling stuff too much, cos i will get mense cramp even b4 pre-preggie. So this like sugar cane, pineapple, DelMonte, etc.. I cant take.

So for those who has gd balance or can take liang, shd be ok wif all these stuff. So really go by your body all these years

cactus,
but u dunno whether u dilated 3cm oredi anot mah..unless the gynae checked lah..so how to determine dat??

cactus,

Now, my whole body is aching especially my back , not sure was it coz of the banana leh. But i just taken it during lunch, shldnt be so soon for the reaction. But i'm feeling uncomfortable now, even bend a bit can feel the pain at back. *sigh*

Tera,
cfm we can't check dilation ourself cos i rem when i admitted to hospital, the nurse push her hand all the way into my V there to check if my cervic opens, its sooooo painful leh, i felt so sore after that lor...

Feifei
Just like Cactus say, after the active stage. Else u will lie in hospital if the contraction hasnt really start. But if got high blood or complication, take this exception.

To nt to think abt the pain is when we keep our minds occupied n calm thru breathing. Tat y we learn all the breathing exercise. Once our mind occupied wif pain, we will panick n delay the contraction.

hi ladies ! my earlier post before lunch disappeared

wanted to say Fei fei and Kelci to pls take care and rest more !!
although it's ok for babies to be delivered after 24 weeks of gestation, it's much better if they can hang in there till full term and get as much nutrients from mommy's placenta

i just had fish head curry at Ocean ! how yummy !!! ooo, my tummy is almost exploding - am TOO FULL !!!

I now need a ice cold coffeee

anyone here roughly know when we can start our maternity leave? normally approve by our gynae or ourself?can we start maternity leave before 2 weeks EDD?

feifei,
Poor girl, had to endure the painful jab. *hugz* But it's all worth it, when u finally hold ur bb in your arms.
Oh oh, so dilation must be checked by professional at hosp, from what you have described, ouch, sounds painful!

liew,
i think the MOM website got state leh..if u wanna start ur ML early, u need to get ur co's approval..but i cant remember when is the earliest liao..