(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">cactus*

ok ok wil go see see look look at M&amp;S bras coz have been hearing about it from my gfren oso for quite a while but erm im quite particular on designs ha ha i dun like ah ma designs!! hahaha

felicia*

ha ha i try to remove when im at home den!! wear darker tops to hide! *lol*</font>

ya i also think the wired bras really make one feel breathless. Was working the other day and it got so tight that I feel like taking it off.

I bought one non-wired bra with padding from John Little Sale at $22.90. Buy 2 get 1 free. It is of microfiber material and super comfy!
Although they dont have my size for other colors so later I will drop by Marks and Spencer for a look. Currently, they are having sale and selling around $29.90 each.

I realise not easy to get nice non-wired bras with good padding.

<font color="ff6000">star*

agree on getting nice non-wired bras with good padding is not easy.. coz no padding oso cannot coz erm.. too obvious</font>

yea I agree too.
cos everytime what they have there is those Ah-Ma type and I need those with padding. else when it gets cold, my nipples will get to see the world

And for those who are first time preggies, do u find that your breasts are leaking clear fluid?

I panic when I saw it last week... Also not sure why do I panic

Hi mommies, u all intend to get cots or yao lan(sarong) for your babies? My PILs are very keen for yao lan but i read on the internet that they're not very safe. eg, babies can fall out etc. told PILs that then they said that the new 1s nowadays are very safe.

Felicia,

Actually i took thai food but there are pineapple juice inside. I didn't take pineapple fruit.

Immediately have contraction when i watch movie later and at night when i sleep.

Maybe i am more sensitive, may varies from different person but i suggest try bit by bit then see how.

pkdust,

My breast also bigger than tummy. Worst the circumference has increase and the biggest size 38 still end up tight on me. I usu go back with marks on my breast and below my breasts, bec bra is too tight.

Kylene,

Not getting sarong unless bb v hard to handle. U dun need a sarong if u have a guai bb tat is easy to handle. Alternatively u can get rocking bed which serves same purpose.

star,

Leaking fluid from breasts while preggy is normal.

U can get non-wired bras from Spring maternity. I bot one yesterday at $9 only (original price $12, i got member discount). Padding u need to buy additional cost i tink cost few dollars.

Just finish my dinner. Chicken briyani rice. Very fattening. hehe....

My #1 ger is on sarong for daytime, nite time she'll sleep on her own bed. We let her sleep on sarong when she refused to sleep at daytime. From my experience, if ur bb can avoid sarong it wud be better, else very troublesome if u travel loh.

Hi gals, I am on day leave today so missed out quite a bit here.

Crystal, I also dunno why my MIL didnt want to carry my son on his first day but maybe her fav godson was there (he was 4) and her rich sis was there also, so she wanted to show that even with having a grandson, she still dote on that godson bah. Anyway, she is not an easy going person, so I dunno what other stuffs she was thinking. But now, she really loves my son.

Aiya, should have been here today. I am looking for bra, and got two nursing ones from OIO Maternity at KK hospi for $59.90/pc when bringing son for checkup. Anyway, for time being will not buy some more, wait till later stage.

My son also slept sarong when he was younger. Can make his head rounder than having him sleeping on bed.

I bought nursing bras at Maternity House. About $29.90 - $33.90. Since buying new bras, might as well buy nursing ones so no need to buy again next time

Re: yao lan or sarongs... Mrs Wong reiterated to us that she dun encourage mummies to use sarong. Coz when baby is young, their bones are still very soft, sarong is not good support to them compared to mattress and might actually injure their back. My colleague also use sarong for her son, initially very easy to get him to sleep, now he's 1 year old, she want to move him back to cot coz sarong too small for him now, he refuse and throw tantrum and keep crying coz too used to sarong. Now she deeply regrets...

Re: Sarong

I listened to Mrs Wong, and refused sarong initially. But my boy screamed and cried and throw tantrums so badly at one time, I just had to give in to sarong.... he can sleep longer periods at one go, especially in the afternoons. The cot is just too warm for him.

Guess it depends on individual babies.

My boy now only likes the sarong in the afternoon. At night, he prefers to roll around and sleep in his cot.

btw, no rush to buy sarong. I got mine from that chinatown chuan huat. $75 per set. I got two, one for my house, one for my mum's place. They deliver the very next day.

So maybe can see if bb likes cot. If really don't like, want to try sarong, can just call to buy.

Morning Piyoz,

U are early today. Ya, my ger oso use sarong for day time only. Night time she will automatically switch to her bed. I think will is more to practise. Of course, we do encounter problem when want to let her sleep on mattress at night but aft struggle for few nites, she can adapt to new change.

roxy,

My ger will be 2 yrs old in next month, but still sleep in sarong during afternoon. The sarong had sizes, can cater for older kid.
Btw, i think i only start let my ger sleep on sarong when she's > 2 mths liao. So i suppose it shldnt cause any problem to her bone kua.

I do agree with piyoz, it really depend on individual babies.

Felicia,
When I went to my DS (&amp; amnio) at week 17, the sonagrapher said that 18 weeks should be able to see the heart. However, there is always possibility that the gestation week is wrongly counted. I tot I was 18th week when I did my DS. The sonagrapher took 1 look at bb and said that it is too small to be 18 week. Turned out only 17 week, so she was unable to scan the heart. To play safe, I think shpuld go after 19 weeks wor.

Shycloud,
I oso thala minor. I was wondering if that is why I always feel giddy. No fainting spells though, just giddiness + headache + urge to puke. My hb said that I am a late bloomer. Already mid of 2nd trimester still experience morning sickness. -.o"

pkdust, ellysia,
I got the sma eproblem too. I already increase 1 cup size liao and I think I need to up another cup size liao. I am already quite big to begin with. I wish my breast would stop growing. I hate people stareing there.

Morning ladies..

Ellysia,
I also can rem how I felt after eating the pineapples on the hawaiian pizza, scarli....til now i dun take pineapples...

rozy,
Really? but yao lan hor, bb will sleep longer leh..

Kylene,
I hv 2 passdown cots and 2 yao lans lor, guess i will be using both...

All,
Do u all take duo hua now?

Felicia,piyo,
hihi....As for e sarongs, most important is the springs lor...Best to put abt 4-5 springs so that can support a heavier weight...

ZuEn,
Me also Tha minor lor...I hv low blood, so sometimes will hv giddy one...so gyane gave me iron pills but I rarely take cos its too heaty for me..Took calcium pills, I already constipate til bery chaliat..keke =D...

ZuEn,
This is what i'm worry oso. Funny thing is last check up, my gynae said i'm in wk19-20 liao which i tot i'm in wk18 only. So he insist my DS must be done latest the week after CNY. But as i'll be away tat whole week and even before CNY, i'm left with no choice. Anyhow, if i use my own calculation, by this Friday i'm oledi wk19+, so i hope the scan can be successful.

feifei,

no of springs depends on weight of bb. Like felicia, I started my bb around 2 months. He can only take 2 springs. Anything more, his weight cannot pull the sarong down... hee hee... he small frame also.

Anyway, nowadays, they come with strings to secure the hooks, tie here and there. Plus the sarong cloth also comes with zip or cover. Actually quite safe.

Duo hua is soya bean curd is it? Understand that it is good source of protein. Mrs Wong also recommend pregnant mummies to take.

btw, any hr person here? Or anyone familiar with mom rules on maternity leave?

I just changed job. So the 180 day limit is like just before my edd. If my little one decides to come bit earlier, will not meet the 180 day requirement. Means I don't have any maternity leave is it? Quite sad leh...... Must talk to my little one to guai guai wait till edd.

Hi feifei, felicia and piyoz,
Initially, I also listened to mrs wong not to intro yao lan but after 3mths, we got 1 as she seems to sleep longer in yao lan.. really depends on your bb.. she slept in it till 1 yrs plus and we weanned her off successfully.. now she is sleeping on mattress. Got to go with bb's flow, can't be too rigid.

My hubby drill a hole in the ceiling and use 6 springs, very good support.

re: DS
My scan is scheduled the week after CNY, exactly the 20th week. Gynae told me can do bet 19-22wks.

re: nursing bras
I bot my nursing bras during last tri cos the size would be more fitting and I bot better ones at momsinmind(online shop that specialise in nursing wears and bras) to go gai gai after I delivered my bb..

piyoz,
hehe....=)...for me, sarong is on our list...=)..

Yup, duo hua is soyabean curd...tink shd take every weekly lor.. =D...

Piyo,
For me , the yao lan is hang frm a frame lor, those with a stand type so no need to drill a hole..

my ger sarong type is those mobile type with roller. You can 'close' the roller to prevent it from moving. I bought it form msia, i think whole set around RM100+. Btw, any mummies use those those 'auto swing' on the sarong for swinging ur kids?
Coz i remember i ever read in some article saying this is auto swing is not good for bb brain development.

Morning Mumz..
Hi Luz, my last checkup was 7 Jan tat time was 17wks 1 day..by 15 Jan i should be abt 22wks ba..i oso dono how to count leh..hehhe...

*piyo*,

my DS also week after CNY =) Same like yours. Will be doing mine at TMC, hope no need to wait too long. Last time I did the NT scan, waited quite long....

feifei,
my sarong also the frame type. I feel it's good, cos can push around. We usually push to living room during the day. Then at night push to bedroom for standby. Cos bb now usually sleep cot, but standby just in case he decides he wants sarong once in a while.

Morning. About Yao Lan, just dun pull and swing baby to hard. do it with less force. But will not get hooked on the swing part and also it will be easier for us, otherwise, we will have to keep staying there to swing. My son is now sleeping on bed, at first difficult to shift him to bed, but now he sleeps longer in bed during afternoon nap.

Piyoz, Actually, the min 180days limit is for the 3rd month maternity reimbursement from government, and not referred to the whole maternity leave. If you give birth earlier, you are still entitled to only the first two months of maternity leave. For the 3rd mth, there will be no pay out to you, unless your company is willing to pay out of its pocket. Best you check with your HR and/or superior on company's culture and terms.

verniz,

so means still have 2 months' mat leave!!! that's good to know. THANKS!

I just checked with my HR. SHe told me cut off date 22 June. So now telling my little one to guai guai stay till at least 23 june.

fei fei: i dun think u r bad - u r jus stating facts mah, which is true... kekekeke.....my hb also told his mum (my MIL) tat he prefers daughters to sons cos daughters will take care of family more n he can ve supper next time. If son, he says he can forget abt it oreadi cos son takes care of wife n own family oni. Then my MIL told him off n says it is no wonder then tat she dun get supper from him cos he is a guy. HA!

star: so u intend to act "choosy" &amp; "hard to please" when they r already in yur hse? Would tat strain yur relationship wif them then really badly? Is yur hb aware of his sister intention? If so, can ve yur hb tok to her tat u would prefer peace n quiet for yurself n bb rather than having to deal wif 2 additional noisy kids in yur hse at the most critical time. tell him tat u do not wan to fall into post-natal depression, having a strained r/ship wif his sister subsequently, he being sandwiched in the middle b/w u n his sis, etc over the whole issue. tat was wat i did wif my hb. it got so bad tat i wrote him a full page letter detailing all my rationale of not having to move to my ILs' place for confinement - mainly cos of 2 young nephews in my ILs' place among others. as I seldom write to him, thankfully he took me seriously enf to tok to his mum abt it although it didnt stop her pestering me still on the issue but it did spell out to her tat hb n me are on the same front. I know it is bad of me but if u rationalize wif yur hb n try to make him see it from yur perspective now, it make be better for all parties concern now as compared to in the long-run.

Before my DS, I was eating n drinking per normal, no instruction outstanding not to do so. But for my upcoming mthly scan, I had been informed not to ve any food n drink the previous day from 12am till the next am when I am in to see my gynae. Apparently, I ve to go thru some blood tests for glucose, etc at 8.30am, 9.30am &amp; 10.30am to draw blood hourly for testing. Food n drink is oni allowed after tat.

Ellysia: for no reason yd, I also blew my top off at hb in Adelaide city. Come to think of it, he didn’t do anything to trigger me off actually but I also dunno y. oni thing then was I wasn’t feeling well suddenly, breaking out in cold sweat n feel my Minnie kicking me quite furiously then too n it gets me all pissed off. When hb asked me wat I would like for lunch so he can do the ordering, I kinda of told him to bug-off. He was so shocked. Thank god, he didn’t retaliate &amp; instead got down to my tummy n murmur to Minnie n she stopped kicking me suddenly n things got better after tat. I thank god tat he took my temper in his stride now.

Cactus: congrats on yur mickey.
On yur post yd @1104am, “But most importantly, now boys not like last time.. we cannote xpect them to look after us anymore. Just need to look after ourselves.. so we won't be a financial burden to them.”
IMHO, be it son or daughter, I dun expect either to look after me nor hb cos living std in singapore is already so high. In our generation now, we are already having a hard time contributing to parents’, kids n our own expenses. 20 – 30 yrs down the road when living std is going to raise much further, it will be even tougher on our kids (son or daughter alike) to look after us (aka parents), their next generation n themselves. So hb n me r oreadi working out ways to save for our retirement w/o having to burden on our child. I be happy tat by then, my kid wun stretch out hand asking for $ is gd enf, no expectation at all on her to look after hb n me.
No offense on my comments above I hope, jus my humble tots….

Piyoz, seems like I have given you wrong info. With the new addtional 3rd mth government subsidised maternity leave, there is this new guideline of must work at least 180days to get the whole 3mths maternity leave. I used to work in HR when these new rules came out but so far never come across such cases like yours.

But sometimes it also depends on the company, their culture, as since they employ you when you are pregnant, most of them are prepared to payout the first two mths maternity leave to you. Sorry that I may give you wrong info, but do double check with your HR again on co culture and do see the MOM link as provided below for your reference.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

Hi crystal, what you say in the last part is true. For our next generation, as long as our kids do not stretch out their hands for allowance and can take care of themselves, most of us will be most happy. I told my hubby also, as long as my son does not ask for $$ everytime next time he is working, we will be most grateful. I do still see some pple from our generation still asking for money from parents even though they are working. They ask for $$ to go clubing, have fun, etc.

Piyoz,
agreed lor..hee

crystal,
haha, at least let ur mil know..

When u coming bk to spore?hows weather there?

cactus,
Urs is a mickey?

<font color="ff6000">sarong topic*

i oso quite reluctant to let my #1 use the sarong tat time but towards the 3rd week, i realised she seems to have shorten her sleeping routine so mom asked me to try out sarong and i tried.. she indeed slept very well inside the sarong and managed to sleep for longer hours oso but we alternate her sleeping sarong habits as in allow her to use the sarong only during the day time coz at night she will be with us sleeping on the bed so after a few months down the road, when she was bigger and begins to toss and turn, she kinda of refuse the sarong already coz it restricts her movement..

anyway there are pros and cons to sarong sleeping, some old ppl says it will make the baby's head very nice shape coz the sarong wraps the baby's head well and some say it wil hug the baby therefore baby wil feel more comfy and sleep better inside the sarong but most importantly i personally feel is dun let baby sleep inside sarong all the while for the sleeping time as it might create the baby so used to sarong sleeping and when u wanna bring him/her out will have problem..

just to share my thoughts

thanks for all your inputs re: sarong! will need to discuss with hubby again.

Piyoz,
I think it depends on the company. My friend is pregnant and due in sep 2008. the co she going to join says she needs to start work on 1st feb to get her 3/12 maternity leave. that's more that 180 days of work.

zuen,
ya tats wat my gynae told me...since me a thal minor experiencing dizzy spells are common. not to worry...just be more careful and eat properly and appropriately...but he never prescribe any supplements for me...

feifei,
i gathered info fr pple tat soyabean curd has the "shi gao" ingredient...not too good to take too much...maybe u can alternate btw the drink instead?

On the topic of non-padded non-wire bras, I'm actually wearing nursing bras now with reusable cotton nursing pads.. like that, more padding. It's quite comfortable and looks normal.

Hi Crystal - I totally agree with what you said about planning for ourselves financially. Hb and I started planning for ourselves just after we ROMed... actually, we don't even have our own home yet.. still staying with parents because we dumped in all our savings into our retirement planning. But I'm thankful that we didn't need to take loan for our wedding or honeymoon or depend on parents for these. Now, our savings go into a fund to buy a home. We realise that bb is quite cheap to bring up until about 2 years old.. so hopefully, we are able to buy our first home before then. Housing prices are just going up and up and up.. sigh. My hb and I have the same attitude - first must look after ourselves.. only after we are certain our retirement is okay, then have kids... if not, will end up burdening the younger generation.

Feifei - Yes! It's a boy!

Ladies, I'm looking around for a carseat which is suitable for newborn up to 3 or 4 years old. BUt these are very hard to find. Has anyone come across these type of carseats?

starmoon,
I just went for my detailed scan (Week 22)yesterday. My bb is minnie. Weighs est. 440g. You may want to update in the chart. Thanks.

Re: Sarong

U can get cheap ones from AMK shop i tink.

Btw, kiddy palace and some other places got sell sarongs that do not need to drill holes, it got stable stand to support.

crystal,

Agree with u tat as long as our children dun have to take money from us after they can go out to work, we will be most happy liao.

Zu En,

Mine also increase 1 cup then recently increase another 0.5 cup liao. And bustline has increase to maybe beyond 40.

Last time i want to have bigger bust then now regret cos really look too big liao.

I used to dun wear bra at home, recently found that have to wear bra or else the breasts like a bit saggy leh.

<font color="0077aa">sarong*

yesh i got mine from kiddy palace and it has a stand at the bottom and its movable with wheels so u can push the whole thing to wherever u deem fit