(2008/06) June 2008

ZuEn,

Truthfully I also haven't been taking milk due to lack of lactose.

And i didn't swallow all vits daily, sometimes i forget.

Bird nest i also agar agar, but since it also help in my own complexion, hee i tink can take lor.

I do drink soya bean milk but not v often. I love milo so has been drinking when i have the craving. But i also drink coke bec' i love coke always have the craving.

To cut down on unnecessary fats, I tink the best way is to skip 1)fatty food, 2)reduce tidbits intake, 3)Eat when hungry but not due to cravings

Luz,

To combat hunger, i took more meat than carbo. It help to combat hunger longer.

linda wow $18 diff per tin, really a lot ley! later i must tell my hb liao. hahaa can jump to the railway station go JB buy. it's a 3 minute walk from my home.. haha kidding :p

moarrine, yeahloh QAIN IQ brand ex ley..hubby got suggest change to a cheaper brand, but i dun feel like it, dunno y.. bcos got the mentality QAIN IQ is better, some more consumed inside, no like diaper external use. your #1 really milk lover too hor. 2 years old still drink alot. my #1 also drink 240ml every 3 hours hehee

milk powder brand has to be careful lor..

Last time when i am small, my mum dunno let me drink the milk powder tat is later ban due to toxic. Dunno got any detrimental effects but i am a bit gong gong when young hee.

<font color="ff6000">zuen~

no worries
im just oso relating how im oso coping mah.. to let u noe.. u are definitely not alone out here
whenever u feel bad den u jus think.. ah morr oso doing the same to her bb!! haha

luz~

yeah for us oso wil not change la.. coz started from similac den continue liaoz.. dun wanna change to create problem oso.. den tat day hubby ask me.. #2 oso similac? den i replied.. shld be lor.. but if can den ah morr's bm better wahahaha.. my #1 arh.. haiz.. ya lor dunno is love milk or just wanna drink like wat some ppl say.. 'ni-gian'

ellysia~

ha ha u so cute!! say urself gong gong when young.. maybe its gong gong guni-hoon? hahaha</font>

Luz,
Same here, plus Gain IQ no palm oil! I still continue my ger with Gain.. but super ex, 1mth ss will cost me $100plus? If bf last time, it's free!

zuen - me also dun like tonic...i try to siam all the way, but the bird's nest is ganna cornered by my mom..so bo bian lor..since buy liao must eat mah..else wasted...other than that, am still on lots of junkie! :p

ellysia,
yup me also same with piyo 1 month of GAIN IQ supply is $100++... i started with similac stage 1 for my #1. that time DS is small so dun drink so much plus i 30%BF 70%FM so the milk powder supply is cheaper about $60 per month.
last time the formula milk not so advanced, i believed i also drink gong gong guni-hoon, that's y i started talking late hahaa

morraine,
actually got drink milk is good ley, i felt milk got a lot of nutrients. hehee if your #1 got eat, but dun drink milk i sure u will start headache and worry too haha ;)

juilet,
dun waste bird nest ley, expensive and it's really good stuff. u still taking a lot of junk and chips? hehee i got advise for u ley, must cut down, bcos junk got a lot of salt if not will get the water retention later. that happened to me before, so i try to control with my chips intake :D my hb also reminded me of my pig leg and feet during my #1.

<font color="ff6000">luz~

yeah i oso heard from others therefore when she wants we just give lor.. coz we onli scared she just ate proper meal den drink 240ml will be too full or not den later indigestion but seems like she ok leh den always finish til last drop therefore give lor..

juliet~

yeah yeah must listen to luz must drink more water and cut down on salt intake to prevent water retention!! *IMPT*</font>

luz - me 1st tri eat chips like siao...now i dun hv craving n kinda eek eating chips n fast food...only thing i still eat now is long john lor...but hor, i like salty food leh...so think still high on salt intake...

morraine,
yup if she's happy and no vomit (bcos vomit could be a sign of overfed and indigestion) then i think no problem. whenever hb see my DS finished the last drop of 240ml, hb got a happy and satifised look on his face. i guessed hb must have been thinking "good boy, never waste milk (never waste daddy's $) hahaha faint

juilet,
me also luv salty food, but must control ah. tok from experience, bcos i kenna it liao, now i try to be more careful. later swollen feet also got problem to fit into your shoes, end up hv to wear crocs. although water retention is not painful but feel numb sometimes. see the pig leg also sad

morraine - me now got try to take more warm water...that day go EYS, the guy say dun drink cold water...but me 1st tri until now took a lot of cold water n juices...so to make up, i keep drinking warm water now...:p

Hi Piyo
Like many mummies out there, I really thot abt buying Msia milk for a LONG time, I went to compare the nutrients individually down to the nearest percentage. And even called Abott regarding this. All they can say is that the milk source is the same either from Denmark or Sweden, just packed in diff country. And diff countries have diff nutrient standards. I also discovered very minimal diff in the sodium, potassium %. But I read on internet that that kind of diff doesnt matter. Some are concerned over the hygiene standard of msian packing... but hey, Singapore's prima deli aos got food poisoning mah. It happens anywhere lah. And Abott Malaysia also has an office there, its own factory, so to protect its international name, sure will keep standards up one. And honestly, msian babies also drinking msian milk mah. Having said all, it was still a barrier tt a mum has to overcome. My girl been drinking Msia milk for coming 2 years? Ok leh, still love milk as before.

Hi Luz
I stay in woodlands too.
But I get my ex colleagues to buy from their home towns' provision stores for me. As I go back to old office to collect once a mth? One can they buy is RM67. I tried buying at Carrefour or Jusco but up to RM75 at times leh. I see no point in paying for the difference lor.

Hi Morraine
hehehe... My hb also asked, then #2 on "bear milk" also ah? (he doesnt know the brand lah, he just know the bear...hahaha)I say yah lah, unless he doesnt like lor. But this round, I think i will start him immediately on Msia similac lor...start saving earlier. hahaha

<font color="ff6000">luz~

normal parent's reaction!! hahaha

juliet~

yeah lor den he say birds nest oso best taken when warm den no cold drinks and grapes / oranges / bananas den i look at hubby.. ha ha coz i have been drinking coke religously!!

linda~

ha ha ha yeah the bear bear milk or zoe's milk my maid calls it.. ha ha ha.. aiya this time at hospital rem to take more glass bottles of the milk bac lor.. my #1 time we brought bac quite a few bottles.. ha ha SAVINGS!! the nurse very cute.. kip saying take take take..</font>

Last time my brother drink milk powder, my mum also give me and i was around pri 5/sec school. End up i get fat but also i grow tall shoot up v fast. My waist is 30 inch lor. But after schooling, i have since slim down to avg 27-28. And maybe thanks to the milk powder, i have a tall ht of close to 170cm.

linda,
hehee i stay at Cantonment near the Tanjong Pagar railyway, dat's y i say can take train to go JB hehee woodlands is my parents' home.
your hb say bear milk so funniiii ley hahaaaa
i hope to go for total BF if possible since i not working mah, more convenience to BF bb than working mum. i hope i dun fail this time again :D i will try my best.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

got pros and cons lor hee.. but my kids arh.. fated to be short la.. me and hubby both short genes so how to expect both of them to be tall.. DIFFICULT!!!

judging from the Gain IQ consumers here.. i think quite a few of us here give Similac Infant to our babies

morraine,

Hard to say nowadays kids all eat fast food and all taller than parents one. My dad is 170cm tall, same ht as me. my mum as short as 150cm. But my bro is 180cm tall.

erm ok shall pray hard and see.. i dun mind my ger to be average at least 160cm la.. but my boy i hope taller la.. dun be like the daddy onli 173cm!!</font>

luz,

U full time at home really no excuse not to bf lor.. hee.

I heard that when we want to stop bf, we can start giving formula milk mix with breastmilk, so tat bb can adapt to formula. Is it fine to mix them?

morraine,

gals 160-170cm is just fine. Above 170 cm will have headache to find hb next time.

Boys i tink best is 180cm. In fact nowadays all v tall 185cm also possible.

ellysia... err, I duno need to cook for how long.. coz my MIL cook one... heeee

Linda, thanks for explanation of the "worms" no wonder they look so much like worms!! Yes, must buy from reputable ones. And i also heard abt the white fungus (bai mu er) cook with red dates and bai guo is very good for skin... cheaper alternative than bird's nest. Me been eating this once a week too...

zuen and babycupid.. hi five! Me also put on 6.5kg liao haha.. this morning tried on a tight Mng tee, nearly fainted, super tight fat arms, round waist (actually no more waist left) tink better stick to loose fitting clothes. Dun worry so much abt eating junk food or not.. my gynae always say satisfy ur craving! I also eat Mac once a week heeee

im not sure if its fine to mix BM and FM but wat i noe which my frens did was alternate the feed as in one feed FM den one feed BM
but i noe for sure FM diff brands better dun mix

true true.. gers short never mind.. petite mah! but boys too short.. aiyo.. hard to find daughter in law for me in future arh!!

milk bottle got glass one meh?? tot all plastic ones?

i did hear before tat if breastfeeding moms shld use NUK teats as the teats resembles our nipples best.. though i bo breastfeed la but i have been using NUK bottles and teats for my #1 since day one coz they claim its oso able to control colic</font>

roxy,

OIC shucks i forget cook how long liao.

Yr mil cook with wat items? Chicken?

Me still have waistline, not fat when look from front but when look from sideway is fat.

ellysia,

before i stop bf, right from the start i already alterate b/w bm and fm since my bm supply not enough. so if my current supply is not enough for a single feed session, i give fm. if my ebm collects enough for a single feed session, then i give bm

ellysia, my MIL cooked with lean pork and gou ju zi. But can also cook with chicken, but since i got slight cough, she change to pork...

Btw, for those MTBs wanting to book TMC anenatal class, please do so asap. I just called TMC and seems they are only left with Sun slots for weekend. And class starts 20th Jan... Mrs Wong class all fully booked... sob sob

Ellysia,
Oops, I just popped M&amp;M chocolates..

Juliet,
Ya, my mum always tell me that my SIL and niece love bird nest. Thus, she cannot fathom my dislike for such expensive and difficult to prepare stuff. I can hardly put the jelly like substance into my mouth. The other time, my mum cooked and gave me half a container. I took a few mouthful, then force my hb to eat. That was during the 1st trimester. I expect my mum to cook more for me now. Luckily I never go home for dinner recently and my mum busy with niece #2.

Roxy,
I already started to ignore some of my pre-preggy clothes, didnt even bother to look at them when deciding wat to wear in the morning. The other day, I tried to wear a tank top beneath another pc and look exactly like a dumpling with only the tank top on. I quickly put on a 2nd layer to prevent my hb from seeing a walkiing dumpling. ;p
Although the tummy is beginning to grow, I still think I look fat and not pregnant, especially when I am in normal clothes.

Re: tummy
Is your tummy hard or soft huh? Mine still abit soft, soft, so I think it belongs to me and not my bb. My colleague in week 20 and her tummy hard, hard de.

zuen,
i feel my tummy and it's not soft ley. mine also hard. me 15th weeks liao one glance can tell preggy not fat. you 1st time mum? got diff too.

zuen and luz...
Me now 18weeks liao.. tummy also soft soft de... can see a little bump bump but appears more fat than pregnant .... wondering where the little one is hiding.. i also first time mum like zuen

morainne - haha..same here...my mum n hb threw me the dagger look!

zuen - i dun mind the bird's nest, but i dun like the paosheng taste...coz my mum got add paosheng mah..me not a tonic person, dun like all these de...such a torture to eat all these! :p

RE: Birdnest

I started after 1 trimester and taking the Lo Hong Ka Birdnest. I zoomed into this brand cos I can't believe when i witness my friend daughter's skin so fair n smooth. Both parents are dark skin, n 1st son too. She only consume on her 2nd pregnancy. So the 1st son is as dark as father but daughter very fair.

Each bot cost more than signing for 3 bots. Total price for 3 bots is $420.80 (aft GST n 5% disc), ie $140.26. Each bot weighs 350gm n contains purely the cooked bird nest w/o any liquids. So I'm not sure EYS, when you mentioned concentrate, does it have liquids?

Altho' i paid for 3 bots, i can collect 1 bot to consume n only when finished, then i would go n collect my next bot. All i nd is to scoop a teaspoon full n drop in warm water to soak n drink.

I usu take the bird nest every morning before breakfast tho was advice to take both morning b4 meal n night empty b4 slp. Cos in nite, i will drink Anmum, so nt empty stomach leh.

Lo Hong Ka has membership disc (cant rem 10% or 20%) for subsequent purchase. So I dun mind if any of you nd to ride on the disc when cos the first purchase only 5%.

RE: Double Boil n Slow Cooker

I understand that tonic food, esp. very expensive ones like cordycep, birdnest, abalone, etc..., it's gd to use the double boil method to retain the nutrients within contained jar. When we do normal boiling, the nutrients may have evaporate if nt double boil. Also in double boil, always put the ingredients below, then put the meat on top. So the meat does nt absorb the gd value of the tonic.

Slow cooker: For slow cooker, just bear in mind that it makes the food more heaty cos the heat has been contain in the crock pot for hours.

Does anyone got any outbreak problem. It occur around the jaw and chin area of my face. Really ugly!! I run out of acne cream. Anyone got recommendations of which cream is effective and safe for pregnant ladies?

Ellysia,
yes from sun moon lake. I brought it before i'm preggie, try to take but the smell i cant tahan.

Piyo,
milk powder from msia shldnt had any problem. My ger now is 22mths, all her milk powder i brought fr msia oso.

in fact if you had car, then maybe u can drive to msia monthly to purchase the milk powder. Can save a lot.

A Sensitive Issue
Should women avoid consuming peanuts during pregnancy?

Q. I read an article in the Nov' 06 issue of M&amp;B on children allergies. In it there was a mention that to reduce the risk of allergy, we should avoid consuming peanuts during pregnancy. Does this include peanut butter? I am concerned as ever since I got pregnant, I started eating more peanut butter sandwiches. Before my pregnancy, I hardly had any peanut butter. Will this increase the risk of my newborn being an allergic baby?
Adeline Soon, via e-mail

A. Allergic reaction in human is not so simple, unfortunately. Not taking peanuts will not prevent one from having an allergic or sensitive reaction. The reason for allergies is not known. Certainly, if the you or family have allergic reaction, there is a higher chance that your child will have it. In simple terms, one way to find out about peanuts causing allergic reaction is to divide pregnant mothers into two groups with one given peanuts and one without and to follow up the children subsequently. However, no one will want to subject themselves or their kids as "guinea pigs", and we will never really have an answer. The message then will be - "don't worry about the peanuts that you have taken. If you are concerned, then stop taking peanuts from now."

Dr Christopher Chong is a Consultant Obstetrician and Urogynaecologist at Gleneagles Medical Centre.

Prep Your Body for Baby
Get fit in your 2nd Trimester

Sumo squats
Pregnant women can definitely benefit from those deep squats that sumo wrestlers love doing. “Squatting is a fantastic thing to start practicing in the second trimester, as it strengthens your lower back, thighs and bum and is a particularly useful labour position,” enthuses Sam. However, caution is needed, as with any form of exercise during pregnancy. “If you have symphysis publis dysfunction (a pregnancy condition that causes pelvic pain), certain squatting positions will not be possible,” warns Sam. You may need to check with your doctor to see if they can recommend you other positions instead.

Mummy Massage
A mum-to-be massage may take the aches from your back and your feet, and it’ll help you unwind in the process. You can also get your partner involve, if you’d prefer to get a massage in the comfort of your own home. Apart from creating intimacy, it is also a good way to teach him a few techniques that may come in handy during labour. Mother &amp; Baby nurse, Michelle Lyne, says that a perineum massage is also recommended after 28 weeks, to help it become more flexible for birth and to reduce tearing. Here’s how to do it: wash your hands, run a little unscented oil into them, insert two fingers into your vagina then pull gently down and outwards. You should feel a slight tingling, but not pain.

Now you know what you can do in your second trimester to ease labour, there are also things you can do in your first and third trimester. Read more.

my tummy always hard hard de.. 1st pregnancy tat time oso same.. hard hard like rock de

TF~

yeah i heard abt LHK's bird nest.. coz i asked abt it tat day at Jurong Point.. but did not try oso coz noone i knew took their birds nest before.. ellysia.. LHK is the brand i mixed up with ZTP

Dear MTBs,
I just got my triple test &amp; blood test results. Something is wrong, I think high risk and oso something about the spinal cord. My iron is oso on the low side. The nurse refused to reveal more over the phone. Ask me to see doc tonight. I am stoning now..

Morraine

Hee.. I actually bgt when at Jurg Point. But arrange to transfer to Parkway for future collection since i'm in East. There should be around 6-7 pcs of birdnest make into a bottle. So i tot aft comparing to the nt cooked ones, this is more reasonable n convenient still.

relax~ maybe the nurse did not wanna reveal much as she is not sure on wat to say oso coz she is not a gynae mah.. dun worry.. tests are not 100% accurate so if really necessary, gynae will advise for other tests to verify.. dun worry so much now coz no good for both u and ur baby *keep cool*

TF~

no wonder.. hee</font>

ZuEn

I knw hw you feel. Just relax until u see the doc. I once witness a colleague of mine tat was so down n cried in office whn her test didn't make it. We comforted her tat she shd get 2nd opinion, etc.. and later found the test was wrong. So stay positive irregardless of the outcome, miracles do happen when you have faith n smile.

morraine - my mum n sis used to buy LHK bird's nest...but now they buy from EYS...think they say EYS one better...my mum say hock hua not as good also..

Ellysia
I pump my bm into feeding bottles then keep inside the fridge. My kit are washed, dry and sealed it inside the ziplock bag for later use. Hope this clarify ur doubts.

Birdnest
I bot mine from Fu hua. They are hving promotion for A grade birdnest. "San liang FOC yi liang" Heard from them that all the herbs gg to increase price again. Even the red dates too