(2008/06) June 2008

fennie,
dat's the thing with counting name lor...so juz have to hope dat the name wont turn out to be something common lor..

Fennie,

Seriously i tink if English name and chinese name sound similar, not v ideal lor.. most of the time i will tink the parents is more pro English and they just name the chinese name to follow the English name.

I dunno but "En" seems to be preferred by mostly Christians?.. Have u check up the meaning of the word? Cos sometimes chinese words can have a lot of meaning one.

does anyone know wat's the max amt we can use from medisave to pay for our hospitalisation during our delivery huh??

Ellysia,
Yalor, i tot we will not have a #2, so i gave all my maternity wears, my new babysling, sterilizer, My brest friend nursing pillow, baby clothes, toys etc to a friend, and she pass to another, and now I cannot even get in touch with her, just needed to get back the babysling n the nursing pillow, but sms her, no respond, i think she must hv change hp, anyway, i bought both the items, n other things, and got some maternity n baby wears from friends,neighbors, just got for myself some nursing wears, which i think will be useful as i plan to bf my bb for at least 6 months.

Ellysia,
i dun think "En" is mostly preferred by Christians lah..i not christian leh..i also prefer dat word..it's more on the sounding of the word..n the meaning is grateful mah..so i think ok..n hor..i think most of us under the influence of those korean tv drama...some of the names for the characters in the shows use "En" as well..n it sound super nice..hehe..

ellysia,
got ah?? ook..ok.. i go take a look..thks ah..

For your reading pleasure.

5 words that all babies 0–3 months old say—regardless of race and culture

For millions of sleep-deprived mothers around the world, this woman's findings could be a miracle! Priscilla Dunstan, a mom with a special gift, says she's unlocked the secret language of babies.

Neh="I'm hungry"
Owh="I'm sleepy"
Heh="I'm experiencing discomfort"
Eair="I have lower gas"
Eh="I need to burp"

Those "words" are actually sound reflexes, Priscilla says. "Babies all around the world have the same reflexes, and they therefore make the same sounds," she says. If parents don't respond to those reflexes, Priscilla says the baby will eventually stop using them.

Priscilla recommends that parents listen for those words in a baby's pre-cry before they start crying hysterically. She says there is no one sound that's harder to hear than others because it varies by individual. She also says some babies use some words more than others.

ellysia,
do you mean to claim for the additional $450?if that is what you r referring to, i know we have to submit once check in

i personally like En, but i have chosen Jie Le instead cos it sounds like the Christian name we have chosen.

most ppl nowadays just use hanyu pinyin, as dialect is difficult to get nice sounding ones.

bizznow,
the medisave claim depends on what type of rooms you choose to stay, your hospital shld have a list of rooms type, and in the same table, state the max medisave claimable.

ellysia
yes at East Shore.....upon check in i just submit all the receipt, IC...and i have done the bed booking during my 1st check up...

Fennie,

Ya my mum also tot no no2 so she throw away some, lost some, then i spoilt some. No leftovers for my brother by the time he is born. I also spoil the toy car i have (rideable one) so my brother got a new tricycle for himself, in the end he also spoil the tricycle lah.

bizzsnow,

More suitable for gal? If use on boy, have to make sure the other word is more "manly", else may be ridiculed by frens.

Me and hb have decided on chinese name "Yu Zhe" unless we think of a better one later. It means great wisdom
I tot of one word then hb tot of another word to match.. tats how we come up with the name.

Fennie,

Thanks for your suggestion on the gift on behalf of newborn. Sure will tell my hubby and get a gift ready. I think is is good idea.
In fact lot of ppl telling me the best gap is 3 yrs for sibling coz if smaller they might get jealous over newborn and even secretly hit them. BY 3 yrs old, they are more mature and can understand better but i dont want to wait oledi coz oledi passed 30.

As for the counting name, we'll get someone to name for us. The company is at United Square,she'll use computer to anlayse the name for us and will be ready by the next day, so easier for hubby to go and pay as is near TMC. Anyhow, my MIL insist we use back the middle name of my #1, so oso depend how the master counting liao.

Felicia,

eh.. me and bro age gap so big i also got hit my brother leh..

He naughty i will hit him one.. also secretly.

Then he will cry and told mum i bully him.

Later i dare not hit him liao. he purposely cry and pretend i hit him, parents dun believe me cos they tot i really hit him.. heee..

bizznow,
hehe....same as us...our girl will be named as Kai En cos we like e word " En" =)..

Ellysia,
cool down ger..sometimes there are ple like tht one...

ellysia,
Yu Zhe sounds like a singer from taiwan leh..hehe..i think his name is tang yu zhe..not sure u heard of him b4..but the name sounds nice..

feifei,
Kai En is nice..hehe..seems like a lot of ppl like the word "En" hor..

Ellysia, me and bro gap only 3 yrs we also fight. But I do love him lar, only not happy when my mom dotes on him more (she zhong nan qing nui). Then last week, while having dinner with bro (we got a lot closer in teenage yrs), he told me last time when I always caned by mom (almost everyday for small matters), he will siam and went hiding, coz he scared if mum may still felt angry after caning me, may drag him out to cane him. I told him won't one, since she loves him so much. He said play safe mah, hehee.

Fei fei and bizznow, we have same thinking. In fact I want to get those masters to name my DD, but hb said if go Yu Long Zhi, the given names more or less same as others, why spend $100.00 on this. But I told him can go others to give more specialised names (eg 5 to choose from). If not, I also thinking of having Kai En, as same as my son who has a 'Kai' (his is Kaiyang). But do rest assure, I will get someone to name my DD, and not use Kai En. Just a thought only.

Cactus,
Thanks for yur info. Yup, the strokes r not our usual way of counting n also ve to be in alignment wif the surname, the bb’s 5-elements & all.

Fennie,
Yes, naming can oni be done after bb is born cos Yu Long Zi would need the bb’s DOB, hour & minute to recommend on the name(s). I am told tat once bb is borne, we can call up Yu Long Zi tat very day & provide him the details over the phone. He will take 3 days or so to compile his recommendations for our selection. The cost is $100 & will be paid to him when we go down to his office to collect the recommended names. I ve checked wif my hospital & am told tat when I go back for my 1st post-natal checkup (est 14 days after delivery), Raffles will still do the registration & BC for me then since I cant submit the full name of bb upon discharge, so in my case, I need not go down to SIR to get BC done.

crystal,
thks for info, i will check with Mt Alvernia how many days will be given for the making of BC, bcos my postnatal check will be done at my gynae's clinic and not the hospital

Veniz/ Fennie,

As far as i know most of the naming is thru computer, which all the master had a software to input father and mother 'shen chen ba zhi' for matching newborn name. To me, Yu Long Zi is like more 'branded'. Tats why i just go to those more convenient for my hubby to go down and make payment and we can still registered the bb name at hospital. Btw, i heard for the bb naming is not done by Yu Long Zhi himself, coz normally after you called he'll ask his disciple to do the naming. Anyhow, is all the same loh coz all out from the software.

ladies, earlier on someone post a link to cheap maternity wears, anyone has the link, its moving very fast this morning, and i lost the link, thks

Veniz,

My mum is not chong nai qin nu but she also dote on my bro more than me, esp now my bro staying with her and i move out ored. So i also always complain one.

Usu is my bro naughty then my mum will cane him then my bro will hide behind me and i got cane accidentally..

bizzsnow

Yup my MIL told us that a taiwanese artiste use the same name.. but since surname and the word "yu" is different writing so no harm.. and tat taiwanese singer is not v popular too.

Actually cos Jeff Chang is my sch days idol and i happen to chance upon the word "Zhe" which means wisdom, then my hb like the word "Yu" which literally means great wisdom after combining both names together.

After i check the book then suddenly i found that both characters are considered good for bb born in year "rat" so even lugi best lor.

However, we are still exploring whether got nicer names or not.. if not then we will use this name liao.. cos we run out of brain juice hee :p

Felicia,

Me and brother influence each other.. i tink i become more boyish and he become more girlish le.. me play video games with him but i dunno why i bot dolls for him to play.. my mum never tell me boys dun play dolls one..

feifei,

Ya hor.. dunno why some people like tat..make me feel a bit not happy lah.. but wat to do.
Next time won't buy shoes over spree liao lor, at least clothes easier bec' can mail over.. shoes must collect so ma fan. i dun blame spree organiser bec' maybe really accidentally not her fault somemore she organise so many sprees.

Toking abt spree, the disney clothes i order in feb to-date, i still haven't receive..! disney is v slow one.. sianz.

I just e-file my income tax. Sianz all those reliefs for bb i cannot claim now!!.. gotta pay a lot of tax this year

Check with u all on child reliefs har..

i noticed got this grandparent childgiver relief. If bb is taken care by both side of parents (i.e. MIL and mum), can both parents claim (i.e. me and hb)?

ellysia,

I got my disney cloths long time ago. I think we ordered around the same timing, rite but under diff organiser.
Then just about 1-2 weeks ago, spotted another disney spree, i joined it again. hehe....

Nowadays i had been addicted to join spree, almost lost track which one i hvnt got the stocks. Then i order the aquadoodle map for my ger, but i think the mummy is goin to deliver soon, so many had to wait till she come bak from hosp, only can get it from her.

bizzsnow,

I dunno whether library got or not, i no go library nowadays my sensitive nose will kill me..those dust.

I go home take pix of the book n show u all.. very good book. Give u a lot of interesting ideas on naming one.

I got another book from my hb's fren. Her book got give meaning of some words. If not can check dictionery bec' chinese words sometimes have many meanings. Do check properly bec' dun want next time bb name become laughing stock since chinese is going to be more widely used in future.

Felicia,

Me also become addicted to spree!

Cos become v lazy to shop around..esp in our preggy state lah.

Somemore some spree items are really good bargain.
I ordered babymall items twice liao, the clothes are normal but quite cheap. Disney tat time when i order, some are out of stock, i actually want to order again but still out of stock, so i give up liao. then with the slow speed hor, i dun tink i want to order now, dunno whether will arrive in time or not.

ellysia,
ok..i wait 4 u to post..yah lah..i scared next time bb like me..name become laughing stock..cos got to follow "Jia Pu".. n dat chinese character super difficult to match 1..dat's y i hv an english name for myself when i grew up..

bizzsnow,

Har, but if both side of parents got help then can only claim one side meh.. sianz.

I tink next year me and hb can discuss who take wat relief lor.. since we got working mother relief maybe other relief he can take.

Last year and this year i got NS wife reliefs haaa.. and i always claim for both my parents reliefs. but now not living together, i can only claim $3500 each.

Ellysia, your bro clever to dodge behind you leh.

About the Grandparent childgiver relief, only 1 parent can claim for 1 relief, cannot treat as two even though BB is being taken care by both sets of grandparents.

About sprees, the ones I joined so far so good, except I lost one of the order in normal postage. That one not expensive so still ok, can't do much about it. Currently I saw the lounge set BP spree by one mummy has very pretty sets for babies, kids, so ordered some. But hor, after I started to buy, will keep buying, have to have self control on this.

bizzsnow,

Hard to tink of name tat won't be laughing stock! cos if people want to make fun, anything can make fun one. But those common and obvious "laughable" ones, i hope we can try to avoid.

Bizznw
I let u knw if nd the contact. Last nite, i tink SIL more or less found one.

Regarding Gynae Receipt for $450 claim:
I understand that if those who sign the Gynae package, which usu amt more than $450, just bring tat receipt will do right? Dun need other receipts since tat one itself is > $450.

Veniz,

My bro is cunning one.. always know how to dodge and then i got the blame lah.

ya have to self-control.. i ended up with more than enuff bb clothes i tink..cos me and hb cannot control, we buy some more outside.. esp those disney ones, so cute.

The ones i gotten so far, i regretted is the gap bb clothes. The clothes i order is 3-6mths but end up look so much like NB clothes!! I tink i have to let bb wear them once born or else they be wasted v soon!..

ellysia,
i feel so sian when i wanna do e-file now..last yr the stupid IR** made a very stupid mistake n double assessed me ok..super fed-up with them..n i still got to go down then write in to appeal n ask them to investigate..somemore not my fault lor..super stupid.. i realised hor..a lot of relief not eligible liao..last time i used to be able to claim reliefs for both my parents even though my dad is a taxi driver..now they send me letter said cannot..cos he has an annual income of more than $2k..stupid.. so i think this time round my tax will be high..sian leh..

felicia,
wow, how come u get to be exempted? too bad i filed last wk liao n like ellysia, not oni ve to pay thousands over in taxes, & i still cant claim a single bb tax relief to off-set. sian....next yr, maybe not enf for them to tax me liao considering i tis yr no income, so can claim bb tax relief also no use. double whammy.

hi girls,
Been bz the whole morning. Just managed to log in. See that the discussion has been on names.

Then just received an email annoucing one of my colls has just given birth to a 7kg baby boy. My eyes almost popped out when I saw that, but I think most likley typo error, shld be 7 pounds bah. She delivered at 1am and hubby sent out sms so prob too tired. Hehe.

Oh no, I was sitting at my workstation suddenly feel dizzy when reading Ellysia's post. I think I lack of iron, only this morning I started to brew red dates water and bring to office to drink, now this dizziness making me scare to go out get lunch.

Oh, Danryan, I also havent pack my hospital bag, coz i havent buy my button down wear yet. Will do the packing only next mth end. Just now met my insurance agent she said I like anytime will give birth (or at least 1 mth earlier than EDD) coz tummy looks quite low type.

TF,

I will be KS, will bring all receipts.

But i tink consultation fees cannot be claimed. Only those tests can claim. Dunno if medicine/vits can be claim or not.