(2008/06) June 2008

pkdust, did anyone tell you whether your bb was facing front or back? Meaning, bb's spine against your spine, or bb's face against your spine?

<font color="119911">cactus~

its definitely HARD!! but luckily i pushed the 3rd time my ger was out!! so its good tat the bb is very very very low and near the entrance already.. it wil help reduce the no of times of pushing</font>

Yeah pushing the right way does help a lot and shorten the whole process of delivery. Must listen to their instructions, when they say push then push. If not you are wasting your energy and effort. I think should not hold breath while pushing and also must push through the vaginal (in front). Cannot be pushing like we are having consipation. Must we start doing those exercise now?

Ellysia,
mayb hor..hmm...

Actually bery fast leh..now 21wks liao...so fast...4more mths can see our bb liao..Actually i thought Mrs Wong will bring us to tour ard e wards lor..

<font color="119911">no no u wil push from the vaginal there.. u shld or wil feel the baby pressing against there already by den.. so u wil push BUT cannot push when u are changing breath as in when u blow out to breathe out, dun push</font>

feifei and ellysia... lessons got postponed ah? Mrs Wong never say anything leh.. im still going for her lesson next Sat. But prob after that (3rd lesson) will shift to AMK Hub coz TMC having some reno work going on....

I realised that I have the smallest tummy there in her class heee... Everyone got very obvious tummies... then she will ask who are in final trimester, coz got some exercises final trimester cannot do.. so those who are attending Mar lessons pls take note coz by then we final trimester liao...

roxy,
When we register hor, the Parentcraft stuff got give us a piece of paper with the lessons schedule lor...so the dates are there...mayb u hv a look wor...

Cactus,
My first bb spine is against my spine and her face is up. The best position should be baby's face is facing down inwards.

Morraine,
You are right! They say talking to the baby is very effective. My fren always practise that when she is pregnant. Maybe I should talk more to my baby.

<font color="119911">pkdust~

ha ha i have been telling him from day one.. pls be a June baby!!!

pkdust - yeah... I'm very much hoping bb will not be spine against spine... very difficult delivery if go natural and it's not going to require a c-section either... sigh.

<font color="119911">ladies.. u all dun worry so much now first.. all jus aim for natural and just enjoy ur pregnancy now.. dun worry on the rest till further advised by ur gynae

<font color="119911">eh coz worrying might affect the little one ultimately so therefore.. relax and enjoy this precious 9 months!!!</font>

pkdust,

Better dun practice until gynae or instructor say can. Bec some exercise cannot do too much as it will cause contractions.

feifei and roxy,

TMC doing renovation? My instructor didn't say change venue, she say just come back on 18 Feb. In fact she even forget to remind us and tell us come back next week until someone told her that lessons are postponed.

cactus,

The doc talk we are mentioning is part of the TMC pre-natal class which we have signed up.

Yup agree with Morraine dun worry too much. Just understand the several ways etc, but i guess most of the time such things will be out of our control so worrying is also no use.

Just now a colleague passed by and told me she preggy 6mths but tummy not big yet and she v worried abt bb size. She said eat a bit ored feel full liao.

Maybe we should all leave it to the gynae and trust his/her skills and experience. They have delivered so many babies before and I am sure they have gone through many different and difficult situations.

Cactus ,
Dun worry. Though mine is spine against spine but I do not feel much difficult when pushing. For me the only concern is pain. But with edi, the pain factor is reduced. Maybe you gals remind your hubby to bring and let you drink chicken essense before giving birth and pushing. For me it does help in a way : )

<font color="119911">ellysia~

depends on gynae.. mine hor.. coz i was on induce drip, and silly hubby was happily eating his chicken rice with watermelon juice beside me in the delivery suite!! i could not resist and ask gynae if i can drink some watermelon juice and he went.. ok a few sips only ok?? hahaha but it was ENUFF for me at tat moment!!</font>

the prob with eating and drinking is incase stomach too full, full bladder may cause labour not to progress, and if need c-section, may cut into other organs/bladder... if too full. dangerous. that's why doctors prefer empty tummy and no water. It's a calculated risk that we need to take... cos without food and water, if cannot push cos no energy, may end up forceps or vaccum or c-section anyway. Best is to listen to our bodies.. if already active labour, best is not to drink or eat. but if you have long labour, like 10 hours, not much dilation, please eat/drink, even in secret.

Epi gone wrong - not to scare you ladies but my friend also had a bad experience, she was numb from waist UP !!! and felt every pain/contraction waist down !! She was not pleased :p

PKdust : thanks for sharing your birth story ! sounds quite fast - your second one will be even faster !!

Mine was pretty quick too, had a bloody show (and i mean LOTS of blood - like when u get your period) at 430am on my EDD itself. Got up and changed and admitted myself to MAH at 6am. I still remember hubby wore his work clothes cuz he though if it was a false alarm, he'd go to work after sending me to the hospital. I was only 2CM dilated at 6am. Minor contractions and bearable, so i fell asleep on the bed in the delivery suite. At about 7 plus, i felt a gush of water, water bag burst ! 8am, my Gynae came in to put me on the drip (Oxytocin) and i was only 3 cm, so she indicated that i wld birth by abt 2 or 3pm. Plus she said i wasn't to have food while in labour and i was terribly upset ! (i didnt have breakfast yet !!) Luckily i sneaked in a nutri bar and happily munched on it. The contractions got more intense at about 10 plus and i had forgotten what was taught at pre-natal class - which was to BREATH and pant ! So pls get your hubbies to remember to coach you while u're in labour ! Also, the gas was smelly and i didnt know how to use it to effectively relief my pain, so i asked for the painkiller Pethedine (SP??) at 1045. By then, i had the urge to bear down, and the midwives were all saying dont push, just breath when you feel the urge. They called my Gynae who arrived at 1120 and by then my DD was crowning and after 3 pushes, she was out at 1124am ! Gynae had made a cut and i had 2 stiches which healed well after a week.
It was a very good birth experience !! Pain but all worth it !!

Cactus : yup he did - terrible right ?
when we had visitors that afternoon, they kept asking why he was in his work wear !!!

LOL, yes the mask too !!!

I eventually found out that u're supposed to inhale at the start of a contraction so that the gas will take effect when your contraction is peaking.

DD was 3kg ! she was very timely too, my scheduled check up (40 week) was supposed to be at 11am that morning at my Gynae's clinic !!

Feifei,
Sick ah, no wonder never see you in the morning. Take care ya. I had been trying to get the mood to BD recently, but just very sian and lazy. Sometimes, I rather nuah in front of the TV den to make the extra effort to BD. ;p Hb sure got urge de. My hb always DIY. Wat to do, I no mood, so he must find his own way out lor. ;p

Ellysia,
When I was down with flu some weeks ago and sneezed violently, I oso relised that I leaked there wor. I was worried for awhile, then have to keep emptying my bladder.

pkdust, morraine,
Trying hard to picture, but I still catch no ball wor. I wonder if all these pushing comes naturally at the delivery ward.

Thanks feifei, i will go check that paper...

Yes Ellysia, TMC having reno... that time reno quite loud.. difficult to hear Mrs Wong, so she said likely 3rd lesson onwards will be at AMK hub... now we at 22 weeks, 5.5 mths liao!! my tummy also not very obvious, duno whether to be worried or not.. just ask gynae next time i see him

Wow, all the birth stories are so encouraging.. wondering when will it be our turn to write our own story here

i was reading tru all the posts and try to practise the breath in and push. This breath in a bit like the breath in that my yoga class teaches us loh.
I was wondering at the time of contradictions pain if i'm still able to be calm and breath and push as per instruct. oh no...

K Ong, your dd is one of the 3% babies who arrive on their EDD. You mean, the nurses didn't teach you how to use the mask properly?? Gosh. There are some mothers who inhaled too late.. in the end, no effect when contraction peak and instead feel dizzy and high later...

Roxy - don't be too worried about size or your tummy. most of the time, is it not size of bb that is the prob but the positioning of the bb. If your bb is correct size/weight, there's no cause for concern.

hi ZuEn, Felicia: I'm also rather anxious, but I think no point worrying whether we can do it when the time comes. Cos I'm sure there will be lots of guidance. Some mothers tell me classes are very useful cos they relieve the anxiety. But when the time comes, unless they have given birth before, they tend to be so nervous they forget everything... and instead, they depend on the midwife and doctor to guide them. So it's very important that you like your doctor and that the midwives at the hospital you are delivering are experienced and kind.

Morraine,
You are the one order the shoe box in the bulk purchase, rite?
Me aso just make the order. Wanna put my ger's bb shoe, 1st cloth, pacifier etc. hehe....

cactus,
Maybe we shldnt think too much. By the time arrive, nobody know what will be the outcome. Now i can just pray hard my placenta is not low, bb not breech, then shld be ok liao.

Just back from my lunch. I had laksa Yong Tou Fu. Feeling quite satisfied now. I realise my appetite is not as great as during the first tri. Because during first 3 months, I had to stuff myself to prevent MS from kicking in. Now just eat as per normal .

Whether can eat or not depends on the gynae and the hospital staffs I guess. Because during the contraction, there is no one in the delivery ward except my hubby and myself, so can do anything we wish : ) I still remember the nurse asking me whether I would want toast or porridge for breakfast and I choose to have toast. I believe the chicken essence does help in a way.

yeah. shouldn't think too much. but it's good to find out more from other mothers.. know why hospitals do things in certain ways.. our rights as patients and the possible risks in not going along with the hospital's recommendation.

eh pkdust, I'm opposite from you! I'm getting food cravings and feel hungry very easily these days! I'm actually eating more than normal. not sure about my weight, but my arms and face are still slim so I'm not too worried.. haha.

yah. different doctors and hospital staff have different attitudes towards food and drink. But if they don't allow food, it is still open to us to secretly eat and drink. We just need to be aware of the risks in not obeying their instructions and decide whether or not to take that risk.

K ong,
wow really pei fu you. Can endure the pain. Think my threshold for pain is negative.

I heard for second bb, the contraction time will be shorter and it might even came out earlier than EDD.

I notice most of you have already gone for the detailed scan. Mine is scheduled on 4th feb but thinking of putting it earlier to next week. My EDD is somewhere around 14th June. Now I really lose track whether I am in my 19th or 20th week .

pkdust, my EDD is around 22 June. You are about a week ahead of me. I'm at 18 weeks + now. I'm doing my detailed scan on 28 Jan. If you do it at that week, you'd be 20weeks during the scan. You are 19 weeks + now.

pkdust,
my EDD is 15th June. My detailed scan is 1st feb, next fri. so i think should be ok if u want to bring yours forward

Cactus,
Wow u going next Monday. Thats fast. Are you expecting a Minnie or Mickey? Maybe I will bring forward mine to next week. Cannot wait to ensure everything is okie.

Kylene, yours is very close to mine.

Hi girls
My birth experience was very enjoyable too. My pains started mildy at 6am but I was able to drift in between sleep, woke at 830am, had shower, drove to eat McDonalds' breakfast, drink a bott of chix essence then reach hospital at 11am. 2 cm dilated. But bearing with pain was very bearing and stressful to me though it was not unbearable. Given enema to clear my bowels so baby will not be contaminated by our motions when we push.

Requested for epidural before I overshot (my gynae do not allow epidural after 4cm). Bliss is the only word to describe, I fell asleep, wake up read books. My water bag was burst by gynae and I was also placed on a drip to hasten contractions which seemed to have stopped after epidural at abt 2pm. When I felt like passing motion, means the baby is crowning, was told not to start pushing first until gynae comes. My level of epidural was ocntrolled VERY well, I could feel the womb contracting (that's when we need to push) but no pain. A midwife will place a hand on your tummy to guide you when to push but I could feel it coming myself was was more prepared. 4 pushes, my girl was born. Sitches were done when still on epidural. No feeling except your skin tugging down under.

After taken off epidural, experienced mild tiredness (but mum says after birth is like this) and numbness in one leg. Given a tub to vomit in but only urgh once but nothing came up.

Will request for same doc to adminster my epidural this round. I think it is his good "handiwork" tt I had a good experience with epidural.

Post natal sex - I only really bleed for one week and by end of scond week, i was clear. And following a book's advise I try inserting one finger into my vagina, then two. It helps me to get over the fear of the "wound bursting" and to let my vagina 'get used' again. I realised after episotomy stitch, the vagina opening is smaller, so initial intercourse was slightly uneasy but not painful for me.

<font color="119911">ha ha i oso had a great dinner before i admit into hospital.. just had to have a great meal before i start confinement and deprive of all the good food during tat month!!</font>

Re: Laughing gas

During pre-natal class, the instructor said the gas mask has to use only when having contractions. No contractions dun use the mask or else will get high later.

pkdust,

I am more hungry than 1st trim but still eating roughly the same.

On certain days i have to eat slightly more or else i feel hungry v fast.

Cactus,
What is your preference? Minnie or Mickey?

Linda,
Seems like yours is really a good birth experience. Yeah some gynae do not allow for epi after a certain cm of dilation. I am worried that I am not in time for epi as second bb often dilates faster.

Is there any medical proof of drinking coffee is bad for pregnant ladies. I still insist on my one cuppa per day. Hard to quit this habit. In fact I have cut down from 2 cups to one cup. I am afraid it might affect bb.

Cactus, i saw the news about the caffeine oso.

But my collegue whom delivered her boy 4 mths ago, nvr stop drinking coffee even when she's in 1st trimester. But she suspect the caffeine make her son very active after born. She said her son eyes were open when the nurse brought to her (about few hrs later lah as she's c-sec). During her confinement, her son seldom sleep oso. I remember i visited her twice, during this 2 visit her son open his eyes wide wide. She had a hard time take care of her son as the bb wake up very often. Not sure whether caffeine is the culprit or not lah, just her guess only.

Thanks cactus for the reassurance...

Hey, I also saw the post on transparent shoe box.. was waiting for the lady to post pix then.. u mean it's up? I'll go take a look too...

pkdust, can go for detailed scan from 18 - 22 weeks onwards. I did mine at 19w6day.. so as long as within that range, it's ok

<font color="119911">roxy~

its up the pics!! and they have hit 200 pcs so its $2.30 per pc onli.. im deciding if i shld get 10 more or not.. hmmm..</font>

I'm not sure if caffeine has such long term effects on bb.. all I know is caffeine does pass through the placenta and the bb's heartrate will increase for that moment until the effects go off.

actually I think other factors which may contribute to an active baby could include things like, the mother's attitude and temprement during pregnancy too. if the mother is very highly stressed up throughout pregnancy or very active and easily excitable, it may result in a more active baby? I'm thinking along the lines or tai jiao.