(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
opp the temple at the corner? I thought opp the temple all sell those dried stuff and those prayer things? got a stall selling bb stuff meh?

whao, your flat appreciate by so much already? thats really good. my flat did not really appreciate much.... so sad.

must use baby detergent? can use normal detergent or not ar?

BabyCupid,
Cant remember exactly the price tat i brought coz normally i'll buy a lot when there's promo. But saw in NTUC webitse it was sold at $16.80 per 2litre bottle and refill pack @ $6.95 for 1 litre.
Normally i brought the refill pack coz is cheaper.

Personally I prefer Pigeon brand baby detergent.

Very good for those planning to use cloth diaper. Little bit of the detergent can wash all the poo poo away from the diaper easily.

iamsnow,

Yes the shop is next to those selling dried stuff, but it is at a corner which is not visible unless u walk along tat row of shops.

Normal detergent can use if yr bb is not sensitive skin. I heard that some bb is more sensitive cannot use our normal detergent.

babycupid,

Komodo detergent is highly recommended in forum.

piyoz,

Talked about cloth diaper, last time i remember the nurse in gleneagles told me to buy Nappikleen which is very good in cleaning cloth diaper, but tat time i had delivered , no time to look for it. This round i just brought one bottle , not yet try.
Anyone use Nappikleen before?

Ellysia,
ya, agree with you tat bb with more sensitive skin better avoid normal detergent especially bb with eczema, is better to use baby detergent coz is milder.

thanks ellysia. will take a look when i go there.... if not, i'll just settle for the amk shop which is neared to my hse....

hi fei fei, I bought pigeon. I'm quite a pigeon fan.. haha. but more for convenience than anything else. bought pigeon laundry detergent, liquid detergent, diaper liners, breast pads, rubber changing sheet, 2-in-1 head to toe wash!

I feel for bb stuff, just have to see if our bbs are sensitive to the products or if the products are suitable for our bbs. If suitable, then I think any brands is okay. the only prob is if bb is allergic to a certain product, then we need to change product. I think brands dun matter much otherwise, except for laundry detergent cos some may be more concentrated than others.

cactus,

Haha. My colleague bot many pigeon brand too. feedback seems ok.

Agree with u brand doesn't matter unless bb is sensitive.

oh! just to add!! I also bought pigeon brand trainer cups (to wean bb off bottles), pigeon brand bottles and teats, pigeon brand safety pins & bottle scrub, and pigeon brand toothbrushes (steps 1 to 3).

TF,
Cantonment area is good enough for me -easier to go shopping hehee last time i work in Raffles Place very convenient too. my block there is quiet. but i bought from WIS so low floor 3rd floor...
then seasonal got mosquito one.

Besides Pinnacle, there now building a Condo. so i expect a lot of crowd during lunch hours in the kopithiam. there got bank facilities and supermarket and wet market. :D so i think u will love it there too hahaa

cactus,

WAH u go to pigeon shop?

Btw, i haven't buy any of such bb stuff yet. My hb only intend to buy next mth.

cactus,
I bot e pigeon pads also =D>..me waiting for bb fair to buy the Pigeon detergent...

Crystal,
the Kodomo wipes hor, is it big or small packets?

one thing about wipes.my friend told me for newborns, don't use wipes. use cotton rolls/pads and plain water can already. commercial wipes tend to be harsh on bb's skin. we can use those wipes when bb is a couple of month's older. maybe 3 or 4.

cactus, ya is a strange feeling but i'm just going to 22nd wk tomolo leh. I think too early to experience such thing loh.
The oth day i had 'heart pain' at midnite causing me cannot sleep. I had to stand up for few mins then the pain gone but once i go bak to sleep it came bak. My hubby said is not heart pain maybe bb press on my certain point resulted the pain.
It was such a painful nite.

cactus
me also feel the sudden of hardness at my below tummy...now 23rd wk too....sometimes want towalk also fell the pain unless after pass urine then feeling comfortable a bit.

still not feeling well....sore throat, headache and running nose

Felicia,

Possible u are encountering Braxton hicks contractions?

I read in book that possible to have that from week 26.

I have some pain shooting up my tummy over the last few days, just occasion once or twice. Dunno is it contractions or not.

cactus,

Milk storage i also may get Avent brand one.

But the pump i be getting Ameda one so i dunno if can use Avent one directly, maybe need to transfer.

Johnson brand got a baby wipes that got lotion on it. It is in pink color packaging. But the price quite expensive. Last time i use it on my newborn bb coz after normal wipe will cause skin irritation.

Btw, any mummies plan to use cloth diaper? Then maybe u can consider buying tollyjoy liner which i find it quite good especially bb poo. At least the poo wont stain on the cloth making it hard to wash. And this liner oledi pre-fold for easy use.

TF, u so lucky to get such high floor. Me got lousy number...think 1800+...mine was under the reserved number cos HDB told me there will be some who will give up so i think i belong to the 100% - 200% queue number...no guarantee will get the flat..so everyday i check to see my dream flat taken up...so sad. by the time our turn comes only left 4 room with high floor or 5 room with lower floor so hubby and i discussed to see whether we want bigger space but lower floor or smaller space with higher floor. in the end, we opted for 5 room on the 10th floor...we wanted basement carpark so block F & G is out for us. We managed to get 10th floor at Block A. Facing the playground...i dunno whether facing N, S, E or W. hehehe...yours is facing which side? cantonment road or the sea view side?

i read in the pinnacle forum and it seems like it is progressing well and probably we may get it by mid next year if everything goes well. so keeping fingers crossed.

Babycupid,
Its at People's park complex there, above the hawker center beside People's Park Complex...The name of e shop is Swantson... THe things there are quite cheap leh...Me also bot the Kodomo bb shower foam and bb shampoo both at $6.90 each =D...

Hi Felicia,
I am intending to use cloth diapers. Thanks for the tip on liners and that they are useful. Coincidentally, my coll just passed me a box of the tollyjoy liners today!

Felicia,

U mean we can use liner together with cloth diapers? Then the poo won't stain to cloth diaper? i mean only stick to the liner?

Btw cloth diaper still need to fold right?

Ellysia,
I will be getting Medala Pump but using Avent milk bottles, so I hv to trf the BM to the avent mil bottles for storage lor..

FElicia,
I will be using diapers cos mil and I dun wan to wash e cloth nappies..hehe..Tinking of using Pampers NB for nite and either Huggies or Mammy Poko for Day...

Was tinking of using Drypers but heard soem frenz said e poo might leak....

Tera,
haha... so conincidence!

ellysia,
Yes, use together. The liner will be put on top of the cloth diaper that we had fold. Then bb buttock just nicely on top of the liner. So when bb poo it'll stain the liner i/o of the cloth. Of course sometime the poo will still stain a bit on the side of cloth lah but with liner, is easier to wash loh. Just wrap the poo with liner and throw.

feifei,

I suggest u buy small pack of newborn package to try on ur bb 1st. Last time my 1st girl was sensitive to certain brand of diaper, in the end we had to give away those diapers. But so far i find mamy poko and pampers to be quite good.
Now my 1st girl, daytime we use Drypers and nite use mamy poko.

Felicia,
haha, yah lor! Just spoke to coll, she also mentioned the liners is good for handling bb's poo. Btw, can I check with you where we can get the detergent Nappikleen? NTUC have?

feifei,

If u using medele pump u can get medele storage bottles? Cos i dun see Ameda storage bottles selling in SG though i see it selling on Ameda US website.

Yest my lesson change to AMK hub liao. The venue is Little Skool house instead of the parentcraft shop at AMK hub. Not bad the place is bigger and so near my house. But i didn't manage to see the labour video cos not enuff time (due to change of venue many people is late). Will see the video on next mon.

Also confirmed that TMC dun provide sleepgown as instructor ask us to get our own, TMC dun provide. Hospital gown is open at the back and buttock is visible so not advisable to get.

Felicia,

Thks. I am considering to use diapers but hb is worried about diaper cost. If liner is cheaper, maybe can consider to use.

The side cushion which i get from Mum & babes is really good for sleeping on my left side. Now i dun bump into my tummy when sleeping on left side.

Now i considering whether to get another cushion for my back bec' i getting backaches quite frequently nowadays whenever i sleep on my back too long.

I just bought pigeon brand liners... have not heard any feedback about them so keeping my fingers crossed. now I wish I'd bought tollyjoy instead!

I'm planning to use cloth diapers during the day and disposables during the night so no need to change so frequently.

I've a question to ask about liners - if it is only urine that is passed through, can we leave teh liner in? Or we have to change the liner each time bb pees too?

Ellysia - disposables are definately more expensive than cloth. but cloth should be used together with liners and liners are disposables - pigeon brand sells them at 100 pieces for about $10. still cheaper than disposables only. Good things about cloth is it helps to toilet train bb quicker cos bb learns the discomfort of wetness and cheaper. Bad thing about cloth is we need to wash them often (best is have maid's help), may cause nappy rash in bbs with sensitive skin.

Starmoon
I was also nt the ones among the early Q. More on the 2nd timer batch too. So tink abt same time as u just tat I opted of the smaller unit. BTW, all the units there are considered 4 rm accordingly, just that they are of different sizes, difference by 10sqm fr the bigger unit. When selecting, all the South n East View fully taken at high floors cos they got the best views, left wif the West and North. So i omit the West one, and for the North, left Blk D, center neck of the ? shape, facing opposite block in the Police station direction. What is the Pinnacles blog/web?

cactus,

I know but my mum not willing to use cloth diaper, she find it v ma fan. If got liner and can help in reducing the problem of washing cloth diaper, maybe i can persuade my mum.

Are u getting the traditional cloth one or u getting those with button type (no need pin to attach).

Starmoon and TF,

Then a bit wasted cos the time i get Pinnacle queue number is quite good, i tink less than 100. But i gave up cos cannot wait for the TOP.

hi feifei,
From wat I understand from the staff at Watson near my place, all the outlets ve the same promo, so I gather shd ve lar. If u need me to help u get from the Watson near my place, I be happy to help to get them for u (provide they ve not ran out of stock). Let me know n maybe u can arrange to collect from me subsequently lor.

hi jamsnow,
The ones on promo are the 70pcs packs. I ve attached here a snapshot for your easy reference so u know which ones I m referring to. I asked my SIL as well yd nite on whether tis is considered cheap n she agrees tat they r & if we purchase in NTUC, Cold Storage as well, it will cost us a decent bomb. I never buy such things before too, 1st time….

hi ellysia,
I m not uncertain if these wipes come with chemicals or not. I suppose all does to a certain extend. Jus tat so far, my SIL & cousin in law had been using them on my nephews (4 young kids & toddlers) since they were borne till now & no adverse reactions, so I guess it shd be alrite.

hi girl,
RE: Little Dreamers
will be heading down to their warehouse tis sat to check it out n purchase directly from them though. i called n was told tat opening hrs is till oni 4pm tis sat.

re: baby wipes
i have been using pigeon brand since my dd's birth till now and so far so good oso...no adverse effect. of course to save money, can just use cotton wool with water but i find it rather messy and perhaps me too lazy oso lah.

i oso using tollyjoy liner with cloth diaper in the day for #1 till she's abt 6 months old then i switched to diapers completely. cos by then, they dun poo dat often so need not change diaper as often.

crystal,

Near AMK?? Oso near my house le, how to go there?

If u going can u help me buy? i can collect from u at AMK central.