(2008/06) June 2008

morraine,
i can meet too! prefer dinner over lunch aso.

Ellysia,
Tks for sharing...U mean i hv to eat more wholemeal bread?

We can still eat veges, and fruits hor? cos somebody told me cannot eat fruits cos hv sugar, then i was wondering, cham lor, then my constipation sure chaliat...can still eat rice also hor...

Muffin,
u controlling ur diet now?

muffin,

Korean BBQ I like the one at Raffles city shopping centre @ city hall.

feifei,

I mean u can continue to eat yr wholemeal bread,no need to stop on tat.

U can eat vegs yes, veg has the least sugar. Esp those soupy ones are best.

Fruits, dun eat honeydew. Apple is recommended.

As i say the worst one are those artificial sugar present in drinks, ice-cream, cakes.

Avoid those heavy spices food bec u won't know wat items they put, usu have sugar inside but cos heavy spice, u can't taste them.

Things like Laksa, curry, prawn noodles, food with sauces will have sugar. Avoid chinese soup cooked outside one.

I suggest u to take yong tau hu (soup), fish soup, porridge.

When i do my cooking, i dun add sugar now. Even salt i only put a pinch of salt or less than 1 pinch. Cannot put too many.

Hi gers,
Good morning.. I guessed nobody would be up so early huh. Bo bian, I am starting to have trouble sleeping. Keep waking up in the middle of the nite for no reason. So when hb wake up for work, I oso..

TF, cactus, Ellysia,
Thanks for the concern and advice.
I am still monitoring my BP at home. Usually, it is 120+/80+, which is considered as the normal range. But I realised that my BP is slowing climbing even when I measure at home too. Not too sure if I am getting stressed over the BP thing. Always get very kan cheong when I straped the thing over my arm. ;p
I just paid for the 2nd instalment of my package last week. So I tot that I will stay with my doc for the time being. If really emergency, then go straight to KKH A&E. I think just anyhow bluff lor, say nearby or gynae out of town. Or call for ambulance, they sure have to send to Govt hospital mah. If it is really an emergency, KKH cannot turn me away even if I have a gynae. I hope the situation wun turn so bad. Still hoping that my bb will continue to grow and hit 2kg. Will have to start exploring. Will be talking to my doc on my financial concern too.

TF,
Can you forward me the rates for KKH? My email: [email protected]. Is there any no. to call to ask about ICU rates too? I will also have to do some homework on TMC's ICU's rate.

Fei fei, on the topic of fruit, try to avoid high sugar fruits like berries and grapes. These days, I take plums (although season coming to an end!!) and guava. I eat 1 medium sized guava as tea time snack every day. So far so good. And do drink lots of water. I also realise I have less trouble in the toilet if I exercise. I usually walk around for about 20 minutes every evening. Sometimes, up to 40 minutes if the weather is not too bad. Brisk walk.

Hi Cactus,
Good morning.. I tot it would be a while before I see any posts. Your hb kicked you?? Normally, I would be the one disturbing my hb, especially now that I wake up frequently in the middle of the night for no reason. Hehe.
thanks for the infor. Wow, if KKH charges $240 for 1 day in NICU, I can imagine the kind of rates that TMC will charge. Must plan properly liao.

Hi gers,
I just checked TMC rates on NICU.
Level 2A is $240, 2B is $370 and 3 is $460. Any idea wat does it means?

no clue that the rates mean. maybe you can check with TMC directly? My guess is either the different levels refer to the different levels of care, or correspond directly to the mom's choice of ward?

Hi! Just a visiting mum from 2007 mums. :D

Just my 2 - cents worth:

Zuen, I was with SGH as a subsidised patient cos I had genstational diabetes! I went to the polyclinic and got a referral, and supposed to see the team doctors (any random doctor on duty)but I was classified as "high-risk" and thus saw th experienced consultant doctors instead (while paying the subsidised rate!:p) During delivery, it was a doctor on duty who did it for me, but my diabetes gynae was popping in and out to check on my condition. I had a very good experience with SGH, as it is very friendly and cosy. plus the place is well - equipped. More importantly, my baby was in High dependecy unit (1 step down from NICU) for almost 1 week cos her jaundice level was super high and the cost was manageable! I took the B2 class (non - aircon and 5 bedder), stayed for 4 nights and did not have to fork out a single cent (all form medisave!). If you take the B1 (air - con) you'll need to top up less than $1k, about $600 in all, i think. The ward you choose is independent from the gynae (whether you want to specify which means you'll be a private patient). Meaning I can stay in B1 ward (anf pay more $ cos i stay in air con mah), but still pay subsidised rate for gynae fee (cos I did not specify any gynae for my delivery).

The other mummies who are doing the glucos test now: regarding GD (gestational diabetes), SGH loan me a little glucose meter. I had to buy the strips and tiny needles for the tests. Basically, I will poke my finger with the tiny needle before and after EACH meal = 6 times + 1 additional time just before sleeping. Then test the blood on the strip and record the reading. Initially, I had to do alternate days until the next visit (was seeing the gynae once every 2 weeks and had scans done cos they need to know exactly how much weight my baby puts on cos diabetic mums tend to have huge babies which will mean c- section!!). I also had to record down the exact food I took for my meals on those days, because the dietician assigned to me by SGH will also be monitoring my ability to digest the food. Haha, many times I failed and my dietician will sit me down for a lecture!!! If my glucose level is still not satisfactory at this first intervention stage (meaning through control of diet), then they will give me insulin injections for me to do at home every day!!! Thank goodness mine was fine, but I still had to poke myself 2 - 3 times a week and was under the "high-risk" pregnancy unit until I deliver. After delivery 1 month, I had to repeat the glucose test. My level was back to normal, else it will mean that I have confirmed the normal person diabetes, and they will refer me to diabetic unit!!!

All in all, I was glad that I chose to be a subsidised patient. I have always wanted SGH but thought I will be a private patient after I decide which gynae I like. Then I had GD... and my baby had jaundice... so save lots of $$!!!

By the way, when waterbag broke etc, I went straight to the SGH delivery ward 52, cos they said no point going to their A&E. will still ultimately refer back to delivery ward. More importantly, at delivery ward, I was attended to immediately! SGH is much better than KK cos less crowded and the nurses and doctors less harried, and much nicer!! :D

Morning ladies..

Ellysia,
Tks for ur advises =)....

cactus,
Tks for ur advises too...u mean those plums which we can find in NTUC? I always take 1 orange and 1 apple after lunch nowadays lor, and find that my immune sys abit stronger now, won't hv flu every mth..hee

I spend my night at KKH yesterday. Is not me, is my ger. Let me share with with you all as i find is another experience for a mummy like me.

My ger started to had mild fever during the nite before and i tot is just another normal fever of her (as i might pass it to her since i'm sick 2 days ago), so per normal, i give her children paracetamol and let her sleep.
At midnite, around 1 am, my mil woke me up as she said my ger fever seems very high and when i took her temp, it was 39 degree celcius, which i got a shocked and quickly ask my hubby send her to nearby 24hr clinic. So unfortunately, the 24hrs clinic which we always tot, and we even visited before during midnite was no longer a 24hr clinic. I was panicked as i din had any oth 24hr clinic list on mind except this clinic. My hubby drove along the main road hopefully can see some 24hrs clinic before we decided to stop at Sembawang MRT station and ask around. We were told there's a clinic at Chong Pang, Yishun area and we rushed there. Unfortunately, the doctor asked us to send our ger to KKH A&E as he said he cant give me any medicine to reduce the fever as my ger had vomitting.

As we nvr been to KKH before, my hubby need to take time to figure the way to KKH from his map. (In fact my hubby was sick oso )So i decided to take a cab with my mil to KKH 1st.

My ger was attended quite immediately by a doctor there. My ger was given some paracetamol and asked to collect her urine for bacteria infection test. She oso go thru glucose test where she was feed with 15ml glucose every 15mins for 4 feed to see if she vomit again. My ger was very unco-operative. She dont want to drink, not to said let us collect her urine. She failed her 1st glucose test as she puked out on 3 feed. Ended up, doc had to give another round of glucose test. And her urine sample was too little to be send to lab as the 1st urine tested there's a bit abnormal result and we had to try to collect more urine. It was really a struggling period at KKH. After we clear all the test and result, is morning oledi, almost 8am. Then we had our breakfast at KKH before we headed back home. By the time we reached home is 10am plus. My ger is still hvin some mild fever at this moment and now is my hubby whom is running high fever. This week was really a 'fever week' for my family.

I learn my lesson from this experience, dont ever take easy for any small small illness, you nvr know when it become too serious. And always prepare any emergency list of clinic (not one but 2-3) & tel nbr at home. Most importantly, familiarise the route to those clinic and hospital.

Sorry for long story of mine, but i hope this incident can be a learning experience for all the mummies. I really had a scare of my life today.

Me and hb just went to buy new rice cooker and some appliances. Courts got philip sale now.

Btw, For those who are looking for Ameda pump.

Yest at Robinsons i saw Ameda Pump selling at $388 but got 20% discount. Card member can get an extra 5% rebate i think.

Oh ya, then me bot 2 more PJ at Robinsons. They are of the same brand as NTUC one, Karma brand. But the robinsons one got shirt and pants PJ; and one whole piece dress PJ and of slightly thicker material and more designs. Cost $14+ to $25+. The NTUC ones are still ok and cost $9.90.

Felicia,
Oh dear...seems like a busy and bad nite for ur family..take care ya...hv a gd rest..

Ellysia,
Did u go to the Expo fair?

All,
Anyone went to the fair today? Any gd buys?

Tinker Belle
Thanks for the good insight n sharing. BTW, correct me if i'm wrong. Now I'm under subsidy, during delivery, can we opt for 4-bedded or 1 bedded just for the room, but still remain subsidy? Cos i read tat u opt for better room n since u didn't specify the gynae, your whole case is still subsidy except room charges.

Zuen
Yes, remember tat any emergency, plus go straight to Delivery Suite, nt A&E. This applies to KKH too. I will scan the rates n email u. In it has all the ICU, NICU, etc.. charges, small charges n big charges too. Will also put in the Yahoo.

Felicia
Really a fever week for yr family. Hope all of you recovering over the weekend. Have they diagnosed wat your daughter's is going thru?

Feifei n all
Went this morn'g to Expo, mainly just to sign up for the magazine. Initially they run out of stock for the Huggies diapers. So have to wait for the stock to arrive. Also, the diapers size tat they r giving is either M or L, no S or XL. So upset lots of mommies who sign up n wanted XL.

Found the company that sells the flashcards for babies (after Glenn Doman research). The website is www.gdbaby.com.sg They are having promo for the flashcards but i didnt get cos i tot i wnt to find out if i could get any cheaper fr U.S website. Also, I found a website that can print the dot maths flashcards too already. So for interested mommies: http://www.internationalparentingassociation.org/Materials/index.html

Feifei
I guess the only good buys should be the Pureen n Nestle counters. Cos those are the 2 wif long queue, so i believe they are mommies wif kids tat are consuming the Nestle food or those who going for Pureen brand. Other than tat, the other booths are miscellaneous like MumInMind, Bumwear selling @ $15, Babysafe hvg promo on their pillow, mattresses.

TF,
Tks for the information...Did u see any Mum in Mind booth there? Was told they hv maternity disposable panties there...

Is there any booths which sells diapers?

All,
Heard that during confinement, we shouldn't eat dang gui cos will reduce milk supply de, any ladies can comment on this?

Feifei
Yes MumInMind is there, but i nt sure wat they sell beside sling cos i didnt go near. Yes, dang gui affects beast milk, so no no. Mrs Wong mentioned in class.

Hi gers,
I am back at work after a 2-day break. I think I will stay for until afternoon. Gg for course the entire next week, so wun have time to check forum.. -.o" Need to finish some work before gg for course. See, like that how to avoid stress at work? I might consider working half a day each day during the crucial period to rest.. The moment I come into office, I see the pile of work that I have to clear and my gers are chasing.. Arrgghh.. Jia you!

Ellysia,
I checked the Ameda pump at Robinson before. Ameda pump is controlled price, so not eligible for the 20% discount. Can only get 5% rebates, which is still more expensive than mumsfairy..

Hi TinyFeet,

For my delivery, I only chose on THAT night I was admitted. I chose B2 cos I dun know if I may end up emergency c -section (touch wood) or any complications. I was seen by the gynae on duty cos I am a subsidised patient (was seeing team doctors although since I have GD, saw the same diabetic expert gynae!).

Anyhow, before that, during my regular checkup, the nurse told me about the admission / delivery charges. As a subsidised patient, I can choose whichever ward to stay in, but of course you pay more $ for better wards! But operation, gynae, epidural fees etc will depend if you speficy gynae. For my case, initially I was worried that I will want a gynae who can stitch well, so I wanted to specify gynae but want to stay in class B2 (to save $). And the nurse told me that YES, cos gynae and ward are totally seperate! You can choose the TOPpest gynae in SGH and stay in class C!!! But you pay for the top gynae $ lah!! Just that those who csn afford better gynae OUGHT to be able to afford better wards?? :D

However, that was last Aug, and I'm not sure if policies have changed.

In my opinion, SGH doctors are good. However, the only grouse about no fixed gynae is that even when my regular diabetic gynae was hovering round to check on me, he was NOT the one delivering, cos going by rules, only the gynae who HAPPENED to be on duty when you check in can do so. However, there will always be an overriding top gynae who will be overall in charge. In my case, when I was in the final hour of pushing (10 cm dilation already), I could not push!!! I did not know how!!! Cos I pontang the exercise section of my antenatal class where they teach you to breath.. so end up the more I push, the higher and deeper my gal went into me!!!!! The on - duty doctor also panic, and was thinking of emergency c - section. BUT good thing is he has to consult the top gyane so he called her to come over, then she checked me, and insisted I can push, and started screaming at me like some psycho liuetenent on HOW and WHEN to push, and I also started screaming and my hubby also shouting, and the 2 midwives also shrieking away.... and finally popped!! I guess the doctor on duty was too gentle... :p He was like, PLEASE PUSH... TRY, my DEAR... so I did not take him too seriously, HAHA!!

No problem with not having a specific doctor cos all your records are with SGH, and they know instantly what your condition is. Just make sure you update your doctor(s) every checkup on every little problem you have cos they will record it down. So I guess if you're fine with any doctor (since there will be a top doctor always looming behind), you can always opt for a better room. SGH has no 2 - bedder though, only 1 - bedder (but I heard they have renovated so maybe now have??). But next time round, I will not choose B2 (no air-con and 5 - bedder, no TV). Cos like MARKET!!!! I was given temporary use of B1 (aircon and 5 - bedder still but with own TV) cos B2 no space (they have very little B2 beds).. wah.. like heaven!! :D

Hi Tinker Belle,
I was almost falling off the chair with laughter over your delivery description. ;p Must be a very dramatic experience. I nvr attend any prenatal class wor. Guessed I better find out how to breathe properly.

I tried checking on the rates for SGH, but I cant find the rates for NICU anywhere. Looks like I have to start doing homework liao. Amazing the NICU rate for NUH is only $150 for B2 (6-bedded) ward. NUH is also nearest to my place too. If really emergency and bb pre-matured, that might be my choice liao.

my ger just take her afternoon nap and i sneak up to log on to my laptop.

Thanks for all ur concern. It was really a bad nite for me. My girl though had not fully recovered but at least her fever is not so high anymore. Yesterday nite i keep waking up every 2-3 hr to take her temperature and this morning i felt extremely tired.

Then suddenly i tot of BF topic we talked previously. We are supposed to either let bb latch on or express our BM every 2-3hrs daily, not sure if i'm really able to do it. Just wake up every 2-3hrs for a day, and i'm goin to collapse, imagine next time wanna BF, had to wake up daily. *sigh*

BB festival @ expo: Thinking to go on 1st day but as whole family is sick, then forgo the plan. Anyhow, look like not much good bargain from the details our mummies whom had gone. Anyone saw any good deal from mumsfairy?

Yoi ladies,

Me just back from the expo baby fair. what a disappointment, nothing much to see or buy....so just bought one baby toys back..hai... as don't wan feel so empty handed.

Felicia,
I actually email mumsfairy to check. If you are looking for their bundle deal, maybe it will be abit cheaper but probably not if you are just looking at the pump itself.
I think the savings wun be much, so I didnt bother to go down. I stay JW. I think the savings not enuff to offset my petrol cost and our time & effort.
Take care ya..

I'm from the Jan 08 thread. Just for info, last Saturday, Isetan was having a promotion for Ameda pump at $320 with freebies like milk bags. Those looking at Ameda pump may want to call Isetan Scotts to check if the promotion is still on going. RP of Ameda pump is $388.

hi gers,
went yd am, nothing much @ expo fair except for the magazine sub which was wat my main aim was. after long wait, TF & me finally got our huggies ultra. the fair opened at 11am, but by 11.30am, the huggies ultra were all redeemed out! they sent in for more supplies to fulfil the requests for mummies who had oreadi subscripted in the am but refused to take in anymore for that freebie. hb bought a thermometer from cooli (i think tat is the spelling), selling @ $79 whereas guardian / watson all selling @ $90+. other than tat, no other purchases. we intend to get a cot mattress from there but hb doesnt like the feel of it, so we got one from bb kingdom instead @ $29.90.

felicia,
hope yur dh & dd are much better today. fever down oreadi?

morr,
if dinner is arranged before 3rd apr, i can make it too for wkdays. after 3rd apr, it will be TBC for me. u gers jus go ahead n arrange the time convenient for most n i will try to make it if i can...txs.

Felicia, do take care of yourself also. About going to KKH, I ever been there 4 times (sometimes in middle of wee mornings, late nights, and stay there till the next morning after a few hours of monitoring then go back.) All the visits were due to my son's fever and my MIL's anxiousness. Not pleasant experiences.

Ah mor, for the meet up meal, I am on for 17 apr lunch, otherwise, any other evenings for dinner is fine with me. So see how the response going on next week and we can plan.

Muffin, about your post on Vivocity Food Republic's Korean Stall, I went there on Thurs night to eat the Hotstone rice, not really worth it as ingredients are not much, taste is very norm and it costs $8.00.

Veniz/ Crystal,

My ger and hubby fever finally went down. Now, my ger is back to active self, only my hubby is still very weak. He seldom got sick, so once sick will need more days to recuperate.
Ya, agree it was nvr a pleasant experience to go KKH especially due to child's sickness. In fact i do saw lot of parents bringing their sick kids there but we start to get bit uneasy when most of the families came later than us oledi gone back. And maybe is was due to my 1st time been to KKH due to such emergency, tats why i'm bit panicked as well.

New to this thread, due in June as well. Think I'll join in to count down the last few months

Seems like quite a few of you went for glucose tests, was it cos of positive urine dipstick, additional increase in weight or just a routine tests?

I went to try togi on fri, and food was good. Actually I went there before but the teochew restaurant next door (Lee Kew). Their food is also v good. The only hassle is parking, waited for quite awhile before we manage to get parking. Thanks for the recommendations!!

Hi Shern,
For my case, my granddad had diabetes and I am over 30s. Thats why I was referred to do the glucose test.

hi All...

Felicia,
glad to hear that ur DD recovers liao...now hv to take care of ur hb lor...

Muffin,
So wat was ur ratio or mark of the gulcose test? Me also on high risk lor, now trying to cut down on my sugar intake and carbo...2wks nv take fast food liao...

Shern,
I was told to take e gulcose test becos of weight gain...

All,
Is it true that its not advisable to take dang gui during confinement as it will affect our BM?

I hv a fren of mine, her bb has jaudice for 2wks cos her mum added ginger to her daily meals...Can we dun take ginger during confinement?

Feifei and all,

How much was your wt gain when gynae asked you to do the glucose test?

I was told not to take too much ginger during confinement for my ger last time. I took in moderation... no jaundice for my ger. Recently, I herad from my colliq that if your hubby and you are of the same blood group, tendency of jaundice occuring is minimal.. anyone heard of this medically?

Are any of you still using the clarins treatment oil for strectchmark? How many bottles are you using now? Are you going to the 2nd bottle? The one which Morraine helped me buy is finishing liao.. thinking whether to get another one..

Hi Shern,
Welcome! when and whr are you delivering? who is your gynae? boy or ger?

All,
Can I ask what are the factors that brot your gynaes to ask you to do glucose test? so far, I am only ask to go for those normal urine test strip test..

I just had my prenatal massage by Siti recommended by Roxyz. She is good and cheap too! She stayed for 1.5hrs although she charges $30 1hr. Strokes are firm and brings out the aches n pains ard my shoulders, hands and legs. If anyone looking for prenatal massage, can look for her
Thanks roxyz for you rec!

<font color="119911">beensprout pillow</font>
Btw, anyone has lobang for beansprout pillow? thinking of getting those personalised ones for this bb.. My ger 1ost her previous pillow so need to get another one. If you have lobang, can share here?

hi piyo
i didnt take ginger during confinement and both hubby and myself are of same blood group but my bb still ganna jaundice and had to be admitted for 2 days for the phototherapy. mine i think is breastmilk jaundice as she was exclusively on BM...no water or other liquid at all. So even with same blood group, bb still can get jaundice bah.

piyo,
I put on average abt 2kg per month frm my 1st trim, last mth put on 3kg, this mth put on 3.3kg which my gynae tinkings its alot lor..hiaz..plus my feet is swelling far to much liao so she wants to make sure i am ok..

Me also tinking of asking siti to do th emassage for me wor..but can we request her not to touch our tummy? just concentrate on shoulders, back n feet?

feifei,

I tink ginger may cause jaundice but not v sure.

My mum told me not to take ginger but i can eat dishes cook with ginger.

felicia,

Robinsons selling Ameda pump at $388 but got 20% discount.

piyo,

I was asked to go for glucose test bec' my bb and myself gain too much weight over short period of time, also i failed sugar urine test twice. But in the end the glucose test results show i am ok.

The clarins oil i didn't apply everyday so i still have about 40% left. U can get from Sasa if u have run out.

<font color="ff0000">piyo*

i have the website which i posted in one of the archives for the personalised beansprout pillow, if u cannot find den will post u the link tmr when i get back to office coz its in my office's pc favourites

Hi! I am new to this website... basically not an "E" person... managed to read thru some of the archive files... v informative... shd hv come in earlier...