(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Ath,

My gynae will measure the bb weight at every checkup and let me know. Sometimes i ask her about bb head size too and she will measure for me.

If bb weight is v impt to u, maybe u can ask yr gynae to provide to u?

Felicia,

Must prepare firming cream for post-natal massage meh? I tot auntie su just apply her oils on us and is enuff.

But i also tot of buying some firming lotion or oil to apply after giving birth so tat tummy will not remain saggy. I tink clarins have such a lotion, need to check.

hi hi ..

i see most of the mummies here work 9-5 ya .. so shock to see so many mails after yesterday. can't catch up.

hi tiny feet: can add me in ur yahoo group? my email is [email protected]

hi fennie .. thanks ... i heard usually 1st baby will deliver earlier is it?

fennie,

I tink so too. It is almost as hungry as 1st trim and yet also suffer frm a bit indigestion too, not like 2nd trim eat anything also won't indigest. Now i need to drink yakult if i eat too much.

babycupid,

Dr Wong tell me may experience crampy feeling near bones or bottom during this stage and is normal le.

For braxton hicks contractions, i just experienced it again last thursday. I was rushing and faced the contractions again, feel breatheless and uncomfortable. This is the 2nd time i had such contractions liao.

Alethea,
its only after the 5th month, then my gynae start measuring the circumference of head n stomach to give a rough guide on the bb's weight, but i think every gynae is different, some dont get to see bb on the screen every visit, maybe you can check with your gynae

ellysia,

Aunty Su told me is an xtra lotion which she can help me to apply after massage to firm up my sagging part. She'll still used her oil to massage me. But this firming lotion is an additional to firm up my body after that.
Not too sure oso coz i din asked much, as i was very relax after the massage and wanna dozed off oledi. hehe....

Lynda,
U r welcome. My #1 was late for 9days, so gynae had to induce me, i have heard preggies who said both their pregnancy also early, so its really hard to say, maybe can try to talk to bb, ask him/her to be born fullterm

oh oh ... to add .. i juz called strip, they confirmed that we can only do brazillian waxing after 3rd month in case get folicle infection.

hahah .. tot cannot do, so i tahan very long!! cos i very hairy, got alot of upper lip hair as well. when they told me i can' t go for waxing, i tot i can't even do my upper lip, so i went to do indian threading instead. now den i know actually can hahaha!!

btw, brazillian waxing is not really dat painful lah. and it's so clean and nice after that u will be addicted to get it clear again!! :D

ellysia,
thanks! braxton hicks.. i always experienced it as well on n off.. getting breathless now.. warm.. heavy.. tired.. slpyy.. oh my goddd..

hi liew,
aiyoh..sounds serious leh..hope u r ok now...

i juz came back from my gynae appt..dr kc yeo so bz tdy..got last min cases..i waited for 1hr plus then my turn..then after dat he rushed off to do an emergency c-sect..so didnt have any chance to ask him a lot of questions.. he only said bb growing well..currently @ 28weeks..n bb is average size..but can see his head is facing down liao.. i put on 1kg since 2weeks ago.. think shld be ok..he nvr said i put on too much weight this time round...hehe.. i hv been experiencing some hardness @ the uterus area..doc said scared i might go into premature labour if the hardness is over a long period of time..if juz for a while then 2 or 3 times a day is ok..he ask me to monitor.. does any of u experience dat?? n i had cramps @ my calves last week during early morn..damn sian..

Felicia,

OIC. I am considering to buy the Clarins firming lotion for post-natal, as i quite like clarins product. actually i understand tat the clarins body treatment oil which i bot for prevention of stretchmarks can oso be use for firming purpose.

Ath,

I tink maybe depend on different gynae and pricing? Cos maybe cheaper gynaes tend not to give so much details? Or maybe it is their machine?

hey fennie
i still dun really noe how to talk to baby yet .. hehe feels quite wierd but im trying. maybe i ask my hubby to pyscho her to come out full term instead .. heheh his voice is nicer! :D

hey ellysia
i also get very hungry nowadays. i used to be able to control putting on abt 11kgs for the pass 28 weeks. now i need supper if not will be super hungry. my supper is also pretty heavy leh .. like rice or noodles .. if not prata!!! how to control .. now im alredi 14kgs heavier as of today!!!

Lynda,

Very hard to control weight gain. No wonder my mum keep telling me not eat too much during 2nd trim bec' 3rd trim will gain a lot of weight.

hi bizznow

i also get the tummy hardening thing (braxton hicks?) a few times a day for abt a couple of secs if not more then a min. so u mean if this is too long might have premature labour? scary .. i sometimes get it when im excited or when i kneel down to pick up something. when i get that i will pat my tummy lightly and say kuai kuai baby until it becomes soften!! hehehe :D

u got the cramps juz by lying down like sleeping? i got it once when i was stretching myself when i wake up. so now whenever i wanna stretch i will bend my legs so the lower calves will not be flex (cos when i dun flex that part of the leg, i wont get cramp) so far it works

lynda,
i also not sure if dat is considered as braxton hicks anot..mrs wong fr tmc mentioned something abt dat..but i cant remember if it refers to the hardening anot.. same lor..i got the cramp when i was doing stretching..preparing to get up then the cramps happen..super pain..i quickily wake my hb up n he helped me to relax my muscle so that the pain will go away.. ok..i shall try ur method..

Alethea,
I have been asked to pay $800 (delivery charges) on my next visit. But am a little confused wat the payment is for. Will go and read the document provided to me by my gynae when I signed up the pkg.

Lynda/Ellysia,
I also find it hard to control hunger. Like always looking for food like that. Yesterday, after attending a buffet lunch, I went to eat prata (egg and cheese somemore) at around 3.30pm. Hehe.

Re cramps
I have started getting this sore/crampy feeling at my pubic bone, not so much pelvic bone. It usu hurts at night when I am in bed and trying to turn, will get this intense pain down there. Sometimes also, when I get up from my seat or when getting in/out of car. Will check with gynae on next visit. Now my back is aching..

while you all r talking about weight ctrl, i'm now munching my cream biscuits with 3 in 1 coffee. hehe....

ellysia,
Clarins firming lotion good? Know how much per bottle? Maybe i shld shop around for it. I had been procastinate many many things since i got sick weeks back. Just last weekend, only managed to sort my #1 ger's clothing. I hvnt pack my hospital bag as i know i still had some item not yet buy. All this delaying is is going to kill me when my EDD is nearer and nearer.

Hi gals..
Just got back from gynae appt.. sadly got to go back to work to do closing...
Baby is growing well according to my gynae.. he is now 1.7kg at 30W6D, BP ok = 110/65..unfortunately I put on too much weight, gained 2kg in 2 weeks.. can faint... baby is still breech position, now just pray and talk to him to be guai and move head down soon...If not, prob c-sect at wk 37. Gynae started to discuss with me delivery methods, pain relief etc, I look at him and "huh"? So early.. never considered before keke

So far, me never experience braxton hicks or leg cramps yet. What does braxton hicks feel like?

Hi Zuen
Gratz your baby is growing well.. Little Shauna is a fighter!

Wow Veniz, your gal is already 1.8kg at 28w and you only put on 3.3kg? Amazing! Me very envious as I already put on 14kg...

bizznow

ya, shd work .. heheh cos so far so good for me.

tera
the $800 bucks u talking abt is the gynae fees for helping u deliver rite? i also got to pay 800/- for delivery fee on top of that i got to pay for my hospital fees (depends is it normal / with epidural / with assisted or C-section) all the above got diff prices. also depends if u stay single or double or many patients ward. my gynae also charges extra 1100 if assisted is needed, meaning suction or forcep.

felicia

hahhaha, now i got craving for bubble tea!! i have been drinking alot of bubble tea recently. i dun drink much sugary drinks before preggie and during 1st and 2nd trimester. now 3rd tri suddenly cannot resist. i had ribena a home now i wanna drink bubble tea .. hope i dun fail for my sugar test on my next visit!!! :D

also abt the clarins, u can opt to buy from those shops at lucky plaza. cheaper by 20% den from the clarin shops.

hi roxy

so u mean baby got to be in engage position from 30 weeks? heheh ur gynae very onz .. my gynae very relax one .. keep telling me i can do this do dat .. im the one who is scare! whahahah

i have this hardening of tummy (which feels a wee bit can tahan kinda of pain) im not sure if that is braxton hicks.. i get it a couple of times a day for a couple of secs if not more den a min since i reach abt 26 weeks. now im abt 29 weeks.

and hahahah im 1 weeks earlier then u and i alredi gained 14 kgs!! too much supper!!!

ellysia,
last time i normally drink 2 bottles of 600ml only :p But now onward i start drink alots of water never count at all. just make sure every hour will drink 600ml per hourly loh.. i'm damn scare....

bizznow,
great to hear from you. dr yeo use to busy.. but after that he saw my cases.. he super gan cheong and throw all his time on me! haha.. cos he usually never or unable to come out extra time for us...

liew,
haha..i think it's a gynae's responsibilities to make sure that his patient is ok lor..so when complication arises he sure throw all his time on u 1..

Bizznow and liew, so both of u using Dr yeo as your gynae. He used to be my gynae for #1 & 2. But I change to Dr Adrian Woodworth instead

lynda... ooh, you make me feel slightly better.. but I still put on too much weight liao.. must control... so far, havent felt the pain you all describe yet.. maybe in a few weeks time bah

Yeah loh, my hubby also said gynae very onz, he already give me admission letter and ask me to bring it every visit i see him.. now im on twice weekly visits to see him liao...

Actually as long as baby is not in breech position by 36 wks, it's ok... now I also find too early for bb..so Im not so worried abt breech or not.. even if really breech then c-sect is fine with me too, as long as bb is healthy can liao

veniz : wow, that's a good weight for baby and you right ?

29th week check up -
baby is abt 1kg, which apparently is right smack on thr 50% growth chart.
and i put on abt 7kg ... ok la ... considering first one i really ballooned !~!! heeheee

Thanks for the waxing contact ! DO u think Rachael will freak out when all of us start calling her ? heehee

But from experience, delivering at MAH - they dont shave. but i wld stll wax at abt 36 weeks to be erm, tidy there

heheee

Saw ur post regarding drinking the red dates & longan water, tot that are suppose to drink after we given birth? now we can start drinking liao iszit?

liew,

600ml of water hourly seem too much leh. Your gynae asked you to drink 600ml hrly? Coz i had a drinking bottle which is approx 600ml. The most i can only finished 2 1/2 bottles during office hours. So, in office, i drink almost 1.5ltr of water. And i read up one day we need about 2 ltrs of water leh.

babyjo,
how come u change ur gynae since he's the gynae for ur #1 n 2??

can anyone tell me where to get the chart on the bb's weight that u ladies hv been talking abt huh??

shinely,

I started drinking red dates and longan since i know i'm preggie. Coz i'm aneamic, so i had been drinking it even during my 1st pregnancy. But nowadays i'm bit lazy, so will only drink once in every 2-3days.

felicia,
is it? actually i'm not 100% every hour finish 600ml .. i just try if can i will finish 600ml per hour loh. i know my body hard to absurb if too much watering..

Liew, personal opinion lah. I find him quite unwilling to tell us hw big or what is the length of the baby. Even the baby sex, he aso dun really want to share. He asked me to wait until the detail scan on 20 weeks. Unlike other gynae, they will scan on 16 weeks.

And sometime, he can be quite paranoid on small small issue. I was asked to admit hospital for a few times liao. He charges compare to others quite expensive. Im c section mum and he dun allow me to choose a date i want. Must follow his schedule every monday or friday. If i want a special date, ask me to pay extra 1K!!!

These are the reason why i switch. Quite a few unhappy occasion with him when i gt my #2

liew,

as far as i know, if you got infection, normally the gynae will asked us to drink more water coz the logic to flush out all those bacteria to reduce the infections. But 600ml per hr will be too much, juz afraid u might get water retention leh.
Maybe you want to check with ur gynae. Moreover too much water, not sure ur bladder can take it or not.

bizzsnow and lynda,

Yes confirm is braxton hicks contraction bec' i also ask my gynae and she confirmed. The stomach will harden and relax and harden and relax and the whole process can be 30mins. But once it get to e.g. 5mins per stage or a regular count, it can be preterm labour.

Leg cramps i had it since 2nd trim. Normally when i am stretching my legs straight or when halfway when i am sleeping. Now i will rotate my ankle and wriggle my toes and the cramp will go away.

Gynae suggest to take more calcium which i did, then later she say if ored take calcium still old problem, then i can some leg massage before sleep to relieve the problem.

Felicia,

I tink can try clarins product bec' the oil that i used for stretchmarks prevention is quite good. So i am considering to get clarins firming lotion to try out. I also understand tat the stretchmarks lotion can be used if really got stretch marks, it can help to diminish the marks.

felicia,
honestly, my bladder can't take it loh...:p

babyjoy,
be frank, my hb also not happy with my gynae. cos he found him not that friendly and money-minded only. but to me, he quite ok loh.. but one thing i don like is he always spend too little time for us and asking qns. sometimes, after scanning he will look at the next appointment cards liao..maybe he is too busy ba..

Liew,

Find this from babycenter website. Hope it helps.

How much water should I drink while I'm pregnant?

Expert Answers
Jill Stovsky, exercise physiologist and dietician
You should drink at least six to eight 8-ounce glasses per day (48 to 64 fluid ounces) plus one 8-ounce cup for each hour of light activity. Juices can contribute to your fluid intake, but keep in mind that they can also provide a lot of extra calories. Caffeinated beverages, such as coffee, colas, and teas don't count as part of your fluid intake because they're diuretics — they make you urinate more so you actually lose water.

Water plays many vital roles in a healthy pregnancy. Think of water as your body's transportation system — it carries nutrients through your blood to the baby. Water also helps prevent bladder infections, which are common during pregnancy. If you drink enough water, your urine will stay diluted, reducing your risk of infection.

Water can also stop constipation and help prevent hemorrhoids. Although it may seem counterintuitive, the more water you drink during pregnancy, the less water your body will retain. Also, drinking enough water prevents dehydration. This is especially important in the third trimester when dehydration can actually cause contractions that can trigger preterm labor.

If you just don't like the taste of water, try adding a wedge of lemon or lime, or a little juice for additional flavor. If you're not sure how much water you drink each day, fill a 64-ounce container and try to finish it by the end of the day.

The next time you see a water fountain, stop for a quick drink. Every little bit of water helps ensure a healthy pregnancy.

So, 64 ounces is about 1.82litres.

hi shinely

i also heard that if u drink longan with red dates water closer to date, chances of baby getting juandice is lower .. anyone heard before??

and oh oh ..

some also say closer to EDD say abt a week before, u can drink coconut water (drink from those with the husk kind) baby will come out cleaner and fairer... :D anyone heard also??

I not sure how much water i drink everyday.. but i been drinking same amt as pre-pregnancy, which i know is not enuff bec' my constipation came back liao.. previously when i drank more water bowels became better.

hey felicia

hahha i juz finish one cup of bubble tea as im looking at ur msg .. ya i know it's bad .. and it's fat too .. i shd control!!!! alredi told the seller not to add too much sugar for me ...im soooo guilty!!!

Lynda,

Din heard before about the red dates drink can reduce jaundice, but sometimes this jaundice thing is inherited. In fact i'm bit worry as about few mths aft i'm preggie, my hubby medical check up reveal his bilirubin level is on high side, so juz hopefully my bb wont get it.

Btw, the massage lady, Aunty Su asked me to avoid yellow noodles when i'm reaching 7mths preggie, coz will caused jaundice accordig to her.

liew

seems like ur gynae very terok leh .. if expensive but still give u alot of time and attention den got nothing to say .. but the service like cannot make it for the price.

mine also i think pretty expensive but since he is friendly and his clinic is juz below my block. for the convenience, i got no complain

Lynda, yes it's true. I drink twice per week near my due. My daughters skin like snowwhite and clean. No jaundice at all

Felicia,

I still eat yellow noodles and sometimes curry/laksa but very minimal and not everyday. Hopefully is ok.

I had minor jaundice when i am born, so if inherited also bo piang.

babyjo,

U are referring to coconut drink or red dates?