(2008/06) June 2008

hi gers, here is the pic of the packs of komodo wipes i bought from watson....
1254629.jpg

ellysia,
the add for little dreamers per their website is: 40 Jln Pemimpin #04-10C, Tat Ann Building.
hubby says it is in AMK.
Sure can help u to get, let me ve the list n quantity tat u need - a shopping list n i jus buy for u accordingly lar.

hmm besides papaya and those big banana, do u know which type of fruits we must avoid?
err ashamed to say i am anti fruit, but i do wan to try my best to eat more fruits now hehee
now oso start to take the bottled bird nest liao.
btwm me 21w liao still vomitting...anyone oso chiam like me?

Just bak from my lunch. Had some fish slice mee hoon soup.

Tera,
The Nappikleen i brought from malaysia. If not mistaken i ever saw it was sold in carrefour.

Ellysia,
Ya, liner had to be use with cloth diaper. You still need to wash the cloth diaper when bb pee . With liner, you can reduce poo mess only coz the urine will pass thru the liner and wet the cloth.
For me, i'll prepare a pail with water (added bb detergent). Then whenever i change the bb wet/ dirty cloth diaper, will throw it into the pail and soak it. Then by evening, will throw all the soak cloth diaper into washing machine. I think with this method can save a lot of trouble in washing. But you'll need to purchase lot of cloth diaper. Btw, cloth diaper came in sizes oso. So when bb is small i use smaller size and tied it up with the edge of the cloth. When bb is bigger u can change to bigger size or just buy a pin to secure it.

baby wipes: me oso use pigeon till now. But when my girl just born, i use the johnson pink color pack as it had some lotion contain.

is there a brand of cloth diapers to use? how much does cloth diapers cost usually or an average??

say if in the day i use cloth diapers n perhaps night use disposable ones, how many pieces of cloth diapers shld i "arm" myself with??

crystal,

I want to get the following items:-

1) Warming Body Wash for Confinement (MC0020) - 1 bottle

2) Warming Shampoo for Confinement (MC0021) - 1 bottle

3) Afterbirth Relief Oil - 1 bottle

If u are convenient can help me to get, i collect frm u at AMK central.

Btw let me know once u get them bec' i have told girl i am interested to join her spree.. so if u get for me i may cancel out of her spree.

Thks so much.

Btw u still have my HP right. Its in the list that morraine distributed for our last lunch gathering.

Felicia,

OIC. so still have to clean the cloth diapers lah.

Re: baby wipes

I just went to watsons near Lau Pa Sat my office but i cannot find. I tink ored sold out.

luz,

Fruits to avoid: Pineapple, Papaya, Watermelon (eat a few pieces is ok but not more), big banana.

I normally take apple, honeydew, pear.

Mandarin oranges, normal oranges i also took before.

think for cloth diapers, I bought 2 packs, ie around 20 pieces. Ok if planning to do washing everyday.

Then my bb had to stay over at my mum's place at times, so another 2 packs at her place.

Think cloth diaper any brand also ok.

Can also consider getting diaper pants for the cloth diaper. my #1 using pigeon brand diaper pants. Can prevent the urine from seeping out. Comes in sizes. NB size first. But better to buy just one first for bb to try.

My #1, first time he wore the diaper pants, broke out in rash. Then he totally don't like it at all.

Later we tried when he's older, somehow, he's ok with wrapping up in the waterproof diaper pants.

tinyfeet,

I dont go for specify brand of cloth diaper, coz normally i'll touch and feel the cloth before i buy. And some of the cloth diaper i had was hand me down type, in fact some were even wore by me when i'm a baby. hehe....
Well, i think in total i had brought 3 dozen of new cloth diapers (does not include some old cloth diaper). I'm using for daytime only oso, but we had to be prepare if keep raining, then it might not dry so fast.
As for price, i'm not too sure oso.

piyoz,

me oso let my girl wear the diaper pants, ended up with rashes, so we stop letting her wore it. Not sure was it because it was too warm, resulted the rash.

Cactus:
Liners can absorb the pee so can keep it on the baby for awhile. Dun need to change everytime baby pee. Only change the liner when baby poos. That is how i see my fren does it.

I also intend to use disposables. If not, very troublesome as i dun have maid to help me clean. Besides, cloth diapers need to clean thoroughly, preferably can sterilise with ot water, if not germs from the poo will harm the baby.

Felicia,
tks for the advice...=D..

Ellysia,
I also rec an sms frm TMC lor...AMK also quite near to my plc lor...so tontie u going for the anental class? Ya lor, tink will go chinatown to get those PJs..

U dun intend to use those herbals to bath during confinement?or use those herbs and at e sametime use this shampoo etc?

crystal,
Tks for the offer...tonite will go see whether my plc there hv these Kodomo wipes lor...is it in big packets? If i can't find, then hv to mafan you lor =D..kee..

Most likely i be using disposable cos my mum dun want to help me wash. But i be getting some cloth one in case bb feel hot due to disposable diapers.

ellysia,

all major departmental stores with baby sections will sell the cloth diapers, such as robinsons, taka, john little, kiddy palace, NTUC

maybe you want to wait for sale? got 20% off..

now metro got sale.. maybe you wan to try there?

liners:
my fren who tried few brands: pigeon, tollyjoy, etc told me that brand doesn't matter as much as disposable diapers..

the brand of disposable diaper is more impt in reducing nappy rash.. pampers is the most ex but also has the best reviews.. but other brands which could cost only half of pampers are good enough if your baby is not reacting negatively to it..

hths..

feifei,

Nope yest i just gone for the lesson at AMK liao.

I intend to use herbs to bathe but i am considering to sometimes use this special shampoo and bath.

If at home most likely just normal bathe without using bath lotion or shampoo. But if i go out for checkup etc, come back may bathe using shampoo and bath lotion. Just want to have some alternatives at home during confinement.

Can we use those normal bath lotion and shampoo?

felicia,

ya lor, the diaper pants made of waterproof material, so don't allow the skin to breathe. My boy used to just cloth diapers, cos he was in it 24/7, even at night. The first time he wore the diaper pants, he was very uncomfortable, I think. Once we remove the diaper pant, he gave out such a loud relief "ohhhhhhh".... sounds like, finally my bum can breathe again.

Later he got used to wearing disposables. So we try the diaper pants again. Only use it when he's exercising on his playmat, or when daddy carries him.... cos his daddy can't stand even one drop of urine on his shirt.

Ellysia,
Cloth diapers I saw at NTUC before.... tollyjoy brand. Kiddy palace has quite a no of brands. I choose the cheapest one.... hee hee....

One good place to buy liners is from the mummies here in the forum. They sell at half price some times. Cos they bought them, then end up no time to wash cloth diapers, so no use for liners. so just cheaply let go.

angel,

I am waiting for the Taka bb sale as i heard that the taka bb sale got better deals.

Then anything that i didn't buy during the sale, i will get from Robinsons, Kiddy and NTUC.

The fact is, i am really lazy to go to town to buy stuff. Also if need to buy more stuff, need hb to go down to carry for me. He is super laid back, keep saying now buy is too early. I guess he wanna wait for his march bonus ba.

feifei,

need to go Chinatown so far for PJs??

Can we buy from those wet market? Cheaper??

ellysia,

ya.. taka baby fair also a good place to buy.. me also waiting for it to come.

oh.. i bought my PJs from pasar malams eh.. then dun have to go so far.. wet markets oso have.. i bought one pc for $6 (front buttons)

angel,

Yup. My colleague said last time she bot one go shot everything at Taka bb sale.

But to avoid crowds, hoping to go down during weekdays.

Still not sure which date the sale will commence. Got people say 6 march, some say 8march, some say 9march.

I guess wait until next week see Taka website maybe got announcement on the sale details.

ellysia,

ya.. me constantly going to taka website to check the date of the baby fair too.. still not out yet..

but 8-9 mar are sat n sun so sure alot of ppl.. and following that weekend is one week sch hol for marc.. hopefully this won't make the baby fair more crowded on weekdays.. maybe go on 9 mar night..

ellysia,

i'm also clueless about what bath and shampoo we can use during confinement..

so we need to use a combi of herbal bath and normal bath n shampoo?

anyone can advise?

confinement depends how strictly you want to follow. The conservative pple will say no washing of hair for one whole month!!! maybe can check with your mum or mil.

For me, I just use the herbal pack for shower plus washing of hair. No shampoo or bath gel.

There are some dry powder form of shampoo available too. but nvr try before, don't know if it's good.

Ellysia,

Duno if this shwoer foam and shampoo is good hor..

Is there any washrooms in the new plc?

So hv u started learning how to bath for bb yet?

confinement : during my 1st confinement, i only use herbal water to bath, nvr use shower gel for the 1st mth. My in law was very particular on this. She even forbid me from washing my hair. I remember i only start washing hair aft 2 weeks but only water and a quick one coz my mil keep rushing me outside my bathroom. During that 2 weeks, i only use hair shampoo powder type to ease my head itchiness. So only start using bak my normal shower gel and shampoo aft one mth. Tat was a terrible experience.
But this round, i done up more read up and found that in fact we can wash with normal shampoo but provided we must dry up the hair immediately.

felicia,

wa.. you very discipline.. you actually tahan without washing hair for 1 month.. pei fu.. pei fu..

so the hair shampoo powder works in easing the itchiness?

when you said drying up hair meaning once we come out of shower and we have to to blow dry hair immediately until its completely dry?

ellysia,
sure, can help u get when i go down tis sat n then pass to u. once i get them, i buzz u lar. would u be at hm on sat? if so n if i can make it, then may as well pass to u on my way hm after purchase on sat lor.

feifei,
yup, let me know lar. the ones i got are the 70pcs per pack type (per my pic attachment).

babycupid,
txs, u r rite, it is in bishan but the sales lady who answered my call told me amk cos she said their warehse is at the fringe of amk / bishan. *shrug* nvrmind lah, my hb promise me he will find his way there....kekekkeee...

crystal,
kekeke.. mayb its inbetween both.. cos i went there once for interview long ago.. i was told to take a feeder frm bishan.. kekeke..

angel_z,

I did confinement for 28 days. Some people do for 40 days. again depends on your mum/ mil. use one pack every 2/3 days. Only shower when I know my mil not visiting.... hee hee....

honestly don't feel really clean after the herbal pack bath. Cos got to quickly dry up plus use hair dryer. also windows must all close. So mins after coming out, break out in sweat again. But it sure beats totally not showering at all. Hair didn't itch for me. I cut my hair short for that period, so maybe it helped a little.

Felicia,
you managed to convinced your mil? Agree that confinement is a very bad experience. In singapore's weather, how do don't bathe? Can't imagine how I went through that.

crystal,
thanks for the photo of the wipes. i will go watsons today to take a look

btw, check with u all, for the diaper liners, are there any 'expiry date'? my coll passed me 2 new boxes. think she kept for more than 5 yrs. the box has turned yellow. I opened up and the inside looks ok.... not sure whether want to use or not.

Felicia,
so means we can still wash our hair with normal shampoo hor? but when can we start washing? after 2wks?

Crystal,
tks ger =D..

piyoz,
true lor, bath liao like no bath hor...but if close all windows, so stuffy leh..

feifei,
i think it depends on your CL. I met up with several CL. one told me cannot bathe for 2 weeks.

the other told me sg weather too hot, impossible not to bathe. say can bathe but i think it's a few day once.

To what extend is the avoidance of water for washing until huh? So far i heard about drinking and showering, what about washing hands n brushing teeth, use normal water? Funny rite..

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE: 4 more MTBs to meet get CD with all the shots at $200 instead of 250!!!
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)

***Anyone else?? 4 more to reach the min. 15 for the $200 offer!!! ***

feifei,
ya lor, no choice.... so I do the shortest... 28 days.

TF,
ya, washing hands and brushing teeth use normal water. Also, nurse will teach us how to wash our wound after we go toilet every time. Use normal water also. You are right.... sounds strange.... but my mum/ mil kept reminding me got wind got wind..... so still follow their way somehow.

ya lor.. i oso dun understand.. brushing teeth.. washing cups.. etc all oso nd to in contact with water.. n my frend said our V is sew up.. n nd to wash frequently too.. oso touch water.. to me i tink jus haf to dry it after that.. i dun tink i can stand not to bathe..

angel,
nope i start washed hair after 2 weeks but w/o any shampoo. And the 1st 2 weeks i was suffer like mad woman. The powder did ease the itchiness but i had turn into a white hair lady! hehe....
Ya,must blow dry with hair dryer after washing.

piyoz,
i havent discuss with my mil on this yet, wait she nag me till i delivered. So i prepare to hide inside my room and wash and blow dry, dont let her know. hahaha.....
Ya, i oso break out in sweat mins after coming out from the bathroom, moreover we had to use hot herbal water to bath.

iamsnow,
I dont remember there's expiry date on the liner loh. I think as long as the liner does not turn yellow shldnt be a problem to use coz it dont contain any chemical. Btw, i remember last time, my bbsitter even wash the liner, dry up and reuse.

feifei,
it very depend on ur mom and mil loh. But for me, i think we can start wash with normal shampoo after 2 weeks loh as long as we blow dry the hair.

TF,
I use boiled water to brush teeth and my mil insist i wear glove to avoid contact with water. As i'm c-sec, my wound was clean up by my hubby. But cannot imagine if i'm on normal delivery, then not possible asked hubby to clean my V mah.
For this, i'm not too sure liao. Maybe some mummies on normal delivery can advise.

felicia,

ha ha... ya, wise choice about keeping quiet. I also wash shower and my hair, wear shorts when I know she not visiting. When she comes, I'll wear long pants, wear socks, all wrap up.

ya, hot herbal water. But then really looking forward to it, cos my mum only allows me a herbal bath every 2 or 3 days.

Then meals must eat hot hot too. So will break out in sweat after every meal also.

I'm from the Dec 2007 thread and I have some unused items to sell.

1. 7 packets of Da Feng Ai (herbs for bathing)
2. 1 box of pigeon breast pads + 4 loose pieces
3. 1 can of Friso Gold milk powder (900g)

All 3 items bundled together selling for $38.

Alternatively, item 1. and 2. bundled selling for $18. Not sold separately

Item 3. alone selling for $23.

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

angel,

Ya.. but i am sure 1st day sure got some good offers but last day maybe too just tat some items be out of stock.

felicia,

normal delivery, the nurse advise me to wash the wound with water after every time you pass urine. Also must apply this antiseptic lotion using cotton pad. Must do this till gynae gives all clear. The antiseptic solution, my hospital provide me with one bottle. But I finished it up quite quickly, hb could get one for me from guardian pharmacy.