(2008/06) June 2008

Kylene,

I bought my Graco stroller at Robinsons at Centrepoint..

You wan to go there and have a look?

Mine was the cheapest Graco stroller with car seat.. There is a few others (oso Graco) between $400-$500 range..

Angel_z,
thanks for the rec. yes, I'll definitely go robinsons to take a look. we've just started looking around for baby stuff last weekend, robinsons is definitely on our list. maybe next weekend
erm, but we'll prob get the cheapest 1

Kylene,

No problem. Have fun shopping!

Like i said, there will be baby fairs in Expo, Taka ard March.. Usu they will have 20% disc for strollers and car seats too..

angel,

My hb dun intend to go bb fair bec too many people.

Most likely we will go Kiddy palace for bb stuff. Robinsons & Carrefour. Then for stroller i cannot find anything i like at Robinsons and Carrefour. I intend to look at babymall at Suntec to see if got more choices.

hi roxy
uncle cheng is a good gynae...maybe he juz dun feel the need lor...last time i oso ask him abt movements for my #1 and he said as long as can feel bb move can liao...dun need to go count...actually oso good...no need to keep track of all dat...so last time wad i did was as long as bb got move everyday, i am ok liao. got once, i think i missed bb movements the whole day then i called him up and i went down to hospital for scan for 1 hour to track bb movements...me so scare cos i thot bb not moving liao then scarli on the way there, i keep telling bb not to scare me and then she moved!!! nottie girl lor.

after 32 weeks scan, he will oso not scan for us...everytime i go see him i ask him how much bb weigh he jus give me an estimation oso. btw, did he give u any supplements like multi vit and fish oil? this time he didnt prescribe for me...last time think he asked me eat around 2nd tri. now he said folic acid good enuff liao so juz trust him lor. now we in 2nd tri so it is still monthly visits...from 3rd tri i think will move to fortnightly visits then the last month which is 36 weeks onwards will be weekly visits. it is normal lor. not to worry...

angel,
hahha.. yalor, rare chance to see Dr Ang's clinic w/o many patients. kekeke... tat day, if dr ang dressed very neatly :p rare sight too ...kekekek...the other time when he first delivered my bb, he even went home to hv dinner and change into polo and bermudas.. before going back to TMC to help me deliver.

ellysia,
actually, i find annual taka bb fair is quite good.. had been there twice and can always get good deals. actually, the queue and crowd is still manageable too.

Ellysia,

Icic.. How about the baby kingdom and babyhyper (or something) in the East area?

Heard from the others on this forum that they are like baby stuff warehouses, which sell many many baby things, located side by side.. Some things they sell cheaper than outside but not all..

Maybe can try there.. I intend to go there but hubby very busy recently to drive me there.. Sigh..

pm188,
Haahaa... I didn't really notice his attire eh.. But i can't help but notice that his hair a bit messy.. Heehee.. =P

Wa.. Maybe he needs to be fully prepared (with dinner and in comfortable clothes) before he can deliver the baby.. Haahaa..

Felicia, Ellysia,
Ya, it was a great trip and I saw a few couples with their little bundles.. Cant imagine myself gg holiday with a bb next time. I think the next holiday will only be when bb crossed 1 year ols. Easier to handle.

Angel_z,
Indeed.. there was not many people on the cruise as compared to my last trip wor. Hehe. No need to squeeze or q too long.

Re: cloth carrier (those sarong type)
I saw 2 of my friends using that, but I think can use until bb about < 6 months old wor. Practice makes perfect, I think the bb wun drop de, provided that you practice alot and the knot is very tight.

Re: shopping list for bb
I rem somebody has posted the list before but duno which thread it is in. Anybody able to advise or post it again? Over the weekend did some shopping and then we starting getting kan cheong cos duno wat else to buy, haha.

pm188,

Do you know when is a good day or time to go for the taka baby fair to avoid crowd?

Like weekday afternoon? weekday evening?

Zuen,
Wa.. so good.. can really relax without the crowds man..

True.. i oso can't imagine me bringing baby overseas.. *faint*

Ya.. When comes to the cloth carrier, i will worried alot la.. Cos like quite a few unknown variables at work.. E.g. what if the knot loosen and i dun know?!?

But need to try and feel it 1st and see how..

Got list ah? I oso wan..

Starmoon,
After I came back from my cruise, I oso couldnt feel my bb the whole of Sat morning.. I was so worried, cos I was awake at 8+am and couldnt feel her even after lunch. She's normally very active before and after lunch (she's kicking away right now). Then I tell my hb. My hb asked me to ask bb to kick me, which I did and she really did kick. Haha. Then she kept kicking me. -.o"
I think my sleep and meal patterns were screwed up during the holiday and my bb got confused. ;p

angel_z
Ya, I saw the list before. A very loooonnnggg list. Then, didnt pay attention cos too early to shop (guilty, guilty)..

Angelz, ya, baby moves less, we will sometimes worry. But then if they move a bit, although it may be more painful than now, but not frequent and you will feel relieve that baby is moving. I rem my son who is a breech baby, when he turned his head from left to right, etc, I can see from my tummy. I ever saw my nephew 'swiming' in my cousin's tummy during the last few weeks of her 3rd trimster, she got to keep still to let him finish his swimming.

Ellysia, yes, I just saw her spree, she is asking anyone interested also. But the sandals I interested dun have my size in the webby leh. Maybe I will check with the organiser later. Thanks for the info.

Stroller, I always love aprica, but they are forever expensive. I hve one combi lightweight one liao, but still feel like buying new one. :p For cloth carrier, I have one already. Will try to use. there was a website seller who told me it can be a challenge to put baby in the cloth carrier, thus have to be patience and practise more.

Zuen,

Icic.. Hopefully someone has the list and can share here? Thanks.
kao_kiss.gif

Veniz,

Sigh... We will worry all the time about small little things, i guess..

Wa.. i didn't know 3rd trimester so 'happening' eh.. Still can see the baby's actions from outside the tummy!!

Ya. Aprica is the best but oso the most ex... In fact, i wanted a 4-wheel drive stroller but those i found all $1k.. *faint*

Huh? Then it won't be easy for me to manevour with the cloth carrier loh.. cos i'm a clumsy person..

Morraine.. I already buy liao ah.. opps, never mind, next time

Veniz, I bought it from Jurong Pt WOS...

Starmoon, thanks for the explanation
We also feel Uncle Cheng is a good and reputable gynae and he has a reputation to maintain so wouldn't anyhow "luan lai" But just hoping he will scan me each visit, makes me feel more assured. I dun mind paying the extra $ for scanning each visit. Yes, uncle Cheng also tell me no need to count movements, tink he dun encourage it coz stress mummy out.
Yesterday night I was eating curry fishhead, the moment the dish came and I smelt the aroma, baby keep moving and kicking.. :p This whole day he's been ignoring me and no movements from him at all, despite me shaking my tummy, so I'm also getting worried, but guess he could be sleeping...last time cannot feel baby movements also worry, now can feel baby movements, we also worry when he/she is not moving enough... pregnancy is so stressful!
He actually didnt want to prescribe multi vit and fish oil for me.. I requested from him and got a small chiding from him that Im not eating natural fish :p

hi zuen
yah i think my girl dat time prob overslept or i was too busy at work maybe didnt notice her movements...i was actually taking it pretty easy until i mentioned to my sis and she told me better go gynae to check and datz when i started panicking...then while waiting for hubby to pick me, my girl oso didnt move and i cried and cried cos so worried then keep telling her mommy very scare leh u dun worry mommy leh and ask her to kick me then at dat moment she started kicking then i called gynae to said my bb move liao so can no need go down but he still ask me to go down cos i was oredi in my 34 or 35 weeks liao.

hi roxy
oic...yah actually me wanted to change to another gynae who will scan each time i go but in the end i still stick with him cos i know i'm in safe hands with him so rather not change gynae liao. hahahah...yah yah pregnancy can be stressful so u muz stay positive and not think abt bad things if not u only stress yourself out. for me, i guess i'm used to it liao so i dun think too much abt it for this pregnancy...last time i oso like u....keep thinking one month never see bb then dunno how she is doing and then cannot feel movements yet cos only start of 2nd tri so dunno everything gg on well anot, etc. but after dat,everything turn out well and my girl came out weighing 3.25kg so not too bad lor...heheheh. so for this one, i oso dun think too much liao...juz enjoy the pregnancy and wait for 32 weeks growth scan to see how he is doing lor. dunno how come last time he prescribe the supplements to me but this time he said no need...guess he prefer the natural way of getting it..good for me anyway can save money...hahahah. somemore i dun like the multi vit cos very big hard to swallow...kekekek

pm188,

I think when u arrived i was sitting there at the very corner. If remember correctly when u came, i just been called in.

Angel,
During 3rd trimester, bb movement is less but once move, it was very obvious. I remember during my #1 pregnancy, my ger like to kick me on my upper right tummy as she had turn down. And sometimes the kick is very painful.

starmoon.. yes very stressful hor.. each time i see him, he will tell me im too stressed and relax!! Haha... Then i ask him to give me calcium pills though im drinking 1 - 2 glass milk + 2 slices cheese per day.. he said no need, and said im drinking too much milk! Coz 1 glass per day is enough.. said if drink too much baby will come out very big...so i ask him how come i put on 9kg liao, then he said, must be i drink too much milk..:p so I'm also very confused by what he's saying versus what other gynaes say, other gynaes seem to give patients calcium pills then must drink a few glass milk per day.. uncle Cheng says no need....he seems to think natural is the best... Kk, I will go monitor see tonite baby got move or not and be more relaxed.. glad you are here to share with me about uncle cheng

hi roxy
hahaha...yah think u muz learn to relax liao...actually i dun drink as much milk as u...sometimes i dun even drink...hahahah...but i try to drink soya milk if i dun drink milk. as for cheese i hardly eat oso....think 1 glass of milk a day is good enuff bah...come to think of it, at least u dun hafta pop so many pills...if not like sick ppl like dat so many pills to pop. hahahah...oh yes au de natural is best! dun think too much lah...i have a fren thruout her whole pregnancy oso never pop any pills at all not even folic acid and her baby come out a whooping 3.9kg! so not to worry lah...juz relax and enjoy!

actually uncle cheng relaxed oso good...cos dat time when i induced, i was told to go into hospital only in the morning but for my SIL, her gynae asked her to check in the night before and they only started to induce her the next morning. End up, TMC ran out of the normal rooms so her hubby had to sleep on the chair till the next day!!!

hi starmoon, 1 more stupid question to ask you... if after 32 weeks and he dun scan you during weekly visits, how will uncle cheng know everything is ok? Eg what if cord is short or tangled or amniotic fluid level is suddenly low and baby needs to be delivered immediately.. if he dun scan, how can he see such things?

angel_z,
kekeke... yalor.. my hb oso joked that he must be in a comfy state before he delivers bb :p as for bb kingdom/ hypermart, it's really like warehse. but sometimes, prices nt really cheaper. the other time, i went there to check on some bb items. in the end, i got them fr taka fair instead, coz cheaper and more freebies. and things can be messier @ these 'warehse' :p

if u can go weekday afternoon, then it's not very crowded. if u r nt taking leave, go on sun nite (avoid sat, coz sure v crowded). sun nite better
or wkdays nite

hey ladies...
do you all have any symptoms (giddy, vomit etc)when u feel hungry. like 2-3 hrs after a main meal? for me, i feel nauseous and i knew its the bb tat's being hungry so time for some snacks..

Felicia,
Erm.. Sometimes the kicks will be painful in 3rd trimester ah? Okie....

Thanks for the list!

pm188,
Is it? Okok.. Never been to these warehouses before..

Ok.. So its weekday noon, weekday nights and sun night. Thanks..

So strange.. how come sun nights not crowded.. i thot have dinner in town, e.g. nearby taka.. then after dinner can drop-by baby fair.. It doesn't work this way?

Hi shycloud,

For me, i do feel these symptoms but not when hungry..

I feel giddy when tired (not enough sleep)

I feel like vomiting and nausea after meal (maybe eat too much.. haahaa..)

You mean when these symptoms come, it means baby is hungry?

hi roxy....if baby is in distress (e.g cord gets tangled), i guess can know thru bb's heartbeat datz y uncle cheng will always monitor bb's heartbeat when we go for visits. cos dat time when i was admitted when i couldnt detect bb's movements, they oso put some things onto my tummy to monitor bb's heartbeat and didnt scan. What they did was monitor the heartbeat and contractions for an hour....same thing as what they do in the labour ward...think it is called the CTC scan or something...can't remember the medical term. so not to worry...juz trust him...he has delivered thousands of babies liao and he is the professional so juz put yr trust in him and everything will be fine.
shld something go wrong along the way, i'm sure he has a way to detect.

pm,

do u know the taka bb fair is March when?

angel,

Kakibukit is too far for me and we dun have a car. So not v convenient.

Veniz,

I have ored place the order with her liao.

Btw, the cloth carrier can be a bit hard, my colleague say she give up using. But i see so many mums outside using and look so nice and convenient.

Zu En,

My bb also dun move everyday one. certain days i dun feel his movements, but usu can feel some. Sometimes he can get v excited and keep kicking/moving and i feel uncomfortable.

starmoon

Actually the pills are not all for bb. I read in pregnancy book that if calcium intake is not enuff, the bb will take the stored calcium in the mother body. Thus the mother will lost her calcium. Therefore the calcium pills taken are more for mother benefit than bb benefit actually.

Unless the mother supplement with natural sources then she probably won't need those pre-natal pills.

Shycloud,
Icic.. Maybe i should be more observant and start to observe some trends..

Ellysia,
True.. without car very troublesome.

shycloud,

I have the same feeling when i feel too hungry. I tink it is bec' of gastric juice and we will get more hungry than normal as bb is feeding on our food intake.

angel

Yes orchard usu sunday noon and night not so crowded bec' mon people need to work so may choose to rest at home or go neighbourhood.

weekdays at orchard is usu Monday night to Thursday night. Avoid friday night.

Ellysia,

Icic.. I didn't know that..

Not in town much to observe such things as hubby hates town cos too crowded.. Sigh

Hi MTB,

Anyone engaging confinement ladies or already got one? Got any recommendation? Both my contacts not free when i'm due. Haiz...

roxy,

Dunno my gynae still tell me to drink 1-2 glasses of milk on top of 600mg calcium pills i am taking per day. The TMC talk also said need 1000-1200mg calcium per day.

Actually at first i didn't take any milk/soy milk, i just take the calcium pills. But i tink it is bec my stored calcium in my body is not enuff. Cos i have leg cramps at night and my legs wobby and more weak and i have difficulty walking for long time. So after gynae suggested to take more milk, i took and legs are less wobby. I have tried and if some day i skip milk, my wobby legs problem came back.

Maybe it is bec my stored calcium is not enuff. So need to take more calcium.

However i still tink, it is better to take more calcium bec' dun want to end up with calcium depletion after birth.

I read in pregnancy book, it also says if we go hungry for too long, the bb will take nutrients such as protein stored in our body. Thus it is also not good to go hungry for too long.

feifei,
If not mistaken Robinson sale is until 06 Feb, but i think the sale is only on certain products not storewide. You might want to check again on it.

shycloud,

Pregnancy book says in 2nd trim if we dun eat for long, we may feel fainting so cannot go hungry for too long.

For me i have some gastric problem, so once i go hungry my gastic juice will cause pain. Then i will have headache and body go weak. Now on top of that i will feel fainting. So cannot go hungry for too long too.

Ellysia,

Wa lau.. that someone is very unfeeling.. He/She doesn't understand tat CNY is coming meh?

Where got mood to work?

Ya lor.

Anyway on top management want one, then she pressed me.

Now i stressed, i eating chips liao. Comfort food.

Bao is more healthy leh. I eat chips less healthy.

Last weekend i went to buy ice-cream cone from supermarket. I buy in boxes, got 8 cones. Now at home, happy then eat a little.

I say i wanna buy a weighing scale and put at home, keep forgetting then also need to get help to carry.

Yest nite, i accidentally drank juice without checking on expiry date. I drank a full cup before discovering that it ored expire, 31 January. No wonder the juice taste a bit funny

Then yest dinner i ate KFC 4 pieces chicken + popcorn chicken + nuggets + fish fingers. I ordered the golden fiesta meal, got 8 piece chicken and those sides. Force hb to eat 4 piece of chicken too.

Ellysia, I also just placed an order to her via PM, hope she can take in, otherwise will wait and see how. Wow, you eating chips, make me craving for chips leh.

Today is Monday blue cum holiday mood, tomorrow will be worst. I will be going town to do a last min shopping. I wonder if Isetan Scotts has Elizabeth Arden counter. Last week bought this eight hour lip cream which I like very much. thinking of getting the colour tinted one later. Then will go Far East Plaza see if I can get 1 or 2 more tunics to wear, heard they have new stock today.