(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Ellysia, I think we can decide then and there if we want bb with us. We can definately request that bb be pushed to us for breastfeeding if they wake up and cry for milk. My SIL didn't want her boy with her overnight cos she had a very long labour which ended up in emerg c-section. she was very tired out.

Hi tiny feet
From my experience in Mt E, I am able to request for baby to be with me the whole time if I wish to in my single room.
I wanted to, but hor, after the birth and epidural in the first day, I think I was really shag.. My legs were wobbly, I feel out of breathe and was actually panting when I wheeled my girl out from the room to the nursery. I didnt think it was that bad!! All I wanted was to rest and sit. The next day was better but hb thinks I shld rest and I will get the baby all to myself like it or not at home. So my girl was in nursery at night for the hospital stay.

TMC will allow hubby to stay till wat time before they chase them home?
Last time @ Glen, my hubby can stay up to 11pm, the nurse din ask him to go home oso, maybe my 'neighbour' din complain.

babycupid,

Not proven yet, have to be proven until bb is born. But hb did it without knowing.

I guess if know better dun do liao.

If want to pang dang, can also say spotting during my 1st trim is bec' of the shifting of bed incident also. But i choose not to tink of the pang dang since ored done.

<font color="0000ff">when i had my ger in GlenE tat time, i oso have her most of the time during my stay
coz i told the nurse, i wanna try to bf so they wil place bb with u.. im staying in a 2 bedded ward and yeap my hubby oso stayed till close to midnight and they dun bother at all

Ellysia,
For me i still change loh, i cannot bear if din change. Anyhow, my mil just warn us not to move bed, tats all. If we were to follow all the pantang, i think we can quit our job and stay whole day at home doin nothing till the day we deliver. muahaha.....

If i opt for 1 bedded might consider let my bb overnite and provided i dont ended up c-sec again lah.

tf, i got same tots as linda. I will let bb stay in nursery! More relax, nurse bring bb 2 me only when need 2 breastfeed. Some more nurse help me 2 latch bcos i dunno how to..

ellysia,
no choices. i heard a lots of ppl said too. so i just prevent loh... that the why, when my hb said i cant go home then i know what happen already... sometimes he need to drill something or what he will hide inside one of the room or secretly do it. as long don let me see or hear... those moving furniture or delivery stuff have to avoid the house.. normally i'm went downstair... no choices

ning ke xin qi you...

Felicia,

I tink as long as bed dun shift can liao.

I am wondering whether i shd go out of the house when the dryer is delivered.

But it is ley chey.. go out also dunno do wat cos its sat.

ellysia,
no worry.. bu zi zhe wu zhui.. wondering.. say b4 we koe we r expecting.. den hw? cos we wont koe till 5wks or so.. rite? haiz..

Re: bb in nursery

If the bb is taken well care of, then not so bad.

I only worry they didn't take well care of bb.

My mum saw nurses at KK mistreat my bro when bathing him in nursery, and she tinks bro become v difficult to take care due to tat incident. Dunno true or not.

Mt A refused to allow me any snacks during labour ! (those mean midwives !!! ) but i think Glen E allows right ?

Otherwise, the ladies at Mt A are fantastic and very pro-breastfeeding.

I got one question to ask u all..

if u and yr hb have different dialect grp, then u put what dialect grp as yr bb dialect? Is it necessary to put dialect grp in BC?

Cos yest i have an argument with hb. I said since hb is half teochew and half hokkien whereas i am hokkien, so we shd put hokkien as surname and dialect name follow hokkien pronoucation. But he said as his father is teochew he will prefer teochew as dialect. End up have a quarrel bec' i find its v "da nan ren" to do tat.. wat do u all tink?

I dunno why my hb has been v laid back during pregnancy.. i see other fathers during classes all quite enthusiatic then he look so sian sian.. ask him to read bb guidebook etc he also dun bother but said he got read ored (dunno true or not).. then he rather spend time playing games.
Ask him to shop for bb stuff he keep saying no hurry just buy 1 mth before EDD, i was so shocked 1 mth before how to get prepared.. forced him to push earlier to March. My hb also bo chap me eat wat or drink wat, sometimes concern remind me drink more water or prevent me drink cold drinks/ice-cream but not always. Sleep late he also dun bother?..

Dunno if u all hb also like tat or not.

ellysia,
hmm.. i tink its a mus to put in BC.. and i tot always follow the daddy? to me.. i will put as cantonese (my hubby)

Felicia,
Not true lei.. Mine was epi csec, nurse in glen e tot and showed me how to bf once I came back to my room and will bring bb to me even in the middle of the night to bf
Yours in glen e too?

Ellysia! hahaa i just check my boy BC (he born in 2006). no need to put bb's dialect group. but mother and father each got put their dialect group, so u dun hv to worry :p u so cute... hahaa so u tell ur hb this info, no need quarrel liao :D

Felicia,
haha maybe depends on individual mummy's condition, she see u so tired, so she let u rest.
for my case whenever bb hungry, the nurse will bring bb to me, feed finish return back to nursey.

luz,

Really! OIC so no dispute on bb dialect lah! Hee.. but then the dialect name dunno how to pronouce liao.. dunno follow teochew pronouncation? Maybe see which one sounds nicer.

K Ong,

I intend to follow forummers advice and not cheong hospital too early so tat can eat outside and dong longer.

piyo/ luz,
Yup, i'm in Glen E. I remember i asked the nurse when can i start BF, she told me next day. So the 1st day and nite, the nurse din come to me at all. Ya, just remember maybe because when i admit i put as BF/Milk. Maybe this is the reason.
Btw, does you plan to c-sec this round or VBAC?

ellysia..
me will put my hb dialect..since he quite MCP tat once married everything must follow guy's side.

oh shit! i forgot my vitamins and supplements today...left it @ home...how?

luz,
oh yaaa.. i recalled that my BC have both parents dialect too~ but we will follow father by default.. kekeke

shycloud,

Just one day only.

Heng u remind me, i haven't eat my fish oil yet.

I cannot tolerate MCP leh, will sometimes quarrel with hb cos his family also MCP. But my family is not.. my mum has a bigger say than dad.. so i am not used to MCP family.

babycupid,

drink more water and put something to lay yr feet on.

sleep with pillow on yr feet.

I have to buy a pillow sooner or later.. need to prop up my legs also in case.

Felicia,
for my #1, i put total bf ley. so everytime will bring bb to me. for your case is bf/fm, so i guess the nurse make the decision (sometimes they give fm, sometimes they bring bb to u for bf).

this time round i will VBAC.. but my gynae say if i VBAC, cannot use epidural ley. bcos dunno must know the pain threshold. scare dunno the previous c-section wound burst liao also unware.. scare scare...

Ellyisa,
yup the pronuncation of surname can decide so much later, dun have to think so much abt that.. hehee bcos up to how u like to pronunce mah. like my boy's surname also can prounce 2 ways although the same word hehee

Babycupid,
yup r u rite, we normally follow father's dialect by default hehee

luz,
in fact on the 1st day, few hrs after delivery i almost fainted on my bed. BB was with me tat time and my hubby go to canteen for a grab as he din take his lunch before i delivered. I was lying in the bed and when i saw my ger move, i tot to sit up and pat her, so i adjust the bed w the remote. Halfway i felt i'm goin to faint, so i quickly push the emergency button. Lucky the nurse came in very fast. She scolded me for moving. So maybe she afraid i fainted again when BF. haha.....

ellysia,
when slp raise up by pillow.. how abt when we slp on our sides? still with pillow under the feet?

cactus79, actually can shift bed, but with you outside the hse lor.

About baby sleeping with mummy issue, for my #1, I wanted baby to sleep with me so I can try bf him. But the TMC nurses told me to have a good rest at night, dun stress myself. What I can do is to pump out milk and pass to them for feeding if bb hungry (I brought my electric breast pump there). And also one thing which I noted, as we stay air-con room, baby will feel cold no matter how high temp we increase to, but the nursery has warmer which babies will feel more comfortable in. On other side of thinking, its really up to individual preference lar.

Felicia,
wah u labour so siong... me c-section one so no feelings ley. i not tired and pain after delivery. but if let me go c-section again this time i will be very scare lor.. esp lying on the operating theatre so many doctors and bright lights.. u know got 4 doctor, 1 midwife and my gynae's nurse.. see so many ppl i so scare till i shaking. but after i GP unconcious liao dunno anything lah.. hahahaa

babycupid,

Yes. And for backsupport, put pillows at yr lower back even if u sleep sideways.

This is wat the nurse guide me during my pre-natal class.

luz,

OIC so normally follow father dialect..
no wonder hb so buay song.

Cos my parents are both hokkien mah, i tot since he is half hokkien then we got more "hokkien" so shd put hokkien haaa. And besides he dunno how to speak teochew whereas i will teach bb hokkien.

ellysia...
haha u so cute...quick go and take it..

babay cupid
ya i must rem to take it..i heard it's best consumed in the morning...cos tat's when it will absorbed well and good..me apologise to bb tat i forgot abt the vitamins ;p

for my case, bcos my hubby and myself are hokkien, so we put dialect name and chinese name in BC. no hanyu pinyin.

my ic got the dialect with hanyu pinyin very long. when i turn 30 yrs old i wan to ask can cut away the hanyu pinyin or not hahaa

Hmm ... why cannot shift the bed ? I just shifted my bed to change bedsheet last week. I even shift it back afterwards. Oh NO !!

cactus,

I actually wanted to put hanyu pinyin but hb dun want bb surname to be different from him, if put hanyu pinyin surname will be different.

In addition, his surname is v unique.. the dialect surname is KOH but hanyu pinyin will be GU and GU sounds not nice.

luz,

dont scare me with tat part of wound burst leh. I'm planning to VBAC oso. During my 1st delivery, i opt of epi half body but failed, ended up i was been put to sleep. My hubby was dissappointed as he cant witness the process. So, i hope this round can VBAC. Even put epi, not sure will fail or not, waste $$.

shycloud,

I also dun take the vits everyday. In fact i skip during a period when i keep vomitting out vits.

I took calcium and multi-vits in morn before coming to work. Then fish oil has to take few hrs after lunch so always forget fish oil.

Felicia,
u need to ask your gynae about the epi ley. bcos maybe diff gynae got diff style. hehee i dun mean to scare u, but mine say no epi. so now i already mentally prepared no epi liao. however my hubby not supportive of VBAC, say i act smart, some more say i surely cannot open one cannot endure pain, so discouraging lor. but i wish to try natural birth lah, this could be my last pregnancy liao mah. if planning VBAC unsuccessful go for emergency c-section, the bills more ex lor. i also hope my VBAC successful, if not more mental stress and more costly.

luz,

Anyway GU has been a big joke for hb during his sch days when chinese teacher pronounce his chinese name. But if put in BC i guess even worst bec' people can say how come different surname.

So i guess in this case i have to put dialect name so as to rescue my bb frm jokes on surname.
If no need to put dialect grp in BC i guess not as bad since i can ignore the pronoucation is from teochew rather than the glaring dialect grp.

I can be so anti-MCP that i didn't call myself Mrs Koh unless if others call me by tat.. i always use back my surname haaaa.

Ellysia,
Tink u better go hv a walk when the dryer is delivered leh...cos hor, better to believe lor..

All,
So far, we changed bedsheet afew times liao..When my hb changed in e bedroom, I will go to the kitchen cos my mum told me I can't be in e room when he is changing...

We also moved a bb cot bk home previously lor..but we din assemble it lor...