(2008/06) June 2008

krispy,
aiyo, better be careful. esp when it rains, the road is slippery... do monitor carefully to see if bb kicks....

ellysia,
these pple very inconsiderate hor? sometimes really angry one leh.

anyone of u going to bb fair at expo?

Krispy,
Do take care. Continue to monitor bb's movements. According to the pregnancy book, our stomach is one of the world's best shock absorber, so usu bb is protected. But u din fall on your tummy right? So don't worry too much. Maybe your bb is a bit shocked (cos they are affected by our emotions) so movements are lesser, continue monitoring and visit your gynae if u feel anything is amiss.

Good Morning Ladies!

iamsnow,
I maybe going to EXPO on sat evening after my son's tuition as the carpark is per entry from 5-7pm according to a lady here who shared yesterday

Fennie,

I didn't go Robinsons yest. I went to AMK NTUC and also bot a Karmy PJ but it is short sleeve one. It cost only $9.90.

The one at Robinsons is short sleeve or long sleeve? And is it dress or got pants one?

I dun intend to go Expo liao.
Most of my bulk stuff ored bot at previous sales.
Now left loose items. So i will buy at normal prices.

Btw for those who stay in TMC before, do they give a set of bb clothes upon discharge?

In addition, wat is the brand of the bottom wash tat they give? Cos i understand the one given by hospital run out v fast and we need to buy extra and put at home.

Ellysia,
There are quite a few PDs recommended by my gynae, located throughout the island.
Of course, I can also use someone recommended by my friends. But I am taking this lady PD, Dr Malathi, whose clinic is at East Shore Hosp cos nearer my home. I just spoke to my coll and she's using a Dr Heng Siok Kheng (PD) who is at Toa Payoh whom she said is v good. So maybe u can check with your gynae on recommendation or consider Dr Heng cos TPY is quite to AMK.

Re Strep B (I also dun really know but got this from the web)
"Group B streptococcus (group B strep) is a bacterium that causes life-threatening infections in newborn infants. Group B strep can also cause serious diseases in pregnant women, the elderly, and adults with other illnesses." Understand we will be tested through a vaginal swab.

Fennie,
Haven't seen the PJs yet. Intend to check out this weekend.

Krispy
Aiyo. Do check on your bruise too n rub it, dun let blood accumulate on bruise.

Zuen
Depending on which part of KKH will ended if transfer to KKH (which I hope u dun have to go thru). In my case, I ended up in the Antenatal Diagnostic Center (ADC) dept due to complicated case. So those who end up in this dept will get special care attention than the normal once. Like Tues, when I arrive ADC, 2 Indian Sonographers were waiting for me already at the counter. Cos they were told by the Prof to specially take my case so that the Prof can also guide them on the job on seeing the heart. So there wasnt waiting time n there were other patience that were waiting in ADC too, put i guess, they will nt be seen by the Prof, but other sonographers. After 45 mins of scan, when i came out, abt 5 pairs of couple waiting in the Q n i wonder if i hold them back :p
So in ADC unit, usu is complicated case tat require close monitoring. Cos there's another general Fetal Assessment Unit that is for the general mass, normal visit.

For subsidy, you need to go thru polyclinic referral. Only 5 bedded (B+) or more is consider subsidy. 4 bedded onwards is pte.

Roxy,
I was just watching a documentary. This tribal lady popped 4 boys and she looked barely 25 yrs old. All healthy boys.. It is us in the modern world who have such difficulties.
Why was the forumer's bbs born at 28 weeks? Pregnancy complications too? She must be really sad to lose one. Oh gosh. She delivered in pte hospital? If her ICU bill for 2 months is only $10K, I think it is probably govt hospital at subsudised rates?

krispy,
Must be more careful and monitor ya. talk to your bb, ask her to kick you.

Ellysia,
Must measure at all the hours interval? I never wor. Doc only tell me to pause and ponder 3x a time. I do noe that if I develop complications subsequently, then must really pay close attention to bb's movement. I never really count how many times she move in a day, but make sure that she does move, especially during times that she usually moves.

Tera,
Need to choose PD so early? The PD is in TMC and is only for the 1st few days after delivery?

Piyoz, Feifei,
The test result always okie when I test via the urine stripe. Maybe that's why my doc wasnt too concerned in the past but started to take note when my BP continues to shoot up and my bb's weight below average.

ZuEn,
I forgot my BP liao wor...tks ger..will monitor lor..haiz..

Krispykreme,
Must monitor ur bb's movements wor...Hows ur bruises?

piyoz,
My swollen feet huh? abit painful at the end lor..hiaz...hope it quickly go away..

Hi lala, no leh... I don't find my feet numb or getting tired.. maybe my tummy is not that big yet? Maybe I've also been exercising quite alot before pregnancy and during pregnancy....

Ellysia,

The 2 pieces i bought were short sleeves shirt dress, button front, i must go check out at NTUC AMK then, maybe NTUC cheaper.

Do they have sample of the disposable panties there?do they have maternity size?how much did you pay for the XL size and how many a pack?

TF,
If I were to walk in to A&E and chose a 5-bedded? I was telling my hb that if worse come to worse, during an emergency (touch wood), go straight to KKH A&E. Will look at wat my doc says about my condition during the next visit.
If go thru' polyclinic and kena referred to the general FAU, then I am definitely better off at TMC.

Fennie,
I bought my disposable panties from Kiddy Palace. They are supposed to be maternity ones and are actually washable (but I doubt I will reuse). Bought them at $4.90 for a pack of 5. The size can go up to waist of 42 inches, hehe.

ZuEn,
I think no need to decide yet - the list was for reference.
But we just went through the list and ask my gynae for her opinions on the ones we are considering. Some of the PDs have clinics in TMC while the rest have their own clinics. Ya, the PD will be checking in our bb during the first 2-3 days after birth (hearing test, jaundice, BCG etc).

Hi Ellysia, my boy use to see PD Dr Heng at TP.
her medication is beri straight to the point wan.. usually few dozes can see some improvemt..but somehow canot tahan the cost..super Ex...i feel..she nds to review bb every 2-3 days...my boy had mild chest infection 2yrs ago..in 5 days i spent almost $700...

but i admit she is not bad lor..not considerin the high cost..

Zuen
I'm nt sure if u walk thru A&E, will the track back if u were from Pte. Need to see if Cactus' hubby knws. Ya, wld be gd if ur case is known at complication level then u hv the Poly to refer u. The last time was Kylene (one of the forumer friend) did the referral for me n she put until very serious, so I was given the attention and all the responses were fast too.

ZuEn,

There are many ways to calculating bb movement. Another way is to lay still for 2 hrs when ur bb is normally most active and count up to 10 movements. Usually doctors don't recommend counting till 32 weeks cos up till then, bb has alot of space to move in us, so we can't really feel bb even if she/he moves alot. Also, doctors won't advice overly anxious moms to count cos anxious moms may lead to low birth weight bbs.

As for your friend who is a subsidized patient at KKH, she prob never asked about her bb's weight lah. During ultrasound scans, you can actually get an estimate of the weight. If scans are not done, then you can ask for a scan be done, but pay private rate. A friend who pays subsidised rate at KKH claims that thru'out her pregnancy, she never manage to find out her bb's weight. the sonagrapher will push her to the doc and the doc will say that he cant tell from the scan pix. As long as she gains reasonable weight from one apptm to another, they think that she's doing ok.

If you walk into A&E, and opt for B2 or C class, it will be subsidized but if you opt for A or B1 (4 bedder), it will be private class.

ZuEn,

TF has a point about tracking back to the time you are from Pte. but you can bluff if they ask, just insist that you were seeing a doctor overseas and dun have records locally. But you would need to know your records very well. Best thing to do is what TF suggested. Go to polyclinic.

liew,
i dont remember me bringing any sarong for my #1, but i did brought along the red colour rubber float tingy ( like a swimming float for kids, with hole in middle), just in case have problem sitting down because of wound from the stitching if episiotomy is done

Just to check with u mummies whether any one had good lobangs for Prams and playpen.. Any place selling cheap?? Im now in my 26 weeks.. baby @ 800 plus grams...

Tera,

OIC. I am not sure which PD is good.

The Step B u say is by virginal? Means got to do a virginal examination?

Fennie,

Disposable panties i bot is NTUC brand one, near to toiletries area/cosmetics area. XL size is 40-44 waist line, i think shd be ok. My pre-pregnancy waist line is 29 but i always end up wearing L size cos it more comfy, so i tot i upgrade 1 size. I also bot 1 pack of L in case XL too big.

Where did u get the swimming float? Those shop selling swim suit?

Zu En,

I dunno but tats the method my gynae teach me to count. U can try if u are worried abt yr bb.

Like wat cactus say, gynae will only ask us to count from week 32 onwards. But cos mine got worry incident, so gynae ask me to do counting so that i can monitor bb.

ZuEn, if you are concerned, you can ask your doctor if there is any way you can monitor bb yourself so that if anything happens, you can alert him/her.

Your doctor will know the best for you cos every woman is unique.

icegal,
i think u can check out the baby fair @ taka, saw alot of ppl bought, if not, there will be a babycare fair @ EXPO tmr - sun

Ellysia,
The float i think from pharmacy, its plain red colour, last time my ex colleaque gave to me after she decided not to have any baby

Fennie,

thks dunnow which pharmacy got sell.

I dunno the ones u got at Robinsons is better or same as the NTUC one. Tonight i am considering to go Robinsons.

i'm still MC today, guai-guai stay a home as still bit giddy. Hopefully i'm ok by tomolo as planning to go to expo. Any mummy is goin expo tomolo?

Train:- i seldom get any seat offer loh. Normally i'm the one try to squeeze in to snatch a seat myself, coz i know everyone will fall 'asleep' immediately the moment i step into the train.

Fennie, ya, swimming float, I will get one this time for hospital use. My cousin wanted me to get the normal swimming float two yrs ago when she just delivered, but couldn't get it last min in the end I spent going to $20.00 to buy from pharmacy. Was scolded by her becoz of this exp buy. This is good for pple with piles, not so painful when laying or sitting on hospital bed.

Ellysia, get one from swimming department can liao, dun need buy expensive one from pharmancy. Then after this use, we still can use it for swimming next time, haha.

Ellysia, swimming one can, more eco way of usage, but make sure you get a good size and quality to use, and when you blow it up, dun full blown it, have it like half blown then will be more comfy.

Felicia, at least you know how to snatch seats, Ellysia ask pple. Me, I not fast enough, and when standing in front of those seated, they stare, sleep, and even can discuss whether am I pregnant or not with their friends, etc. My bro thinks that I shouldn't wear normal tunics, should wear maternity clothes to prove my pregnancy even thought my tummy small.

Veniz,

This snatching was been forced by circumstances. I had been standing from JE till Woodlands for few times during my early stage of pregnancy. Though my tummy oledi showing but nobody care to gave up seats. Then now, i'm much heavier and always feel giddy, so i dare not take the risk to stand in the train.

But i had to forgo the train if i'm not able to get stand near the door before the train come, coz i wont be able to squeze in if too crowded oso.

Ya hor, talking abt swimming flaot, I cfm need one since I have piles now...I was tinking if aft delivery still hv piles, will go remove it away lor...

Veniz,

Kiddy Palace replied my email about tailor made cot mattress, if you still need to know, the following is the email kiddy palace sent me:-

The charges for the tailor made made mattress is as type written below:

119cm x 56.5cm Foam mattress with hole 4 inch thick -$92.00

“ 3 inch thick- $70.00

119cm x 56.5cm Foam mattress 4 inch thick- $68.00

“ 3 inch thick- $58.00

As for the process for the tailor made cot mattress, it’ll take about a week.

I have replied to check what is the difference between the one with holes & the one without holes, waiting for their reply.

Veniz,

Ya u shd wear maternity tops. U mean nowadays u still haven't wear maternity top??

Felicia,

I also do the snatching at Raffles place. Legs have to be faster le.

Hi Fennie, just a tip - if possible, ask to feel the density. Nothing beats feeling the actual mattress or a sample before ordering. Thickness of a mattress doesn't mean anything esp if it is not dense.

Have anyone of you thinking of getting nursing wear for breastfeeding, www.moms-rus.com is offering $30 voucher to new VIP members ( min spending of $200) & also to the exsisting VIP member who refer her friend to become a VIP member , only for the month of March 2008, if you are interested, pm me for my VIP membership number, so you can enjoy the $30 voucher. They will also be @ EXPO Babycare Festival from 21-23 march

Hi Fennie, thanks. Seems like quite expensive compare to retail ready made mattresses. I think with hole ones is more of breathable and have ventilation purpose (or something like that). Hmm, I will get your price and check with Kiddy palace Lot 1 tomorrow. Thanks again.

Felicia, nowadays, seems like lesser trains but more commuters, unlike last time, still not so bad. Haiz, just wish once we give birth, we will not be so xinku.

Feifei, ya, get one swim ring to sit on and also, try remove your piles after preg. My hb also suffers from this 'piles' thingy, he got his removed 3 times, but everytime, one grows back same place. He got his last one done last yr, till date, never see any bump coming up, crossing my fingers as I have to do dressing for him everytime it grew bad.

Ellysia...yap i find Dr Heng expensive..during my boy's first 2yrs..i spent alot on his medical wif Dr.Heng..cos my boy has history of bronchitis..nd to rent the nubaliser and pay te rental rates..
Now I don see her liao..cos my boy now can cure wif the normal GP medicines lor..
if not beri broke..:p but of cos ppl say money can earn back..still if can save must save lor..
Infact there r many PDs around ,u can check out them out..

Veniz,

I heard tat piles if removed can always come back one.

Mine has been there since many many years liao, i dun bother abt it actually as long as it doesn't worsen.