(2008/06) June 2008

Babycupid,
I also not sure leh, read frm somewhere de..

crystal,
Dun be sad hor, its worth it de...when u see ur bb, everything is worth it lor...trust me ya...*hugz hugz*...Dun be sad...just ren for 3more mths lor...then can go do rebounding liao =D..

Tera,
tks ger...Its $350 wor..so I still need another $50 more to go..hehe...so waiting for soyabean's reply now =D....tks hor...
Cos tink its within 3mths then can be member liao...so i hope i can be their member next fri lor..keke..

iamsnow,
I also read alot of comments of these 2 brands so tinking of giving it a try...Then when hv sales, can stock up lor =D...keke..

Ellysia,
Tks ger =D>....U need to buy more nursing bra? Mayb u shd buy bigger size so that can put in the breast pad during BF as well..

Agreed that now hor, feel so heavy, can't imagine when I am in 3rd trim..Next wk my wk 28th, officailly in 3rd trim liao =D..

feifei,

I tink no more bigger size at Spring for me. I will take the max size which just fit only. Maybe cos of sales, their bra sell out quite fast.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

personally i attended full month party at restaurant, we felt it was weird.. coz its like sit down lunch or dinner den ppl eat already den go back.. hard to mingle around oso coz courses of food are served concurrently unless u do buffet style inside the restaurant coz i feel ppl tend to come and wanna catch a glimpse of the little new arrival
and baby shower party are usually held earlier not later den the one month birth date

&amp; as for the cakes distribution, we did not give to relatives nor frens whom we invited to the buffet party, we only gave to our colleagues coz they gave us AP but did not attend the party

I will check out with sweet surprise if they are giving me discount or not for returning customer.. hee.. if not den maybe i mite wanna try sweetest moment for a change but i stil prefer sweet surprise though for the packaging but its more ex..

Ellysia,
Need $350 to be their member lor...I also agreed that hv to get up from the side, if not tailbone pain also de..

Talking abt bb shower, hb was saying to hv it at our hse, i quite relectuant cos will be crowded and aft that need to clean up lor...I also need to hold on 2 days cos too many ple liao..hmm..

Will u all be giving cakes to relatives?

Hmm.. morraine shared that the bb shower is celebration less than 1 month from the birth date. It could be a different way of doing things from my family. my grandma said it's celebrated only after 28 days cos before 28 days, bb was traditionally not even given a name cos bb may die. last time, hygeine conditions very poor so people didn't celebrate until bb had survived long enough.

I understand the western concept of bb shower is actually celebrated b4 bb arrives, or soon after bb arrives!

<font color="ff0000">cactus*

hee yeah i suppose diff custom and practice makes a diff

for mine, we made things simple as in for eg bb is born on 10.06 den we will see the nearest weekend closest to 10.07 to do the party

morraine and cactus,

I also tink shd be after 1 mth..hmm.

For cakes to colleagues i will order sweetest moments or such packaging, tink it is more trendy and sincere than bengawan solo card.

For full mth dinner, i am considering to get relatives and close friends to attend. Maybe a 3-4 tables or 2 tables type. I am not sure if still need to send cakes to relatives or not, bec some relatives are traditional and may still prefer cake even if come for dinner.

yesterday, checked at glen. the 4D scan is amazing, but my baby girl is shy, always back to us. EDD Jun 28. But 4D scan is so expensive, 350 $. Do not know if i can claim back when i am admitted to hospital

hi shirley, I think can claim. all antenatal expenses are claimable subject to a total limit. can check with CPF board on the limit.

hee wow u and ur hubby are real efficient parents! way to go!!

true.. i agree that we distribute out the cakes are much better, for me we brought the boxes down with hubby and got 3 close colls to help us when we reached
and oso bb to let my colls see her tat time
and we scheduled it the very friday before the full month party so noone grumbles me of leaving the house but for me its a good escape!! lol</font>

cactus,

For colleagues i will only give cakes to close colleagues frm my dept lor. Ya its a bit ma fan, need to send down. Other dept colleagues if they got give me AP then i give them card, cannot go to different floors also else no ending. Last time when i get married i got 5 tables of colleagues all frm different dept. i send out invitation cards ored take 1 whole day up and down.

i will be holding the bb shower at my plc.. i tink better tat way.. anything u nd can jus grab frm ur home.. and like morraine mentioned.. go to restaurant is liek jus go for lunch and difficult for the guests to mingle ard.. of cos the cleaning part is the most headache.. kekeke..

ellysia,
those bb shower i went always do it b4 their actual full mth day lor.. few days b4.. i nvr attend 1 or 2 wks ltr one leh..

I wont be giving the cakes to relatives unless those who did not turn up and gave AP.. only will gif to colicks.. i intend to get from sweetest moment.. something not so ordinary like bengawang solo.. kinda of boring..

<font color="ff0000">babycupid*

yeah and oso one benefit for doing it at home is dun have to bring the little one to cold places or watever coz we will not noe if the little one is a fussy baby or not leh.. later kip crying or watever den can faint arh!!

and ya i was telling ellysia oso.. usually its earlier, i rem elders say before cannot celebrate later one..</font>

OIC for baby shower arrangements do u all discuss during confinement or before delivery?

Becos i find 1 mth pass v fast then with bb, may be too busy to plan or do any preps for baby shower.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

best is more or less confirmed where u wanna hold it and any caterers in mind first before delivery den jus call them during ur confinement lor.. this is wat i did..

some exciting thing happen to me just now!
I was trying to change the photostate machine toner, in the end the toner spill out all over the place.
My legs become black color and my white color pants oso in trouble.
Wondering if i exhale in the toner, seems very toxic. *yucks*

the prob that I face also if I hold the bb shower within 28 days, I can't have it at a restaurant.cos technically, I'm supposed to be in confinement. My MIL is doing confinement for me and everyone knows this.. my relatives lah. later they may say my MIL didn't look after me properly.. let me go out to restaurant during the confinement month.

actually, my aunt also told my mom to hold it within 28 days.. but when she heard we want to hold it outside at restaurant, she said have to hold it after my confinement ends if it is outside.

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

ha ha u better clean urself up! toner powder seems hard to remove!!

cactus*

but if its after 28 days meaning its the 29th days oso can mah
so dun worry so much jus tat must hope that it falls on a weekend if not den erm.. abit hard to invite ppl oso? just my personal tots
but if the elderly in ur family is not concerned over the late celebration den its perfectly fine to do it after the 28 days which they wanted oso</font>

morr,
Can share which caterer u use? Am a little lazy to go and source for one. :p

Felicia,
I don't think the toner is toxic so don't worry too much. Just make sure you clean it all off so that you don't get any on your hands and accidentally consume it or something.

<font color="ff0000">tera*

Im a faithful customer of Neo Gardens ha ha ha.. coz i like their table arrangements and the food always full of praises from my guests &amp; i have discount

cactus,
ic.. like tat i tink its either u do it later (after the confinement) or u do it at home lor..

ellysia,
agree with morraine, more or less cfm the plc, caterer.. den call during confinement.. can leave this to ur hubby.. jus get the guest list prepared.. (send sms invitation) and the headcounts to order the buffet.. if having 50 heads.. jus order 40 is gd enuff.. if not alot left over!! u will have difficult time clearing the food..

Morraine/ Tera,
I spend long times in washroom just now to clean myself as the tap is very low and i hardly can squat down to wash! sigh...

Felicia,

OMG! u best be careful. then now how, got any change of clothes?

cactus,

OIC cannot have it at restaurant if within 28 days? So pang dang cannot go out within 28 days meh. Anyway we have to go out during confinement for hospital checkup also.

So best to go out v close to 28 days end lor.

Anyway i tink i better let hb tok to his parents, let his parents decide. Then i just order the cakes i want for my relatives + colleagues then ask hb to pay haaa (then it will be from hb's side of family liao lor). Then after venue settle, mum and me can then invite whoever we wants.

<font color="ff0000">babycupid*

yeah den if u want, when u free oso can prepare ur sms first lor inside ur draft.. ha ha ha

felicia*

aiyo make sure u dry urself after tat.. dun catch a cold now!

tera*

ur most welcome

Cactus,
Yah, how about having at home? If not, then best to wait till after confinement just in case your relatives start talking.

Felicia,
Try to wash as much as you can now cos not easy/good to squat too much now. For legs, go home then ask hubby to help you wash clean clean.

Neo garden is not bad, i order before for my customary wedding makan at my parents house.

I will prefer mine to be hold at restaurant. I cannot imagine having to clean my house.

yeah we have to bring the little one back for check up i think a few days or one week after birth and if u are c sect, u need to go back to see ur gynae oso i rem.. but for me i recalled i brought my ger back for check up with the PD

cactus,

Will people say bad things if yr MIL let u go out within 28 days?..

u need to go back to hospital to check up within 1 week from the day u discharge.

Then bb need to go for checkup 1mth or 6 weeks.

morraine...
me too also thumbs up for Neo Garden...many guests had given pretty good reviews..especially the chocolate eclairs haha.

but i might need to take their halal version: Deli Catering cos we expecting some non-chinese guests...

<font color="ff0000">shycloud*

yesh yesh the choco eclairs are a must order!!! hahaha

tera*

the orh nee is nice arh!! we always order tat oso
&amp; forgot to mention.. baby full month orders have discount! but need to produce one copy of the bc to them </font>

i think u dun think so much first on the bb shower party.. seek advise from ur hubby and in laws and see wat they suggest first and go with the flow and enjoy it rather den worry abt it
coz there are more things to worry abt when bb is out!! trust me!!!</font>

cactus,

OIC.. will have people say one meh..hmm.

I tink if only bb go for checkup, will still have to go with hb bec' if bb is hungry, need to give breastfeeding outside. Unless pump out and let hb bring along 1 bottle in case. But in case of nipple confusion, its best not to introduce bottle until near the time u want to go back to work.

Morraine,

Neo garden chocolate is good! Hee.
But my mum dun like their food lor, she tink not so good.

Tat time my hb order from Select catering, their food is also v good. I tink better than neo gardens.

cactus,

When to celebrate is up to yr parents and ILs. Dun have to bother which date is the custom.

I ask which day is the custom bec' its the first time my family and IL doing a baby shower party. Me and my hb are both eldest and first one to get married with unmarried siblings. Our bb will be first grandson. So i tot better to have some plan in mind so tat we can also advise our parents.

Ellysia, just to share, my parents celebrated my full month outside in a restaurant too. it was after 28 days.my aunt did it within 28 days, at her own home. we're just following what my parents and grandma advice on the date... nothing mmuch to do with my ILs here.. cos they aren't involved in the dinner, but I'm concerned that if we celebrate within 28 days outside at restaruatn not good for my MIL lah. that's all.

cactus,

Actually if only checkup is for bb only, no need us to go out.. i also feel troublesome. can take the chance to rest w/o bb.

maybe i will pump milk then let hb feed outside if bb need. If by tat time still nt enuff milk then prepare formula to supplement.

so i see... its real nice to have such a caring DIL like u

ellysia* &amp; cactus*

as for me i followed that time for the check up coz i wanna listen to wat the PD say den oso i take chance to breathe fresh air outside ha ha ha ha but my mom insisted i wear long pants and don on a sweater though</font>

morraine - I'm hardly the model DIL, but if I can avoid conflict with my MIL or reduce unhappiness for her on my side, I will do it loh.

i agree with u oso.. we try to avoid conflict whenever possible to maintain a halthy relationship!

yah.. I always say.. no need to love MIL &amp; FIL all the time. But must always respect them or pretend to respect them lah. don't argue with them or show unhappy face with dealing with them. Just have to tolerate...

i wonder how many of us can login at this forum during our confinement..

my mum probably didn't even do any baby shower for me..dun remember she got tell me before. my mum confinement is v simple done cos my grandma didn't like my mum. So my mum also dun know a lot of confinement stuff.

Btw anyone buying from mumessentials?
I am considering to go during one of my visits at TMC.

Avoid conflict is the best. Anyting not happy get hb to settle better than direct confrontation.

I tink my MIL know i am a bit ma fan and picky one. Hee.

ellysia/ Morraine/ Tera,

Initially i called my hubby to bring pant for me to change but then forgo tat idea since he need to go bak office later and journey from my home to here almost 30mins. So, i just fold up my trouser and still look quite ok. Anyhow, MRT will be very crowded, nobody will notice me, hopefully.

Check up: Last time when i'm on c-sec, i'll need to return to hospital fro my wound check up after 1-2week. Even bb oso need to go bak to see paediatric. Tat time, my mil asked to wear long pant, long sleeve shirt and even wore scarf, i really look like a 'bak chang' when i go to hospital.

Felicia,

OIC, i dun even have any long sleeve shirt.. unless i take my office shirt and wash them in advance.

I always see couples come back to my gynae for checkup, the mother just wear normal.

According to my pre-natal class at TMC, we have to go back 1 week after discharge. I know from my colleague need to go back few days, hers is KKH.

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

ha ha yeah going home time is very crowded so ok la

ellysia*

i wore jacket lor.. like cardi oso can
den i looked more normal.. and GlenE im pretty sure i recalled correctly tat we need to bring bb back to the PD within the first 2 weeks (not sure first or first 2 weeks) for check up but for myself i did not have to go bac for check ups though.. but my SIL who c sect needed.. coz at times they oso advise u to do the BC registration when u go back to the hospital to save one trip down</font>

mrswrx,
Yup, I think that is the one that I bought. They only have 2 cots on display. I tot it was quite worth cos a wooden cot easily cost $200 ~ $300+ at kiddy palace. The cot that I bought comes with free beddings. I quite like the sales, they dun only push the expensive items to me cos I was actually looking at more expensive stroller (cos got pink colour) but the sales encourage me to get the cheaper one due to practicability.

Ellysia,
I supposed that are many differnt practices to the full month's bb bash. My mum said that it is about 1 month after bb's arrival, but must be held before the end of the 1st month and not after.. We are likely to hold it on a weekedn at our place. Ya, I really dread the cleaning up after that..