(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
you also have o drink more water orelse can eat more fruit.oh ya, i think onwards next week we can start eating "liang" food. cos my frnds said when come to labour it will quite smooth...

Lynda : i took young coconut juice once a week at 36 weeks onwards for my #1, and she was relatively "clean" when she arrived ! heehee
not sure how much to believe la ...

mummies, i'm wondering how much your ObGyne charges are - heehe in case i want a #3.
if you dont mind revealing the cost, can i have a comparison of how much he/she charges (estimate will do la ) in this format :
consultation: (per unscheduled visit/first time)
package: (from which week onwards, inclusive of all scans ?)
delivery charges:

babyjo,
till now i find him ok lah..he also nvr tell us the weight n measurement of the bb..but the gender he did try to do a scan for me b4 my detailed scan..but bb's legs were crossed dat time..so cant c.. actually initially when he more free dat time we can ask a lot of questions 1..but now i think he very bz..so cant ask much liao..

btw, i got a traditional method to reduce bb jaundice when is born. Bath your bb with guiness stout beer. Fill 1/3 can of the beer with almost full baby bath tub.
Beside reducing jaundice, it was said that bb bath with this beer will had smooth skin. My #1 ger though dont had jaundice, i still bath her with the beer and i shld said her skin is fair and smooth lah.
But is up to you to believe or not.

lynda,
actually i find the charges is standard leh..i mean during the whole pregnancy lah..like the anenatal package is $500 mah.. but delivery charges i not sure lah..i asked the nurse there..she said normal delivery is $800-$1200 and if c-sect is $1200 - $1600..i tot quite standard right?? unless got complications then difficult to say lah..

Bizznow, depends on individual lor. Some like him some dun like. I got alot of frens and relatives under him. In the end, my hb and I choose to seek another gynae instead.

I got terrible experience with him during my epidural c section for #2. I can feel the entire process whereby alot of my frens and colleagues don't encounter. Maybe the dose is not effective on me. According to my frens, they were asked whether can they feel the nurse touching their legs before the operation, but for my case they din even do that.......

Toturing experience.....i dun feel the pain but the stretching is really terrible until i can't take it....i know where they cut me and sew me.....I reflect this to my current gynae, he asked me to go for GA instead. Bcos im more sensitive type, meaning epidural C nt suitable for me

babyjo,
if i were u..i also will freak out after such an experience lah.. now i only pray hard no complications n delivery is smooth then can liao.. he was my mum's gynae so i juz follow my mum use him also lor..cos i feel he very experience since he helped to deliver my sis long time ago..

bizznow,
i paid for the deposit liao. its 650dollar(excluding gst)and remember must bring along your cpf statement also.

bizznow

oh .. cos mine was ..

600 for the anenatal package
800 for the delivery fee
1100 per assisted
so plus Mt A single room (ya i wan single room for my 1st born .. hehehe hubby can stay wif me mah) is abt 1900 for normal, abt 2200 for with epidural. other form of deliver i din take note alredi.

btw .. since we are in this topic

anyone check out the pediatrician jabs fees alredi?

i went to check the baby clinic at my house, will cost abt 1400 for all the jabs including the pneunomical jabs which is optional (800 for all the compulsory jabs / 600 for the pneu jabs)

K Ong,

For my gynae's consultation package is $550 which include normal supplements, consultation, normal scan and 3D scan.
For normal delivery is $250, if c-sec is $550.

Lynda,

My gynae is at Sun Plaza, Sembawang. But he had many many patients and the bad points is he cannot spend more times with you. And waiting time is a headache, at least 1 hr and above.

hey babyjo

does the pediatrician got to be under the baby bonus list of registered doctors? cos i went to see the website, notice that for enrichment classes for kids, only those under the list can be claimable.

My gynae charging $1000+GST for Antenatal package,another $1000+GST if normal delivery, $2400+GST if C-Section, and it does not include blood tests as well as supplements like folic,etc.

tx for sharing mummies !

my first gynae charges 800 for the package from 12 week (Excluiding supplements and photo print out) and 800 for delivery.
this gynae charges 1000 + for pacjkage (16 weeks) and 1600 for delivery !!
But he's really patient with me (although i dont have that many qns since this is #2 ...)

ellysia,
in this case, lets we start ard 36weeks loh. i know my sis start ard that week too. she now already 38 weeks liao. standby anytime to rush hospital.

liew,

good idea. since week 37 onwards is considered "safe" to give birth anytime, so if we start week 36 seems fine.

I dunno where got sell coconut drink, i am considering to order from fruit stall.

K Ong,

My gynae charge $600plus for consultion+normal scan (excluded medicine or any emergency appts or test) but the package is only available from 2nd trim onwards.

My gynae will depend on whether she is busy or not, if not many patients normally i can ask questions, if a lot of patients she will try to hint me to leave but she will try to answer my questions if someting worry me.

Lynda,
I am not sure about other gynae, cos my #1 also by him, but my hubby said his stitching skill is very good, before he realised it, he already finished, and on the 2nd day after delivery, i can sit on the hard marble floor already, i think its worth it

fennie,
who s yr gynae? skills quite impressive. or izzit yr threshold for pain is high, so sittin down is no prob for u?

mrswrx,
i was induced for my #1,and the moment i felt contraction, i asked for epidural, so u think my threshold of pain high or not?i think gynae is really good. He is Dr LS Lim from Tow Yung Clinic @ Tanglin Shopping Centre, Veniz seeing another Gynae, from the same Clinic.

ellysia,
i was in toa payoh on sat , and there is a big pasar malam, outside causeway point also have, but not sure when you need it, whether still ard or not, but these 2 are quite big one

my NUH package price is 1,620(normal) 2690(caesarean) for A1 ward, gynae fees $1,300. Each consultation is abt $75 not inclusive of supplements

Veinz,
I told my mum to make the red dates logan water for me and she said people only drink that during confinement and very heaty. I say try lor, no harm trying, just drink more water to counter the heatiness. Rather than feel faint and giddy now and then. ;p

Roxy,
Wow, your bb already 1.7kg!! My Shauna is still struggling to get weight. I hope she has already reached the 1kg mark. I keep telling God that I not greedy. Reached 2kg mark at the point of birth can liao. ;p At least can avoid staying in NICU and she can go home with me.

Ellysia,
Braxton hicks = painful? Do you noe where to get the firming lotion from Clains?

Lynda,
I didnt noe jabs for bb are so expensive.. I think can save some $$ by bringing the bb to polyclinic for jabs.. Hehe.

ladies, for the coconut drink, u must get those big green type of coconut not thailand coconut. Normally those sold in pasar malam is thailand coconut.

gynae package : my 1st gynae oso charged very expensive. His package only started after i'm 3 mths preggie @ $550+.(not include blood test and details scan). And before that my each times consultation cost me about $150. 1st visit was $200+. And all prices had to plus GST. Then c-sec delivery is almost 2k plus epidural expenses. My ex-gynae even charge me 300-400 for cord blood collection.

Re: package fees..
My gynae charges abt $900 for package, excludes scanning fees, blood tests, vitamins and folic acid, but so far he never charge me for scanning fees... delivery is $1200 for normal, assisted $1500, c-sect $1800.. so far he's a pretty detailed and patient gynae, always ask me got questions or not but I always tell him no :p

Btw, I forgot to ask gynae abt cordblood banking.. is stemcord or cordlife better?

hi Zuen
Dun worry.. im sure bb Shauna will be 2kg by the time she is delivered. Anyway those weight are just estimations, might not be accurate too. Oh, as long as full term bb (37wks and beyond) reaches 2kg, then no need NICU? Normally gals smaller sized and boys are heavier babies, so no worries
Yes, bb Isaiah is 1.7kg today liao..tink it's his head dat's big :p, his head already measure 34w whereas im only 31w now. But gynae says it's normal, normally bb head develop faster than other parts of body...

Bizznow and Liew,

I am also with KC yeo, really worried now, whatever you both mention, i am also experiencing with him. He doesnt bother to properly scan baby during ultrasound sessions, we have to ask if baby is alright, and also he doesnt want to measure baby size. halfway through the screening, if he sees the baby's heartbeat ok, he will just switch it off and goes back to his desk, following that he will just read other cards and not give us any attention. The overall impression that my hubby and I get of him is a very aloof kind of doctor, very cold and not concerned. NOt to mention, it is quite expensive too.

Right now, we are asked to pay the advance deposit for delivery at the next visit. I'm worried and wondering whether we should change gynae after hearing what babyjo said.

any advise mummies?

Lynda
I've invited u in Yahoo

Braxton Hicks:
I also had this weeks ago, tummy sudden hardening. But I realise it usu happen when I very full. Then whn i do my bowel, loosen up abit. Other times could be baby position make it tight. Cos I read tat real Braxton Hicks will occur very frequent in a row and near labour.

Ellysia
Mrs Wong taught us a trick tat if we really feal indigestion, just stretch your tummy area upright for a while n the food will flow dwn. Cos as baby grow, hinder our stomach causing the indigestion feeling, but actually food stuck there.

Veniz
Still cant believe u put on 3kg only since b4 pregnancy??? Half of that 3 goes to baby. Thn left the other half for your waterbag, etc. U can put on Guinness Record book.

Coconut:
Yes must be the big one, nt the Thailand one. Ellysia, any hawker center will sell coconut drink.

Constipation:
Mrs Wong taught best remedy is to drink 1 glass of warm water in morning. And i tried. Works!

Clarins Oil for firming:
So far been getting fr Sasa shop. The firming one is Anti-Eau for aft pregnancy

Liew
Ya, if u wnt your body to absorb water, dun drink in huge qty at a time cos it will go straight to urine n body is nt absorbing the water for assimilation. Frequent but smaller sips better. Also dun over drown water. There was article that even for a normal person, excessive water than the limit will affect your brain.

My package is $1200 regardless of natural or c-section. The package includes vitamins and scans. Detail scan and blood test not included. Paid an upfront $794 first.

Have yet to collect second payment.

just now went for my check up....@ 29weeks bb 1.4kg and since my last 1 mth check up i gained 2.3kg...total i have gained 11.5kg

on my last 2 mths check up.....gynea told me i have bb girl....but just now he told me 'Ambiguss" which is not sure, very rare and difficult to say bb boy or gerl...so have to wait till delivery....alamak....

i have not pay any deposit or package all upon check in to hospital...

yes i had this feeling of braxton hicks almost everyday.....felt tight n pain while walking too....n pain at my pelvic bone since 20wks

TF,

Any idea how much is the clarins anti eau? Sasa will be cheaper?

Dan,
Your gynae cannot confirm ur bb sex? Is so funny coz by now, shld be able to see clearly.

Hi gers,
Good morning..

Veinz,
I drank 2 big cups of red dates logan water last night and my mum made me extra to bring to work this morning.. I think my bb is swimming in the red date longan water, hehe.

Roxy,
I understand that so long bb's weight reaches 2kg at point of birth (with no other complications), then no need to stay in NICU. Small size never mind, can always feed her after she comes out, but must cross the 2kg mark. I had been eating like a pig for the past week hoping that the weight goes to her, but I dun think so. Oops.. Hehe.

TF,
I still dun get how braxton hicks feel like. There are times where one part of my tummy gets very hard and feels very stretched, but I tot it is bcos the bb shifted to that part of the tummy? Or is that braxton hicks? I got that feeling very early in the pregnancy wor.

Danryan,
Got such thing? I tot detail scan should be able to tell quite clearly if bb = boy or ger? Have you already bought many pinky stuff? ;p

Morning Mumz..

Hi Dan...how come now then doc say not sure is boy or gal..but ur bb big liao oredi rite??isit becos of the position of the bb during the scan??
I tot in the detail scan they hv a column to state the genitial(Gender)??

K Ong,
I ve created a dbase in our yahoo gp per yur request for info on gynae charges for yur easy ref.

hi gers,
for those of u who had provided K Ong the info per her request, can I trouble u to re-add the info into our yahoo gp's dbase for consolidated information? many thanks!

morning gals...

Hi Danryan.. how come your gynae so funny.. say cannot confirm.. thot by now bb very big liao, genitals should be seen quite clearly?

hi Zuen... Ic, I always thot 2.5kg. But my boss's sister delivered at 37wks,2 kg never had to go NICU. Now I know why...2 kg sounds much easier to achieve
Eat more avocado, durians and dong cong cao.. it helps bb to put on more weight...

Zu En

Braxton hicks contractions is not painful, unlike real labour. It is more uncomfortable and cause a bit breatheless.

Clarins lotion can get from Sasa or departmental store. U can view clarins website for more info, see under singapore section.

For jabs, i understand from colleague some places do jabs v painful and her kid cannot tahan. And considering polyclinic queue is so long and waiting hours so long, i tink i rather bring to nearby clinic.

Felicia,

My gynae even more ex, charge $600plus for package and is from 3mth onwards. Before that 1st appt is $200 and subsquent is $100+.

K Ong, TF, I lost 3kg before during my 1st 3 mths, then now gained 6KG in total. So counter calculate, total weight gain counting from pre-preggie weight is 3KG. Maybe as Ellysia said, I ate more protein as in meat and they are easily absorbed by baby, also not to forget, I take naps as and when free, maybe this also atribute to bb weight gain bah.

Zuen, about the red dates longan drink, my aunt told me before preggie drink some is good for baby also. But do rem dun drink too much. Yesterday I drank some, weekly drank ginseng soup my MIL brewed for me and due to take past few days very hot, I on aircon to sleep, I got this 'heaty' flu yesterday afternoon. Now on semi-consious working mode and running nose. Can't take MC as yesterday, a colleague got sacked, today new colleague coming, got to train her. Sianz, dunno why working life in SG so stressful.....

Fennie, Dr Lim LS' package seems ok leh. For me, 1st consultation is around $130.00. Then 2nd visit anenatal onwards + hospital normal delivery + 1 post anenatal consultation is $2500.00 + 7% GST (excludes blood tests, detail scan). If C-Sect Total is $3500.00. Complication delivery, dunno yet, better dun ask about it yet.

Veniz + ladies on red dates/longan drinks,

For this red dates + longan drinks, pls buy those without seed red dates as with seed red dates is more heaty.
Besides boiling, you can juz let is soak in thermal flask with hot water for half an hr. This can reduce the heatiness compare to boiling. Hope this helps.

Ale,

U have to feel comfortable and confident with yr selected gynae lor. If u dun feel comfortable and want to change, better do it asap before delivery.