(2008/06) June 2008

Veniz,

Yr hb look at pretty gals obvious to u?

My hb is good at looking without being obvious to me.. or maybe i am blur. But i tink he got look but not v obvious so i also can't tell much.

Morraine, can also share share mah some normal cases mah, hee.

Ellysia, at least yours still not obvious leh. Mine, he will look (mostly at nice figures and sweet faces lar) then i catch him looking, i will say, wah, look at gals infront wife huh? ok lar, not bad looking, figure nice, etc. Sometimes its me who tell him that particular gal looks sweet/pretty, he will turn his head to take a look. Hee, seems like we both 'hamsump eyes' couple.

Veniz/ Ellysia,

I had no concern about my hubby looking at girls loh. Coz i also look at handsome guy! muahahaha....
In fact we'll discuss about the pretty lady and handsome guy we saw loh. Maybe to us was norm, as we knew each oth at uni'& started as friend and always teased each oth when there's handsome guy or pretty woman passby. So even after we on date we still 'practise' this habit.

Well, i wud rather my hubby let me know he's looking at girls rather than try to hide from me. But for us ladies, dont be too sensitive oso lah, else hubby dont dare to show in front of us oso.

<font color="119911">ha ha i always alert my hubby when i see pretty gers and i always tel him.. bu kan bai bu kan!!!

mine was so 'planned' coz my ger is overdued for 10 days den i induced to have her out and water bag oso burst by gynae so no action on my side at all.. *heh*</font>

Morraine,

Water bag burst by gynae painful or not? Yr epidural put in after water bag burst right?

That day i heard during the pre-natal class if during epidural injection, if move accidentally when needle is insert, can possibly cause paralyse. Heard liao v scared.

Cos i remember early this year i done 2 minor operation to my eye cos retina cracked due to eye strain over years. The specialist inject drug in my eye by needle. First time inject is ok bec' i dunno what to expect so didn't move. Second time i am too stressed and sub-consciously cannot control so i move my eye ball and the needle poke is v painful luckily everything still okay.

Hi Ellysia,

Epidural has more side effects and risks than laughing gas and the injection.... that's why they make sure we sign consent form before we have epidural.

Hey gals,
Maybe I share my normal delivery experience here.
Still remember its a sat morning when I first wake up and notice spotting. Thoughout the whole day there is slight spotting but I never feel any contraction pain at all so also dunno if I should get myself admit to hospital. Based on the prenatal class, they mention not to get admit so early because they will just leave you in the delivery ward. Then around 10pm plus, my hubby told me its better to go hospital in case I feel pain in the middle of the nite. I am still fine when I reach hospital and was sent to the delivery ward immediate. Somewhere around midnite, I heard a loud "POP" from inside my tummy. Its the Burst of the water bag. Then the contraction pains follows and it was so unbearable. Though I ordered for epidural, but it took the doc such a long time that I am screaming like hell. By the time i was injected, the nurse told me it has dilated around 3 to 4 cm. But once the jab took effect, there is no more pain and its so relax that I can even have my breakfast. But the side effect of epidural is intensive shivering and vomitting after giving birth. When I dilate till around 10cm, the gynae ask me to push. So after giving 4 hard push, baby is out. The whole process is really bloody and scary for me. Luckly hubby is beside to give encouragement. However when the nurse pass the baby to me right after delivering, I think thats the greatest moment of my life and feel that its worth all the trouble : )

pkdust,

i open my eyes big big when u say, you heard a loud 'POP' from ur tummy. I nvr know about this coz nobody told me before. So actually when water bag burst will had sound? So amazing! Just like balloon been burst!

<font color="119911">ellysia~

no feel at all leh.. and yeah my epidural was jabbed like hours after my water bag burst</font>

Hi ladies..

I am on mc today, cough and flu..terrible..

Talking abt sex now, well my hb and I also long time nv BD liao..thts y I said I am a nun liao...he also doesn't seems to hv e urge also leh..mayb he diy himself sometimes without my knowlegde lor..But i heard that sex aft birth will be painful in e beginning wor...duno true anot leh...I am scare also..

ZuEn,
I hv e same tinkning as u lor..was tinking of having some intimacy with hb 1st before bb arrives cos if not, imagine after delivery, we hv our menses for abt a mth, then all adds up to quite sometime b4 we can do it again...haiz..

pkdust,
sounds like its a fast delivery for u hor...So means before delivery, either we experience spotting or water bag burst hor?

Maybe its quite quiet in the delivery ward but I really hear the POP sound from inside my tummy. Its not really that painful but its more of the shock I got. Yeah the feeling is like a balloon has reached its maximum volume and just need to burst . Then I feel like I am peeing but its actually the fluid coming out from the water bag. But the nurse told me luckly the water bag burst on its own if not they will have to burst it for me.

hi pkdust,

it sounds really scary, but at least, it was a natural delivery. no c-section. I think I would be a bit upset if mine was a c-section.... I'm still hoping for natural without epi but must see how big bb is first... and whether placenta remains low or not. At least, I know placenta is not covering cervix so not die die must csection yet.

eh fei fei - it's possible to bd now. Just have to change position. we may feel cramping but it's okay. it's just the uterus responding to our bd efforts. I feel much dryer than usual so have to take things slowly now. as long as no bleeding, and if placenta position is not a problem, it's okay to bd. if in doubt, check with your doctor.

yes, pkdust. If waterbag is manually burst, contracttions will hurt much much more. usually contractions get more intense when waterbag bursts anyway cos bb's head is right at the top of the cervix.. causing the muscles to expand much more there. when muscles stretch,there is alot ofp ain.

Hi cactus,

As long as it is some form of anesthetic, has to sign consent form i tink. I remember i sign consent form for my wisdom tooth removal and also the minor eye op.

fei fei,
Its not fast at all! I am the first to get admitted to the ward but the last to give birth. I heard from the nurse that all the 3 ladies in the ward next to me have already given birth but me still waiting for more dilation. I think total is 13-14 hours. The contraction pain is so intense even in the first stage. So I really admire our mothers who go without any epi last time. The laughing gas is not useful at all!

<font color="119911">erm for my case, though gynae pre-warned me tat after water bag is burst, will have more contractions but.. stil no sign
so again i have to say its very individual</font>

feifei, yup for me sex aft delivery is painful loh, tats why i describe it as 1st time sex. I think maybe we did not 'do' during preggie period, tats why our vaginal become tight, tats why coz some pain. But after few times is bak to normal.
However, my collegue is scaring me with story of loose vaginal for normal delivery and it'll affected sex life. Maybe mummies whom's on normal delivery can share their experiences?

Morraine,

I also think that manually burst will be more painful than if waterbag burst itself.

Maybe pain threshold different?

morraine,
How did the gynae burst your water bag?

Felicia,
Before birth normally I feel slight pain during sex esp if hubby did not do it slowly. But after birth, no pain at all. Perhaps its because the vaginal gets widen. To me its better after birth : )

Felicia,

I tink after such a long time never do sex, so of course virginal will be tight and more painful..

Ya i also heard of the loose virginal thing, i read from article that actually we shd do more pelvic floor exercise to exercise the muscles of virginal area to help it shrink back faster and supposely can help on the loose virginal problem.

<font color="119911">felicia &amp; ellysia &amp; pkdust~

not lucky lor coz dun forget im supposed to be on induce lor so i shld have happenings so tat i can deliver asap BUT no pain no contractions means cervix not opening leh!!

my threshold level is ONE BIG FAT ZERO!!!!

the water bag was burst by gynae using a plastic stick like apparatus den he was talking to me den he say im going to break ur water bag now den after he finished this very few words den i can feel warm water gushing out already and usually for overdue babies, gynae will check to see if the bb poo in the tummy or not coz if the bb did poo, den have to c sect immediately and they can check by looking at the water bag contents, if the water is pinkish clear den its fine

cactus,

Yup the pre-natal lessons have taught that.

If i am not wrong, one exericise is to lie straight with legs lift up like u are doing sit-up position. Then u contract yr muscles at yr virginal + buttock area like u are holding for peeing. hold for 10s then release, repeat a few times. This exercise can also help to contract muscles loosen/pee cannot control problem after delivery.

another exercise last time my PE teacher teach to contract yr muscles and make yr hips look nicer after delivery. Same position as sit-up position, but u hold yr buttock up for 10s, and repeat a few times up and down.

The same way if virginal is looser and lesser sex enjoyment after delivery, contract yr virginal muscles during intercourse can help too.

cactus,
Yup, heard of all this exercises before but nvr try loh. But one exercise i do everyday is walking. Walk from house to MRT, then walk to office etc....
Leg lifts? For wat?

Tok abt the exercise, i tink i have to start doing the pelvic floor exercise because I have problems of holding my pee recently when i am sneezing/coughing. Its quite bad and embarrassing

cactus,
Tks for e advise...but my hb worried that might hurt bb so no urge at all....

pkdust,
true lor...heard they say 1st bb lon glabour hrs de..

Felicia,
I also heard abt this lor..

ladies, talk about all this exercises remind me of the delivery pushing.
I heard from my collegues for normal delivery, the push was not from tummy, was supposed push like u constipated. Izzit true?

yup yup, Ellysia! The first one is called kegels. It can actually be done in any position.
These are safe for us now, but as we become bigger towards EDD, we shouldn't stay lying on our backs for too long... not good for us and bb. We'd feel breathless anyway.

The second exercise I think is pelvic tilt. There are several variations of that but the mechanics if the same.
Also very safe for us now, but not in a couple of months' time.

pkdust - the plastic stick morraine is talking about has a hooked end to it. It is like a crochet needle, if you can imagine. The hooked end gently hooks the waterbag and when the doctor pulls, water gushes out. another way to try help labour progress is a technique called sweeping the membranes - break the waterbag but gently sweeping a finger across the waterbag. I think this is less commonly used now.

Ellysia,
I also leh..sometimes when i sneeze, my pee seems to come out leh..tink bb is pressing onto our bladder lor, thats y leh..

I believe the leg lift that cactus is mentioning is lifting yr leg with some object??

Some pre-natal exercises also involve lifting legs up and down few times while lying down.

Sitting on floor with toes touching while doing some other stretching exercises are also taught.

Thats why i tink better attend pre-natal lessons early bec' the exercises will come in handy i guess.

Btw, i know why TMC dun have lesson on Feb. Bec of CNY, my lesson for next 2 weeks are postponed. Will start next lesson on 18 Feb after CNY.

<font color="119911">felicia~

u are supposed to push when u breathe IN and not supposed to breathe OUT when u are pushing if not the baby will be 'sucked' back</font>

<font color="119911">*heh* going to bring my ger for another photoshoot on CNY eve
next time u all shld bring oso ur little ones for shoots as memory sake!!</font>

felicia,

Yes the instructor at my class say it is like very bad constipation.

feifei,

Then must quickly do tat pelvic floor exercise liao lor. Mrs Wong got teach in her lessons right?

cactus,

Yes it can be done in another position - the sitting position with toes pointing at each other.

cactus,

Yr leg lift is horizontally up?

The leg lift exercise that i learn from the lesson is simple, only abt 45 degrees up only. Not 90 degrees up.

morraine,

Yup do more photoshoot
My parents only done 1 photoshoot for me at studio last time. How much is yrs?

How to push out when breathing in?? Cos when breathe in, i tot muscles will contract?

cactus,

Instructor got demonstrate the position which i tink can be v straining, i dunno can hold for long or not.

Anyway she said nurse will prop up many pillows behind to support our position.

We are suppose to hold our legs or hold the bars beside bed to sustain the position too.

Dun hold yr hb hand or else he may get blue black later :p

Ellysia,
Hv lor...Mrs Wong taught afew exercise that day =D>..

My lessons also cancelled due to cny..My 3rd lesson will be on 21 feb...

There will be a class thats is a tal given by 2 docs wor...

<font color="119911">i brought her to Foto U tat time and this time to Studio Loft to try out oso.. both studios are having BP at SMH here.. Foto U one i paid i think less den $300

yeah have to push when u breathe in.. i dun thin i recall wrongly.. ha ha</font>

Ellysia,
The doc's talk is at our last lesson wor...

Heard fmr MRs Wong that frm our 3rd lesson onwards, won't be at TMC liao, will be in a school so can accomodate more ple leh...So ur next lesson is at TMC or where huh?

morraine,

I see. My photographer for wedding and rom are from foto-u. But i dunno where is their studio.

I tried but i tink can't leh?..breathing in muscles auto shrink how to push??..oops.

Nevermind i check out at my pregnancy book

feifei,

Instructor say at TMC.

My official instructor still stuck at Scotland leh. The replacement isn't that good but can make do.

Maybe bec yr class is too big. Many people go for Mrs Wong lesson mah.

<font color="119911">oic
they are located at joo chiat area

ha ha erm wait til they teach u tat stage den u wil get wat i mean</font>

Cactus,
Around 30 plus weeks, the gynae will start checking the position of the baby, whether the head is down and towards the due date, if the head is facing up or down. For my case, the bb head is facing up , she mention though can still go for normal delivery, but it will be slighly more difficult. For my galfrend case, her bb breech so no choice have to go for C-section. But they mention exercise does help in the positioning of the baby, dunno how true is that.

morraine,

Instructor got teach last lesson but i didn't take note. I taught just breathe in and out can liao.

<font color="119911">pkdust~

im not sure exercising helps in the positioning of the baby but talking to the little one inside is confirmed useful!! it was proven by my sis herself and my frens

ellysia~

heh maybe u shld ask them the next round u are tare

pkdust,

I only heard from my mum that at 3rd trim gynae sometimes will help to guide the position of our bb but not guaranteed.

Anyway it is best to be prepared for both natural and c-sect just in case of anything last min.