(2008/06) June 2008

morraine,
nothing in particular, jus wanna bring her to look at the lighting. An i had been telling her since many weeks ago, so i felt quite guilty keep break my promise.

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

oic.. but if its raining den its a bit difficult to move around wor.. moreover today is fri so its going to be packed..</font>

morraine,
gam sia!

Ellysia,
2kg is good enuf, you need to gif allowance for the last lap where some of us may boom very fast... i am hoping for as little wt gain as possible else later very dif to lose...

Tera

Go ahead n add... more merrier.. nw talking to Morraine in msn n trying to catch up in this forum too...keke.. too talkative..haha

<font color="ff6000">ha ha ya lor.. chat here not enuff.. still chatting at msn!!

ok ladies.. i got to log off to prepare to head home too.. take care everyone and walk slowly coz raining now

it's raining at my side as well.

morraine,
what time do you knock off?

girls,
any plans for weekend? shopping? hehe. i have got a wedding dinner tmr, morning got the tea ceremony. sighz, cannot sleep late. :p

ellysia and juliet,
if your hubbies are quite tall, then most likely your boys should be too. I have 2 frens whose sons are born 1 week apart and their height difference is quite great (they are 2.5YO now) and correlates with their daddy's height. :p my gynae commented that my baby is quite long, it was 10.2cm at start of 17th week. Then again, they grow in spurts. So could be a temporary thing, guess will only know at birth bah.

have a good weekend all!

Zuen
Dun worry please. Will keep you and bb in our prayers. Remember, above all else place your trust in Him and everything will be fine. He will take care of everything for us. Keep praying Psalm over your baby "We were fearfully and wonderfully made in Jesus's name in the womb" Pray for baby to be fearfully and wonderfully formed. And also Deutueromy (not sure spelling) "Blessed is the fruit of our womb" Baby will be fine!!

ZuEn
I understand how you feel as I went thru such situation before. EVERYTHING WILL BE OK, so dun worry too much. There are 2 alternative on tests. 1) You can get the result within 3 days (more exp) 2) Results in a week.

The nurses will not reveal so much as they are not in the position to advise you. Your gynae will give you the advise you needed. Hang in there, God Bless!

piyo(secret garden),

Actually i dun really bother until my MIL commented that i looks slimer and my mum also said i slim down so i worried.

Ellysia,

U gain 2Kg liao ah? I haven gain any leh..Wonder izzit becoz nt eating enuff..?? Me nw 18+ wks liao..

2 wks ago, went for regular checkup..bb at 9.9cm..Then my tummy like nt obvious..My colleague say tummy shld b more obvious nw..

Any other MTBs haven gain wt oso??

zuen, dun worry first, listen to what your gynae has to say.

twinky,
me also havent gained weight.. hehee but tummy big big

ellysia, u better call tmc again.. coz only left sunday slots for feb 20th class ... march 20th class still very empty.. i signed up for mar 20 class though reluctant coz by then already 7mths plus liao... if only can get feb class haiz

ZuEn,
hows ur checkup? Just got to read ur posts now...Hope everything is getting on well =D..

Ellysia,
Wow, ur bb so cute hor...good lor, at least now u know ur bb is a mickey and can start buying clothe sliao..envy leh, i hv to wait for another 2wks =(...

All,
Can I add u all in my msn also? ;p...

Twinky,
I put on 4KG liao =(

Hi gers,
Picked up the test results from the doc last night. The triple test ratio shows 1:277. According to doc, that kind of ratio should belong to somebody aged 34-35. So, it is indication of down syndrome and spinal defects. At our request, doc scanned the bb yday and he said that there appeared to be no visible spine defects thru' the scan. Bb seems to be developing well.

The clinic will be scheduling me for amnio test on either next mon or tue. It is an invasive test with 90+% accuracy. However, it oso carries a small risk of miscarriage due to complications. The doc will also do a detail scan on the spine during teh amnio test. I will be given 3 days MC after the test. My doc says that the amnio test results will take 12-14 days!!! -.o" Looks like I will have many sleepless nights to come.

After hearing the news, I actually do feel a little better. Maybe it is bcos the worse stage passed liao. Numb liao, no tears liao. But there will be alot of worrying to do in the coming 2 weeks.

Havent told our parents yet. No point having them worrying for me. I think we will only tell them after the test bah.

Had been praying for protection from miscarriage and good results. It things dun turn out well, then oso bo bian. Have to think and ask and decide wat we want to do with the bb. Havent tink so far yet.
This morning, when I was touching my tummy, I feel so she bu de if I have to let go. I was telling hb last night that I havent even felt bb moved.. Haiz..

Hi Zuen,
Continue to stay postive! I strongly believe you will hear good news for the amnio test.Did you ask your gynae if you can get the amino results faster? I undertand my friend paid a bit more to get it within 1-2days.. that will help ease the period of worry?

Hi Zuen
I know it will be diff not to worry, but try to keep the worst situation out of your mind. Law of attraction, only think of the best beautiful things and that will attract these things to happen to you.
Zu En is God's Grace. And I believe He will bless you and baby.

Morning ladies..

ZuEn,
*pat pat on ur shoulder*...I hv a fren who went for the amino test, turns out her result was gd, bb was ok, and she even got to know her bb's gender at e moment...So pls stay +ve ya, bb needs u to be strong now...Jiayou...

I agreed with piyo, mayb u can ask e gyane whether u can take e results earlier so that u dun hv to worry for so many days...

Morraine,
By the time u told me is raining ,i had gone home. Anyhow, we still go down, lucky it din rain but to our dissappointment, all the lighting had been tore down. So my ger only able to see the lighting on the building.

Then last nite i had leg cramp maybe due to too much walkin. We parked our car at Plaza Sin, then take mrt to orchard mrt and walk from there, shop around Taka and walk bak to Plaza Sin. Maybe tats too much for my leg. My poor leg...

Roxy/Ellysia,
Can i know what kind of class are you 2 talking about? Pre-natal course?

ZuEn,
Be positive! Dont worry so much. I believe it'll turn out to be fine!

ZuEn,
I will continue to pray for you that you clear the amnio test and bb remains strong. You, hubby and bb have come this far so jia you and stay positive ok? And yah, see if can get results faster. I have read before that results can be obtained earlier, saves you the agony of waiting. *BIG HUG*

Zuen,
i have a frend who went for the amino test too.. the results turn out no pro at all.. so you must be in positively thinking! we will pray for you while results out yet... don't worry so much! eat well rest well....

Thanks gers, sob, sob, I am so touched.

I have been scheduled to go for the amnio test on Monday afternoon. The nurse said that the venue has been fully booked, so have to turn up at 2pm to Q. Detailed scan will be done at the same time as the The Q-ing and scan will take an entire afternoon. Hopefully, they wun tell me (after waiting for the entire day), that there are no slots available.

Piyo, feifei,
I oso asked the nurse if there's possibility of taking the results back earlier. I dun mind paying more $$ lor. But the nurse says that the fluid will be used to cultivate duno wat that is used for testing, so the earliest will be 10 days. If the cultivation failed, then they have to re-cultivate. So the longest = 3 weeks. -.o"

zuen, try not to worry so much, i know it's hard to control but need to be strong. share with u my exp: my 1st pregnancy gynae also detect got abnormality marker, i went for 2nd opinon and the gynae say no need amino unless i cannot sleep. thruout whole pregnancy worry, but end up normal bb.

Luz,
Abnormal marker was detected for both down syndrome and spinal defects. If really something wrong with the bb, then have to think carefully about wat we want to do liao.
We have decided to go for the amnio test to know for sure if there's anything wrong and we will make an informed choice from there.
My doc oso never give us a choice leh. He only say that I fall in the category that the risk is increasing (for my age) or something like that and the next step is to do an amnio test to find out for sure.
He made it sound like it is another draw blood test. But of course he did mention about the possibility of misscariiage and stuff lah.

Sob, sob, I really regret not opting for OSCAR.

Not thinking that far now. Just want to go for the test and get it done and over, then wait for results..

Zuen
Yes, amino test will lead to some possibility of miscarriage. Bcos gynae need to scan ur tummy to locate ur bb and then insert a long needle to enter ur waterbag to withdraw the amino. As such, it is very very impt for you to have bed rest and walk less during the 3 days MC.

As I mention before, my ratio was 1:181 at the age of 22! Imgaine the risk was SO HIGH for me. I was pregnant with #1 on 2001 and during that time there was no such thing as OSCAR. OSCAR was intro on 2004 (if nt wrong). So dun blame urself for nt opting OSCAR bcos no test are 100% accurate. Amino test has the higher chance of accuracy.

If you afraid to have sleepless nite for so long, myabe you can ask ur gynae does they offer to receive the result within 3 days. I was given the option for result within a week or 3 days. But of cos, the cost is much more higher for receiving result within 3 days.

Just stay calm, go for the test and the result will be negative!

Yes I agree with BabyJo... till now my hubby is still not supporting OSCAR test or triple test I've only been to blood tests.. and necessary scan because he knows i'm the paranoid type.. that's Y he said, all will be well since we've both been thru full body check up before marriage and since I have been following him travelling thru and fro from his hometown, he engaged a gynae at his hometown just in case and one in JB as well. He said these precaution serve well once emergencies arises. So Zuen, stay positive and keep your mood up and well is the best mentality we can have now. Take care...

Hi ZuEn, I agree with all the mummies, most impt is to stay positive
I pray for you too. Worrying too much no good for the baby also, try to talk to baby and tell baby how much you love him/her.

Zuen.. dun worry.. Im sure everything will be fine. Could also be like triple test, they give alot of false positive coz the tests are too stringent in their requirements. Alot of mummies get not so good results on oscar but ammio turn out perfectly fine and you can get to find out your baby's gender too. But please take more care of yourself after the ammio... stay positiv!!
Will pray for u...

hi felicia
Yes, we are discussing the pre-natal classes... seems like fully booked liao

ellysia,
my case same as u.. my bb is facing down.. cant see his face too.. but he was stretch straight with legs bend.. kekeke.. quite long.. 17wks - 12cm..

Hi gers,
Morning..
Feeling numb about the test tomolo.. it feels like another test now. However, the anxiety should grow as time goes by. Hb is busy with work, so I will be gg for the test on my own tomolo.

Roxy,
Thanks for the thread. I realised that all were talking about Down Syndrome. In my case, abnormal marker detected was also for spinal defects. Anybody noes anything about that?

Babyjo,
Is there a name for the test to get faster results? The nurse that I spoke to, kept insisting that there is none and I have to wait a horrible 10 to 21 days!! From you and the thread that Roxy has provided, it seems that results can be out in a shorter time..

Sparks,
Our families have no history of ds and spinal defects too (or not that I noe of). However, triple test results still not good. We decided to go ahead with the amnio test bcos we want to be better equiped with information to make the "right" choice. Dun want to end up regretting in the future.

Re: MC
I think I will be given at least 2 days MC after the test (including tomolo). So I shall be here chatting with you gers on Tue.
Cant really afford to take MC now. Peak period at work. Hope that my boss will be understanding. I am trying to finish some work this morning.. Initially tot that I can go back to work asap, that's why I opt to go for the test tomolo afternoon, so that I can still go back on Mon morning and hopefully back at work on Wed. However, it seems like must take bed rest during the MC. Faint..

Hi Zuen
Our best wishes will be with you. Stay positive!!

Some notes I got from a book.

Spinal defects is also called spina bifida. It is due to a defective closure of the vertebal column (our backbone). It is serious in that it may leads to neurological disorders compatible with prolonged life. Severe cases are associated with total paralysis and very often found in association with hydrocephalus (water in brain).
When seen on ultrasound, it appears as a defect or a break in the spine with a bulging sac containing the nerves protruding out of the spine.

---------------------------------------------

You mentioned the gynae says on ultrasound cannot see any spinal defects yah? So dun worry. baby Zu En will be fine.

Hi ZuEn
I'm from may 2008 thread... i did my amnio at tmc and paid extra $200 to get the express results on the 3rd day. Where are you doing the amnio?
Before the amnio, there will also be a detailed scan to check for any spinal defects. Btw if you've been taking folic acid regularly before pregnancy, the risk should lessen.
Good luck for the results...

Linda,
Thanks, I read up alittle from the web too. Just that all mummies (who have problem with oscar/ triple test result) seem to have abnormal marker only on ds and nobody mention anything about spinal defects. So I was wondering if anybody has abnormal marker on spinal defects can tell me more. Ya, the doc did say that based on wat he has seen so far, the spine looks okie. He will do a detail scan on Mon as well. Now I am starting to feel the butterflies. -.o" Afterall, normal scans cant picked up alot of things..

Hi Sugar,
Okie, I will check with my clinic if that express results thingy is possible with more $$. I seriously dun mind paying more lor. Imagine having to wait 10 days to 3 weeks for the results!!
I am taking the amnio test on Mon. Told to go down and Q at 2pm cos the facilities are fully booked now. I only started folic acid after getting a +ve on the pregnancy kit. Had been taking faithfully but of course would have missed on several occasions. Now, I am wondering if the folic acid that I have taken is sufficient. Haiz..
Btw, your abnormal marker was detected only for ds?

roxy,
oic. I tot the class can only be register by those oledi 20weeks preggie?

Btw, anyone whom will deliver at TMC join the hospital tour? How is it?
And can someone advise me if we want to upgrade from 2person per room to one person per room, how much we shld pay xtra?

roxy,

Tats v strange. How come we call up 1 mth ago and they said have to wait for people to fill up?? Dun tell me the people got mix up?

We can't get through.. maybe tmr will call. Hopefully can attend the feb class cos March is really v late.

Zuen,

Actually whether got for Oscar or not is the same.. cos if Oscar results is not ideal, still have to take Amio test. And worst, have to worry for some time before can take Amio (as only can take at 20 weeks or someting like tat). Though got 1% of miscarrage, most guides i read said tat the chance is actually v low.

Felicia,

I intend to only go for hospital tour in feb or march, cos it be nearer to EDD and can have a better memory which ward to choose. Gynae will ask on 3rd trim beg to confirm the ward u want.

The course can be pre-booked before 20 weeks and u attend after 20 weeks. Heard tat it is popular but i dunno why hb get a strange message from Parentcraft that we be on waiting list, but to-date they have not called up.

Ellysia,

So for the tour, we had to register with TMC directly or thru gynae?

And i heard fr my friend, we can booked lactation consultant at TMC as well. Any idea wat is the fee and what was this consultation include in? My 1st delivery was not in TMC so was quite blur on TMC services.

Ellysia,
Just lamenting cos i understand that OSCAR has higher accuracy %. Triple test is only 70% accurate.. I think.. But I do noe that if OSCAR results not ideal, then have to wait for the amnio test to be conducted later in the pregnancy or do a CVS with higher risk.

Ya, i hope so too. I am more worried about the test results. Especially the part on the spinal defects cos nobody seems to noe alot about it.. When people talked about abnormal marker, they always refer to DS.

Starting to get butterflies le. Must find things to keep myself busy for tomolo afternoon. I think it will be an agonising wait.. I oso blur, blur now, duno wat will happen tomolo. Hb not gg with me. I wonder how I should react if doc do detail scan and give me bad results on the spot.. -.o"