(2008/06) June 2008

shycloud - don't worry. just stop using the wash from now on. I also stupidly drank alot of carrot juice when I was pregnant.. first trimester.. it was almost toxic levels. My hb didn't know about it... cos he didn't watch me drink as I drank at work. I only knew about it when I asked him out of the blue! Freakish hor.

pkdust - Yes!! Going for detailed scan on Monday. Will definately update! As for your query, there is no law which says cannot fire a woman who is 7 months pregnant. But if pregnant woman is asked to leave for no good reason, you can raise the issue to Ministry of Manpower. But really... we are not very protected....unlike in the States.

pkdust,

if not why dun u visit female doctor. Tell her u preggy, see if she can prescribe someting for u first.

Dun worry.

In the meantime, avoid using panty liners. If u must use, change it often, maybe 3 times daily.

In addition, wash yr panties thoroughly. Change them often.

Avoid sitting at dirty places esp if u wear thin material clothes/bottom.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia~

yeah better go and check but i rem gynae said before a small amount is safe but do not apply often or in large areas or over long period of time

no worries on the dress shopping @ This Fashion.. its not ur fault at all so dun say sorry leh
will scout around over the weekend if possible!</font>

pkdust - just to add: guidelines are different from law. So we need to make a distinction. The only exception to what I just stated is if there is a company policy not to fire pregnant women, then it may be a contract and form a basis for a pregnant woman to fight the company's decision to ask her to leave. But not as straight forward as applying the law.

Anyway... going to log off liao. have a great weekend ladies!

morraine,
so fast hor...hmm..

pkdust,
I also recently hv a pimple grow at e side of my V there, so pain leh, somemore I hv constipation, then after i poo, the pc of flesh came out, can imagine so pain rite...i sometimes walk like donald duck lor..hiaz...now also scare of pooing...

Btw, is it safe to do pedicure during pregnancy?

I have booked an appt to do pedi for CNY, cos see some of my colleagues preggy also do pedi. Shd be fine right?

<font color="ff0000">feifei~

ya lor so kwa zhang lor!! and the q is like at least consists of more den 10 ppl!

as for ur pimple growth there, isit near the anus or wat? could it be piles?

ellysia~

ha ha i did my mani and pedi a few times already as of now

Pkdust, I had fungal infection also. Took anti biotics but I develop allergy to that. My gynea said I jia liat, cos that was a common antibiotics.

So my gynea gave me a bullet to insert and a 3 day course of medication. That one helps. U try asking for those bullet to insert, That kind works. But must insert properly...

That day I bypass This fashion, the one at paya lebar, went inside and look for baby doll dress. There are some but I dun like the prints. Too loud to wear to work. I got two dress at Cloud 9 @suntec. Its maternity dress but look more like sundress. Those you can still wear even after you give birth and in normal days. Somehow I quite like their dress. Each cost only $79.90. Got discount if u get more than 1 piece. Perhaps will go there to get somemore.

ellysia,
i am going to do pedi for CNY. i think it's generally ok to do esp if your mani/pedi place is well-ventilated.

morr &amp; feifei,
the queue is v kwa zhang right? i have seen it several times. i know of a coll who went down at 7.30am on eve of CNY to buy and she didn't have to queue long. alternatively, it's to go down late at night like 10plus kind, the q is usu not so long but the thing is might have run out of pork/chicken then.

pkdust,
i also like the dresses at Cloud9. i didn't buy their sundress tho' but i bought a black cocktail dress for a wedding dinner last mth. i did try on some of their sundresses and they are quite nice.

Kelcqi,
I suspect mine is fungal infection too. Because I heard the nurse told me if they still detect that in my urine, then the gynae will prescribe me with antibiotics. I ask if it is serious, the nurse told me not serious. I will further check with my gynae.

morr,
i know!! tell me about it, haha. i dun intend to get theirs this year. prob get like fragrance or mei zhen xiang since all bak kwa taste the same to me. :p

morraine,
Hehe, I will try cranberry juice then. I like cranberry juice.

Teragram, Kelcqi,
Yeah, I will go to cloud9 again. I feel spending on dress more worth it than on tops and bottoms. But still will be getting some separates.

Going off soon, you gals enjoy your weekend !!

shycloud,
I realised that my heart beat has increased ever since preggy. I feel breathless at times too. I had that problem before preggy too, so not sure of it is really related to preggy. It helps to concentrate on other things for me. The feeling will pass after awhile.

TF,
Prodts with Camphor cannot use? I used the shangbai oil and vicks when I was down with flu earlier wor and I just realised that both contain Camphor. I tot I read somewhere that Vicks is okie?

feifei, catcus,
I heard from a bfg mummy that must always kiss the bb on the lips, then the mummy will develop the immunity and passed to her bb during bfg.

ellysia,
no probs. think pkdust left liao. if i may answer for her, i think cloud9 dress prices is comparable with spring, around $70 plus.
it's at suntec, just next to spring.

morraine,
Its a pimple near the V there lor...Anus there will only hv e painful lump after I go bian bian lor, so pain at times...haiz...Tink i ate too much calcium pills liao...But if dun take also cannot...haiz..

Teragram,
so scary lor, so early got ple q liao...

Hi gers,
Good morning.. It is finally weekend. Hopefully this 4 hours will pass quickly and I can go off from office!

I experience my 1st leg cramp last night. In the middle of the night, I shouted for my hb to help. He was jolted out of his sleep, he sat up, turned and went back to sleep. -.o" heng, it was a mild cramp and went away after a while. Haiz..

Rare chance to come online on a weekend. Hb just went to work and I get to use the computer in peace!!

Ellysia - Re: manicure/pedicure - I usually go for massages at this place. and they have facial services too, together with mani and pedi. but since I told my therapist I'm pregnant, she said I can only do scalp massage. I asked her why, she said nail polish has toxic ingredients not good for baby and facial products have unsafe ingredients. She also said for massage, she cannot massage too hard or in circular motion or else may bring on contractions so best is to do during 3rd trimester (but she is not specially trained to do massages for preggies so maybe she's not comfy doing massages during 1st and 2nd trimester). There are also some points in the soles of our feet which may stimulate contractions. She said I can do medi/pedi if I don't apply nail polish. FYI.

Shycloud - I don't know what ingredient in vaginal washes may be unsafe. I was just told not to ever use them. It may not be an ingredient, but rather the act of washing there. I'm sorry.. I have no clue....

ZuEn - I don't think there is any basis for saying must kiss bb on lips to pass on immunity leh.... it's passed through breastmilk. Maybe you heard this from a mommy who loves to bond with her bb?!

For those who like chinese sausages, my parents came across this brand (he2 jia1 huan1) sold at Tampines NTUC. They bought a pack to try. Very yummy! Hb liked it alot.

When I went to Tampines NTUC to buy, it was no longer selling. But yesterday, I saw it at Bishan NTUC. I bought quite alot. Cant wait to bring them to my parents next week.. then can get to eat it liao!

pkdust/bbcupid: yup, kenna "scolding" from hb abt the stupid tots on abortion oreadi. Anyway, now been telling bb tat all i need is for her to be a healthy n happy bb, then ok liao. but stupid me still sometime refer to "her" as "him". M still trying to chng my addressing to her. sometime hb n me call her bb gwen.

angie: sorry tat i didnt reply earlier cos in AU now, so didnt get the oppty to chk in on forum here so frequently. in answer to yur post earlier on, my DS was on my 20th wk of preggie. I understand tat wtg og bb is a close estimation by gynae n not the very exact bb's wtg. by far, yur bb does seem the heaviest among all of ours but shd be ok cos most impty is healthy mah. maybe if it worries u still, double check wif yur gynae again on yur next visit? keep me posted lar.

TF: u may like to take some water chestnuts to cool down body heatiness if dong chong cao gets too heaty for u. it wks for me....

Cactus,
No lah, not pass immunity thru' kissing. But the mummy will get the bb's virus thru kissing and the adult body (the mummy) will be stronger and develop the immunity to fight the virus. This newly developed immunity will then be passed on to the bb thru' breastmilk. How true? I am not sure too. My bfg friend claimed that she read it off some article.

Crystal,
I have that problem too. I feel weird at times when my hb use "she" on the bb. Somehow, I still think that my minnie is a "he". Dun worry, it will pass.. we have another 5 months to correct ourselves.

Gg off to enjoy the remaining of my weekend. I need to cut hair. I looked super ungroomed. I think hair salon has already started to increase price, but bo bian. I look like a lion now, haha.

ZuEn: yup. another 4-5 mths to correct ourselves on addressing bb. my MIL tat day can still ask me if there any chance tat when bb is born tat she will becomes a he. tat reai pisses me off cos on one hand she tells everyone she dun favour boys over gers but on the other hand can ask me such a bloody sickening qn. i told her not possible cos gynae oreadi confirm at 99% on gender but she said - oh maybe the gynae saw wrongly, mistakes can still happen. DAMN! makes my blood boil. if favour boys, then says so lar, y must pretend not to favour boys but is doing so in fact? Arrrrggggg!!!!

sorry for my grumbling....

ZuEn, I also experience breathless easily. I check with my gynea and he said it's normal that pregnant woman get breathless more easily due to our increasing weight. So no worries on tat k. He told me whenever I feel breathless, just find a place to rest. As long as no giddiness, it's ok le...

Ellysia, Cloud 9 is at the top floor of Suntec city. I like their dresses, very nice and reasonably priced. On spending 200, can get lifetime membership also. But the shop only selling mainly maternity clothes, so lifetime membership also abit useless unless you are planning for a few more pregnancies in the years to come.

Shycloud, for the wash, another mummy from another thread advise me against it is because she said that the wash might wash away all the good bacteria also. So advise me against using it.

Any mummies have recommendations where to go for waxing down there? Cos I had fungal infection and UTI a few occassion since pregnancy, although I wash a few times each day. So thought of going for waxing to reduce bacteria down there.

pkdust, bbcupid, crystal,

I had tots of abortions earlier also. Mainly due to the discomfort I'm going through, the pressure of no house and problems at work. I cried to hubby so often and he also almost got convince for the abortion although he felt uneasy over the idea. Then he went to the Guan Yin temple at waterloo street and asked for advise through "Qiu Qian", and the lot said tell us not to cut our flesh but be contented. Then hubby felt so guilty for those killing tots and tell me I need to stay strong for the pregnancy...

halo all the mummies,
i'm bak after dissappear on Friday for my normal check up.
Little bit of dissappointment when my gynae told me "This might be a girl, coz i couldnt see anything at here(while pointing on the monitor screen)". Hubby oso bit dissappointed, but we had decide to close shop at 2. So now i had 2 princesses.

Mummies, got question on detail scan at TMC. Gynae try to fix my DS appointment but it was all full before CNY. Ended up the nurse asked me to walk in. Anyone had such experience of walk in for detail scan? How long will i need to wait? And wat time does the TMC DS dept open?

My bb weigh only 209gram. It seems to be very low compare to all mickeys and minnies here. Bit worry on this though gynae din said anything. I tot i was in 17-18 wks, but my gynae said i'm in 19-20wks tats why he insist i had to do my DS asap.

Hello mummies, am back from my DS on Friday. Baby is fine, except her legs below average. So might be a short gal next time. Yes ... it's a MINNIE !!! That's what I've been hoping for, hehehe. She was not very co-operative during the scan and it took me almost an hour, her head was facing down most of the time and refused to move.

Her weight is 322 grams at 20wk. Gynae says average and still ask me to eat more despite I've put on 3kg. Anyway, happy can start to shop.

By the way, John Little having 20% for cardmembers, so can buy some items first.

Happy weekend to all mummies !!!

crystal~07, relax relax, ignore what your MIL says la. No point getting angry over what we have no control about, so long as bb is healthy good enough.

Mog and Felicia,
Congrats on your Minnies!

Mog,
Glad to hear everything's fine. Wah, 1 hour scan, quite long huh. But at least you get to have a good long look at her.

Felicia,
Sorry I can't advise you much on the walk-in at TMC but if your EDD is 26 June (am looking at the chart if that is still accurate), then you can't be in your 19-20 wks right? Cos my EDD's 15 June and on wed (23 Jan), I was 19wk 3 days. So based on that, you should be in your 17-18 wk which might explain the lower weight. I think maybe you check with your gynae again, don't worry too much for now.

Kelcqi,
I used to go to Strip (cathay branch) for brazilian waxing prior to my pregnancy. Am very happy with the service so far and intending to go for waxing again prior to my delivery (subjected to gynae's approval).
If you are keen, I can recommend the therapist I use.

Teragram, thanks, which therapist u use?

My friend just gave birth in Dec and told me to go for waxing before I deliver cos she said the nurses at TMC will shave off some hair, and if let them shave, which it grows out, can be itchy, plus the stitches below, the feeling is horrible. So she said at wk 36 can start to go for wax, if haven deliver by wk 39, go again to clear up the hair before heading to deliver.

BTW Felicia, when u go for your detail scan, the sonographer will ask for your EDD, from there, it'll reflect how far u are in your pregnancy. For DS, it should be done between wk 18- wk22. So no need to worry so much on the date. As for the size, they sonographer will also tell u if the baby is big, normal or small in size. Enjoy your Detail Scan cos it's really a wonder expeience...

Kelcqi,

Actually i tink the hair down there is to protect against bacteria. So not sure if waxing too early will be good or not.

Cactus,

Thks for your advice. In that case, maybe i just go and do some cutting/cuticles cutting services then. Cos i ored booked with my regular shop and place a deposit ored.

Zu En,

When u have leg cramp, rotate yr ankle and the leg cramp will be gone. This is wat the pre-natal class teach me. Its quite useful, i used it yest when i have leg cramps again.

Just log in for a while to check my mails. Yesterday is my gal;s first birthday party. Book the function room and had a mini celebration for her. Bought a "korean dress" from kiddy palace too . If anyone wants to order cakes, esp those 2 or 3 kg type, I would recommend the one from Royals. We ordered a 2kg strawberry cake for $69.90 (self collect). Taste very nice and all my frens also agree on that.

Felicia ,
I know exactly how you feel. Its the same disappointment when I just got to know this is a minnie. Anyway, I am slowly trying to change my thoughts and often tell my gal that she will have a mei mei and she must take care of her.

The chocolate truffle cake from Royals is very yummy too!!

pkdust - hearing you rave about the strawberry cake makes me want to try it soon!!

Just now i had some fainting spell aft coming bak from doin some marketing and even vomit some acidic juice. Not sure what happen but aft laying in bed for half an hour, bit better now.But still had some nauseaus feeling.

Tera/ Kelcqi,

Thanks for your reply on the DS and my bb weight issue. Anyhow, will walk in for DS on this coming Friday and will ask the sonographer on my queries. Was wondering can i go out for a walk or must wait at the room for my turn on DS? Coz mine will be a walk in, so i assume i'll need to wait at least 1-2hrs before my turn.

pkdust,
I was very xcited when my gynae start to scan on my tummy. He even asked me wat is my 1st bb gender. I told him is a ger, so i know he try not to dissappoint me too much by saying' This MIGHT be a girl'. Anyhow i had oledi accepted it and even thinkin how to address my bb.
When my mil ask about my scan, i told her very high chance is a girl liao, coz i dont want her to pin high hope there's chance of gender change.But luckily my mil said is ok , as long as bb is healthy, though i can saw she's oso dissappointed. As for #1 ger, she had her dream comes true coz she had been saying i'm hvin 'mei mei'.