(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">iamsnow~

so xin fu!!

felicia~

not very sure but i read before tat best is to start eating in 2nd tri onwards coz tat is oso the time when the bb wil start to absorb onli</font>

can i know the benefit of cordyceps for preggie lady? My husband is eating it as recomended by my mom. But he taken it as capsule type. We ask the chinese medicinal hall to make it into powder form and combine with 'pao sheng' and put it into capsule. Dont ned to boil, too much hassle.

iamsnow,

Not sure i have never been to such sales.

crystal,

U can consider to just get a normal temp job, no need yr specialisation. Maybe a clerk or receptionst, better than no job.

roxy,

cordyceps is not worm also not plant. So dun tink of it as worm when eating shd be fine.

I had bot 1 packet at home, haven't eaten any yet.

I heard eat cordyceps, bb can grow v big. So i am considering to only take later this mth.

Rem dun take tonics when u are sick, bec it may worsen the sickness. tat include bird nest.

felicia,

I ask medical hall to grind to powder but they told me if grind to powder the effect may be weaker and some people if cannot absorb powder well may have detrimental results instead.

for bird nest, i also take those bottled ones from ZTP. MIL also bot me some bottled ones from Long Biao, cos i said i dunno how to boil bird nest.

<font color="ff6000">iamsnow~

hee.. yeah she and MIL does alternately lor den in between i take those concentrated ones from EYS.. i haven tried ZTP before leh.. its oso nice? </font>

iamsnow,
taka baby fair normally in mar and there wil be 1or2 baby fairs within the next few mths too..

re: steriliser
better dun get too early, can get about apr time else wait warranty runs out... mine is pigeon, have been using it till now, quite good

morraine,
I not sure abt the bottled ones coz I've never tried before. but they have been discussing abt bird nest some time ago and ZTP seems to be selling the best bird nest at a reasonable price...

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

i compared the price about the same wor.. as in ZTP is 350g per bottle is $147 den EYS i buy is those concentrated but individual bottled ones is now having 20% promo is $70+ for 6 bottles so about there wor..

iamsnow~

orh coz tat day i was buying stocks for birds nest den was contemplating on trying ZTP.. but gave up and went bac to EYS again</font>

morraine, ellysia,
how big are the bottles for ZTP and EYS? are they like those Brand's ones? cos I have never eaten those from such bottles b4... both the brands are concentrated ones?

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

the ZTP ones are big bottled 350g concentrated ones which u use tablespoon to eat each time, not sure if they have the smaller individual bottled ones for concentrated ones but for EYS they have like those Brand's size ones for concentrated and one small bottle is about 30 grams each time meaning more den one tablespoon dosage and EYS have those non-concentrated ones oso</font>

morraine,
so those 6bottles EYS concentrated but individual ones that you mentioned are about Brand's size, so can open and drink 1 bottle each time? like easier?

Hello, sorry to kpo here but really want to ask the mummies who have one boy and one gal – do you experience different pregnancy symptoms for different gender? Because I have a boy boy now and am expecting a 2nd one. I have pretty much the same symptoms, so everyone told me it’s probably another boy. Is that true? Just really curious.

Oh…and also I think it’s best not to get a 2nd hand electric pump unless it’s still in the warranty period. My friend passed me her Ameda pump and it died after two months. I spent money to repair it, then it died again. In the end I had to buy a new one, so end up spend even more money!

i seldom take bottle birdnest, most of the time i'll boil it loh. I brought it from ZTP and they give me free ZTP bottle birdnest. Hvnt try. Still at my office desk. Coz so far bottled one i only take brand.

<font color="ff6000">iamsnow &amp; piyo~

wah i ma chiam the salesgirl working in EYS and ZTP leh wahahahha..

yesh i bot those individually bottled concentrated ones from EYS so size is like brands essence one so open up den drink den throw

those big bottled concentrated ones from EYS can keep for 2 weeks but best consumed within 1 week recommended by the sales staff den for ZTP one is can keep for 3 weeks and all must be refrigerated

lizzy~

for me my #1 is a ger, no ms den #2 is a boy, ms like mad!!!! for me the difference is huge!</font>

re bird's nest, the guy at EYS says it's better to buy dry ones n boil it yourself...coz those bottled ones no matter what, had gone thru' high temp processing which makes the bird's nest lose some nutrients during the making of...

now EYS got 20% off on those dry bird's nest...

morraine,

er for wat i seen, EYS has the same big concentrated bottle as ZTP, roughly same size leh. Maybe u spot the wrong bottle size at ZTP?

Anyway tat time i bot at ZTP got promotion buy 5 get 1 free i tink. So its cheaper in that sense. But each bottle is $70 normal price, whereas EYS sell $80 for the same size.

but the ZTP one is wat the ger brought out from her fridge leh.. the size is 350g ones... hmmm.. now no promo just tat buy 2 bottles or something den get member i think den get discount.. EYS now having 20% sales so those bigger concentrated bottled ones are $60+ after discount unless u go for hua yan which is higher quality birds nest which is 70+ after disc..

juliet~

coz for me i dunno how to boil myself therefore i dun wanna risk wasting the birds nest oso after my own cooking 'talent' ha ha ha</font>

~when to start buying baby items?~
mummies, i feel for items with warranties (breasts pump, sterlizer) can start to buy during last trimester. buy too early the warranty is wasted. u never know sometimes can really get unlucky and if still under warranty, no need to fork out cash for repair.
then for those items without warranty one (clothings, cot, bathtub, infant carseat) can start to buy during 2nd trimester liao. if everything leave to last minute i.e. 3rd trimester is very tiring. i remember my last pregnancy my legs and feet were swollen (water retention) backache that i was too tired to go shopping. luckily i bought almost all the stuff in my 2nd trimester liao. i was so tired that i dun feel like going to work and i took 3 weeks maternity leave ahead to rest. most mummies would not bear to take the precious maternity leave ahead first bcos they prefer to be with bb longer before returning to work. but for me, i was so tired that i really go ahead to take early maternity leave hehee

~bird nest~
horray my ms seems to subside at 15w. i am very very happy! can start to take bird nest too liao
anyone got suggestion which shop to buy those bird nest (not bottled one). i wish to start cooking it to consume liao. thks :D

The ZTP concentrated one i took, i usu consumed within 1 week although it can be kept longer in fridge. Every night just take a few big spoonful and put back to fridge. No need to put in fridge if didn't open. Once open put in fridge.

Its v concentrated inside all full of bird nest and the water content is not sweet so i tink v little sugar, not like those small bottle brands with v sugary water inside.

Long Biao concentrated bottle i tried when ILs are buying for me, it taste the same as ZTP ones.

I have bad complexion during 1st trim, after eating bird nest at 12th week, complexion improve.

For dry bird nest bot to cook yrself, u have to ensure that it is cleaned properly if not may caused allegy and have to be cooked properly also.

Maybe dry bird nest nutrients can be lower but i rather take the bottled ones bec' i am not confident i can cook them properly.

morraine,

The ZTP concentrated bottles i bot is not from fridge. It is display at shelf. I bot at AMK hub ZTP. It is roughly same size as EYS size, not v big.

For those 2nd time mummies,

can share which are the bigger cost items?

Is it cot, stroller, milk powder, diapers, milk bottles, steriliser, pump? Did i miss out anything?

How many milk bottles u bot and is it v costly in terms of bulk?

muffin... yes cordyceps is dong chong cao... my MIL bought it for me and not sure where she bought it from.. best to buy from reputable shops coz heard those China ones might have higher lead content in them and heard price is going up soon, so better buy now... Now prices range abt $400 - $700 plus 1 liang depending on quality i guess... then u boil with either lean pork or chicken, recommended is to eat e cordyceps down as well as drinking the soup but maybe u see liao, u will be so turned off by the earthworm looking tingys :p

morraine, i been taking bird's nest too.. those concentrated ztp ones... $73 per bottle, buy 5 get 1 free.. each bottle is 250gm. 1 teaspoon in morning and 1 at nite...i didnt buy those with pao sheng, coz ginseng not so good for pregnant woman

ellysia.. u are right..i been very sick past few weeks with green phlegm that is why held back on eating tonics.. but my MIL went to ask medical hall, the person says sick lagi should eat more to bu body then illness can recover... hee also makes sense hor.. but to play safe only ydae then i had first taste of cordyceps..

hmmm.. but i bo see wrongly wor.. she open fridge to take for me to see wor.. strange..

roxyz &amp; ellysia~

wah i think i got the brands wrongly leh!! its not ZTP im talking abt.. its another brand!! its Lo Hong Ka from HK wahahahahha

no wonder the pricing and all so diff!!</font>

luz,

i tink all medicial halls have dried bird nest. EYS, ZTP, Long Biao, Yu Hua etc. Long Biao is reputed for bird nest i tink.

piyo(secret garden)

I took before i went to sleep. tink tat is the best time.

Morraine,

Maybe that one is a bigger bottle type. Could be they have different size ones.

Did the sales gal told u have to put in fridge always? Cos mine if didn't open, no need to put in fridge one.

piyo(secret garden)

I only intend to latch for 1st mth, later will use milk bottles. Cos dun want bb to be too sticky then will be hard later when go to work.

morraine, i think it's v. easy leh..
my mum jus prepared for me, she jus throw in 1 pc of bird's nest, some rock sugar (n u can put a bit of paosheng or red dates) n just add about 1.5 cup of water...let it sit for about an hour b4 putting it to boil under small fire for 1.5 to 2 hrs...

morraine,
I like the idea of small concentrated bottles... drink already throw...then again my mum mayb making for me..so dunno wanna buy not.. how often you all eat? everyday????

hi ellysia,
share share info about your question. of cos every mummies got their own preference in branding and which to splurge or save ;-)
top 5 biggest single ticket item
1)breast pump $799
2)stroller $399
3)infant car set ~$340
4)baby cot $199
5)playpen $159 (i bought only much later when DS starts to crawl, actually it's optional since got cot liao)

milk bottles i bought 125ml around 10 bcos i wanted convenience of no need to wash so many times in a day. but if u are not lazy like me, wash everytime, no need to get so much hehe avent one not very expensive, can get during sales

Long Biao got which outlets huh? I stay at Tanjong Pagar area, lazy to travel far far hehee

for those mummies taking concentrated bird nest, do not put the bird nest bottle at the fridge door. As we tend to keep opening the fridge door, the changing temperature at the door will had some bad effect on the bird nest we put at the door.

For me i'll boiled the bird nest for about one week consumption, and split it into small bottle or container and keep in fridge. Then everyday i can just take one bottle to drink.

roxy,

I forget how many hrs shd cook the cordyceps. Is it 2 hrs?? shucks the sales auntie told me, i forget liao.

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

i heard before best is consumed before u sleep den eat already den slp immediately.. the EYS the one im taking coz its the small concentrated bottled ones so they recommended me to eat 3 times per week but its all up to individual.. u wanna eat daily oso can.. but coz my MIL and mum oso makes for me over the weekends so i eat 3 times myself

juliet~

i see my mum prepare oso very easy but me really no talent in cooking

ellysia~

the one she showed me is must keep in fridge one</font>

piyo...the EYS guy says it's best to consume it jus b4 u go to bed w/ an empty stomach..n after taking it, dun talk...coz once u start talking, it breaks the "qi" or watever...that's y last time pple wake up in the middle of the nite to eat bird's nest...

luz,

OIC. Thks for yr info!

I am considering wat items to buy w/o waiting for sale and wat items to buy during march/april sales.

Intend to start buying in Feb bec' not sure march onwards have energy to buy or not. Intend to order cot in Feb (deliver in March).

Steriliser and pump most likely i buy in May, but will reckee the brand and model first then will buy last min. At least spot the brand and model, if cannot buy at tat time can still get hb to buy for me.

juliet08,
u mean ur mom let the bird nest plus rock sugar soak together for an hour before boil??
Coz normally we will soak the bird nest for an hour to 2 hr for it to expand before we put it into a mug to boil. Some ppl will boil it at slow cooker. Then when is almost done, only we added in rock sugar.

<font color="ff6000">juliet~

wahahah how come wat the salesperson in EYS told u oso similar to the one who told me oso leh..exact words!!!!

ellysia~

orh.. no wonder la.. confusion

ellysia,
cot, stroller, steriliser, pump - Reuse
milk powder - try to breast-feed
milk bottles - need about 2
diapers - buy cheap ones for 1st 3 weeks

HTHs.