(2008/06) June 2008

roxy,

thanks for your reply. i think i will go for this lady name Liz, intro by Sue, who tried her in all her 3 pregnancies, and seems like getting result quite fast

<font color="ff0000">I asked my HR den they say at times some companies do not allow HL den immediately to ML so therefore u need to like so called apply one day AL to lead into ur ML beginning but den again, if those ppl who have to be bedridden til delivery as in HL all the way den their 84 days of ML will be all gone by the time they deliver!!?? </font>

ML can only be taken up to 4 weeks before actual delivery date... so that's another problem.. we can't be on "HL" for too long if the company has this practice loh...

just to share... one of my relative was bedridden for 2-3 months before delivery by c-section as her womb can't support weight of baby. she has to take no pay leave for cover for the leave. hence, i find considerations for maternity is greatly dependent on the policy and degree of flexibility of the company...

Hi wendy,

I have just called HR and inquire. They said if gynae gave MC or hospitalisation leave before EDD, will be considered as MC or hospitalisation. It will not be considered as ML.

To apply for ML, i will need gynae letter recommending when i can go on ML.

In tat case i shall wait for gynae's letter then ask gynae whether can give any HL for rest prior to EDD or not.

roxy,

My bb is more active one, so once he become quiet i get scared. Usually he only get quiet for 1 day but i monitor 3 days tat time.

Anyway seems like he has gone back to his normal cycle, hopefully he will continue and dun play with the cord lor. Yest nite i ored told him not to play with the cord liao.

Hi gers,
Me intending to go off soon. Have a good rest and stop stressing oneself up about work.
Am on leave tomorrow. I think I deserve the break. Originally wanted to take leave as and when to rest de. Now, will save until 32 ~ 34 weeks, which is supposed to be the crucial peiord, according to doc.

Ellysia,
I was oso worried when doc talked about C-section. But if that's the best for bb, then bo bian lor.

Cactus,
500g is very small leh. Just as heavy as a bottle of mineral water. Oh gosh.. I cant imagine the bb being so small and with all the tubes poking in and out. Ouch.. But at least I am crossing 28 weeks soon.

Babycupid,
Lucky you, good boss. My boss is very demanding de. Faint.

Re: bb movement
Had prayed hard for protection since day 1. I think to an extend I am blessed. Although the not so good news yday, bb had been reassuring me with her kicks every now and then.
We'll jia you de. Had been talking to my bb non-stop, like some obsession with my tummy. Haha.

roxy,

i saw your email, thanks. I have already confirmed my booking with Liz, transferred $80 as deposit to secure the time slot.

Zu En,

I applied leave for Monday liao, i tink i also need a break. Me also trying to save up leave in case of anything.

Ellysia
Gd least u clarified wif your HR and knw their grounds

Wendy or rest
Sad to say tho I'm in HR line, but please really if your employer is doing more than what is nt legal under the MOM, do take the effort to get MOM confirm wif u via an email enquiry or phone enquire. Do nt be afraid of your HR people cos lots of staff always think they are right but all these may be policy created by human error. So go for what is right.

Ellysia, I guess it is alright to ask Dr Wong for HL prior to taking your ML. I intend to do so also, take 2 weeks HL to rest and then followed by ML. Coz I guess that time I will be too tired to do anything liao.

morning mummies....

Rainy morning.... feel like sleeping.... zzzzzzzz

RE: High BP
In yesterday's ST, MIND YOUR BODY, there is an article on high blood pressure for pregnant mummies. Might want to take a look, since quite a no of us are worried about high bp.

It's always assuring to know that our gynaes are advising on the best practise for the well-being of mummy and baby.

Morning ladies...

Raining morning again....

Hope my test result for the gulcose test yest will pass lor *keeping fingers crossed*...

btw, high blood pressure is only one of the symptons of preeclampsia. Other two symptons are swollen feet (that don't go away even after resting) and protein in the urine.

piyoz,
I read that portion yest at my gynae's clinic...really bery scary hor...hiaz...its really a big sacrifices to hv a bb....

feifei,

ya lor, the bb delivered only 1.28kg. But so glad he survived and is growing up well now. Just hope bb is healthy!!!

Hi gers,
Good morning, am on leave today. It feels good to sleep in on a rainy morning, hehe.

muffin,
Ya, I noe that survival rate will be high. But still hope that bb will grow big enuff to avoid the ICU. Will really heart ache to see all the tubes and stuff poking in and out of her.. Then there is the cost to think about..

TF,
The jam is bad. My colleagues who shuffled btw Sgp and JB get struck at custom for a few hours each day.

felicia,
My hb says that he is more worried for me than the bb. He believes that the bb will be fine. probably small size like his brother. He kept encouraging me to trust in our God. Me so touched.. In such times, hb play very important role.

feifei,
Jia you. Yeah, everything will be fine.
We MTBs worry ourselves sick. Luckily you all are here. It is so hard to share with others.

piyoz,
Sometimes, not all the symptons will come into the picture. So long as the BP continues to climb, it is a good cause for concern. Mine had been climbing since I entered 2nd trimester but I dun have the other symptons as listed in the papers, other than headache and dizziness, which are also usual preggy complaints.

Mog,

Ya i tink Dr Wong may consider, she quite nice.

When did u intend to ask Dr Wong?

feifei,

Dun worry, hopefully the result is ok

Zu En,

Dun worry and try to lower yr BP if possible.
It is really heart pain if bb has to go ICU. The cost is still secondary, wats more impt is the bb and yourself.

HI all,

This morning i took train to office.

I board at AMK and waited for people to give up seats but no one give up. Waited until Orchard still no one alight. Then i push my tummy to a lady reading newspaper. She look up and make noise, then resume to read her newspaper!

Angry, i ask the other guy who is sitting at the seat for preggy/old folks "Can I have this seat please?" He is still sleeping but i dun care lah, since he is sitting at that seat mah. He woke up and so paisay looking "sorry, i didn't see" and he gave up the seat to me! Haa..

I tink next time i will ask the person sitting at the preggy/old folk sign to give up seat to me liao, dun want to wait stupidly for people to give up or alight.

Hi Ellysia,

At least you got a seat!!
These days I just stand near the door cos want better ventilation and want to hold the pole for stability. I board at Bishan. Quite ok to stand still. Maybe I will feel more uncomfortable in a month's time or so.. :p

Ellysia,
You are good! I just read an article yday about how preggy women should ask people to give up their seats for them if they are feeling unwell and never reject a seat when offered. Cos if the person who offered kena rejected, he/she might feel too pai seh to offer seat in the future.

ZuEn, I agree with Ellysia. Safety for bb is most important. don't worry about cost. if you think there is a high chance that bb will need ICU care, maybe can consider going to govt hosp like TF?

TF, I totally agree with you that some companies just anyhow do things regarding HR... as employees, we should fight for our entitlement. Just have to confirm it with MOM.

Hello Ellysia,

I have the similiar encounter as you. Took train from CCK, then no one give up their seat..This indian lady saw that i'm pregnant, just keep looking and din wan to give up her seats.. so angry.. saw her staring at me and no action.. What i did was to stare at her again.. haha.. saw her shaking her head.. no idea what she meant.. anyway, i find it kinda rude to look at a pregnant lady and dun give up the seat.

Hello Cactus,

Dun you find your feet kinda numb or yourself getting bit of tired after standing at a position for some time? i do have this feeling.. that kind of feeling is like.. if you dun move around and stand at a position for sometime.. you will feel kinda giddy..

With the additional weight, nowadays i cannot stand too long in train, will feel more tired than usual. So even though it is not a long journey, i will still prefer to have a seat.

Moreover, sometimes morn train can be v jerky and need to be more careful.

Esp for those with swollen legs or has low placenta, do make sure u get a seat and dun stand too long. It is not good to stand too long with the bb weight pressing down.

Lala,

Its not easy to ask for seat bec' some people are v rude and will argue one. So i prefer to ask seat from the one with preggy/old folk sign cos they cannot argue.

hi ladies!

wat a wet wet morning....

talking abt giving up seats.... sigh. i was on a bus this morning and it was sardine packed. i was standing in front of a seat and that lady was reading papers. my tummy was so big until I keep hitting her papers. instead of giving up her seat to me, she make some noisy to indicate her irritation.... aiyo.....

yesterday went for my check up. aiyo, bb only grow 100g over the last 3 weeks.... now only weight 1081g at 29 weeks....

Cactus,
I shared that tot with my hb yday. My doc warned us that putting the bb in ICU would incurred $60 to $70k of medical bills. Since it is not confirmed yet that I am really suffering from high BP, leading to poor bb's growth, we would want to monitor. We are worried that if we go to KKH as subsidised patients now, we would get the same kind of close follow-up as I do. Afterall, my BP goes up and down at different times. A friend who pays subsidised rate at KKH claims that thru'out her pregnancy, she never manage to find out her bb's weight. the sonagrapher will push her to the doc and the doc will say that he cant tell from the scan pix. As long as she gains reasonable weight from one apptm to another, they think that she's doing ok.
I think we will monitor and stick to my doc for as long as possible until such a time that it is confirmed that the bb has to be taken out and will need to ICU, then we switch hospital.
Do you noe, if we walk into the A&amp;E and opted for 4 or 6 bedded ward, will we be considered as subsidied patients?

<font color="ff0000">talking abt train seats.. somewhere last 2 weeks, when i was taking train from RP back to JW, coz it was peak period so i assumed sure have no seats and i dun expect anyone to give up seats to me all along so i stood.. den this woman noticed i was rite in front of her and can continue to stare at me till she reached JE den she said so loudly.. "Come! I let u sit!" i was so pissed off by her remarks being that she is so insincere in giving up her seats! she made me stand all the way from RP den till she wanna get off den she give up to me! for wat wor!! den purposely said so loud to act as if she is so helpful therefore i replied " its ok! i stood here from RP til now so a few more stops and im reaching home!" everyone stared at her!! wahahaha</font>

Feifei,
How's is your BP? I think we must all be very careful when we show unusual symptons. Once we dun feel right, must go doctor. From what I noe, for preeclampsia, BP might be normal at 1st and shoot up all of a sudden. The best is to monitor and go to doc if you feel something is not right. My doc says that nobody can help, only the Mummies cos the bb is inside us, so we noe best.
Do take time (3x a day) to ask yourself if the bb is doing well. If she is moving well, then that's our best indication.

Morning ladies...
It's the long weekend, yeah!!

Talking abt giving up seats, ive not taken mrt for donkey months...few days ago i tried it as my sister couldnt pick me up, surprisingly the moment i got on, 1 lady offered me her seat, God bless her... but I got lotsa scoldings from hubby for taking mrt.. so jammed etc, what if pp bump into you.. and it's really true.. some people are so inconsiderate, just dash for the train and dun notice the preggy standing there.. and jam packed like sardine, people dun even care you are pregnant... tink next time it's either bus or cab for me, no more mrt, bad experience...

hi zuen.. wow, you are on leave.. so nice weather to sleep in.. raining.. Dun worry abt bb Zuen, it's nice that your hubby is so supportive. My boss's sister just delivered recently at wk 37 and bb was only 2 kg,but very smart with good reflexes liao and no need ICU. So I guess weight is not indicative. Our God is a good God and he works in miraculous ways. 1 verse that really helped me was Isaiah 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.I will strengthen you and help you;I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Baby Zuen is in very good hands.

hi ellysia
So nice your bb is so active.. mine kick once a day i be so contented liao. Must be so amazing to feel bb move so vigourously

hi iamsnow
Im sure bb will catch up. They normally start to pack on the weight after wk 28... so you'll be amazed next visit bb might be very heavy liao. Anyway like wat Cactus had mentioned, I tink the ultrasound machines are not accurate too.. just an estimation.

Would like to remind everyone to be extra careful, especially since it's raining most days now and most of us are in our 6-7 months and getting bigger. I had a scare this morning cos I fell at my office lobby. It was slippery, and I fell forward. Didn't hit my tummy cos managed to cushion my fall on my knees, hands and face.

Praying very hard that baby is ok. Now counting fetal kicks but baby has never been very active in the mornings. Felt some small movement but hoping she'll start her kung fu kicks in the afternoon.

Have bad bruises at both my knees, some scrapes at my right hand, and bleeding at my mouth from where my teeth hit my lips. Am thankful I didn't hit my tummy in any way. Will monitor the situation first before deciding to visit the doctor since I just saw him 2 days ago. So suay... Sigh...

Roxy,
Thank you.. Sob, sob.. so touched.. I have been praying hard too. This pregnancy is really not easy. It really puts off the tot of gg thru' another 1. -.o"
With all that we have gone thru' I am believeing that He will bring us thru' too.

hi zuen
I had a fellow forumer who gave birth to twins recently, unfortunately the smaller one couldnt survive, but the bigger boy made it. He was born 950gm at week 28 and was in ICU for nearly 2 mths. After subsidies etc, she paid abt $10k in cash. She's a very nice lady and if you are keen, perhaps can find out more info from her regarding subisides etc.

Krispy.. are you and bb ok? If dun feel right, better go see gynae later.... yes, we must be very careful now...

Zuen, baby zuen is in our prayers. Everything will be fine.. trust God. She will be a miracle baby and a good testimonial to God's grace. You are right, pregnancies are so difficult! Some people are so fortunate to have it easy. My hubby also said stop at one, since he said pregnancies are so stressful...

Roxy,

Both bb and myself should be fine. I still feel bb's soft movements and no bleeding so far. Bb must have just been shocked by the sudden loss of gravity.

Everyone, please be careful ok.

krispy
Yeah, very slippery when the floor is wet.....so must be careful next time...

ellysia
as for me....as usual i get used to it when board the train no seat....have to seat for a few stns then ppl offer a seat....sometimes have to stand all the way to cityhall...or when going back also have to stand fr Cthall to admiralty

i think my placenta is too low....coz i feel so tight below while walking and when lying down so difficult to stand up and the pain so unbearable...walking also have to walk slowly...

iamsnow,

How come u also meet the same incident. How can they read newspaper still make noise when our tummy block their newspaper.

Krispy,

U fall on yr back?

last mth i fall down on my buttock, later got brown discharge but dignosed is due to infection. But i still went to see gynae just to be sure.
Count yr bb movements and if not assured, go see yr gynae.

In any way if we really fall down, try not to hit the tummy or hit our bottom.

Dan,

If u feel heavy weight pressing once u stand long, it could be placenta is low. I heard from old folks if placenta is too low, not wise to stand too long and let the weight press on.

Do be assertive and ask for a seat lor.. yr bb is more impt than anything. Tat is wat i tink. Since people are so ungracious, i will be assertive liao.

Ellysia,

I fell to the front. So kena knees, hands and face. Didn't hit tummy at all. Praying for the best lar. Am continuing to count bb's movements for now. Will definitely go see gynae if there's any reddish discharge, cramps or non movement. Pray pray pray that everything is ok. Think I'm gonna start wearing track shoes to work from now on. Especially if it's raining and the ground is wet.

For counting of bb movements, wat my gynae is she gave me a chart to record down. Maybe i share with u all how it is, so u all can also make yr own record.

Roughly it is so:-

9am
10am
11am
12pm
1pm
2pm
3pm
4pm
5pm
6pm
7pm
8pm
9pm

U are suppose to record down how many times yr bb move in each hour. If total record of the day hits 10 times, it is considered normal. If bb move less than 5 times a day, not so good.

Krispy,

Though didn't hit tummy, sometimes still hard to say.

maybe u give yr gynae a call and see whether need to go down or not.

Tat time when i fall down, my bb keep moving after tat, guess it is a bit of shock.

Hi Ellysia,

Just called my gynae. The nurse / recept told me to monitor the situation and give them a call to go in if there's any discharge, tightening of the tummy or pain of any sort around the tummy area. For now, just have to monitor bb's movements. Feel sort of relieved cos she said it should be ok since I still feel bb's movements, although slight.

mornin ladies...aiya talkin abt givin up seats..ppl in s'pore r beri typical wan lor..
tat day i took a train fm bishan to khatib..1 lady stood up and gaf me the seat..3 indians bump into each other and wantd to sit..haha..i ask them..'do u wan to sit?' they paisay then walk away..of cos there r nice ppl too..came across a lady she was sitin 1 door away fm me..she left her paper bags on the seat and came to ask me to sit down...but i am alightin at the next station liao..hehe...however..blessed this nice ppl out there..

morning ladies,
What a nice morning to sleep! Was thinking it would be so shiok to be on leave today and mon. :p But no choice, in reality am back at work.

Saw my gynae yest, bb's weighing 1.096kg at 27.5 weeks. Saw him sucking the umbilical cord which is a natural reflex action, according to gynae, just like how they will be able to automatically suck on our nipples when they are born.

I was also given a list of PDs to choose. Cos understand the PD will come down for the first few days after bb is born to check on bb. Next visit is a mth away, thereafter it will be 2 times a mth. Also, there will be a Strep B test done when we are in our 36th? week.

Re train seats,
Same situation in HK. Maybe it's a Asian society thing. In their MTR train, they have this banner saying "Show your kindness, offer your seats". But when I stood in front of them, nobody was showing their kindness leh. Hehe. Told hubby it's the same in SGP, so don't expect the HKers to be any different.

feifei,

are your swollen legs painful? Mine swell so badly last time, it was painful. Do highlight to your gynae the next visit. My gynae only warned me when the swelling gets really bad. Previously, he said the swell was just normal.

He then wanted me to collect 24 hours of urine to test for protein. This is even though I tested ok with the urine stick test, and my bp was ok that day.

Then after that was asked to induced. But was already 37 weeks then, and bb more than 2.5kg.

Danryan,
Better to let gynae know any pain you have.