(2008/06) June 2008

hey Kylene,
when's ur detailed scan?

I bought nursing bras from my last shopping spree at Batam... at a departmental store called Robinson Ramayana at only S$6. It was at 50% discount. so far so good but I wear cloth breast pads inside so make it more "padded" and comfy. My belly button feels harder but still on the inside.

I saw maternity underwear sold at Mothercare. I'm still wearing my usual size panties and they seem fine still. Has anyone changed to wearing maternity underwear already?

Hi Tera,
my detailedscan is on 1st feb, friday. can't wait! what about u?

Cactus,
I'm still wearing my usual size panties too.

i like the mothercare maternity and nursing bras, but they are rather ex, i think 30 plus and above for each bra (cant remember exact price as it was 2 yrs ago when i bought them !!)

Hi Cactus,

Me too still wearing my usual size panties.
But was thinking of purchasing some maternity type as be more confort.

Hi Shinely, I saw mothercare's panties not too expensive. Something like 3 for $8 or $12. But it's disposables... supposed to last up to 40 wears per panty. Saw it at Mothercare Centrepoint... I'm thinking of buying those...

shycloud, if you feel weak, it could be lack of iron. try taking red dates. the iron in iron pills are not so easily absorbed. Best is to take from natural foods. Have a good mix of dark green leafy veg and meat. and don't take caffeine together with iron cos it will affect absorption.

Thanks Cactus for the info,
Btw, any ideas what is the different between materity bra and out normal bra, other than the size we change it bigger?s

fei...i stop drinking and taking dairy food now....but drink teh o and water only.

now i abt 19 wks preggy...but weight only 56.3kg. B4 preggy is 52kg....is it normal.

Felicia,

I have the Osim waist slimer (massage to slim down). This is not the binder right? How much does the binder cost?

shycloud,

If u have heaty nature, dun take too much red dates as it is heaty. But red dates have iron so can "bu xue".

Shinely,

Maternity bra is different in the sense that the shape is not fixed. I.e. no cup size. rather it goes by bust line. So say e.g. i am last time 34, now my bustline is 38 ored. I just buy a 38 bust line. The cup is suppose to fit in.

Also good maternity bra is suppose to hide your nipple well.. cos now our nipples are bigger and more protruding, it doesn't appear nice on clothes so maternity bra helps in that sense.

Some maternity bras have double cloth/padding, i.e. u can use for breastfeeding in future too.

it is recommended to buy non-wired maternity bras to help in blood circulation / avoid clots in breast area but for support i tink, can still use some wired bras.

Hi shinely, I dun know what's the difference between maternity bra and normal bra.... but I'm currently wearing nursing bras cos the straps are wider (provide more support) and dun have underwire. I was told underwire may affect the development of milk ducts.

Hi Danryan, I had weight concerns also. I asked my doctor who told me it is normal to gain weight of about 100g to 300g per week during 2nd trimester. weight loss during 1st trimester is okay. For me, at 8 weeks, I was 51.3kg, 12 weeks was 50.7kg, 16 weeks, 52kg. Baby was estimated to be 15 and a half weeks when it was suppsoed to be 16 weeks but doctor not too concerned. Baby was usually much closer to the calculated age previously but I figured not to worry too much if bb has good heartbeat and is constantly growing at monthly appointments.

cactus,

I have bot maternity panties from perfect mum and spring. Spring one is better cos perfect mum one is too low waist. It cost $12 for 2 pieces.

The difference btw maternity panties and normal panties is tat maternity panties can be wide horizontally but low so tat u can place below yr tummy and not hinder on bb/tummy growth. Whereas normal panties if u buy bigger ones, it tend to wear high so not as comfortable.

I am now wearing a mixture of maternity and normal panties but i tink soon i cannot wear my normal panties bec' they are getting tighter esp on buttock area cos i have gain wt in thigh and buttock area.

Wow Ellysia! you sure know alot about maternity bras. I had no clue!! actually I still wear normal bras (a size bigger) with underwire once in a while... when I wear tube tops or thin strap tops.but I change into nursing bra at home and at nihgt.

Ellysia.. I'm still wearing my normal panties low... but think need to start buying maternity panties liao..at least have a pack at home feel better. no need to rush out to buy cos I heard end of 2nd trimester to 3rd trimester, tummy will grow very big quickly.

Veniz,
my #1 date&time chosen by my father, no choice since c-section liao might as well choose a good hr :D
can ask gynae to reduce the labour pain? i dun think so ley, bcos my gynae warn no epidural so i dun think got other ways to reduce the pain ah...anyway i think i will also check with my gynae again on this
as for the binder can buy your own and bring to hospital. dat time my gynae ask if i got bring my own or not, then i dun have so i bought from hospital at $60.50. oh yeah piyo was asking abt the brand of the binder. i din manage to rem the brand but it's very durable and tough.

cactus,

Cos i ask a lot of questions when buying maternity bras and i read up in books.

I am ored expanding beyond 38 soon i tink.. for my normal bras i have to use 2 extension and it is also causing pain so i have bot 2 more from spring just yesterday. I have 3 from perfect mum frm last mth purchase.

Previously i bot bigger cup normal bras from triumph and really regret bec't it end up not comfortable even though i have use extension etc.

So i suggest u all to get maternity bras if really normal bras is giving u pain.

Hi Catcus,
Ya, in fact I regretted doing triple instead of OSCAR and had to put my bb & myself thru' the Amnio. I tot you did the OSCAR test? Glad to noe that I am not the only one not gg for the classes.

Ellysia,
Fox has 50% sale?? Wonder if it still on today. Will go and grab some clothes.. Hmm.. duno if those cute little skirts are on sale too. Hehe.

Feifei,
Are you petite in size? I think those smaller built mummies will face that belly button thingy.
The older generation believes that the belly button will pop out of it is a boy, but I think no theory de. Haha.

cactus,

Better buy a bigger size one bec' will expand soon. Wear the panty waist around yr neck as a gauge on size then buy +1 more size bigger.

I heard frm my colleague got extendable panties but she bot frm perfect mum 1 year ago and now perfect mum no longer sell those panties.

If u find extendable panties do let me know also. Cos i tink extendable ones will be more worth the money.

Oh ya and dun buy too many at one go bec' panties u cannot try out. So buy some and try out then if ok then buy more.

Zu En,

I tink the sale is ongoing for some time. I went yest to AMK hub and some stock is ored selling fast and not left many liao. I have a difficulty find sizes for 0-3 mths but more are 0-6mths or 3-6mths.

Many cutes skirts and tops for minnie though, so cute.

Ellysia,
Try the panty waist around the neck?? Dun that make us look funny? Haha.. I am picturing many preegy women inside the store, putting panties around their neck. ;p
I will go and raid Fox tonight, hehe.

ZuEn,

its how the auntie at Spring shop teach me one. Quite accurate. Cos we are so used to our normal size, now v hard to know wat size to buy.

I intend to look around for good sales to buy bb clothes bec' a decent top cost $12 to $16. Although will buy neighbourhood shops ones too. Considering to buy a variety of sizes cos not sure will have time to buy when bb is born.

And boy really have limited designs lor.

Btw, the disney bb website really have many nice cute tops with mickey mouse/minnie mouse pixs. May be v suitable for our bb as they are all born in mouse year.

about bb clothes, just a tip - something I read from a book. Some good condition second hand clothes may be better than some new clothes cos they'd been washed many times and softer for the skin. Even if my bb is gal, I will ask my SIL for her son's bb clothes.. the tops lah... dun really care about gender. It's ok for gal to wear blue I think.

during confinement, i tink we can buy those disposable maternity panties bec' will have blood discharge etc for few weeks. My colleagues bot disposable maternity panties for confinement.

Ellysia,
I also thinking of getting mickey/minnie mouse clothes. Hehe. Hope to buy some from the HK disneyland when I'm there in Mar.

Kylene,
My detailed scan's on next wed. I am sooooo looking forward to it!

Luz, is the binder you got from TMC? Mine also cost around that price, saw from the hospital bill. My gynae also got the nurse to bring it to me.

My #1, actually mum wants me to c-sect from 10am onwards as she saw its the best time. If earlier, the counts will not be so good. But gynae have to attend to his clinic patients (his clinic outside the hospital) so I say ok lar, dun be so pangtang, choose 9.00am. Then the actual day, my mum went to do double check again, and realise actually 9am - 10am timing even better than the initial one she asked me to get, so qiao we accidentally choose a better time.

As for labour pain, no lar, I know cannot control lar, maybe ask him for stronger painkiller if go by c-sect again lor.

tera : the clothes there are very cute !! u HAVE to buy ! i unfortunately cant travel - my coll told me that since i was away for 1 1/2 mths last yr (due severe morning sickness no less ok ... as if i was enjoying myself at home
) that i sld not take leave "unnecessarily" now

Ellysia : can travel la ... i travelled in my 7th mth for my first pregnancy

Ellysia,
if u wan to buy bb clothings and items hor, u know e Bugis temple there? opp are some shophouse hor, there is a shop at the corner, near to the toilet, they sell in wholesale prices...U can get a dozen of those cotton tops and shorts or pants for newborns at cheap prices leh..Tink my mum bot half a dozen of mittens at $7 there afew mths ago lor...U might wan to try going there...Me might be going there soon to stock up on bb things lor...

hmmm.. on the topic of c-section timing, I don't really believe in auspicious timing, but some pple say if it is c-section, not accurate cos bb didn't come out by his/her own. not nature. last time in china, also no c-section. all natural. if not bb/mom die. last time more accurate. An uncle of mine is very interested in timings.. and all 3 children were calculated births by c-section but their lives not good at all.... they are now in their 20s so can see.

So if possible, I feel, just go with the flow. dun need to push too hard for a very good timing. I mean, if you believe in it, and can get good timing, then good. at least, reassurance. but if cannot, then dont force the issue...

Teragram,
I went Disneyland last Sept, there are alot of nice disney bb clothings there lor..bery nice de =D..But not cheap also lor...

Veniz,
the binder i got from MEH, but i know the guardian pharmacy at MEH got sell the same bcos i recognize the box. next month i go for my detailed scanning i drop by the guardian to note the brand n let u noe. it's really tough and gd lor. heehee my son born in the morning too! 9:30am hahaa

Cactus,
bcos our case is breech planned c-section; really no choice, so felt if got an option to choose timing then choose lor. no harm at all lah. i mean if emergency c-section, then of cos go for natural timing, i won't force the timing too :D it's not that i very believed in good timing, it's just that there's an option open for maybe a gd life for the baby, why not? not harm nothing to lost anyway :D

feifei,

I know abt tat shop but dun intend to go there. Intend to buy frm AMK shop.

Now just looking for nicer bb clothes with better designs.

Ellysia,
haha yours is Mickey ley, boy hor difficult to find nice clothings. i think u will need to shop a lot. i went to mothercare all the gers design so cute, but the boy one normal only. i had hard time to get nice clothes for my boy so end up save a lot of $.

Luz, thanks. So you also trying for VBAC or just go for C-sect again this time?

Ya cactus, if there is chance, I will also like to go with the flow. like Luz say, no harm and our timings are also fine with our gynaes. There are even some extreme parents who say die die must deliver bb at certain actual timing and/or odd timing to deliver, that one will be like what you say, forcing the issue.

Veniz,
yup me opt for VBAC this time if my condition permits! haha yeah my gynae told me there are patients who ask him to do planned c-sec at 2am 4am ley! faint! luckily we are not those extremist.

anyone mummies went JB for shops maternity clothes? was wondering whether want to go in during weekend... i heard is more expensived than here...

feifei and K Ong,
thanks for the confirmation on HK disneyland. actually i was not sure if i wanna go disneyland cos can't go on some of the rides. but hubby encouraged me to go cos he said there are some very mild rides (eg boat rides??) plus lots of cutesy stuff to see and buy. most imptly, it's reliving my childhood dream to visit a disneyland. hehe.
oh yesh, i guess stuff won't be cheap so just buy some nice ones, if i can resist. :p

K Ong,
Don't be too bothered by what ur coll said. Some ppl never think b4 they speak. It's not like u were enjoying urself the past 1.5 mths. How abt a short trip over weekend kind? Then maybe just need to take like 1 days' leave.

Ellysia,
I was counting and yah, during that period, i am just starting 3rd trim, so i think it should be ok. Hopefully la, scarly tummy grow v fast and big then cannot really walk much *faint* but since it is free and easy, guess me and hubby will just take it easy.

Boy clothes really v difficult to buy ah? less choice right? I am quite used to buying girls' clothes and felt I was spoilt for choice. But guess boy is diff case.

ellysia,
I'm not too sure about the OSIM binder coz i saw comment by some mummies use it after the delivery.
I checked on OSIM website only manage to find slim belt which is suitable for post natal slimming. I think this is what they mentioned.

liew,

I brought a maternity blouse plus one 3/4 pants at malacca which cost me almost RM200. But last time when i'm in KL, my friend bring me to Sg Wang plaza where the maternity clothing is quite cheap. So it very depend on whther u know where to get cheaper deal.

Luz, haha, nice to see someone here sharing the same sentiments about VBAC and choosing of timing. My gynae also told me about his, coz he say not recommended lar, even if he does not charge extra for the wee morning or midnight delivery (but imagine he may be sleepy and do not do the stitching well. Just a thought).

Ellysia, urs is the dark line, mine had a dark vertical row of hair going to the belly button there. Heard from my frens that hairs won't drop off but the dark line will fade after delivery.

Does any mummies's tummy itch ? Mine itch until I scratch till red red.

i also got the dark line with hair, but after delivery gone!

Linea nigra (dark line running up your tummy)

This is a dark, vertical line, up to a centimetre wide, that appears down the middle of your stomach, often crossing the navel. It tends to appear around the second trimester and is caused by pigmentation in the skin where your abdominal muscles stretch and slightly separate to accommodate your baby as it grows.

This line of pigmentation will fade within a few weeks of delivery, although you may need to give it a gentle rub to remove any dry skin. You will notice that other areas with pigmentation - such as your nipples, moles and freckles - may darken too but this will also fade with time.
(quoted from http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/skinchanges/)

luz,

U are right, it is hard to find boy bb clothes with nice designs.

Mog,

Mine also have hairs along the dark line.

Pls dun scratch yr tummy as it may cause stretch marks. Use the clarin oil, i find it quite good in relieving itch due to tummy growth.

Tera,

Dunno if u will find it difficult to move around bec' when i go trip during 12 weeks, i ored feel its quite uncomfortable at times/difficult to move around esp in crowds.

If i am not wrong, air travel is best to limit to less than 4 hrs so i guess HK still ok since air travel is not long.