(2008/06) June 2008

Hey ladies,
Gynae called yesterday to say that my hubby is a thala carrier !! So she ask me to go down and have my blood test done again. Then this morning the nurse called to say that my test results is okie but I am in the borderline case. Meaning to say if 1.9 to 2.8 is in the normal range, then mine is 2.8. Then when I asked the nurse if I need for further test, the nurse told the gynae never mention anything about further test . I am still worried leh. Really dunno what to do : (

i had the linea nigra when i had my boy too...

i oso had pretty bad pigmentation...
both my armpits turned totally dark... i cldnt wear any sleeveless.... cos it was soooo ugly...

I tink there is a further test to be done if both parents are carrier. Just to confirm if the bb is okay or not.

Ellysia,
I am a little worried about the walking around but I guess play be ear, if feel tired, will find a cafe/seats to sit down and rest.
Yup, it's a 3.5hr flight, so should be ok. Hope to get a comfortable seat as well.

Mog,
My tummy also itches.
Try not to scratch too hard. Rem to apply stretchmark cream so that the skin is moisturised and minimise the itch.

Tera,

I dunno is it bec of pregnancy but that time when i go taiwan on airflight, the air pressure make me a bit uncomfy. Then bus rides also jerky so i skip vitamins for 1 week.

I haven't been to HK yet, is toilets a problem there? Cos i remember taiwan toilets v hard to find.

hi cactus_79,
Yeah. I also dun understand what borderline case means. I thought its a method of whether I am or I am not a thala carrier. I am seeking second opinion from my previous gynae. I called up just now to ask if they still have my record and whether I have done such a test before. But they can only see my record tomorrow. Sigh....really very panicky now. But if I called my current gynae, she never mention about any further test to be done. I think most likely I will conduct another test to determine if I am really a carrier. Sighhh. This type of thing is better to be safe than sorry.

pkdust,
u can ask for the thala test to confirm, to ease your mind. i rem before i got married, as my hb is a thala minor carrier, he asked me to go to the clinic to do a test.
this kind of thing better dun take risk, the test is so simple, draw blood only. then can put u at ease too mah

pkdust,

If u have ored done the blood test, not sure if there is a further test. I guess most likely may need to do a test on yr bb instead. I cannot remember the brochure given by my gynae but i tot it mention something like this.

Yeah pkdust. Don't panic. Just make a list of the steps you'd take and the questions you'd want to ask at every step of the way.

remember even if you are a carrier, it's only a 1:4 chance that your bb will be a major. Tests can be done after bb is born to determine whether bb is major or not. just a blood test. I'm not sure if can detect now before bb is born. Whatever it is, for every test that you take, always ask about false results and accuracy and side effects.

Ellysia,
The last time I went to HK was like 8 years ago. :p But if I rem then, toilets were quite difficult to find. Sure hope things have improved now.
Or maybe shld ask Feifei who went in Sep last year.

pkdust
hang in there. maybe you can call up your gynae and arrange to see him/her to discuss further on the results and get a clearer pic on how to proceed? eg if more tests are needed. assuming ur next visit is some time away.

Funny thing is the gynae ask me to do a blood test to test if I am a thala carrier and the result is a borderline case although it is in the okie range.

Luz, you mention u go to the clinic ot do the test. Is it a normal clinic or is it a woman's clinic done by the gynae?

Tera,

Toilet hunt can be v tiring esp when we need to go toilet more often. So end up i didn't dare to drink too much water and thus end up sick when came back from trip.

Also in crowds it can be v terrible as people knock here and there.

ellysia,

My HK trip was about 2 yrs plus ago. To me most of the place i go had toilet facilities, but some was very crowded especially those shopping centre. But you had to ask around if you couldnt find any toilet as i notice their washroom notice board is very rare.

as for blood test, any clinic will be able to draw blood for you. clinics are not able to do lab testing on their premises and will usually have to send the blood sample out for testing unless it is in a hospital.

pkdust,
i went to normal clinic and ask for the test. but i think since preggy ask from the gynae's side is better :D since my hb is a thala minor carrier, so my kids also got the possibility, but thala minor is ok; no problem one.
so if your clear your thala test; u dun have to worry even though your hubby is a thala minior carrier.
only problem is if you also have thala; then got risk of getting a thala major bb.
so you double check with your gynae again on the results of the test

Cactus_79,
wow your hubby sounds like a doc leh. hehe
Yes, I understand what you mean. I think I will go for another blood test just to play safe. because I thought its either I am a carrier or I am not. But the test got a range and I happen to hit the borderline. And when I done the triple test, it shows that I got a low blood count. So better to go for another test again.

Felicia, hehe, already scratch till red red, got the lines somemore now, think I scratch too hard.

Ellysia, the hairs is a lot lei, like the hairs on the hands. See already feel like shaving them off. I'm not using any cream/oil at the moment, perhaps shld get one this weekend. So itchy !!!

Mogudog,
aiyo, then u better stop now before it got worst. Or maybe get some body lotion to apply 1st.

About the hairs on the tummy, i got it oso. But this pregnancy the hair is not that much compare to my previous pregnancy. Dont worry, ladies, it'll gone after you give birth.

All mummies....don't scratch to hard on yr itchy tummy coz it will left you alot of strecth mark b4 or after giving birth...

Cactus_79,
Is it possible for you to check with your hubby how come the blood test for thala got a certain range, say 1.9 to 2.8 is the "OK" range and I happen to be 2.8. The gynae never propose for second test and I presume she treats it as alrite. But I am still worried. Maybe I better to go to another clinic for another blood test?

feifei.. mine is a mickey..

thanks for all who enlighten me on nursing bras.. i shall go shop around this weekend... need new bras fast!

Fox baby got sale!!! I also want!! Must go raid their stores liao... kekeke

pkdust, dun worry abt thasa.. i tink only if both parents are thassa major then bb will be thassa major.. if both are minor, chances of bb getting major is only 25% ( i tink) there was an article posted here before on the chances

I just doze off at desk, so sleepy

Yes dun scratch, my colleague said will cause stretch marks too.

Mog, u may buy the clarins treatment oil, cost $67 from Sasa. Morraine and TF got it also and they said it is good

Pls avoid the palmers stretchmark cream as i understand some sensitive skin people canot tahan.

If yr itch worsen even if apply the oil, consult yr gynae or doctor. Bec' my colleague got rashes during pregnancy and it cause her problems of sleeping etc.

Felicia,
Thanks for the info on HK toilets, I will be heading there in Mar.
Phew, good to hear the hair on tummy will eventually be gone, I was kinda worried they were permanent. :p

Ellysia,
Yeah, got to watch out for crowds, prolly ask hubby to "protect" cos he's quite big size. :p

roxy,
happy shopping!

hi mommies

Sorry to intrude... Im from the Jan MTB thread. I have a Ferrari Stroller to let go @ $350 (bought it for $439) used it once only during bb's full month on 12 Jan. Interested mommies, pls contact me at 9007 2223 or email me [email protected]

Condition: Almost Brand New
Reason for selling: DH's friends gave one for bb's full month and I dun need 2 strollers.

Features:

- comfortable newborn stroller
- mutiple recline positions
- suitable from birth up to 15kg
- large under basket
- removable front saftey bar
- handle height adjustable
- This is an official licensed product

1204234.jpg

yo ladies,
i am back from detailed scan! everything is normal.. relieved! Managed to took 2 pics of bb sucking his thumb.. so cute... bery active baby.. moving n moving.. weighing at 310g.. in my 19wks 4days

eh babycupid, is your bb bigger or small than expected based on your LMP/EDD? And could the doctor/sonographer see the heart clearly without spending too much time on it?

I'm a bit anxious cos doing detailed scan when I'm exactly 19 weeks. at the moment, bb is a bit smaller than expected.. 3 or 4 days smaller when last checked at 16 weeks. at 12 weeks, bb was just 1 day smaller than expected. I'm worried that the heart won't be fully developed to enable easy visualisation during the detailed scan since it's the last organ to be developed fully...

cactus,

I tink shd be well developed to see the blood moving in and out of heart by then, dun worry.

I dunno why my bb is 20g overweight based on EDD benchmark but i only gain 3KG so far.

That's good to know, Ellysia. I just dun want to waste time and $ going for a specific scan 1 week later just to see the heart....

as for your bb overweight, I'm not sure if 20g overweight is excessive.. is your bb a boy? boys tend to be bigger. also, another possibility is your EDD may not be that accurate..?

Thanks Felicia, will apply some body lotion first.

Ellysia, thanks for the info. Will checkout the oil at Sasa. Hope not rashes otherwise jialet, how to tahan another 5 months ?

ellysia,
yes.. a baby boy..

cactus,
mine is ideal for my edd.. heart pumping the valves are visible.. i can even see it.. thruout the scanning the monitor screen is facing me.. so i actually see it thru.. my scan took 20 mins only.. bery fast.. bb bery cooperative.. not shy at all... my gynae said the size is good.. average.. not too big or not too small.. jus nice..

cactus,

Gynae said 20g overwt is fine bec me and hb are both big bones/big size.

The scan is not only to see heart blood flow. U also see spine devt, whether it is intact and well formed. Also measurements taken at brain, waistline, legs, hands etc and to gauge whether it is considered normal or not. Also check features ok or not, whether cleft lip or not. Major organs to check if blood flow is ok and functioning. And also, the gender too.

it is quite a comprehensive scan. Many other things are also checked. The person keep explaining to me, she is quite patient.

babycupid,

Mine is 366KG for 20.5 weeks. Also boy.

Hi babycupid, Ellysia:

Thanks for the info. Yeah, I know the scan is to check for abnormalities in the external features of the bb, and some internal organs too.... my concern was whether bb would be adequately developed by exactly 19 weeks given that bb is a bit small now.. I dun want to just waste time to go down for another scan just to see the heart.. cos the heart is the last organ to fully develop and there's a chance it may not be fully developed at 19 weeks. doctors recommend the detailed scan at 20 weeks most of the time .. but we wanted it earlier. 18 weeks was a bit too early for my bb cos still small...

Hi Cactus,
Then maybe have the scan at your 19w 4d? I mean it's just 4 more days and if babycupid can see everything so clearly at that time, then it should apply to u as well right? I mean like what you have said, there's a possibility of scanning too early and then u can't see the full development of certain organs. Just a suggestion.

cactus,

If yr gynae is fine, then shd be ok i guess. Dun worry.

For those who have experience in breastfeeding, do u tink it is better to get a manual pump first then see if milk supply good or not then invest in a electric one? Or straight get a electric one?

Tomorrow i am going for my detail scan, but in exactly on my 19weeks. Does that mean i will not be able to see the full development of my baby?

cactus,
den y not scan at 20wks and see ur gynae at 21wks? mayb tok to ur hubby.. for my visits sometimes is 5wks apart lor.. i dun think shld haf any prob.. jus my tot..

I think I'll go ahead with the scan at 19 weeks and keep fingers crosesd I dun need to return again for a specific scan. real waste of time if that happens. So far, all the MTBs scanned at under 20 weeks could see bb well...so there's hope for me.

Ellysia, as for your question on breast pump, my friend who recently delivered at TMC told me different women respond differently to different pumps. But manual pump is very tiring - heard this also from my SIL and colleague. These days there are good electric pumps which simulate bb's sucking and that is good to encourage a let down reflex which helps us produce mulk. My friend who delievered at TMC attended classes at TMC and she was allowed to try out the different types of pumps during one session. She found that session very useful.

It's not only manual vs electric to consider, but also single vs double (double is better or other breast may leak when one breast is being pumped), electricity or battery for the eletrical pump (in case the place you pump has no electrical outlet), and the type of pump (some have different modes to simulate bb's sucking, others dun have) and weight of the pump (esp if you are carrying it to office to pump).

cactus,

My Dec appt is 1 mths & few weeks away from my detailed scan. What my gynae does is she fixed another normal appt 2 weeks before my detailed scan (but 3 weeks from last appt) so that the next appt won't be tat long. U dun have to push forward the detailed scan, just have a normal checkup will do if u are worried on bb.