(2008/06) June 2008

piyo,
i oso keep my finger crossed about VBAC. My gynae oso said 'can try'. But i really hope able to do it loh!

Ellysia,
haha... tats the benefit of long legs.For me, i use my short legs. muahaha....
Everytime goin bak, i felt myself so pathetic, must fight with ppl to get a seat. Even i stand right in front of the train door, someone from behind will still push me in. Then ppl from the train will push me out. *sigh*

cactus,
there's 3 types of low placenta. I think only those Complete & marginal placenta previa(Placenta completely or partially covers internal cervical ) type will bleed. I'm Partial placenta previa type, din cover the cervical. I din bleed but is advisable to c-sec loh.

Hi Felicia, thanks for sharing the different types of low placenta. I'm aware of the types but my doctor won't make a diagnosis yet. he told me he prefers to wait... so I'll just wait.

Anyways, am logging off now cos going home liao. See you all tomorrow!

cactus,

yup but anyway the 20 weeks scan report will describe yr placenta position too. So u will roughly know.

luz,

i ate the fish oil and has been burping fishy smell since 3plus.

felicia,

I dislike the pushing in and out at train.

Sometimes i use my bag to squeeze out or serve as protection for tummy/separate distance btw me and other people as buffer space. Maybe u can try tat.

babycupid,

share with us yr scan results

try to go earlier cos the waiting time can be quite long.

hi gers! jus back from my detailed scan tis afternoon. gynae cnf mine is a minnie. entire scan process takes abt 20 min. all r well wif bb...

btw, minnie at 20 wks 3 days wtg 317g, gynae says she will be petite which is gd for ger. n also she will be a quiet bb, so easy to take care of.

liew: if yur gf is terminated at 6 mths & more of her preggy stage and oni she alone is impacted by the termination, meaning not a retrenchment exercise within her company, then under the MOM employment act, she will be protected whereby her company can still release her but ve an obligation to pay her the 2-3 mths maternity leave in advance. even if she is a white collar but met the above criteria, she can ve MOM / the Unfair Discrimation Practice Unit move in to help her on her case against her company. However, if her termination is due to disciplinary reason, then she has no case whatsoever.

hope the above helps.

crystal,
Congrats to your minnie =D...

cactus,
Dun worry ya...Be strong, bb needs u now..

Ellysia,
Me going for my class tmr liao...Its at the 5 flr hor, easy to find? so no need to take off shoes one hor? Hb can sit beside us rite?

piyo,
so we are in the same boat ley, got a discouraging hubby.

felicia,
at least your is supportive of VBAC ley. so envy..

towards the 3rd trimester, i will listen to my gynae's advise. if he say can try, i will go for VBAC (of cos no epi). if the situation or condition dun allow, for e.g. if my bb is in breech again, then i go c-section lor.

btw will your wound be itchy since now our tummy is bigger. recently i felt the wound part itchy ley, dunno bcos now tummy big kenna stretch liao so itchy or wat. dun dare to scratch but very itch hor.

catcus,
for my case my #2 is conceived 1 year later after my #1 (c-section). my gynae says it's a gd timing, so i assume the wound heal nicely liao lor.

actually we got 2 cuts when c-section. one is the skin, one is the womb. so got stitched up twice. now i imagine liao v scare, dat's y i also prefer natural delivery 2nd time, i same as piyo not afraid of pain, only scare end up c-section again.

crystal,
congrats on minnie (little crystal).
just curious, how u know she'll be a quiet girl leh? enjoy ur trip!

wendy,
most of us are attending classes at TMC.

ellysia,
thanks for your suggestions.

luz,
Same as you i got scare if ned to c-sec again. During 1st c-sec i was quite calm till i saw so many ppl in the delivery room,i start to got panic plus my epidural for half body fail , i was totally 'collapsed'. I remember i shed tears when the anaesthetist told me failed need to put me to sleep. Not sure why the fear suddenly overcome me.
Moreover i hate the recovery period, when sneeze oso pain.
I din feel itchy on the wound part leh, only itchy on tummy. I din scratch but only rub it.

Morning feifei,
Was trying hard to follow the threads.. so many postings.

Catcus,
I have bad triple test results too. At the increased risk for DS and high risk for spinal defects. Doc advised that we go for amnio, which we did. The results come back fine, all normal. We noe that having good triple and amnio test results doesnt 100% mean that bb will be fine, but it more or less put our heart at ease. It was a terrible time when the bad statistics stared into our face.

Re: Pre-antal class
I havent book wor. Actually, I am having 2nd tots about gg for the class. The tot that I have to travel all the TMC on weekends totally put me off (or I am plain lazy). Anyone like me not gg for the classes? Or can anyone advise if it is necessary to go for such classes? I will be real sian if the classes teach wat we can read up on books. ;p

Hi ZuEn, as for the classes, I don't plan to attend too. But I heard TMC classes by Mrs Wong are very useful. I think the best time to attend is when we are in 2nd trimester. cos we won't be as tired as in the 3rd. Also have time to prepare ourselves mentally. There are ad-hoc classes on infant caring, diet, bathing, etc, at certain polyclinics. I checked Singhealth website yesterday under Events (I think) and learnt they have many such FOC classes at Bedok, Pasir Ris and Tampines polyclinic. Just have to pre-register. I'm not sure if I'd be attending those ... cos MIL is doing confinement for me and has experience. Also, SIL has experience too. So I can learn from them.

Hi Cactus,
I was surprised to read that the doctor who brought in triple test screen is now regretting in. I attended an antenatal talk in KK about 3 months ago, and the doctors there strongly encourage OSCAR/triple test for all mothers. They said that last time these tests were done for MTBs more than 35 yrs old as they are considered high risks. but now they feel that all MTBs should go for these tests.

just sharing my own experience. Doctors can advise but we as patients should make our own choices

Hi Luz and Felicia,
Ya I think in hubby's mind, he is fixed on csec liao. I guess we would be scared of the csec process cos we know what's happening (step by step) if we are going thru the process again.

Recently my wound does itch a bit.. din ocur to me that our tummy might be expanding... hmmm

Can I ask which binder did you use when you go for csec?

Hi Zuen,
Prenatal classes normally teach you on practical stuff like breastfeeding,holding n bathing bb, handling of FM, massage techniques, hospital tour and the birth itself.. quite interesting. I went for Mrs Wong's class last time, not bad lah..was still calling her/went to c her when I haf breastfeeding and weanning issues after that

ZuEn,

me din attend any pre-natal class for my previous pregnancy, nor intend to attend this round. Coz during 1st pregnancy i din know about such classes, and now had experience liao. hehe....
The most important factor is i'm lazy.
But MTBs whom attend the class sure will share their experiences with us. hehe....

Sigh.. just to add to this amnio/triple screen issue. My hb's colleague asked his wife to go for amnio without going through triple screen cos they were certain they would abort an abnormal child.... she was only 33 years old. First baby. Both high fliers in their careers, but didn't want to be strapped down financially by the costs of bringing up an abnormal child. Luckily she didn't miscarry and their daughter is now a cute 1 year old gal! Different people/couples can have different attitudes towards such things.

piyo,

u mean the brand of the binder? I din know coz i brought it from my gynae's clinic. But i find the quality is bad, as it tore easily and i just used it for 2mths only.

piyo, about c-sect wound itchy during our current pregnancy, I had checked with my gynae sometime ago. You are right, its due to our tummy expansion thats y the itch. I got it also, then will scratch it if i am at home. I am also trying VBAC this time round. Gynae is very supportive of it but hearing from you all that cannot use Epidural, I think i will check with gynae during my next visit.

Is it true that if first is c-sect, 2nd c-sect will be more painful? I have relatives telling me that 2nd round will be even more, now a bit scared. Now just to let baby choose, if he breech again, then no choice, sure c-sect.

Veniz,
So u r supporter of VBAC oso?! Wow! din realised here got so many ppl opt for VBAC.

Not neccessary 2nd c-sec will be more painful. Coz my collegue whom just delivered via c-sec her 2nd son told me her 2nd c-sec is more painless than 1st. I think is more to the gynae's skill on sew up the wound. She can squat down within few days after discharge from hosp, really 'pei fu' her.

feifei,

5th floor yes. Need to take shoes off for class. Husband is together with us yup. They have an area for putting bags so not a prob with bags.

Check with u all.. do u all have a black vertical line at your stomach? My black line is now obvious and long. wonder will it disappear after pregnancy.

Yest i went to fox and they have 50% discount. I bot a bb pants for $3 only
but really, hard to find clothes for mickey than minnie.

Re: Pre-natal classes

cactus,

Actually the pre-natal class not only teach about taking care of bb, but also pre-natal exercises which help to relieve backpain and help in preparing muscles for delivery.

I have backpain tat day but after doing the exercises, sudd the backpain disappear liao. Also learn tips to relieve cramps/swollen legs etc.

Re: Stomach itch

I also have stomach itch occasionally which i tink is bec stomach is expanding now.

On alternate days i will apply clarins treatment oil for relieve on itch and prepare the muscles to be elastic.

ellysia,

the vertical line i had it during my 1st pregnancy and it become not obvious after delivery. But this round seems like the line not very obvious compare to 1st pregnancy loh. Dont worry it'll become lighter after delivery.

Felicia,

thks. Worried cos the black line now looks quite ugly though my stomach complexion is dark, still can see the black line obvious lor.

Felicia,
I used the DALE binder last time, still can use now but like a bit loose liao? thinking of getting the OSIM binder.. any reviews it's good?

Veniz,
My friends who went thru 2nd csec, some more painful, some no. Think depends on the gynae skills and individual's healing rate?

piyo,

well, i think still can use back if not too loose lah. As for the OSIM binder, remember u must buy those non magnetic type. I think i saw in oth forum quite nbr of mummies is using OSIM binder and they likes it.
Last time b4 preggie i use OSIM binder (those magnetic type) for backache problem and i find it good.

Ellysia,
Tks for the infor =D..My dark line not too obvious lor, heard frm my fren that the line will be gone aft giving brith so dun worry ya =D..

Me looking forward to my class tonite lor =D...

All,
Anyone's belly buttons pops out yet? Mine hor, can see that its going to be pop out soon lor...so shen qi...

Hi Ellysia, Yeah, the classes are good for their exercises too. But I've started doing exercises with hb's help already so think there is little value add to attending. actually, I think I'm just lazy to find time to go down.. I rather spend my time sleeping or preparing a corner for the bb.

Feifei...yes mine belly button pops out too....

I had bad diarrhea for the past 2 days. I didn't consult any doctor...is it OK. My tummy feel pain on and off and pain like wind growling like dat...yesterday didn't turn up to work....now in the office feeling sleepy hehehehhe.

hey ladies, I came across strollers with the brand Lucky Baby. There's another called Capella. but I understnad there is something called Lucky Baby - Capella. Would anyone know if it's the same thing? And how are Lucky Baby strollers? Are the Capella strollers with detactable/washable seats/fabric?

Morning gals... was on MC ydae so never log in...

Gratz to all who went for detailed scan ydae and bb is healthy...

feifei, ur belly button pop put liao ah? Mine is only super super stretched, like big hole now, cannot imagine it popping out coz hole so big and stretched now..

Btw need to check with you all, besides perfect mum, where else can we buy nursing bras? My current bras are so tight it's killing me and wat is the average price of a nursing bra? Dun want to spend too much...

morning gals..
aiyo feel faint today...and my legs have gone wobbly weak. when i walk, i can feel both my legs numb...y like tat?

roxy,
Mine not yet pop out lor, but tink anytime liao cos the hole looks funny leh..hee...

Urs is a mickey or minnie? I forgot liao..hee

Mothercare? Spring?

Hi Felicia and piyo, yup, i support, coz I really want my child to be born on the timing he chooses himself, rather than the pre-planned one for #1 (my son breech, so I got my mum to choose for me). Also, it seems such a waste, being a mother, unable to go throught the 'real' pain of natural delivery. My gynae also supports my decision, unless circumstances do not allow.

Thanks for the info on 2nd c-sect. If really need go thru c-sect again, I will tell my gynae to try make my pain lesser, haha.

Piyo, the binder we can buy and bring to hospital to use or not? the last time I didn't know need binder, so bought one from hospital @ $60.00, not very good leh.

fei...me now much better....hopefully everything will be fine in the office...have to drink more water.

This 30th Jan is my 2nd scanning...hope can see my bb gender....1st scanning my gynea told me he didn't see a 'BALL' but he didn't say its a girl...hahahhaa.

For diarrhoea....any food to avoid and want food to eat to stop from it.

Liew : if i recall correctly - i think it's on the MOM website - as long as she has been employed for 6 mths preceeding the pregnancy, they have no right to terminate her and she is entitled to mat leave. best to check this from the website again.

ellysia : my tummy itches too !!!

feifei : my belly button is threatening to pop out anytime

for my first preg, i was an "innie" - i dont like the idea of being an "outtie" !!! not nice under clothes right ?

Hi roxy,

I went spring to buy bras and its much much cheaper. Cost $19.90 to $29.90. But doesn't have double padding so i suppose not nursing bras?

feifei,

my belly button is like roxy one, stretched until it looks funnie shape.

roxy,
can try Marks & Spencer for the maternity bras, my fren got hers from there and she said quite good.

feifei,
i think i will be an "innie", belly button doesn't look like it will protrude out cos it is getting more inverted :p

Felicia,

The Osim binder can start to use from when? Can use during confinement? Can also use even if not c-section right?

Danryan,

For stomachache, eat porridge. Porridge will help to regulate yr stomach.

There is also a "xue dao" to massage but hard to tell u where online.

Avoid chilli, and other food that sensitive to yr stomach.

U shd also take 100plus to replendish yr salt lost during stomachache.

Best to take medicine bec' i have severe stomachache like u before and i "ren" for 4 days before i went to see doc, ored v severe that time then took 1 pill and settle it ored.