(2008/06) June 2008

TF, me not sure whey she didnt tell u... maybe can call and check with her again? I have only left my name there as reservation only, will be going down to make payment on Thur.

Starmoon..I scared too early to scan, cannot see things clearly then end up waste time and $, but after the previous comment by another gynae abt me seeming to have low fluid, im dying to see Dr Cheng to see what he says...

see that many people going for parentcraft lessons. Yes, agree that it's good to go bit earlier.

Remember during my class, one of the mummies delivered earlier.... bb came pre-matured at 33 weeks, so end up coming for the last class in her hospital wear (so happens she was still admitted in hospital during the class)

Ellysia,
you opting for 3D scan? THink got 4D scan too, right? Not all gynae offers this. Some give for free or as part of their package. Maybe you want to check with your gynae. But sure is exciting to see if the little one looks more like mummy or daddy =)

ellysia,

Oh ya, after bb borned, sure no sleep. newborn usually drink at 2 hours' interval. So every 2 hours got to wake up and feed. Unless you have confinement lady to help with the night feeds. But think total latch on can help with increasing milk supply.

So probably at least 3 months of sleeplessness. Getting 6 hours of continuous sleep will be a big luxury!

hi zuen,

this is what i happen to come across and i hope u will feel better after after reading it and keep yourself as lighted hearted as possible before the test results are out.

"Your Body
Between weeks 16 and 18 of pregnancy, your health care provider may offer you the maternal blood screening test, also known as a "triple marker" test or "triple screen," which measures the levels of alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), a protein produced by the fetus, and the pregnancy hormones hCG and estriol in the mother's blood. The results of the triple marker test can tell moms whether their babies are at risk for (not whether they have) neural tube defects such as spina bifida or chromosomal abnormalities such as Down syndrome. Out of every 1,000 women who take the test, about 50 will have abnormal results, but only one or two women will actually have babies with a problem."

source from ;

http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_calendar/week16.html

Roxy, later i'll call n check agn, cos lunch hr nw

Ellysia, nt sure u wake up toilet hw many time in nite. I usu have my milk n empty myself just b4 going to bed, so in the nite, only wake up once.
Ya loh, everythg in this world nw talk abt $.

Oh, will there be 3D? My hubby just ask me if we are hvg n i told him must pay extra for that. Under wh package?

Fei fei, yes, the tailbone!! There's one evening, i even spot one side of my right pelvic area has a lump pop up than the other. Is it the baby squeezing there? I tried to caress it n it went down. So funny. Maybe his leg or head.

tinyfeet

Some of them may nt knw there's 2 of us cos joined later. So i try to go by the content.

For all
TF is for me, the oldest mama-to-be and "tinyfeet" for the younger one. Hope clarifies.

Mogudog

I'm trying for Mar 22, 12:30pm so as to join Roxy n Tera. Unless 12:30pm is full, then maybe 2pm. Hope to get Mrs Wong class.

TF, thanks. I try to see if they got the 12:30pm slot. Then we all can go together
I just called but no one picks up the phone lei. Try later.

haha, Ladies, read this "The number of nighttime trips may be greater if your baby is particularly active at night." fr the web Mogudog sends

Ladies, i'll be going to tmc this Thur to pay for my class fees... let me know if anyone need me to help them pay or reserve too ")

ladies...
the thread is moving real fast! can't catch up!!!

been following the msgs...

i realised i feel nauseous whenever my bb feels hungry...do you all experience the same thing?

TF,

Seems like the quote u got from Cordlife quite ex leh. Coz i recommend my friend to Stem Cord and they quote her about $800 for the processing fee and the kit. Annual fee is fix $250(w/o GST) yearly.
As for me, I paid $1300 (if i remember correctly), as my gynae charge fee for cord blood collection. I know some gynae wont charge xtra fee for the collection, then it wud be cheaper.

For the process, i cant comment as i'm c-sec. But according to the stemcord ppl, is painless as your gynae will cut the umbilical cord which connect ur bb and you. Not sure how many cm they cut for the collection lah, but i'm quite sure is painless. My friend on norm birth told me she dont even know her gynae actually collected the blood oledi.

hi ladies, just realised i hate loud music . Just now got a collegue from another dept blast her radio and play those rock music. And i felt headache immediately. Irritating as well.
Not sure if it was due to pregnancy. But i do realised this problem oso when i'm hving my 1st pregnancy.
Anyone share the same feeling.

roxy, tera, I just called ParentCraft, seems that there is no 12:30pm slot for Sat, only Sun classes. Are you attending the Sun class ?

TF, I reseve the Sat 22 March 2-4pm class.

Felicia

Thanks. The expensive part is on the enrolment fee issit? I will find out abt Stem Cord. Shd I take Stem Cord, I'll let u knw so u get the referral discount.

Oh dear, I haven't called to book yet. Going to call now. So Mog is Sat Mar 22 class and Roxy is also 22 Mar, but different time? OK, update after my call.

TF,
Ya, i think tats the expensive part. So if u r taking Stem Cord, let me know so i can get discount. hehe.....
Btw, if you are refer by me, you can get $50 off from their annual storage fee as well.

re: anenatal classes
Actually attending in march just nice(maybe excl those EDD due early June) as you may forget lots of details by the time bb is out if you go too early..

re:stemcord
Some gynaes, like mine, tie up with stemcord.. and hence cost cheaper..I did not sign up for cord blood banking when I haf my ger after reseaching on cord blood..initially wanted to donate my ger's cord blood to help others but Glen E did not have the facilities then.. This time, I may wanna sign up as I am stopping at 2, at least can have something to fall back for the siblings and family..still thinking

can read more on cord blood banking here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/240293.html?1151652308
and
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/411182.html

Felicia

Thanks. The expensive part is on the enrolment fee issit? I will find out abt Stem Cord. Shd I take Stem Cord, I'll let u knw so u get the referral discount.

Felicia

Sorry, double posting. Ya, I read abt the $50. Anyway, gd to let u hv since i knw no one who is in Stem Cord anyway. Rather than waste it. Let me discuss wif hubby first.

Tera

No wonder the phone engage for last few minutes. U were wif Nelly? Ya, I just booked mine too at 2-4pm, by Mrs Wong. Hey, I can come n fetch u on days if i head fr Bedok for the Education if u nt driving.

Mogudog, looking forward to c u.
Roxy, hope to see u too.

Thanks TF! So sweet of you.
This is great, can meet up with u and Mog. Roxy, hopefully u same class as us, or can change to same as ours?

ladies, any tips on reducing MS in my 16th week ??
still very uncomfortable in the mornings and sometimes thruout the day

this is getting to me, feeling very depressed, and that my colleagues dont understand !!!

re stem cell collection : there is a public bank which you can donate to - i think it's free, but there's no guarantee that u'd find a match in future. But that's something to consider in addition to the 2 private companies that provide the service.

Government blood bank :-
for whom are interested to donate to blood bank.
Below are the information :-
Dear Felicia

Thank you for your interest and support for the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

We are pleased that you and your husband are interested to come forward as cord blood donors. Our list of participating hospitals are:-

1) East Shore Hospital (ESH)
2) KK Women’s & Children’s Hospital (KKH)
3) Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)
4) Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)
5) Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)
6) National University Hospital (NUH)
7) Raffles Hospital (RH)
8) Singapore General Hospital (SGH)
9) Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)

You may also wish to express your intention for donation to your attending doctor, as the cord blood after the delivery of your baby will be collected by your OG.

The Singapore Cord Blood Bank is a public bank initiated by Singapore Health Services (SingHealth), the National Health Care Group (NHG), the Children's Cancer Foundation, Club Rainbow (Singapore) and other charitable donations. We do not charge for the collection and processing of donated cord blood units, however, not all cord blood units can be stored due to our stringent storage criteria. The donated cord blood unit is also not reserved for the specific family or individual's usage. Our standards are based on international public cord blood banking protocols where the highest and strictest standards are used, as these units are made available to the individual requiring a life-saving stem cell transplant. As such not all collected cord blood units would meet these stringent criteria.

We have also strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants. Our consents from mother and family are obtained from the 32nd week of gestation and before admission to the hospital for delivery. The process could take 45 mins – 1 hour, inclusive of a detailed and sensitive medical history questionnaire. This questionnaire includes lifestyle, sexual history and family medical history of both baby's mother and father. The process would be required to done in a quiet area, away from the public to ensure confidentiality for yourself and your family. We are also unable to conduct home visits due to the sensitivity of donation. We have also addressed your questions indicated in blue below.

If there are any other queries or need for clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our coordinators at 6394-5012 for an appointment or you may wish to provide us with your contact for us to contact you.

Best regards,
Charlene Han
Manager - Collections & Marketing
SINGAPORE CORD BLOOD BANK
c/o KK Women's & Children's Hospital
100 Bukit Timah Road, Women's Tower Basement 1,
Unit 0B60A, Singapore 229899
DID: (65) 6394-5017 Fax: (65) 6394-5013

Hi K Ong, did your gynae prescribe you any medication for vomitting ? Does that well ? Perhaps drinking some lemon honey will curb the naueous ?

Additional info on the Blood bank donation :
1)Storage kit and form
The Consent Form and the Medical History Questionnaire should be completed with our SCBB Coordinator after 32 weeks of gestation. The appointment can be arranged by calling our hotline at 6394 5011. This process must be completed before you go into labour.

The SCBB's cord blood collection kits are already at each participating hospital, as such, it does not need to be sent or collected by you or your family.

2)Any xtra gynae fee for collection?
This is between the patient and your OG. Thus, we encourage you to discuss this with your OG. The Singapore Cord Blood Bank do not reward the people involved in the collection process monetarily. This should be an altruistic act by all involved in the process.

3)as a donor, will we be in the priority list if one of the day we need to had cord blood tranfusion?
We do not reserve any cord blood unit for the child or a specific family’s usage. If the donated cord blood unit meets the criteria for banking, and is still in SCBB at that time, the unit would be made available for the patient who would benefit most from it, this could be the donor or another recipient. Research has shown that there is an extremely low probability that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failure.

The CBU will be released based on the following:-
1. CBU met SCBB’s stringent banking criteria, and was banked
2. CBU available in SCBB at the time of request
3. CBU is to be used and/or released to the donor upon advice of the Transplant Physician.

Upon meeting the above three criteria, the CBU will be released to the donor for FREE upon direction of the transplant physician if he/she feels that it is the unit most beneficial to the donor.

Above are my email correspond between the Blood bank ppl and me. Hope above clear your doubt on the donation choice.

Hi Felicia,
Thanks! Finally, SCBB has extended to private hospitals. During my ger's time, I wanna donate also cannot..If I am not storing my no.2 cord blood, will donate it out rather than throw it away...

piyo,

i was thinking to donate oso, tats why i wrote to SCBB for enquiry. As my 1st ger i had it keep in private sector , Stemcord, therefore thinking for 2nd one i wud donate.
Btw, i'll need to discuss with my gynae 1st before i decide on it.

Felicia,

How much do u pay stemcord?

babycupid,

I know sat need to pay extra $10. I went once before. No choice since can save my MC/leave.

felicia,
I am thinking of storing this time as I am thinking of keeping at least 1of the siblings' cord blood.. and we can use the baby bonus account if we store the 2nd kid cord blood for both the admin, processing and annual fees..But if we are finally not storing, then will definately donate

ZuEn,
You still around? I just rem that you had mentioned yest that your gynae will take a look at the scan and call you today. Has she called you yet? Just wondering how come it was the nurse who called you. Hang in there ok? You will be getting the amnio results soon, in 1-2 days time. So till you get it, nothing's concrete yet.

Ellysia,

Processing fee and gynae fee plus etc is about $1300. Then annually is $250 (all w/o GST). But as i mentioned in earlier post, different gynae will had different gynae fee. My ex-gynae charge me $500 for the collection leh. So is better u get the quote from stemcord. They'll quote you based on your gynae.

Piyo,
oic. Me had the same opinion as you. At least keep 1 of the siblings's cord blood.

felicia,

yes i also hate loud music. Tat day hb on radio too loud, i also cannot take it.

TF,

The website didn't say how much their confinement menu cost. Do u know how much it cost?

K Ong, me same as you, will feel uncomfortable and cannot eat much. Sometimes even after light meals will not feel good. I completely dun feel like eating anything. Mealtimes are my headache time. Also, sometimes after some meals (especially lunch) I will get headache for the whole afternoon. I can only stomach western food best.

Like you, my mgr does not understand why I dun feel like eating lunch as he thought the MS only lingers during first trimester. I hate this pregnancy.

TF,

I went toilet once in middle of night sometimes. But if i dun drink 2 hrs before sleep, usu won't need to go toilet.

piyoz,

I have problem of sleeping normally, i am not the type who can sleep v fast and wake v fast type. I dunno how to bf during confinement at nite leh.. then if dun bf at nite, milk supply will decrease one.

Ellysia
I hvnt enquire on the Menu one. I only went thru the Herb Package. U can call them, they r very friendly.

Tat's very gd loh to go toilet only once, or nt even if u dun drink near sleep.