(2008/06) June 2008

Dan and Fennie,

Me felt pain in lower part yest nite and this morn, but now seems okay liao.

liew,

My bb movements are obvious now. But he dun respond so much to our 'knocking'. He will usually delay awhile after our 'knocking'. But he is responsive to noise and music. Whenever i watch my fav serial with the familar music, or i on my radio or play my game, he will respond to the music by moving.

tf,
i updated liao..

ellysia,
ok..thks for the info.. but do they specify wat brand of milk powder they let us to choose from huh??

liewz,
seems like dr yeo dun really like to tell us how heavy is the bb or maybe he dun hv dat kind of machine dat can measure the bb's weight hor..he always give me a very rough figure 1.. how come u only pay $650?? the nurse tell me to bring $695 leh.. which bed u opt for?? need to bring cpf statement meh??

bizzsnow,

From wat i understand from the pre-natal course i gone to, TMC will rotate the milk powder so no fixed milk powder brand. If we have specific one, we can specify.

cactus,
SIL not a bit "buay zi dong", she n BIL (her hb) are very much so. eg: we go for family dinners @ kopitiam (my PILs, her entire family + hb n me), the minute her entire family finished eating, they will give excuses to say wanna go walk ard, etc & left either hb & me or my PILs to pay the bill. once bill settled liao, then miraculously the whole family would turn up again. so u tell me lar...i m ok wif taking turns to foot the bills but not when it is us or PILs all the time. & the bills are usually in the range of $100-$200 & considering tat her family size is 5, i think tat she shd at least contribute a bit lar vs hb & me (2 paxs) paying for everyone (9 paxs) all the time. even now when i not working, it is still the same. the best thing is hb is not earning any much more than she is & her hb earns so much more. *shake head*. i dun meant to sound so calculative but over the years, tis had not change one bit but getting from bad to worse. wat can i say except tat tis is family n i cant choose lor....jus close eyes lor...

bizznow, our bb's weights are an estimated figure. ur doctor will take measurements of the head, tummy, etc, to put these measurements into a formula to generate an estimated weight. If you do ultrasound scans, your doctor should be able to estimate the weight rather easily cos the formula is built in to the ultrasound machine...

Ellysia,
I noticed if i walked for long hours, then after that will feel the pain, but some days i dont feel it, sometimes the pain is on the upper tummy area, feels like gastric pain

my bb's movement also more obvious now..he was so excited during the man u and liverpool's game on last sunday.. my hb n his fren's were cheering when man u scored a goal..n he is also kicking inside me lor..another red devil fan..haha..

ellysia,
your bb so obedient! i believe my bb gal very naughty and may same attitude as my hb! faint...
oh ya, every mrn may not swtich on my alarm clock cos my bb sure will knock me to awake! so terrible...

Crystal,
Talking abt those ppl who are buay zi dong, what happens if this same person kept asking you to buy packet lunch, and then didnt even ask how much is the lunch, just say thank you, or even no thanks, and then even criticize that the lunch yucks?have you had such encounters?one time i took bus for lunch(was pregnant already), and she is so lazy to buy from nearby office, but ask me to pack 2 pkts for her and didnt pay for it

Cactus, do you feel painful when your baby moves in the right side of your tummy?

I dunno why, but I do feel painful sometimes when mine is like shifting positions on the right side. Maybe she is nearer to my right body organs, that's why. I rem my #1, he is always centre left, but not as painful as now when he moved.

Ellysia, isit? The Line more raw food, then best to go after preggie lor. About the TMC books, as mentioned, they are quite straight forward without being lorsoh, like if you need to know an info quick, you just zoom into the section and get the immediate info without needing to reading lots of paragraphs from the 'What to expect for the first year'. Can treat as cross reference guide. I will list down the contents for you tomorrow.

Crystal, I think ur BIL is more buay zi dong lah. Your sister prob never had to pay a single cent when she was an unmarried daughter.... maybe she thinks it's your hb's duty to pay for everything since he's the son?

bizznow,

usually the gynae will take measurements of your bb's head & tummy circumference and then tell you your bb's est. weight

Danryan,
my next scan is this thurs 27 mar,hope i remember to ask gynae abt the pain

Fennie,

Gynae told me sometimes bb will knock head on our pelvic area / bottom area so we may get some pain at bottom. Also possible the bb weight giving pressure to our bottom causing pain/strain.
Tats why we are not suppose to walk nonstop for long, have to take small breaks in btw.

Gynae also told me tat slight pain at bottom is normal bec' the bones are now expanding. As usual, she told me if the pain persist and need to lie down one, means need to visit her liao.

Last week i was so stressed up with work, i tink i walk a lot in office to and fro, and thus v tired. Dunno is it bec of this, add stress to my bb.

How come yr colleague ask u to buy lunch? Shd be they buy for u preggy mah.

My other dept colleague ask me how come my dept colleague no ta bao lunch for me since i am preggy .. i say nevermind.. but so far no one ask me to buy for them too.

Veniz,

The line got cooked food also but not seafood. Seafood usually people go for mussels (heard the mussels there v good) but they are raw. So i tink in order to get money worth, better go after give birth.

felicia,
i seconded veniz & cactus on Shangri - The Line. Love tat place to bits. the buffet esp on tues was wonderful but not sure if it is still on, better call n check. i used to frequent tat place abt every 2 mths on tues cos of oyster nite. yummy yummy...but after preg liao, hb wun bring me to eat there cos too much seafood which i cant eat. but px on tues also very ex, ard $80+ per pax.

Fennie,
U should just tell the person the price when u pass the food to him/her. Cannot stand such buay zi dong person.

Crystal,
Maybe next time u guys all go out and eat, u and hubby shld disappear before ur SIL and BIL disappear,hehe.

TF,
I'm in my 28th week and my next visit has been scheduled 1 mth away from my last visit (will be on 15 Apr). Only after that, it will be twice a month. Cannot wait!

Veniz, I don't feel pain but an uncomfortable feeling as the bb stretches/pushes against my uterus. It's like a stretchy feeling. I don't think our bb is too near any body organs cos bb is well protected within the waterbag.

bizznow, maybe when ur doc does the ultrasound, he is not looking out for the growth of the bb, but rather, just the structural growth of the bb. Or maybe he just takes 1 measurement of the bb, to satisfy him of the growth, and that's it.

Felicia, yeah. No point going to The Line on Tuesdays or on Sundays. Cos we can't take shellfish now, also no point going for free flow champagne and wine. THe normal buffet has already a very wide spread. Just have to avoid the raw food (Jap food counter is my favourite....sigh).
I think the Sat lunch is a good deal. Oh.. I think UOB card has promo now. Go to The Line as a group of 4, 1 eats free.

liew,

No my bb also like to kick violently last time esp during sleep one. I talk to him lor. Usually morning if the alarm clock ring and my hb wake me up, bb will also wake me up by moving.

Now i guess maybe he is bigger, the movements felt are much different. He shift and move, i feel so much wriggling inside.

Now i dare not scold him liao, after recent incident. In fact feel happy by his movements le, though at times i feel it disturb me while toking or do stuff.

But i notice whenever i am cooking with the hood noise on, he will quiet down..

Haha, really amazing to communicate wif baby in the tummy at nite. Last nite, i talk to him b4 sleep, he doesnt wnt to respond until, i give up n say i gv him 2 pats of kisses, one each fr mummy n daddy, then responded the 2 pats wif 2 thuds.

Anyone have experience buying elder wheelchair? Over the weekend, MIL trip n fall. Lucky she is big in size to cushion herself. Weighing 90kg, she always prone to falling. This is wat i always hint to her tat I can't have my confinement at her place cos she has to take care of herself.

Ellysia,
thks,bcos she not automatic lor, buy is ok, but nvr pay i cannot tahan, so now i act blur alot, or dont pick up her call at lunch time, she is very very lazy, its a long story, she was supposed to be a business partner, and now the money she put into my hubby's company becomes a loan, but she still behaves like she is boss

Tera,
thks,thks,bcos she not automatic lor, buy is ok, but nvr pay i cannot tahan, so now i act blur alot, or dont pick up her call at lunch time, she is very very lazy, its a long story, she was supposed to be a business partner, and now the money she put into my hubby's company becomes a loan, but she still behaves like she is boss

Fennie,

OIC. then bo chap her lor. If i am u, i will ask her for the lunch $$ immediately and straight at her face. Or tell her tat u didn't bring enuff money for lunch, so ask her to pay u all those lunch money she owed u.

Ellysia,
Yeah, thats what i do now, but my hubby also gana many times already, we cant do much cos she may just issue a lawyer letter n demand us to pay her all the money, she nvr pay my hubby but always asked him to buy lunch, then i ask hubby, he said she will for expensive lunches in restaurants/hotels, so i tell him what for accept those expensive lunches, then hv to pay for so many small lunches, i rather not accept

Veniz/ Cactus,

The line har? Nvr been before, but Ellysia said it had more mussels/ cockles? All my favourite leh but i dont think my hubby will allow me to eat all this loh. But will definately make some survey on it. hehe...

Crystal,
I agreed with cactus loh. Ur BIL is the real buay zi dong one loh. Tell you, if this go on, sooner or later you'll explore loh. Coz imagine ur bb is coming soon and ur expenses will be more and more. Hubby oso get more burden.
I got a friend's hb whom previously before married staying with the parent and brother and SIL. So, of course, he'll share the household bill, but then when he got married with my friend and move out, the bro and SIL still insist he must continue to pay for the household bill like food expenses though he din go back to eat. And then the most ridiculous thing is the bro asked my friend's hb to paid for the TV subscription which was said for the parent whom is staying with them.
Sometime you'll need to straighten out all this with them else you'll be the one always kana bully.

Cactus, yes, I think I feel the stretchy feeling also. I will check with my gynae about the pain, it may be due to the fact my gal is much more active than her bro.

Crystal, two yrs ago, my hb promised to bring me go The Line for lunch, till date, yet to go, but heard the rave about it. I think after I gave birth, have to really find one fine day (have to do lucheon by then) to try the spread.

Fennie, Crystal, there are lots of buay zi dong pple around. My SIL, after dinner, will take the bill from her father/my hb (after they paid), calculate how much per pax cost, then claimed expensive and return the bill to the person without saying she wants to pay back. My colleague, company's lunch (Korea cusine), ate his saba fish and grill beef ribs said nice, then towards end of the meal, say everything not nice, only nicest is his coke. Really felt like slapping him as this is a free meal, still so many comments.

Felicia, I feel that everything about The Line is good. not just the cockels or sashimi... they have a wide range of western, asian, and desserts!! I remember Monday's buffet even has choco fountain with bananas, jambus, jackfruit, guava, strawberries! Their icecream has numerous toppings too!!!

Veniz, the pain may sometimes be ligament pain or pain as the uterus grows. Both are "good" types of pains. Usually in the 3rd trimester, we will feel more pain for normal...as our bodies accomodate fast growing bb & prepare for delivery.

Hearing so many good comment of The line, then it shall be my after delivery buffet feast. hehe....

TF,
Last time i brought one wheelchair for my mom but i brought a Msia. It cost about RM500+. In fact there're many kinds of wheelchair. You might want to survey a bit before deciding to buy. You can check at http://www.rehabmart.com.sg/light.htm

veniz/fennie
bb always on the right side also....always bulging out on one side....

re: maid
the agency which i went for enquiry was $388 (1 time maid replacement,9mths upfront maid salary & etc charges total abt 3K) or $588 (2xreplacement, etc charges total abt $1100 one time payment, $310 maid salary x 9mths paid to agency monthly)....is it ok the price & payment terms

Veniz,
ya, there is really alot of buay zi dong ppl ard, but i think they will reap what they sow,she is suffering a whole lot of illness, getting in n out of hospital so often, fainting, vomitting, diarrea, not sure if this is her punishment

ellysia,
your bb is so cute! mine is when during i'm working period she will quiet and seldom disturbing me( don know because i have to face my computer for the whole day).only when reach home or hear my hb voice then she will start moving ard very frequently and hard also.

Danryan,
my bb can be everywhere, sometimes i feel tightness in the tummy, not sure if thats his head, something hard and round, then when hubby tried to feel him n say something to him, he moves away

Cactus/Felicia/Ellysia
Ya, I went to the rehabmart already n saw 2 models, the Comfort n Samo, abt $240 ~ $300 range. So tot if any other places tat i may nt knw. Else likely will get fr Rehab. Hmm.. I may consider M'ysia, gd idea. Cos every year, she will fall once. Last 2 years already have hairline crack on ribs. Recent one, lucky no hairline crack, only muscle tear. So the chair is to standby for injury time. Rental was $50 per mth. So i tot after 5 times, almost the cost of seat.

TF, sounds like your MIL is quite prone to falling. Is the home rather slippery when floor is wet? Or she's just careless? Maybe get her to take calcium supplements to reduce incidence of hairline fractures? As our moms/MILs age, their bone density tends to be reduced.

crystal,
if i can "siam"(avoid), i will, will bring lunch to work from home, last time i brought lunch from home, she also want to share with hubby n me, she is really too much, few times, she asked her son to follow us to lunch or dinner, then her son(12yrs old) also like her, got wallet, but nvr pay for his own food, wait for us to pay, somemore sometimes eat 2 portions

Fennie, sometimes these pple (the 'BZD') they will get pros and cons in life. In fact, all of us will, its a matter of how much are the pros and cons we getting. I am no saint also, like eg, during teenager time, I will comment why this gal I saw is so skinny already has double chin. Then a few mths later, after eating too much, I started to have double chin also. So from there, I will try to be careful of what I say or think of other pple. Sometimes forget, also got into hot soups. But then not to pay pple back kindness or $$, I really cannot lor, coz pple nice to us, we have to be nice back also.

Veniz,

Yes like wat cactus say, got cooked food also. In fact i dun eat raw food regardless preggy or not. But my hb said the mussels are v nice. And indeed many people queue for mussels. If u dun want to eat the raw food, still can go for the buffet.

I am waiting for my hb to bring me to chimes for the Jap restaurant (same branch as the Wheelock place one). The sushi there are so nice (though i eat cook ones)

liew,

Mine will move when i work, even when i tok to boss and during meeting, he also move one.

I am trying to train him to sleep at the same time with me heee. Heard tat the sleeping pattern of our bb now will be same when he is born le.

My bb prefer left side usually. So when i sleep, i tend to sleep on right side first but will flip all around later.

Cactus
2 of her falls are out of the house. She is very heavy 90kg n big in size. Wobble left right as she walks. Also smtx is her character where she likes to do alot of things which is nt necessary cos she likes to be appreciated as in this world nobody can do better than her (the old folks thinking). Or without her, the whole house cant function. So she's high in anxiety over small things too. Ya, she's been taking Calcium since 1st fall. Whole family ask her cut down on food, she still dun cos she is those that afraid food get wasted so will wallop remainder. Yet she cooks alot in case nt enuf to feed. All in the mental tots of old folks. Sigh.

TF,

Old folks like to move around even if have difficulty moving.. sometimes they tink if dun move will become useless or cannot walk next time. Then they like to hunt around for tasks to do.. to prove they are useful. Common thinking.

Worst, old folks have the thinking that must eat more and cannot be too slim bec slim = not healthy. they keep tinking fat is healthy.

Ellysia, that Jap restaurant is nice!! The menu at Chijmes is more atas than the menu at Wheelock. There's a new branch near Merchant Court Hotel but I've not been there yet. Have you?

cactus,
dunno wat my SIL thinking lar. mother of 2 oreadi n still behave like tat. somemore she is older than my hb, the elder sibling....my BIL character my hb knew from day 1 is like tat one so already used to it...

RE: Bb Kicking
my always tend to lie more to my rite side since the very 1st day i feel her kick, so i more mobile on my left...
but she is a daddy's ger cos she more responsive to my hb than to me even though both hb n me can be saying the same things to her...interestingly i sense a gradual change in my hb, wonder if u gers' hbs are the same? my notice tat hb seems to "soften" when he speaks of his bb n he seems more fatherly to me now than husbandly...both of us are counting down to the days of bb's arrival. i m counting down to the days my life would be changed forever & there goes my 2-some. he is counting down to the days when bb is here n he gets to c her. he admitted to me last nite tat he is reai very eager for bb to arrive n dun understand y i dun...

Crystal, maybe your SIL is more pampered by your ILs? It's like, daughters are not expected to pay towards their parents' family. It's a traditional thinking. Your SIL's behaviour prob stems from before she got married lah.