(2008/06) June 2008

I am considering to wash using bb detergent separately but using washing machine.

Even if load is small, will still using washing machine cos hand wash v ma fan, and esp during confinement dun want to add work to my mum or myself.

pkdust,

why u have to do the test again? Since u have ored done the test and the result is this, u can't change the result even if u do it again.

<font color="0000ff">kylene~

yeah i use kodomo detergent for my baby's clothings and i wash them separately from our clothings, i have a diff pail for her clothings

and oso talking abt detergent, i oso buy those pigeon baby bottles detergent to wash all baby related items like milk bottles, teats and etc</font>

Ellysia,
My current gynae has done the test for thala for me . Although she said the results are okie, but I dun understand why there is a range and I happen to be in the borderline case. So to play safe, i will do the test at normal clinic again just to play safe

Cactus_79,
Btw, I read somewhere your triple results some issue. What happen?

Hi pkdust,

My triple screen test results are 1:296. According to my doctor, SGH uses 1:250 as the threshold so I'm consiered low risk based on SGH's criteria. But KKH uses 1:300. I'd be high risk there. America uses 1:280.

It's a bit unsettling but hb and I will keep the bb no matter what. so not going for anmio. dun want to risk losing this bb. Just have to continue with life and stay cheerful.

hi ladies ! wow, talking abt lunch again !
i had nasi bryani at OUB Center ! Yummy !!

Ellysia : you walk all th way to golden shoe ?? wow, good exercise

Cactus : circular rd is right up my alley ! do u go for the duck rice and the nasi padang ?

detergent : i also use kodomo detergent in a separate pail for my DD. however, since she's turning 2 this yr, was thinking of just washing her clothes in a washing machine - separate wash from ours of course.

ZuEn : pls do take care and rest more !

Cactus, Morraine, Ellysia,
thanks for your input. I also think handwash very ma fan. but load will be still small for usual washing machine, unless i get a small washing machine.

Hi K Ong,

I love the nasi padang, the chicken briyani and the rabbit brand shop! I've not been to the duck rice though! I'll look out for it now! Where's the nasi briyani at OUB center?

I think handwash ma fan too.. but no choice cos will waste alot of water and electricity in normal washing machine. If have more than 1 child, will consider getting small washing machine The egg shaped sort! Unless get a maid. Will get a maid when bb goes over to my parents' place instead of being looked after by MIL next year.. unless my parents prefer day time nanny for the bb...

Kylene,

I am a v lazy person when come to housework.

I also wash underwear in small load in washing machine. Usu i dun maximise each load even if it is clothes. Becos need to separate the colours &amp; if max load sometimes hard to take out the clothes. Anyway my washing machine is 5.5KG load, not a lot type. If yr machine is big then maybe will waste more water.

cactus,

Got rabbit brand shop at raffles place?? Where?

Nasi Bryani is the Ah mei cafe?

K Ong,

No i didn't go goldenshoe cos its v crowded and i dun want people to bump into me.

Last week while going out train a kid bump into my tummy and cause pain for awhile.

The bb clothes can be keep for a week then wash? I mean collect more then wash.

Unless my mum wish to handwash for me, or else i use washing machine.

Btw, do u all buy a dresser to keep yr bb clothes?
I dunno want to buy dresser or not but seems hb dun want to spend the money on dresser. If not i can only keep at the space provided under the baby cot.

cactus : the duck rice is next to the killiney shop

Ellysia is right, nasi briyani at this little hole in the wall - called ah mei - i think it's part of banquet if i'm not wrong ?

oh no ! are you ok ? why is the kid so clumsy ?

Kylene,

Last time i took reno loan from RHB and they give free small washing machine which is worth around $80.

K Ong,

yes ah mei is part of banquet so banquet card can use. It is really v shiok!! But i dare not eat nowadays cos of the "huang jiang" in case cause yellow skin in bb.

I am ok but the pain persist for 10mins before it subside.

Hi Ellysia,

Rabbit brand is along circular road. I forget the address now though... but it's very near the famous nasi padang shop.

I guess all clothes can be kept for a week then wash, but not sure if it is hygenic cos if kept for so long, bacteria surely will grow.. esp in Singapore weather.

<font color="0000ff">but handwashing the bb's clothes are quite ok la coz the clothings jin small pc so very easy to wash and not very dirty oso

<font color="0000ff">usually the old ppl wil say try to avoid touching water during confinement but den i stil wash my hands after i go toilet and wash some things oso mah so therefore, not an issue to me</font>

catus_79,
the risk measure down symdrom right? Why dun you go for amnio just to be very certain? Amnio is quite safe esp with experience gynae . At least you have no uncertainities throughout your pregnancy rite>

Btw, was toking to liew last week on my dryer.

My hb decided to put the dryer stack up with a stack up kit so the person need to drill into the wall.

As such, if i escape out of the house and stay outside until the works finish, it is okay right??

Veniz, Piyo, Babyjo,
today i went to PD for my DS's injection. haha so can check out at the hospital guardian pharmacy. this is the binder i used before - strong material. i can reuse it for #2

1206309.jpg

morraine,

My mum tell me to wash with warm water only, cannot use cold water. So i tink i can't wash bb clothes during confinement also.

<font color="0000ff">depends on how pantang u are my dear.. but usually ppl say tat jus step out of the house and go for a walk somewhere else first and after things are done den u come back ba.. shld be ok

orh den maybe u seek ur mum's help in the baby's clothings washing first

hi pkdust, actually, hb and I have decided not to abort the baby no matter what happens. Of course we hope bb is not downs but even if he/she is, we will still accept him/her. We can't imagine terminating our child's life. It's very cruel. Even if there is a risk of miscarrying, we won't.

these few days, I've been thinking. what is a risk ratio? How is 1:300 different from 1:301? Not that much different. ULtimately, my risk of having a ds child is only 0.3%. And this 0.3% is only 90% accurate. It could be higher, it could be lower. It could be much higher, it could be much lower. No point being so worried about this 0.3% risk of having a ds child esp if we won't abort. Perhaps it was an easy decision to come to.. cos the bb will be our first baby. So if ds, we can just stop at one. no need to have another bb. dun want the younger sibling to feel burdened for the older one. Also want to give this child the best in life. ds child not easy to bring up.

just want to add...

ds child not easy to bring up, other normal children may also not be easy to bring up.

we hear news of how a toddler struck his head againsttoilet bowl and died. What about children who die young from health problems. Children who die as young adults in accidents or die in their sleep or during a 2.4km run.

we can never know what life has in store for our children. but one thing is certain. the bb inside us is our flesh and blood. I can't bear to do anything which will risk hurting or killing him/her.

sorry for rambling on. just feel quite emotional.

morraine : heehe, still have to observe good hygiene !! i also washed my hands, face, body during my first "confinement" period. have to la ... otherwise so sticky and dirty ...

Ellysia : poor thing, we must learn how to avoid ppl in public now that we're pregnant !

leg cramps - what is the massage for leg cramps ? i had it last night - so pain !!!

morraine,

Thanks, i tink i will do tat for a peace of mind.

I tink my mum lazy to do more washing for me. I said i wanna buy cloth diapers she say dun want to wash for me so ask me to buy disposable diapers.

<font color="0000ff">K Ong~

ha ha i bathed!!!

cactus~

I support u from the bottom of my heart!

ellysia~

ha ha coz hor baby's clothings are washed daily for me and only that miserable few pieces therefore not justifiable to throw inside the machine leh..</font>

Hi luz, thanks for the info. I may ask my cousin working at KKH to help me check if KKH pharma has this. Can get also even for normal delivery, as post-birth tummy like 'liao liao' feel uncomfortable with the lump of fats bouncing.

Ellysia, I dont think you so pantang rite? I recently got a big wadrobe for my son's room and the deliverymen asked me to go downstairs and wait with my son. In fact, last mth when i shifted office, as I have lots of work to do in office when the contractor was drilling some stuff, I stay during their work. You may want to go downstairs and wait lar, ask your hb call you once everything is done.

K Ong,

Yes have to keep a safe distance from other people in case they change their direction or suddenly stop. Becos sometimes they can accidentally knock into us also.

Now i still can be a bit agile and move around or avoid. Cannot imagine in 3rd trim so clumsy how to avoid people.

U know my colleagues joke. They say i shd buy a swimming trunk and put it around my tummy as a safety barrier.

Leg cramp massage - my instructor teach me during 1st pre-natal lesson. Massage up and down yr legs for 15mins before u sleep.

Also drink 2 cups of milk in addition to yr calcium pills - advice frm my gynae.

ellysia, i think not all guardian pharmacy have it, only those large outlets have, small outlet dun carry it. i went to mount e hospital, the hospital charge $60.50. now i think price increase liao - $75.90. i went takashimaya shopping, a lot of baby related stuff pricing also increase when i compared i bought them in 2006.

veniz, no prob hehee got size and 2 color - white and beige. i think mine is the larger size, bcos post natal the tummy still very big :p maybe your cousin can get discount too! if my house got major furniture movement i will also disappear.. hehee my frd teach me one. i patang a little bcos during my early conceive in oct'07, i hammer a lot of nails and do painting and move furntiure; end up my minnie heart got the golf balls, so dunno got related or not. anyway i dun think so much liao lah :D

Ellysia
Thanks for the vote. When i was in Trimester 1, my parents change the gate, so i left to library to sit b4 the process start. In between, my dad like to fix things here n there, i hide in room wif door close. Initially felt uncomfortable abt all these. Nw i immune to it liao cos i try nt to think abt it. Agn nt sure if this patang hold true even for grandparents do then affect the baby or only parents. Also, i got 2 places to sleep, one is Jurong (in law) n one is Bedok (parents) so does tat mean both house cant do anything? So the patang is only in own matrimonial home or house we slp, i also blurr liao

All
Remember to do your CNY dinner vote. U shd recd your emails fr yahoo group.

Veniz,

I am more particular on drilling. Moving i tot shd be fine but if got drill, i tink i play safe.
Cos my mum told me cannot even drill at home but i remember people said just avoid can liao. I want to ask to confirm.

Morraine,

Then i better ask my mum liao if she ok with washing then i buy a separate pail or basin for washing.

Btw, check with u on confinement bathing. Do u bathe with warm water from heater or boiled water? Cos i intend to bathe with herbs, i tink have to boil the herbs then pour water and add warm water from heater?

<font color="0000ff">cactus~

coz i have faith tat baby cactus will be one healthy baby

ellysia~

yeah check with her first

i bathe with those packet of herbs so wat my mom did was get me those red pail den dump the packets of herbs inside den i use heater water coz my heater water was turned to super hot though.. some ppl i noe oso use boiled water coz their instant heater not so hot.. mine is those centralised heater so its good enough

luz,

Everywhere prices are increasing. I just realise tis morn tat the chocolate roll at polar cafe now increase by 20 cents.

I was tinking to buy if Raffles place guardian got sell bec' I didn't see it at TMC shops.

cactus,

Dun worry i heard many stories tat people got bad results at Oscar etc etc but still end up with healthy bb. Anyway u are not at high risk age right?

Morraine,

The herbs no need to boil before bathing?

Cactus_79,
I see...
Btw, I also got some slight risk in my first preg for my triple test. But maybe my thinking is very different from yours. I do not want an abnormal baby, mainly because I dun want him/her to suffer. So I still go ahead with the amnio test. But turn out it is a false alarm. But I wait for 2 solid weeks before the results is out and I can tell you that two weeks is the worst nightmare of my life. Thats why I can totally understand how Zuen is feeling because i went through the same thing.

Cactus
i like the unselfless part of both u n your hubby will kp the baby no matter what (touch wood) cos every child has a reason to this world and all your faith on what this child can bring to both of u.

morraine - your post brought tears to my eyes... Thanks, gal... healthy baby cactus!

Ellysia - Yes. I'm not at high risk age. I'm 29 at EDD.. but the age is considered when computing the triple screen test results. If only take my age, mky risk is 0.15%. If only take NT scan, my risk is 1:737. It was after the blood test, they considered my age, the NT scan and the hormonal blood test = 1:296. But I'm just taking things as it is. Good thing hb and I arne't that old... if older, I'd worry more I think. psychological.

pkdust - The fear that hb and I have is whether bb will suffer from low self esteem and whether a ds child can truly be happy. We don't want an unhappy child... but we decided to let nature takes its course. I admire the ladies who go for amnio. It's definately nerve wrecking and if anything happens to bb, they may be very affected emotionally. That's why amnio must be a joint decision ebtween the couple. My hb and I didn't tell our parents about the risk issue.. dun want them to worry. actually, this pregnancy is not smooth. ti was suspected ectopic. Only my parnets know cos I was in pain. My ILs dun know. Luckily it's not ectopic.

TF - thanks.

cactus,
meaning triple test is mother's age plus blood right?
then oscar is mother's age plus neck thickness scanning plus blood; oscar additional of measuring the neck to compute the risk.

i compare #1 &amp; #2 oscar results; my #2 is much better (even though 1 year older) bcos i check the blood reading quite different by a lot lor.. the pregnancy hormones.

morraine,

thks. In this case u use a pail and pour the herbs with water heater water, correct?

My water heater although is instant one it can actually increase to v high temperature. But i guess the temp also cannot be too hot for bathing too hee.

Cos my mum keep arguing tat must use boiled water to bathe only, cannot use water heater water to top up. I tink by the time i wait for all water to be boil, the pail water may have cool down ored.

cactus,

I am age 29 at Oscar test but now age 30.

Since u are only age 29 is still considered low risk so dun have to worry so much, esp if yr family has no history of ds.

My first pregnancy also not smooth. And now for the second one I also worried about the thala issue. Maybe this will make us treasure our baby even more right?

Cactus,
Your baby is a Minnie or Mickey?

My one i been worried abt spotting then abt low placenta issue also. But later i tink worry too much also no use, just take one things at a time. Worry too much will stress up our bb.

Tell u when my mum had my brother, she is at high risk age (beyond age 35) and she has spotting/bleeding up to 7mths but she didn't see gynae cos tat time no money and she wanna save money. So everyday keep worrying scared bb born is not normal.

But my brother born ok everything fine and he is v tall now, but he got pessisimistic nature and mild depression now. So i presume his nature is more or less due to over worrying of my mum during her pregnancy.

Thus maybe u all bb be ok but bec u worry too much, it may actually affect bb too. So dun over worry.

<font color="0000ff">ellysia~

yeap just use a pail and pour the herbs with water heater water coz even if u boil the water den its way too hot to bathe oso if not we sure get 'cooked' wahahhaa..</font>