(2008/06) June 2008

Good morning,

Re: Rash

I am using QV lotion which I find is very moisturising and non scented. Maybe you girls would like to try. I like to apply on my hands too as I find that even after I wash my hand it seems less dry.

Palmers,
A super no-no for me. I tried during my 1st pregnancy. No rash but the cocoa smell lingered on and on and I had to shower and wash it off!! My HB also agreed that the smell is too strong.

muffin, QV lotion is good. I used to work in pharmacy and saw a lot of pple buying this range of products. Even now, my ex colleagues also recommend this brand for rashes/ dry skin.

Hello piyoz,

Do you rem the brand of the strong moisturizer that you are using? i mean the one prescribed by your gynae... I am also using the steriod cream.. the rashes seems to spread to upper part of my tummy.. it's kinda red and comes with small little dots.. after i tried to apply J&J baby oil over my tummy..

About the steriod, kinda worried that it affect my bb.. so i just stopped the steriod and go back to use calamite lotion..

aiyo.. i couldn't withstand the itch, especially at night when i'm sleeping.. so i did scratch it.. not sure if i scratch too hard.. will affect bb? any idea?

hai.. so upset.. i have sensitive skins.. last time used to be my legs.. now.. on my tummy.. ai yo yo..

Morning Ladies......TGIF

Felicia
My office fridge spoilt recently....dats y cannot buy milk or drink in the office....now have to tapau during lunch hr....

Lala,
I understand what you are going through. I have sensitive skin too!! I used to have urticara, the skin specialist told me no cure, I was so depressed. I cant wear socks cos the rubber part will swell. Sometimes when I sleep and press onto my eye, the area will also swell. The worse is bra line, cos need to go work so need to wear bra, that will also swell. I tried so many things and just wouldnt go away. Lucky it just went away after awhile.

Even now, when I travel to cold countries, the skin on my leg will be dry, cracked and itch. So chiam rite? I can use one bottle of olive oil for a 10 days trip. I am now using QV (sounds like QV promoter hehehe) I am not sure if QV will work for you, but its not too expensive, I think it worth a try.

Dan,

Maybe you can buy small packs of milk on the way to office evryday, then u can had it during the day. I use to do that during my 1st pregnancy. But this bb seems to be dislike milk, so the most i can only drink nutri soy.

lala,

The brand is NIKS. It's called Anti-Itch Oatmeal Lotion (something like that, can't remember the exact name)

http://www.nikspro.com/el_home.html

This skin doc is really good. I went to her once and my skin improved greatly. Clinic is at Tampines (near Tampines Poly).

Besides steriod cream, she'll give shower oil and moisturiser. It's the shower oil and moisturiser that really helped my skin condition. Only use the steroid cream when it gets very bad.

Bad thing is must queue very long.

She's a skin specialist. She did mentioned that brands like Dove and J&J actually still very drying to skin. QV and Eurecin is good (ie pharmatical pdts). But strongest ones will be those prescribed by doctors.

lala,
cos a promoter fren of clinqiue counter at bugis where i always buy my clinique pdts from was also preggie & just delivered a couple of mths back. she was the one who taught me tis & it works. moreover, i ve checked wif my gynae on whether is it safe to use clinique cosmetic pdts in 1st trim n she said ok, so i use lor. anyway the moisture surge really provide the much needed relief when the itch got so bad.

ellysia,
sa-ma sa-ma

HI all,

This morn i was late for office cos the taxi i took got into an accident on CTE.

Apparently some bikes hit onto the taxi and we have stop halfway at CTE, got 1 biker injured but seems ok. Anyway i am stuck at CTE for half an hour with no replacement cab and no cab want to stop at CTE. Then the police and ambulence come, then luckily the driver behind my cab also stop, then after he gave his details to police he offered to fetch me to City Hall. I manage to take another cab from City Hall to my work place.
Was 45min late for work.

Give me a scare. I tink the taxi driver may need me to witness. This kind of incident, need me to go police station to witness or just give a statement?

ellysia
did the taxi driver or the police ask yr contact or yr details???If yes, they will call u if they need an eye witness...

Dan,

The taxi driver get my handphone number and IC cos he need me as a witness. But he say no need to go police station just need to give a statement can liao.

I doubt lor..but i dun like to go police station esp now preggy leh. Ored feel not so lucky to see ambulence and police lor.. but wat to do.

Thanks crystal..

tonight will go back and give it a try.. on small area.. see if it works..

Piyoz,

So you were saying the shower gel we use also play a part? i'm using the normal shower gel (which claim to moisturize the skin lah...). Do i need to change the shower gel i'm using right now to more moisturizing? Hmmmm...

ellysia,

Hope you are not affected by the accident.
I'm sure you got a shocked when it happened. Try to be relax and dont think too much about the witness issue 1st.
Most probably they'll ask you to give statement at police station if need it.

Have u all read abt the accident at Muar....Miracle bb Jolene Bong the only survival in the accident....i got too shocked that the bb father is my classmate.....and it reminds me of my accident at Pahang in 2004....dat time my 1st son only 3 mths old....

Ellysia
Hope you recover fr shock. Police statement is needed usu when there's injury involved. But most of time fr taxi driver n the injured person. I guess the taxi driver just wanted your contact just in case any dispute, there's eye witness. Just wait for police to contact u, if they really do.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia

unless the police contacts u again today if not den its not likely they will contact u

lala,

ya, you might want to try changing your shower gel. The usual moisturing ones like Dove, J&amp;J actually very drying. Maybe you can try those at pharmacies first. Those are more moisturising. But they give very little foam. So at the beginning when I use it, very not used to it.

Hello ladies...

saw TODAY papers and they are having offer for bb stuffs from Giant.. i made a comparison on the diapers.. You may like to consider going there to buy.. My colleagues say so far giant got the lowest price for diapers.. Check it out..

Share with me whether you agree the diapers are cheap.. :p

mime_msexcel.gif
Diapers Offer @ Giant
20080328.PriceComparisonDiapers.xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

thks for yr assurance.
Strangely the police did not take down my contact or talk to me, but maybe the taxi driver ored pass my contact to them. I was urgent to go out of the scene and rush to work so i didn't bother whether the police got take my contact or not. But the taxi driver is stressed bec' he say he 1st time encounter accident so he worried. So i told him if he need me as witness i will help him lor.

I did get a shock and has to stand at CTE for half an hour..imagine all the cars zooming by and i am stranded on the road.. sigh. And my hb didn't drive so i can't get anyone to rescue me also. I try to stay calm for bb sake. Luckily the person injured looks ok and i am more assure.

Lala, I'm just wondering if we buy diapers now, if after bb is born,diapers is not suitable for bb (skin sensitivity or size issue), then how?

I was planning to use cloth diapers first... for at least 1 month, at most 6 months... then try to guage which diapers is more suitable for bb...

Ellysia, lucky u r more or less okay. I also got into an accident 2 weeks ago. Dad was driving car.. I was just behind him. Stupid cardriver slammed right into our car's right front wheel... I was shocked cos of the impact (our car's steering mechanism all spoilt... alingement of wheels all gone - talking about a 1 yr old BMW here...). I didn't have much appetitie for lunch that day.. didn't feel like talking to anyone the whole day, so know how you feel..

Check this out instead.. i add on the price i bought the huggies and mamy poko diapers from taka and 1st mum congress.. afterall, they are not so cheap as giant.

mime_msexcel.gif
Diapers Offer @ Giant (Resend)
20080328.PriceComparisonDiapers.xls (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hello Cactus79,

I have the same worry as you initially.. But got some advise from colleagues and they were giving good comments for mamy poko and huggies ultra.. these two brands good for night use..

I din get a lot of diapers for my bb ger ger.. 2 small packs of new born which tend to last for a week. then followed by small size..

small size i think can't escape.. baby will reach that stage to wear small size.. again i bought only 2 packs to start off.. which some were saying bb will start to wear small size fews weeks after they were born..

I was thinking of using napkin initially. but what about night.. baby can't have a good night sleep if the napkin is wet.. and if you dun attend to it early.. rashes will come in for bb wor..

my colleague was also saying.. if we bf.. baby's "put put" maybe irregular at night...

that's my cents of thought.

This list will come in handy for you too later.. if you decide to buy any of these brands.. cos they acts as a guideline how much the diaper cost per piece.

hehe.. i guess can be a form a cost saving for diapers.. :p

cactus,

Ya it doesn't seem tat the taxi knock the bikers bec' i dun feel the impact, but it is the shock of seeing someone injured and the accident itself.

ops.. cactus.. you may also need to consider.. what about bringing bb out for appointments? you can't be using napkins wor..

Ellysia / Cactus
The last time my case was the taxi hit the car back. I did tremble (due to shock) when i have face the driver n yet he accused i was wrong. Worst. So i fedup, call my father on phone to settle wif him cos i dun wnt to increase my anxiety. Tat taxi driver also new n he also gan cheong, thinking he will have to pay alot. Some more, i have to walk to pick the broken car plate on the road.

Lala
Previously some gv a link to another Motherhood website for diapers comparison n prices. I've summarized n put in the Yahoo. Seems like they got better deal too. Also Nepia is another worth consider brand.

As for myself, so far i stored the 3 pkt Huggies (1pkt of small n 2 pkts of Large) thru the Mother &amp; Baby magazine subscription free + i bgt 1 NB during Taka.

Ladies buying Huggies, do note that Huggies pampers are generally smaller in size, so do nt assume S is a standard S, cos its quite close to NB size too.

mime_msexcel.gif

Diapers_190308.xls (20.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I just bak from my ramen lunch. Now again start to feel bit sleepy again.

Lala,

Thanks for the price list. In fact i had oledi brought mamy poko size NB &amp; S each. Anyhow, mamy poko size is quite big, so i'm not worry about bb cannot wear problem. Moreover, till now, my bb is very small according to my gynae.

hello ladies!

lala and TF,
Thanks for the diapers compilation list. I think I will drop by Giant tonite and buy the NB Mamy Poko diapers.

Felicia,
I am feeling both hot and sleepy. The window blinds are fully drawn up by this coll sitting behind me and it's super glaring making me even sleepier. And there seems to be something wrong with the air-con, feels v stuffy. Sigh.

Ellysia,
What a start to your day..most impt thing is u and bb are fine.

Thks for all concern. me and bb are both fine. Just tat v chaotic to stand in middle of cte then stranded for some time, then no replacement cab want to come even when the cab company keep calling.

Already feeling very warm at home (or i shd say humid) these few days despite hvg rain. Also, starting to have armpit odour which is never b4 pregnancy. Can't imagine our confinement days to come.

ellysia,
thank god u n bb r alrite... *hugs*

RE: Last Nite
last nite was the 1st nite in a long long while since i ve to sleep alone w/o hb. suddenly felt tat the bed is so huge n empty, reai not used to it. took a flu medicine prescibe by my gynae supposedly to cause me drowiness but still keep waking up every hour or so....sian...counting down to 8 more days before hb rtn...

Hi Lala,

guess my post was not clear. I intend to use mainly napkins, but will use the time to slowly try out the diff brands of disposables. but most prob will buy small packs to try out first... although I know the big/jumbo/twin packs are cheaper per piece..

I heard good reviews about mommy poko and pampers premium... not too sure about huggies.

Ellysia
Think its peak hour n for the replacement cab to make its way to CTE (the most wanted to avoid expressway), they may think they lugi more in the jam than to pick u. Cos other cab will nt hv the privilege to travel on rd shoulder or hv siren like police n ambulance ..keke

Tera,

I think my bb can sense my sleepness too, she's very passive today oso. Normally after meal, she'll 'jump here, jump there', but yest and today she din move a lot, just some mild action only. Maybe she's sleepy inside oso.
Ya, i feel stuffy oso maybe due to warm weather outside.

boss not in again so good later can have munch-munch again...

every morning bb sure bulging to one side mayb stretching and belly felt so tight

Got a question to ask experienced mommies...

For diapers, will the bb's umbillical cord stump be in the way? Also, what's the difference btween newborn and small size? Is it only the size and the weight? Design wise any difference?

I enjoy to see the bb bulging one side. It makes me feel closer to touch him, n wondering which part of his body is, but he moves away very fast to normal. :p