(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

yesh original
and yesh u can register if u want on the day itself and oso provided u have chosen and decided on the name

mine i used my hubby's one.. coz we have to sign the form on whose medisave account to use den hubby say use his one den i ok lor.. haha</font>

<font color="ff0000">veniz*

ha ha tats the thing i was afraid oso and i knew our handwriting is cannot make it one so aiyo.. spare me!!</font>

Good idea, should print out the chinese name.

My handwriting is ok for chinese words but i cannot remember how to write certain words and my hb surname is v unique so better he write, but his handwriting is terrok so also not ideal.

print better.. trust me.. the name will be there on the BC forever!!! *lol* i dun wan my daughter or son to come to me one fine day and complain how ugly their chinese name is on their BC!!</font>

has anyone of you ladies thought of getting someone to think of a name for your bb after they are born, based on their 生辰八字?

Fennie,

If ur original plan is hvin #2 when #1 is older, then wont the gap be too big? Coz now oledi 9yrs gap. I had collegue whom plan to had #2 after #1 is 3yrs old but not success.
Aft 7yrs, she was suddenly preggie again , then she said the gap too wide, as #1 cannot communicate with #2.

Chinese name : i'm totally out, coz i din study chinese before, then my hubby handwritting is worst, so better opt for print.

Fennie,
I am in a dilemma if I will get someone to name the bb (chinese name) nased on their 8 characters. I know my MIL is v keen to do that but hubby and I are not. Prefer to give a name ourselves leh.

Have you all start packing for hospital bag? What should I pack? I really got no idea where to start. Possible to PM me if you have a list?

Can i ask a question?

For the baby bonus ($3k), can we pick any bank we wish? Or are only certain banks that we can bank the money into?

Such an active thread! Wow, miss those days when I can sit infront of my pc &amp; chat (rewind back to 4yrs as a BTB)...

1st babe, EDD 14 June...boy. It'll be at Gleneagles under Dr Gordan Tan.

Was very keen on infant care but most prob will end up with a maid &amp; ILs will come over daily.

Seems like some of your lil' ones are very active...mine is on/off...like last Mon active whole day then quite quiet for the week till weekend...

Going for a short trip this weekend
last one till dunno when...

Got this list from another mom in the forum...need to customise to own needs tho...

What to pack for Hospital Bag

For yourself (I based on Caesarean case)
1. 2 packs of Maternity Pads
2. 2 packs of Disposable Panties
3. 2 front-opening Pyjamus(For Breastfeeding)
4. 1 face towel for cleaning body
5. 1 Going Home Outfit (e.g maternity babydoll dress)
6. 1 Bra
7. A pair of slipper or flat shoes
8. 3 bottles of Fish/Chicken Essence
9. HP with Charger
10.Camera with battery!
11.NRIC and Admission Letter

For baby
1. 1 Baby Receiving Blanklet with hook
2. 1 New Outfit for home
3. 1 set of New Booties and Mitten

Others – Optional
1. Medicated oil
2. Glasses
3. Hairclip
4. Socks (if you find it cold)
5. Some coins for your hubby to buy drinks/parking use
6. Vicks lozenges (good for soothing your throat)

*Notes:
(1) On your 1st day of admission, get your mum/mil to bring your clothes back as you’ll change into hospital gown with bare foot;

(2) Mt A provide a small bag of toothbrush. Toothpaste, comb and a packet of pampers and wet tissues so you need not bring.

(3) On your discharge-day, the nurse will give you abt 1-2bottels of small glass bottles of milk (each is about 90-100ml). Do ask for extra.

BTW I got the Ameda breast pump from Isetan for $320 with free Milk thaw &amp; warm container &amp; some extra part (looks like funnel)

MOrning ladies....

Wow, yest topic was abt bb bonus and registration =)....Really bery informative =)...

Felicia,
so we need to submit the original copy of the gynae's receipts hor? I also submitted all my originals to my company to claim liao...hmm..Mayb will get e clinic nurse to help me print out just the pkg receipt lor =)...

shern,
Hi ya...u going for hoiliday? wow, where will u be going?

morning feifei,

Ya, for submission must be original receipt. So just get the clinic nurse help you to print one receipt for the total amt will do.
So good, your company oso allow you to claim ur maternity fee?!

Felicia,
tks for the infor...Ya lor, cos we hv a sum of $$ for our medical and dental, so as long as we hv not finish using this amount, then can use it to claim =D....so at least this helps lor =D...

Actually bery fast lor, 2more mths to my EDD cos mine is 29th May...got a feeling bb might be out earlier =D...This means my feet has to swell for 2more mths ...hiaz...

fennie,
our bb will be named by Yu Long Zi on her chinese name. we ve one in mind now but intend to get the master to review 1st to c if suitable, if not, then leave to the master to decide lor.

TF,
got my sms last nite?

Hello Ladies, Good Morning.

Felicia,
My #1 is not so prepared for a younger sibling when he was younger, so we waited, and i think he is really now, cos he kept asking when the baby is coming out, and when we were at the EXPo babycare Festival, he asked me to get the playpan for his baby brother

Tera,
I just discussed with hb last night abt whether to use our own name or wait till baby is born,then he said anything also can, we sort of decided on a christian name as well as a chinese name, so we may just use it, cos its going to cost another $168 to get someone to name the baby.

Cactus,
We are also christian, and shouldnt believe in the 8 character thing, but my sis in law, my sis has been asking me or telling me about naming baby after birth, so I really dont noe what to do, but have already tot of a christian name as well as a chinese name, so we most probably just use it, getting ppl to name the bb also nto cheap

Crystal, according to my SIL who went to yu long zi, she said it is based on number of chinese strokes. but not the normal way that we were taught to count chinese strokes in school... my SIL was given 10 characters for each of the middle and last name by him to choose for her son. Hope this info helps!

crystal,
my sis in law &amp; sis also told me about 游龙子, i heard from sis in law, the naming cab only be done after baby is born, that means we have to go to SIR to make BC, if we have our own name, can make BC in hospital, btw, how much you pay for 游龙子?

liew,

Looks like most of u get yr hb medisave to pay.. in this case i also ask my hb liao hee.

Fennie,

I bot a book from popular bookstore, it has a section on calculating number of strokes to estimate whether the name is good or not. I tested our proposed name and seem fairly ok.

The book also have a section on which animal sign is suitable for wat words, some words are not suitable etc.

TF,

Mine is through bridal shop, dun tink she do part time outside. Mine is Lynn and my bridal shop is bridal concept.

cactus,

My hb side also has a family tree of names but hb dun intend to follow. We also decide to name our bb ourselves, prefer to choose from our own ideas.

I also dun intend to get a master to choose name, bec' my name is also not chosen by any master. My parents just tink of it themselves, though we are not christians.

Fennie,

Is good that ur #1 is well prepared now that another bb is joining the family. Now i'm teaching my ger oso on arriving of a new member in our family soon. And i expect my ger to talk and sing to my bb everynite though my ger not really can sing coz she just passed her 2yrs old birthday. Now my ger will keep saying she want the baby to play ball with her, but sometimes she'll reject the idea of sharing her toys with my newborn. No matter what i'm preparing her on the arrival of my bb...

Fennie,

Name of book, i have to go back to check. The book is really good. got many sects on chinese naming.

First it suggest wat are the good ways to naming, how to ensure wordings and pronoucation is ok and doesn't sound repetitive. E.g. Wang is made up of "W" and "ang" and the other 2 words shd avoid having "W" and "ang" in hanyu pinyin.

Then also got section analyse famous people and how their name mean etc.

Also got section on most 100 popular names.

Then got suggestion on good names. Whole list.

A sect on which animal sign is good for wat words to use, and wat words to avoid.

A sect on characters calculation based on strokes.

Very comprehensive book le. The author is not really v pro on auspicious naming or wat.. he is giving a comprehensive view.. so tats why i tink the book is good bec a lot of other books emphasize too much on auspicious naming.

cactus,

I believe it doesn't matter whether one is christian or not. My parents are not christians but they also dun believe in getting characters calculation for naming.

I feel if see master liao, wait the name we dun like how.. and the name we like master tink no good.. then another worry. Best to think freely on the naming lor.

My hb and myself decided not to name any English name and for bb religion, we will not put anything too.

felicia,

i tot its harder if the age gap is too near, thats why we drag it for so long. maybe getting a gift on behalf of your newborn, and tell your ger that this is a gift from her baby brother/sister, give it to her at the hospital after baby is born, thats what alot of parents did, maybe it will help

cactus,
we tot of using our own name, since we already tot of 1, if not, then maybe we will seek help, still have 2-3 months to think , hehe

ellysia,
no worries,if you do remember when you go home, maybe you can share with the rest of us, thks

Felicia,

When bb is born and yr no 1 play with her more, she will eventually share the toys with her one. dun worry.

And sibling quarrels bound to happen over toys etc, food etc.. sure will have but its part and parcel of growing up.

Fennie,

OK i go back home if i remember, i take a photo of the book and post here..

Me and my little brother has a age gap of 8 years
Yr no 1 is boy or gal and this coming no 2 leh?

<font color="ff0000">fennie*

though u ask you long zi to calculate oso can get the BC done at the hospital.. dun need to go SIR building

cactus,

Yup i have an English name too heee.. if u notice through yahoo group.

No lah, i just thought we leave the choice to our bb to decide when he grow up. So that he can have the name he like

I feel calculation is more on taoist thinking..
Anyway on calculation thing cannot totally believe in, my good fren name has been calculated but also like tat.. doesn't mean calculated by master means will have good luck in future one. I believe one fate is destined.

Rather i tink chinese name has a lot of meaning.. we can name words which we hope our bb will be in future, or some words tat we tink is nice.

Go SIR building v ma fan one..
recently i just go to do my 30 years old IC.. renew IC, a lot of foreigners there (maybe do permit or wat), long queue etc. i feel better go hospital register.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The Body Shop Warehouse Sale 27 to 30 March 2008 - Suntec Singapore Convention Centre Gallery East
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Enjoy great savings of up to 70% and many more special buys!
Free gift* worth $19.90 with $50 or more spent, exclusively for
UOB Credit Card.

Please forward this emailer to your family, friends and business associates now...Happy shopping!

*Free gift includes Eucalyptus &amp; Rosemary Body Lotion, Ginger
Body Lotion or Nested Box. Offer is valid while stocks last.

morning ladies

have all of u choose yr bb name??

i have not prepare things to bring to hospital yet....most of u here have done dat....

hi cactus and ellysia
Re baby names.. we will prob leave the chinese name to some HK master to count strokes for him when he's born, though I'm a christian. Actually I dun believe in the name strokes counting tingy, as long as can make older generations happy, no harm. Anyway, as long as I can get to choose bb christian name which is Isaiah "Prophet of God" (we KS already choose liao), I'm happy. The master will prob give a long lists of names to choose, if there's none I like, will also reject :p Will be nice if his chinese name can include an "En" but sounds kinda feminine...

Shern.. wow $320 seems like a good deal. Will the offer still be open this weekend? I need to get a breast pump too.. did they include fridge to go in the bundle?

Most impt is the items ored got at home liao. then anytime pack also ok.

roxy,

"En" is indeed more feminine but i got guy fren name also got "En".

ya lor i have not prepare and think abt that too...reached home already tired...wif my 2 boys at home mummy here mummy there....forgot abt the packing.

ellysia,

my #1 is a chubby boy &amp; #2 is also a boy, only my #1 wish for a baby boy , his reason being, didi can use his old toys, can save money, if ger, have to buy new ones

morraine,

is there a time limit for us to go back to hospital to get BC done?

danryan,
i have also not pack my bag yet, dont noe what bag to use, but have to start soon, cos you nvr know when baby wants to come out, time really flies. I have chose JARED TAN for my bb boy name, chinese is CHEN JIE LE

I ordered the birkenstock shoes through the spree.. then spree organiser sent wrong shoes to me.. end up i got to exchange with the other gal. Just exchange yesterday. So ma fan.. haiz.

Funny the other gal just sit inside her car then ask me to come over to exchange lor, she didn't even want to get out of her car. Somehow i dun feel good abt her attitude. Am i tinking too much?

fennie,
i am intending to look for tan khoon yong to do the chinese naming for my bb..but me n my hb will try to come out wif the chinese name 1st then let him see suitable anot lor.. i read from some forum dat you long zi tends to give similar names to different ppl..so i decide to go to tan khoon yong instead..

tf,
my makeup artiste is from julia wedding news...her name is xiaoqi...let me know if u interested anot..i can pass u the no..

re:receipts
from wat i noe, we must submit the original receipts for the anenatal package lor..my hb filed all the receipts n bb printout in a file..so we will juz bring the file along n submit to the hospital when i admit..

roxy,
u n me hv the same thinking leh...i also want to hv an "En" in my bb's name..but very difficult to come up with 1 leh..my hb also said the name will sound like a girl's name with the word "En"..initially i wanna name my bb "Cai Jia En" want..but hb said sound like girl..so give up lor..maybe i reserve to use it for future..hehe

during check in the hospital, my hb will do the registration and submit all the receipt while the staff will push me direct to the labour ward...dats was what me &amp; hb did for our 2 pregnancy.

me &amp; hb have decided the bb names so can register BC at hospital after give birth....much easier and faster

Fennie,

On chinese naming, me and hb have problem on dialect naming. In the end we decided to use chinese pinyin instead of dialect name. Cos hb being teochew (he is actually half teochew but his father is teochew so he follow) and teochew pronoucation doesn't sound nice at all.. so in the end me and hb decided to use chinese pronoucation for bb naming.

Age gap of 8 years.. the main thing is tat me and my bro is 1 generation gap lor. I born in 70s, he is 80s mah. So sure got difference in thinking one. also some things i say he may not understand at his age grp lah. But i find tat me and bro get along through playing games. We played video games together last time.

Age gap big also means tat elder really treat the younger as young lor, xiao di di lah. the seniority feeling of elder over young will be more significant.

My bro didn't use my old stuff bec' by the time he is born, most of my toys i have either lost them or spoilt them. I had robots, lego and toy phone etc but most of them lost/spoilt. He also didn't use any of my old clothing bec' also dunno go where liao hee.