(2008/06) June 2008

zuen - dun worry too much yet...triple test less accurate...almost all the cases i know, end up is false alarm..bb come out healthy healthy...

Felicia,
June then hv a motherhood fair? Oh dear, it will be too late as most of us will be in confinement also ...hmm...how abt e bb fair at taka?

Hi Zuen,
Not to worry at all. In my first pregnancy, the gynae herself called me and said that my test show high risk, asking me if I want to do a further testing like ammino to confirm. That time I am really stunned! Finally upon discussion with my hubby, I decided to go for the ammino test which also contain some risk. While waiting for the result (takes few weeks), it was really a great torture for me. Cannot eat and sleep well. End up the result is false positive *sigh..*

Ask all MTB here..
I know most of u go for oscar test. Is it after going for Oscar test, u can skip the triple test???

<font color="ff6000">juliet~

tat is wat my fren say tats y ended up i walk bac to EYS to buy.. coz all along i bot from EYS but tot can try out LHK..

and yesh wat pkdust said is rite.. coz the level of accuracy for tests like OSCAR and triple tests are onli 60 to 65% onli.. need amino fluid to further confirm one.. and usually second tests results are -ve</font>

Zuen
I also had high risk for my triple blood test for #1. End up crying and can't sleep also. My ratio was 1:181. I couldn't believe it as I was 22 yrs old onli. Afterwhich, I decided to take ammino test and waited for a week. Turn out the result is negative and at the same time the gender was confirmed

HI felicia and Linda,
Do you buy your milk from carrefour or Jusco in malaysia or any stores in malaysia??

Hi Ellysia and morraine,
That time when I was preparing to switch my ge to FM, I ask Mrs Wong how to do it. She told me cannot switch asap esp for bbies who have taken TBF for quite long... told me to 1st start with 1/4 FM 3/4 EBM then slowly up to 50-50 then 75-25 then totally convert to FM.. like that bb won't reject FM.. I followed her mtd and it works very well for my ger

Hi Pkdust,
My gynae explained that the Oscar test is abt 90% accurate while triple test is abt 75% accurate... so I opt for both oscar test for this bb and my ger.. My gynae dun call it oscar, more of FT Nuchal scanning and blood test but think they meant the same..

I used to have outbreak ard chin area too.. the facial lady told me this means I haf problems with my dijestive system...

Hi Zuen,
See what the doc says tonight but stay positive.. I have a friend who has high numbers for the test ended up doing amino test and result came out that bb is normal!

Babyjo,
The nurse refused to reveal much.. She did say somthing about ratio of 1:277 or something.. Do you noe wat should be normal?

Now I really regret not taking OSCAR. Cant work now. Surfing net on triple test..

ZuEn
Low risk should be ard thousand (if i remember correctly). 1:277 meaning 1 DS case in 277 pregnancies. My risk profile is higher than urs 1 DS case in 181 pregnancies. Dun worry so much. Discuss with your hb whether to go for ammino test. Your gynae will aso ask you.

I remembered my gynae did ask me tt time, if the result turn out to be positive do i still wanna keep the baby. If my answer is yes, then he said is not neccessary to do the ammino test. This is bcos regardless what is the result, I still want to keep the baby. Unless I dun want to keep it with a positive result, then the test deem neccessary for me. But he did tell me that most case the result is negative despite the risk profile is high for the triple blood test

Dear mummies and MTBs, I am from the Nov'07 thread, and am letting go my Medela PIS advanced breast pump (backpack style that comes with cooler box and 4 storage bottles) purchased on 11 Nov '07. As I have already given up breastfeeding, want to let go at $450, and giving away the following.

1> Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream (37g)
2> Medela breastmilk bags - 150ml (19pcs)
3> Pigeon breastmilk bags - 160ml (18pcs)

~~~~~~~~~~~

Before I purchased the Medela PIS, I had gotten a manual Medela Harmony pump too. Also letting go at $40 - barely used a few times, in very good condition.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any enquiries/keen buyers, pls PM me. Thanks.

Bless you all.

zuen...
relax...dun worry too much.. your gynae would be able to give you the best advice...dun wonder now as it will affect you and bb...ok?

feifei,
taka fair, i think saw some mummies here said it'll be march oso. Exactly which date i'm not too sure.

ZuEn,
Dont worry so much. Everything will be fine.

zuen, dun worry too much...see wad yr gynae says first and agree dat test results are not 100% accurate so dun scare yourself.

on mixing of BF to FM, it is possible as i know some mummies do that. Also if you are switching from "A" brand FM to "B" brand FM, you need to mix them up initially as well....like 75% old FM to 25% new FM, then 50% each, then 75% new FM to 25% old FM and finally 100% new FM. So it is also ok to mix FM if you are switching brands.

For TBF to BM, actually supposed to do it gradually oso but I did not do so for my #1....I just give her 100% FM and cos I still got BM, then sometimes i will latch her on but I will drag the duration of each latch on so as to reduce my milk supply...luckily my girl didnt reject FM and she was ok with both BM and FM.

juliet08, thanks for the info.
So all MTBs here have cleared the OSCAR test?

Zuen..we should have gone for the OSCAR test instead. Seems like less false positive.

<font color="ff6000">pkdust~

i did not go for any triple test nor OSCAR test coz my #1 i oso did not go for the test, my gynae say given my age group is very low risk but if wanna do oso can but i decided not to.. *dun ask me y* ha ha</font>

morraine, me at 1st tot of not doing any tests also cos in low risk grp....but then still a bit kiaxi, so went to do oscar....

Hi Mumz.

No time to blog tis morning...busi as a bee at work..

I oso didnt take the oscar test leh..my 1st boy oso didnt take..i tot taking test like tis worries me more..i don wanto stress..the BB is God's gift so hv to accept watever he/she is lor..
Now canot wait for Monday to come..though i hate Mondays..hehehe
cos got my 16wks check up...kekek
wah seems like everione goin for detail scan except me

<font color="ff6000">juliet~

ha ha for me is since already so 'daring' in first pregnancy so be brave oso this round lor..

nur atiqah~

true.. bb is God's gift of love to us
dun worry on detail scan coz mine is in feb so mine shld be last in the thread coz my gynae always schedule us to do during week 22 weeks or so..</font>

Felicia,
U stock up so much? YOu mena JB carrefour promo even cheaper lor?

PKdust and tinyfeet,
Blood test takes about 1-3working days? I took oscar at 12 weeks, later called up clinic checked as normally results ok they will inform you during your next visit.. I kiasi, can't wait so call and asked about the ratios..

its better take oscar test and detail scan... its quite risk if nvr went for test and think abt our small bb life too...lol

I just came back from hugging toilet again
wasted my pizza lunch!

Morraine,
No lah...Think I will be the last to do all tests, scans and popped cos my edd is the last in the thread:p

<font color="ff6000">liew~

i think its very individual coz some ppl knew the results oso wil decide to keep the baby so mite as well dun check and make urself happy thruout the 9 months

piyo~

ha ha but last in the thread mite not be last to deliver wor....
i must talk to bb tat ask him to come out after june.. 1st june oso can.. as long as june nia.. </font>

morraine,
i agreed with u.. but to me, if anything wrong result for them... i will decide to give up my bb. that the why, i must do every oscar scan, blood test or detail scan.

morraine - think i also took the test to mentally prepare myself in case bb got any medical downs...won't give up bb but at least help us to mentally prepare...

Nur,
i think Dr Ang hvnt talked to you about details scan. He oso just briefly saying after my next check up i'll ned to go TMC for detail scan, so till now hvnt know when is my detail scan date. I really feel like paying him an unschedule visit but thinking of the long hr waiting time, i decided not to liao.

Morraine/ Piyo,
Me hvnt got detail scan schedule, so most probably is will be in feb as well.
As for the milk powder, not sure about oth brand, my ger is having progress gold now. When newborn is S26 Gold. Sure cheaper at msia. As far as i know most of the time carrefour price is cheaper loh. I brought from diff carrefour branch, not neccessary at JB.

morraine,
i been thru every scan and test liao... no more worry for all that... next week its my turn for detail scan. shd be last test ba... ^Q^

<font color="ff6000">liew~

ha ha yesh last one!! tat one is for u to confirm ur gender test i always think! haha</font>

morraine,
last scan was told by my gynae my bb its princess (90%)!! same as my dreamland too... will bring along her grandmum to see her next week... ^Q^

<font color="ff6000">*cool* wah so sleepy already.. no mood to work though work is piling up..

p/s: ware do u all work? just being curious

Been too bz today till now, to post anything and as usual, this thread is flying.

ZuEn,
Just want to say hang in there. Things may not be be as bad as you imagine esp since the nurse wasn't v clear and she's not in professional position to advise. Keep us posted. *Hugz*

Tinyfeet,
The results came back 1 week later.

MTBs,
I am leaving office. My apptm is at 6pm. I will only noe what is wrong and the doc will advise wat is the next course of action. I believe he should suggest an invasive test. I havent tot about wat to do if things turn out abnormal, but I dun think we will keep the bb.
Hopefully they can do watever tests tomolo. Then have to wait for another week for the results.

If there are any Christians MTBs here, do keep me in prayer ya.

morraine,
you mean as in location or actual company?
anyway, i'm working at millenia tower, in a US bank (not hard to guess :p), doing IT stuff.

how about yourself?

Teragram,
Thanks. The answer wun be good. That's why the nurse dun want to say much and insist that I see the doc tonight.

Feeling messy now.. cant clear my tots since I got the answer. Haiz..

<font color="ff6000">zuen~

do take care &amp; rest well over the weekends

we will all pray hard for u.. dun worry.. stay strong for ur bb and urself and let God do the rest for u

teragram~

guess most of us cannot say out the co's name here but location shld be fine
im pretty near u as im in raffles place

I am back from gynae checkup, 18+ weeks check up. bb is in a crouching position, head down, and doing funny actions with his hands and legs. Double confirm that he is a mickey cos the 'stick' is more obvious now. Also can see his spine clearly, thigh legs, hands etc. Only can't see face cos he is hiding his face.

I purposely took sweet before going in, so bb is moving around

Gynae say my current sugar content is a bit high but judging from past checkup not so alarming yet. Check my weight and i only gain 2KG since pregnancy! But gynae say is normal weight gain and bb is in a healthy size (11cm).

Also checked with gynae and confirm royal jelly can take but not too much due to sugar content.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

so u disappeared to go for check up!
great to hear all is well for ur little mickey!!

juliet~

yeah yeah i work in RP and stay at JW.. how abt u? u stay at east? </font>

I bo bian, force to do blood test, OSCAR n detailed scan cos i'm in the age 35 high risk. When my hubby 1st heard abt it fr gynae abt such tests, he sian already. Lucky test all pass so far, whn see my hubby so stress. Did the blood n OSCAR test in morning and by aftn gynae call to inform result. Tat's where the OSCAR detected Mickey.

Going for my detailed on 21st.

Morraine, me no work place....SAHM... quit to join hubby in Indon to get pregnant n cum back...haha

morraine - me stay in jw too....the ext side..me n cynthia same blk somemore! hahaha...
eh, u work RP, next time can lunch tog la...my ex firm in RP too...