(2008/06) June 2008

Linda
VPOST depend on the weight of the product, are you buying fragile insurance etc. Once you registered with VPOST, there is a calculator for you to estimated the charges. For Ameda is abt 10 pounds, Medela if i remember correctly is abt 4 to 5kg.

babyjo,

Do u pump milk straight to the feeding bottles?

Wash the kit after pumping - u mean the pump right?

So u seal up the kit and all milk bottles and all store in office fridge?

My office has a mummy corner with special fridge for bf (but at another storey). But i am not v sure how this works at office.

Btw i do agree with u safer not to use 2nd hand pump cos of hygiene reason.

Talking abt Sterilizer, is it necessary to get the machine or just hot water sterilize ok? Any reason? Also any brand to recommend?

Ellysia
Hehehe, of cos pump milk straight into the bottles then where else?

Yes, wash the pump. Dry with a clean cloth (i brought from home) then seal it. I bot the medela PIS advanced backpack so I was given a milk holder bag with a freezing cube. So i will put my EBM into the bag then throw the whole bag into the fridge.

Medela PIS advanced is really a gd pump but is quite heavy to carry to and fro.

BabyJo

I understand the 2 phrase pumping n let down mode in Medela. But wat does Ameda dual hygiene tech means? What function exactly?

Hope this helps
==============================================

Ameda's Closed Accessory System

A tremendously important feature of ALL the Ameda Purely Yours breast pump models, including the CarryAll breast pump is it's closed accessory system. (FYI: Ameda refers to it's accessory kits as a "Hygienikit".) Ameda's Hygienikit features a patented silicone diaphragm that many of the most popular breast pumps on the market today do NOT have.

The CarryALL breast pump comes with Ameda's Double Hygienikit. The Hygienikit contains all the accessories you need to single or double pump with the Purely Yours pump motor - including their patented silicone diaphragms. The closed accessory system is an essential that all mother's should be looking for in breast pumps today - regardless of what brands they are considering.

The Importance Of A Closed Accessory System
===========================================
A very important factor this is commonly overlooked is the issue of breast milk purity and breast pump hygiene. These two topics go hand in hand.

Breastmilk can be contaminated at several points in the pumping, collection, transfering, storage or administration process. There are reports in literature of babies becoming ill or even dying as a result of contaminated breast milk. This has been traced to contamination of the milk through contaminated equipment, poor handling by health care providers or poor hand hygiene on the part of healthcare providers or mothers.

Pump tubing exposed to aerosols of milk or water can become contaminated with bacteria or mold growth. Therefore, it is important to have the appropriate diaphragm or filter device in place when the pump is in use.

We have worked with mother's and their babies for years and consider the issue of closed system a very real issue and we want to do everything we can to educate our clients about their choices of breast pumps and what is best based on fact and expert opinion - not marketing hype

Information on Medela PIS Advanced
===================================
A Little Bit About This model

The Medela Pump In Style Advanced models have been out for a few years now and are very popular among breastfeeding mothers. Medela markets them as an even better version of their Original Pump In Style breastpump because of the 2 Phase Expression Technology. The development of the Advanced Shoulderbag and Backpack models incorporated this new technology and some other suggestions from pumping mothers. Below we'll discuss the design enhancements.

2 Phase Pumping

Breastfeeding specialists all over the world will agree that duplicating your own baby's nursing pattern is important to effective and productive pumping. It's been our experience that mother's need to be able to customize their pumping experience from the minute they turn their breast pump on until they collect the last drop of their precious breastmilk.

With an Advanced breastpump, there are 2 phase of pumping. The first phase is known as the let-down phase. During the let-down phase, the breastpump pumps at a very rapid speed but at a low vacuum level. During this phase, a mother has no control over vacuum or speed. Once th 1st phase is over (after 2 minutes or when the pumping mother overrides it using the let-down button) the pump goes to the 2nd phase of pumping known as the expression phase. It is during the 2nd phase of pumping that a mother can adjust speed and vacuum levels for her own comfort. What concerns us is the inability for a pumping mother to adjust the pump during the first phase of pumping.

We actually prefer the Original Pump In Style model over the Advanced models as it is less expensive AND it offers more pumping control for the mother using the pump at all times. A mother can simply start pumping at a fast pace and low vacuum and when her milk lets down slow down the pace and increase the vacuum.

Last but not least, the Advanced Pump in Style Shoulderbag and Backpack models have had and continue to have numerous faceplate issues. Medela has redesigned the faceplate 4 times since the Advanced was introduced. Early on the faceplate would not stay secure. The compromised vacuum seal resulted in mothers experiencing a partial or total loss of suction. In addition to not staying securely in place, the faceplate may crack around the holes where tubing is inserted - again, causing a loss of vacuum either partially or completely. The faceplate may also crack in other areas as well. Any cracks can contribute to lack of functionality.

WARNING ABOUT ALL PUMP IN STYLE MODELS: An issue with all the Medela Pump In Style models - regardless of which one...is the power cord. It has a heavy square "block" style plug that fits into the elctrical outlet. The cord that extends from there is very thin (fine). Many mothers find that they need to replace the power cord once, twice or even more over the life of the pump. DO NOT PULL ON THE CORD to unplug the pump or you'll go through power cords OFTEN. Tripping over it while it is plugged in is also another very common reason the cord may need to be replaced. Pets, particularly cats LOVE the power cord so be careful leaving it laying around - especially plugged in to the outlet.

Babyjo,
Congrats. I bet you must be smiling from ear to ear the entire afternoon.
My gynae say that he cant see anything when I went for my 16th week scan. Aiyoh.. I dreamt that I have a handsome mickey yday, hehe. I think I think too much liao, even night time oso dreaming about it.

Pk,
I oso went for triple test instead of OSCAR bcos gynae advised so. I did regret a little but already crossed the window period for OSCAR. My triple test and blood test results should be out tomorrow. Seriously, I am feeling a little anxious over the results. I oso read about the higher chances of false +ve via triple test, but too late to back out liao.

Beside Robinson, where can we purchase Ameda pump? I think i'll wait till delivery before decide to buy the pump or not.
So, i had to survey on the place to purchase, then when needed can ask my hubby to buy.

Linda,
For my 1st bb, i'm lucky for 2 weeks only as my mil is taking care of the bb during nite. But the following 2 weeks i'm doin confinement myself, tat was a suffer.
This time i'll be more 'hardworking', so wil take care of my newborn as i plan to BF.

hey, i am new to this thread. my due date will be 11 june.

anyone who has started shopping for the little mouse? i am rather lost on what to buy first and what items should wait...

TinyFeet
Have to be informative, if not alot of gd things we won't know.

Felicia
You can buy from Moms in mind, mumsfairy or oversea webby (posted earlier but no warranty and need to purchase converter)

Morning Everyone!
Is Friday! hurray!!!!

BabyJo,
Thanks. Well, i wont buy from oversea as i plan to buy only when i'm sure i can 'produce' enuf milk. hahaha..... So it'll be a last mins thingy, must buy from shop direct.

Morning Felicia,
You are so early.

I dun think I can trust my hb to buy breast pump for me. He will probably end up buying back some pump but not wat I wanted. Haha. He sure object if I ask him to do so.

Babyjo,
You have done your research huh..
I am getting nowhere. Pump doesnt interest me now. Looks like I will have a hard time when pumps finally catch my attention. -.o"

Wendy,
Welcome..

RE: Weight gain
I put on another 0.5kg.. Strange.. I havent been eating very well recently wor. Do we still put on weight naturally in the 2nd & 3rd trimester despite not eating much? I have already gain 5.5kg and only in my 17th week. -.o"

ZuEn,
U r early too. Yup, my hubby had the same prob as ur hubby.I think man are like that. But i'll bring him to the shop and show him the pump and take the picture, make sure he wont buy the wrong type, else i'll kill him. hahaha.....
So, in total u had gain 5.5kg? Me still -ve leh. My collegues said i seem to lose weight though the tummy is showing. Hopefully my bb is getting all the nutrient. I'm not eating well oso, not much appetite compare to my 1st pregnancy.

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
Talkign abt pumps, me tinking abt the Ameda pump...but seems its the most expensive de hor...

Felicia,
Morning...

Wendy,
Me only bot those unisex items like white mittens and booties,white or yellow rompers =)...Bot some avent milk bottles and teats...

babyJo,
Wow...u really bery resourceful leh...keke =D..
Congrats on ur bb's gender =D.

feifei,
morning! Me just bak to office after my breakfast. Now feel very full.
So, u had started buying bb's things. For me, i din had to buy much as most of the items will be from my 1st ger. So, last week at Metro, saw Avent got 20% disc, so brought some milk bottles only. Btw, there'll be a babycare fair in March. So u can wait till then to purchase oth items.

feifei,

I tink medela pump is more ex than Ameda one. Medela brand i heard that only the PIS series is good but it cost $700 locally whereas Ameda cost $300plus if i am not wrong.

babyjo,

Sorry just to clarify. After pumping, you wash the pump and put in sealed bag. Then the milk bottles u also put in sealed bag. So u put the milk in the fridge but keep your kit back in your cubicle right?

felicia,

The March bb fair is taka one is it? Where u read the news from? Confirm got bb fair in March? Then we may as well wait until march to buy

I am also buying pump at the v last min, maybe near EDD so the warranty can be more lasting.

Cot, bathtub, pram I may buy at last feb or march. Maybe i reserve the milk bottles and other stuff and bot at bb fair. Hope by then not too big to move around and shop.

hi MTBssssss,

i went gynae last nite for checkup... so so happy cos i'm going to have a minnie mouse. Hopefully this minnie will not be very tough like her brother

morning ladies!

i saw in the straits times that robinson having some promo on bb items. I saw a breast pump. but did not take note what brand. I know it's not avent.... can take a look to see if it suits u....

Ellysia,
Yes is confirm. If i remember correctly the fair is on 21st - 23rd March 08. I subscription Motherhood & Mother & baby magazine. Cant remember which magazine stated this info.

zuen,
kekeke.. i gained total of 7kgs.. nw in my 18wk.. my appetite reduced in my 2nd trim too.. but still gained 2.3kgs.. dun understand y.. haiz..

I see. I will most likely be in my 8th mth by then.. shd be 31 weeks by then.

Hmm dunno want to wait until then or to buy earlier.

breast pump.
Got a friend is using medela mini single pump, she told me is very noisy and last week ,the pump bit malfunction, then is ok again. So she was trying to get the pump to the warranty centre to get an xchange. According to her, the warranty is 1 year and her friend got a new set when the pump motor spoilt within a yr.

Anyone know the warranty period of Ameda?

I dunno how much wt i gain yet, cos dun have scale at home.

Later at gynae there, see how much is the wt.
Tink shd have gain cos i ate more recently. I used to eat macdonlds macnuggets meal now i must add in 1 packet of chicken wings too.

<font color="ff6000">TF~

im using Avent steriliser since my #1 time till now.. its good and user friendly

ladies~

i forsee sure have sales &amp; fairs coming up here and tare and if u buy things so early now.. u have space to store or not? and oso end up collecting dust? especially things with warranty.. buy later better

p/s: jsut my personal view

Felicia,

Same, 1 year warranty. I understand Medela mini single pump is not v good. Only their PIS series is ok.

Btw do we need to buy any separate dish strainer to dry the milk bottles separately from our plates?

I dunno got space in my kitchen or not, i tink i need to keep away some appliances to make space, like v messy in my kitchen now.

Morning gals TGIF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Congrats Babyjo..Ur wish came true. Seems like more mickeys here than minnies.

Zuen, dun worry, Im sure your results will be good. God will take care of our little ones and rest all your worries on Him

Gals, yesterday had my first taste of cordyceps cooked with lean pork. Need to eat the cordyceps, forced myself to eat coz it looks exactly like brown earthworms!! Eeeks.. I kept thinking Im a participant on Fear factor haha Luckily it tastes ok once you get over the graphic misgivings... but this morning, I woke up feeling more heaty, wondering could it be due to the cordyceps or I xin li zhou yong...

Good morning ladies,

To all of the ladies contemplating on buying electronic goods like steriliser or pumps now. My advice is that its too early. Most of these items have warranty of abt 1 year. So from now till you give birth, you would have wasted 6 months of warranty. And never think that these items will not spoil, my avent sterilser 'died' on me within 12 months. As I kiasu and bought earlier, the warranty expired and I was told that no service is available and I was told to buy a replacement.

morraine,

Yup precisely my hb also dun want to buy too early, he say collect dust not v good.

But yet another worry is if wait too long, dun have the strength to squeeze through crowd to buy things also.

I met a colleague in her 3rd trim (her EDD is feb), she ored have prob walking.. walk v slow liao. I cannot imagine how to go sales with so big tummy by then.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

for me i bot one bottle drainer from kiddy palace, very cheap only and can be used to drain away the water after washing the bottles

roxy~

GOSH!!! u dare to eat it arh!! BRAVE ger!!</font>

oh ya, just reminded me abt the warranty. true, better not to buy too early. else the warranty will be wasted.... but i wonder if there will be sales in may....

Maybe the pump and steriliser can wait until March sale then buy.. shd be cheaper during sales.

Milk bottles if buy in bulk can also buy during sales i guess.

I am considering to buy cot at kiddy palace bec' ored spotted some v nice ones. Bathtub also saw nice one at kiddy palace too.

As for stroller, the ones at kiddy palace not so ideal, only spotted one quite ok.. still considering.

iamsnow,

Got sale in March right.. felicia said magazine got mention.

I tink buy in March just nice.
Cos April and May can be quite close liao.

ellysia,
any idea if the sales is good? i believe it will be very crowded. if the sales is only so so, then I don't think i want to squeeze into the crowd....

morraine.. boh pian ah... cordyceps so expensive.. if dun eat like very waste $ and it really looks exactly like earthworms hor... eeks!! but dun worry, the taste is ok, it's crunchy and tastes like some dried root, luckily not soft if not i sure tink it's earthworm and puke out...:p

Thanks ellysia... i also find this morning after eating it, my green phlegm came back .. now forcing myself drink more water... has ur spotting stopped?

iamsnow.. heard there is a motherhood maternity fair in may this year... maybe got more sales and can stock up then?

I do a check in the website and confirm the March fair is on.

BabyCare Festival
Date: 21 - 23 March
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A
Time: Friday &amp; Saturday, 11am to 9pm, Sunday 11am to 8pm

I know there's another motherhood fair during June, but i think this will be really too late for us whom due in June.

ellysia: in my area of specialisation, it is kinda of hard to get temp role. even temp is normally area 6 mths to a yr.

babyjo / TF: congrats on both yur mickeys.
i wan mickey also may not ve cos n at OSCAR, the sanographer cnf @ 80% is a minnie but he still not very certain. at wk 17th, my own gynae also didnt wan cnf wif me...

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

u can start buying like in april or early may lor.. but not now la.. too early..

roxy~

ha ha true ex ex.. but i wun be able to even bite it let alone swallow it.. spare me!!

crystal~

dun worry.. maybe during detail scan u see something else?

Anyone started to eat birds nest?</font>

iamsnow,
For the march fair, i nvr went before, coz this year shall be the 3rd year. During the 1st yr, i was on confinement. Last yr, i missed it. But i ever went to June Fair, the crowd was terrible.
Is better to go on Friday afternoon, else night. Saturday and Sunday will be too crowded.
You can expect some cheap cot, strolley, etc at the fair. Some will even give out sample like baby bath foam etc. I remember once i brought diapers from the fair as its cheaper with free gift.

Roxy
cordyceps is tong chong cao rite? May I know how much and where did u get it? I dun think it taste very bad right? I remember eating alot of it when I was a child as I had asthma and was constantly sick.