(2008/06) June 2008

Tera

No wonder the phone engage for last few minutes. U were wif Nelly? Ya, I just booked mine too at 2-4pm, by Mrs Wong. Hey, I can come n fetch u on days if i head fr Bedok for the Education if u nt driving.

Mogudog, looking forward to c u.
Roxy, hope to see u too.

Thanks TF! So sweet of you.
This is great, can meet up with u and Mog. Roxy, hopefully u same class as us, or can change to same as ours?

ladies, any tips on reducing MS in my 16th week ??
still very uncomfortable in the mornings and sometimes thruout the day

this is getting to me, feeling very depressed, and that my colleagues dont understand !!!

re stem cell collection : there is a public bank which you can donate to - i think it's free, but there's no guarantee that u'd find a match in future. But that's something to consider in addition to the 2 private companies that provide the service.

Government blood bank :-
for whom are interested to donate to blood bank.
Below are the information :-
Dear Felicia

Thank you for your interest and support for the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

We are pleased that you and your husband are interested to come forward as cord blood donors. Our list of participating hospitals are:-

1) East Shore Hospital (ESH)
2) KK Women’s & Children’s Hospital (KKH)
3) Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)
4) Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)
5) Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)
6) National University Hospital (NUH)
7) Raffles Hospital (RH)
8) Singapore General Hospital (SGH)
9) Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)

You may also wish to express your intention for donation to your attending doctor, as the cord blood after the delivery of your baby will be collected by your OG.

The Singapore Cord Blood Bank is a public bank initiated by Singapore Health Services (SingHealth), the National Health Care Group (NHG), the Children's Cancer Foundation, Club Rainbow (Singapore) and other charitable donations. We do not charge for the collection and processing of donated cord blood units, however, not all cord blood units can be stored due to our stringent storage criteria. The donated cord blood unit is also not reserved for the specific family or individual's usage. Our standards are based on international public cord blood banking protocols where the highest and strictest standards are used, as these units are made available to the individual requiring a life-saving stem cell transplant. As such not all collected cord blood units would meet these stringent criteria.

We have also strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants. Our consents from mother and family are obtained from the 32nd week of gestation and before admission to the hospital for delivery. The process could take 45 mins – 1 hour, inclusive of a detailed and sensitive medical history questionnaire. This questionnaire includes lifestyle, sexual history and family medical history of both baby's mother and father. The process would be required to done in a quiet area, away from the public to ensure confidentiality for yourself and your family. We are also unable to conduct home visits due to the sensitivity of donation. We have also addressed your questions indicated in blue below.

If there are any other queries or need for clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our coordinators at 6394-5012 for an appointment or you may wish to provide us with your contact for us to contact you.

Best regards,
Charlene Han
Manager - Collections & Marketing
SINGAPORE CORD BLOOD BANK
c/o KK Women's & Children's Hospital
100 Bukit Timah Road, Women's Tower Basement 1,
Unit 0B60A, Singapore 229899
DID: (65) 6394-5017 Fax: (65) 6394-5013

Hi K Ong, did your gynae prescribe you any medication for vomitting ? Does that well ? Perhaps drinking some lemon honey will curb the naueous ?

Additional info on the Blood bank donation :
1)Storage kit and form
The Consent Form and the Medical History Questionnaire should be completed with our SCBB Coordinator after 32 weeks of gestation. The appointment can be arranged by calling our hotline at 6394 5011. This process must be completed before you go into labour.

The SCBB's cord blood collection kits are already at each participating hospital, as such, it does not need to be sent or collected by you or your family.

2)Any xtra gynae fee for collection?
This is between the patient and your OG. Thus, we encourage you to discuss this with your OG. The Singapore Cord Blood Bank do not reward the people involved in the collection process monetarily. This should be an altruistic act by all involved in the process.

3)as a donor, will we be in the priority list if one of the day we need to had cord blood tranfusion?
We do not reserve any cord blood unit for the child or a specific family’s usage. If the donated cord blood unit meets the criteria for banking, and is still in SCBB at that time, the unit would be made available for the patient who would benefit most from it, this could be the donor or another recipient. Research has shown that there is an extremely low probability that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failure.

The CBU will be released based on the following:-
1. CBU met SCBB’s stringent banking criteria, and was banked
2. CBU available in SCBB at the time of request
3. CBU is to be used and/or released to the donor upon advice of the Transplant Physician.

Upon meeting the above three criteria, the CBU will be released to the donor for FREE upon direction of the transplant physician if he/she feels that it is the unit most beneficial to the donor.

Above are my email correspond between the Blood bank ppl and me. Hope above clear your doubt on the donation choice.

Hi Felicia,
Thanks! Finally, SCBB has extended to private hospitals. During my ger's time, I wanna donate also cannot..If I am not storing my no.2 cord blood, will donate it out rather than throw it away...

piyo,

i was thinking to donate oso, tats why i wrote to SCBB for enquiry. As my 1st ger i had it keep in private sector , Stemcord, therefore thinking for 2nd one i wud donate.
Btw, i'll need to discuss with my gynae 1st before i decide on it.

Felicia,

How much do u pay stemcord?

babycupid,

I know sat need to pay extra $10. I went once before. No choice since can save my MC/leave.

felicia,
I am thinking of storing this time as I am thinking of keeping at least 1of the siblings' cord blood.. and we can use the baby bonus account if we store the 2nd kid cord blood for both the admin, processing and annual fees..But if we are finally not storing, then will definately donate

ZuEn,
You still around? I just rem that you had mentioned yest that your gynae will take a look at the scan and call you today. Has she called you yet? Just wondering how come it was the nurse who called you. Hang in there ok? You will be getting the amnio results soon, in 1-2 days time. So till you get it, nothing's concrete yet.

Ellysia,

Processing fee and gynae fee plus etc is about $1300. Then annually is $250 (all w/o GST). But as i mentioned in earlier post, different gynae will had different gynae fee. My ex-gynae charge me $500 for the collection leh. So is better u get the quote from stemcord. They'll quote you based on your gynae.

Piyo,
oic. Me had the same opinion as you. At least keep 1 of the siblings's cord blood.

felicia,

yes i also hate loud music. Tat day hb on radio too loud, i also cannot take it.

TF,

The website didn't say how much their confinement menu cost. Do u know how much it cost?

K Ong, me same as you, will feel uncomfortable and cannot eat much. Sometimes even after light meals will not feel good. I completely dun feel like eating anything. Mealtimes are my headache time. Also, sometimes after some meals (especially lunch) I will get headache for the whole afternoon. I can only stomach western food best.

Like you, my mgr does not understand why I dun feel like eating lunch as he thought the MS only lingers during first trimester. I hate this pregnancy.

TF,

I went toilet once in middle of night sometimes. But if i dun drink 2 hrs before sleep, usu won't need to go toilet.

piyoz,

I have problem of sleeping normally, i am not the type who can sleep v fast and wake v fast type. I dunno how to bf during confinement at nite leh.. then if dun bf at nite, milk supply will decrease one.

Ellysia
I hvnt enquire on the Menu one. I only went thru the Herb Package. U can call them, they r very friendly.

Tat's very gd loh to go toilet only once, or nt even if u dun drink near sleep.

Liew

Shd b fine to go toilet cos our bladders tolerance are made differently. B4 u pregnant,do u nd to go toilet in middle of nite? Cos I dun. So nw pregnant + i drink milk just b4 slp, i guess the once i went was to empty the milk i just drank. I guess u r someone who consume lots of liquid in day too? Cos I dun drink enuf..

juliet08, hahaha, I also never ask how much lei.
You attending which timing one ? Tera, me and TF sign up for the 2 to 4pm one.

I'm looking for CL now. I realised a lot of the CL do not encourage bathing for 2 weeks.... I'm thinking, should I get one CL who can allow me to bathe daily? I really cannot take it if don't bathe...

Ellysia,

I remember Mrs Wong from TMC mentioned that our milk supply is the highest in the wee morning around 2am - 4am. So if you really want high supply of milk, best to get them during this timing. Sad to say, I didn't achieve bf during my first preg so I didn't really try that.

I also rem once during confinement, I was waiting for 11pm for my son to have his last feed before he slept througout the night, I was very tired, so I took half tiny cup of'Dome', brush my teeth before feeding him (I normally fed him before I had my 'Dome'). But when i was preparing the milk for him after the drink and 10mins rest, I saw stars and almost fell/fainted. Lucky my husband was there to help me, otherwise I will spill the stuff and hurt myself.

Iamsnow

I guess if u insist, they cant stop u bah. At most, it sound like a nag cos they meant u well. Bliss Confinement is charging $1900 for 28 days. U can read the CL thread in motherhood on some blacklist one n also to avoid those doing freelance that cos "no show" problem.

TF,
actually those I have on hand are freelance one. they are all recommended by my friends & colls who have used them before. so I guess should be quite ok.

actually I'm also considering if I want to use those from agency one... I'm afraid they play punk and give you someone else....

HI Veniz,

Ask you a question. If we pump out milk more than baby will consume, can we just pour out the amount the baby usually drink to warm up?

mogudog and teragram
Sorry!! sotong me... 1230-230 is sun slot... i just called to double check, im reserved for 2 - 4pm slot, 22 March... heeeee paiseh

tinyfeet,
actually, i'm quite worry also. my urine nowaday dark yellow colour. especially early mrn wake up time. i seldom drink much water but still easily run for ladies.. but i believe i ate lots of fruits...

Ellysia

I called Bliss, the confinement food there is for those who engage CL fr them n wnt the CL to cook as per the reference menu to customize to indiv taste. They dun do food catering

All,
wow, so nice hor, so many of u attending e class together, shd be bery fun de wor.... =)...1st lesson has to wear soemthing stretchable and light cos need to do some exercise lor...

liew
Mine is also dark yellow in morning, wh i tink is common cos kept long hours. And hours after MultiVit is bright Yellow becos of the Minerals/Calcium. Then if drink water regularly, becum white or pale yellow. Water can b fr many source. Also run to toilet maybe cold weather lately + air-con.

Iamsnow
Yah, how it started is these CL ladies started recommended by agency. And when they r gd, friends give their CL direct contact to them, until they dun depend on agency n becum freelance. So when they freelance, they can quote their own price, so they test giving $1600 to 1st customer and maybe $1700 to next customer (since $1600 no complain). N if $1700 customer agree easily. They go for the $1700 at last min n no show for the $1600 customer. Tat was how the story goes. Interesting that it can also be so ugly in this mkt. Some will give excuse they need u to pay levy or go back n chop passport in JB, etc.. end up some days missing. Whereas agency take care of all this n so far i knw Bliss (recommend by many in motherhood forum). But of course there r some bad agency like u mentioned too.

Felicia
I have nt conclude yet. Maybe 2nite lay all my cards to my mother n see wat she decides wif, ie. CL or catering n DIY. She rules...haha..cos i depend on her.

Feifei
wat, so fast 1esson is exercise. I tot last lesson. I tot i can still clump on chair n listen to the first one like lecture style for 1st lesson :p

roxy,
yay, same class!

re CL,
I have booked mine but a little worried cos the other day she called and asked me if she can end her confinement in Feb cos of CNY?! I was like, huh, no lah mine is in June and kept reminding her. Uh-oh, really hope she dun sotong and forget about mine.

feifei,
hehe, thanks! u can share with us on what to expect for the classes since u will be attending first.
I think one of the lessons is a talk by doctors right?

Just now the nurse just called me and told me my results for triple tests is out. Low risk of down syndrome. (thank goodness! ) But the thing is that my blood count is low and she ask my hubby to come for a test as well just in case there is a chance of something (dunno how to spell but it begins with a "T" ) I read somewhere in this forum that someone was told to go with her hubby for testing of this as well. Start to get a bit worried now...

TF,
For me, i plan to order catering for one meal only. The portion is quite big, so i can eat it for 2 meals. hehe....
Initially my mil happily agreed she'll do confinement for me till few weeks back, she told me she might not up to it as she's taking care of my ger (22mths) now. My ger very active, always climb here and there, so my mil start to worry. So my hubby n me plan to hired a daytime CL, but then my mil worry that the CL was not good. Then we finally agreed to order for confinement catering, so at least my mil can save the trouble and time from goin to market and preparing my food.

Yeah its thalassemia. They ask my hubby to also go for blood test just in case. Any one got the same encounter? A bit scared.

tera, mogudog, TF - I will try..but may do late ones coz hb may work half days on weekend..if so will be a bit rush...