(2008/06) June 2008

*piyo* - bo bian leh, my neh already lao lao until dunno like what after 3 pregnancies. I thk worse than an old papaya liao hahahahaha. I feel very uncomfy when wearing underwired bra. If you read thru alot of article, they will encourgae mummies nt to wear underwired bras as it will hinder the bm.

So in order to at least have a nicer breast after stop bf, I will breast exercise vert diligently

pkdust - Oh thanks thanks. ya, bras from mothercare are gd! but quite exp. no choice, we need gd support bras now since our breast will get heavier. Btw, how much you bot?

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

the oil dunno leh.. but i think its 60+ if bo salar but heard can use jin jin long leh... one pregnancy can use abt 2 bottles.. u want? : and yes me still in RP la.. u stil have my mobile no bo?

pkdust~

dun worry too much first la..</font>

TF,
for my case, my last scan was on 3rd Jan, detailed scan on 21st Jan then next visit is 29th Jan. report shld have ample time to reach gynae.

i stopped my folic acid intake, as advise by gynae, no need for it since the multivit contains it. i do not have calcium supplements as well.

Tera,

Forget to tell u also to maintain an upright position after taking pills, i.e. dun slouch after taking pills, frm wat i read in pregnancy book.

babyjo,

I also dun like to wear underwired bra, used to always wear soft bra even to work.. but now cannot cos the maternity bras have wires and recommended for work.. also soft bra i cannot wear to work anymore cos the nipples now protrude so much, have to use maternity bra with double padding to conceal the nipple.

pkdust,

i got maternity bra from perfect mum and it quite comfy and good support.

everyone,

Btw have u all been wearing maternity pants or maternity dresses more?

Cos my colleague said old folks believe wear dress better cos pants even though loose will still exert pressure on tummy and not so ideal..

*piyo* - very difficult to explain here leh. Have to show it to you personally. Most importantly, you have to use correct massage technique on ur breast. Another method is (can do anythime u like):

1. Cross your hands palm to palm
2. Raise ur both elbow 90 degree
3. Then squeeze ur palm together

You will feel the muscle (near breast) at the armpit area contracting.

Oh felicia
I also have hand me downs, clothes and guess what? A baby cot which is 38 years old, and painted several times now. It was my eldest bro cot and handed down thru the generations by nieces and nephews. A lot of meaning in that cot.

Hi baby Jo
Very saggy ah? Mine shrink till the top of my breast sunken lor, so wear tight fit tops very obviously ugly.
How to do breast exercise? And when you bleed from sore nipple, do you still feed direct from that breast or feed baby the milk expressed from that breast? Hope you can help me.

HI Linda,
Wah, your bb cot very priceless leh!
if got bleeding, yuo still can bf if it;s direct but if store or pump cannot, must throw... maybe babyjo can confirm this?

Hi Babyjo,
I must go back and try the exercise,...

hi morraine,
we are about halfway into our preg soon..so 1bottle enuf? can get for me 1 bottle 1st? When would you be collecting from your friend? Are you still at same bldg? if yes, I am in the building next to you.. but never keep your phone no lah :p

Linda - ya, my breast is not as firm as pre-preggy days. Even my hb also say that....sob sob. To prevent breast from shrinking too much, the best way to stop bm (once u decided not to bf anymore), is not to take any medicine or jab. Your breast will confirm + guarantee bcome smaller. i did not take any medi to stop my bm at all. For #1, i endure the engorement for 3 days w/o pumping any bm. At fourth day, the engorement totally gone. For #2, i bf until no supply.

I had sore/bleed nipple as my bb latch too hard (partly, position is wrong). I didn't latch them but expressed the bm to bottle fed until my nipple recovered. The best way to prevent sore nipple is to squeeze a tiny bm and spread around your nipple after each feed.

Linda,
ur cot can be presented to museum oledi. muahaha....just joking! But frankly speaking, keep for 38yrs, still can use?

ellysia,
last time i'm facing the same pro as you. you maybe can try after lunch then eat the fish oil tablets. it may not throw out.

Hi piyo
Yeah... I wonder if I can keep it for my grandchild next time... And it is very good it is just at waist level, no need bend. Not adjustable but with the rails up, baby cannot climb out of it even at 18mths.
But very big lor.

Maybe I ask more question can, and see if you or babyjo or experienced mummies can help? I got somewhat like sore nipples. But mainly caused by my ecezma. Hmm...it is occassionally wet and when dried, get stuck to my bras and hurt like mad when I remove bras. Hence, I gave up bf mainly cos of the pain and the lack of knowledge re if I shld continue to bf from that breast. Esp when both breast already produce SO teeny weeny bit of milk, not to mention from one breast.

What is the expected amt of milk expressed initially? Express every 2 hours even when not much supply? Not very keen to feed direct.

I really encourage all mummies to bf as long as possible. It's really a very memorable and touching moment. The bond with your bb will be closer. But of cos, some mummies will face problem like insufficient bm. It's gd to consult lactation when u have problems. They will teach you alot of method how to increase the bm supply.

1. Good pump (after gg back to work)
2. Eat food that increase bm
3. Latch more (demand = supply)
4. Massage
5. Fenugreek/ Goat's milk

yeah still same building so we can still meet at cedele haha.. yeah me oso getting one bottle first.. i see wat is the price from places like robinson first.. if its abt the same den dun wanna wait for frens liaoz la.. wait til later my stomach cannot tahan liaoz.. ha ha.. u email me ur mobile no la.. den once i find out the price i msg u den if u want den i buy for u oso.. dun pm hor.. til now i haven rec ur PM since tat day.......

linda~

but if u let bb latch on to u to suck hor.. its very good bonding time leh.. </font>

Linda, did you approach your gynae for your sore nipple since you notice is ecezma and nt normal nipple pain?

Yes, recommended expressing is every 3 hours. Not all pumps are gd at empty the breast and help to maintain the supply. Invest in a gd pump will help you save $$$ on milk powder. You can simply break even within 4 to 6 mths on your investment.

Expressed amount of milk will depends. For me, I can expressed 80ml to 100ml for individual breast at every 3 hrs.

BabyJo,
Actual price of the support bra from mothercare is $88 for two pieces but I bought during sales so its $66 for two pieces. Very worth it. Wow this is your third kid..so your first two is gal gal or boy boy?

Just now I go to the ladies and look at my tummy. Seems like suddenly grow very big . My so called waist is now like a tree trunk. haha. Now I am in my 17th week. Think must put on maternity clothes in my 20th week liao.
Do any of you got cravings? My appetite is not very good but I crave for soups..esp those hot and salty and spicy type. Like salt veg and kimchip soup. Also dunno why start to like pig liver soup which I never even touch before my pregnancy.

Hi felicia
kekeke... can leh. Maybe cos cannot adjust level one. And somemore, actually for cots of that size, normally placed in room and never shifted abt. So less movement = less chance of spoiling bah. Either that or my cousins really took good care of it. My brother (first baby owner of cot) also used it when his daughter was born 7 years ago wor. Maybe old times furniture more lasting?

hi babyjo
I also never eat medication to stop milk. After partially trying for 3 days, I gave up and just let it "drip dry" lor. hahaa.... sometimes I bath, it drips, but not much, maybe I also cannot produce much? Or I never express diligently enuff... only attempt to 2x a day.... too overwhelmed by pain.

pkdust
Yup, first 2 are beautiful princesses.

Cravings? For #3 not at all, but previous 2 i had chocolate and durian cravings and ate alot also. I was scolded by my gynae as i put on too much weight. Imgaine I gain 26kg and 24 kg respectively!!!! My initial weight was 54kg!!!! Luckily, i lost all my weight through bf, exercising and dieting (after stop bf)

PKdust, Teragram

Since I dun get my princess, I'm fantasizing myself (The Queen) "teh" wif the Prince n King...yahahaha.. my husband dun get the privledge...yahahaha

PKdust, drink lots of water helps. If dun like, but Ribena or glucose, etc..I had once that my shXt so hard tat wnt to come out also stuck!!

Piyo, mine Prenatal multivit fr gynae (its smooth bright pink capsule like) easy to swallow n sweet

babyjo,
woo.. congrats... so far mickey is more than minnie.. kekeke..

ellysia,
ya lor the multi vit bery strong smell.. but i ok wif the fishoil.. i wont burp wif the fish smell.. only burp wif food smell.. hahaha..

morraine &amp; piyo,

Are u toking abt the clarins oil?

U can try buying at Sasa, its cheaper.

My colleague sister bot both the cream and the oil (each cost $70plus), spent a lot. I only bot the oil bec' the sasa gal told me the oil is more popular and cream doesn't seem effective so no need to waste money buying both.

pkdust,

I dun have much cravings. I used to have cravings b4 pregnancy but strange not during pregnancy so far.

I only been preferring dry stuff like fried chicken, fries and such junk food. Food that i used to like, korean and ban mian, i dun like them now. Instead of taking soup noodles which i used to do, i took dried ones. Yest then hb told me actually he used to hate soup noodles and only take dried noodles during young days. maybe bb is affected by his gene tats why in turn affect me.

BabyJo,
My detailed scan's earlier at 9.50am so we will prob miss each other. Was asked to go earlier just in case i need more time.

Hehe, so you are the BF expert here. Next time, will have to "qing jiao" you on BF issues.

Ellysia,
Ok, will rem to sit up straight. I do have a habit of slouching which is very bad. :p

last few weeks i had craving for durian and finally my hubby brought bak for me.I ate the whole durian by myself. Thinking tat i'll put on lot of weight as my collegue warn me that durian will make me gain weight very fast, but during the last check up, my weight drop.
Then now, i start craving for 'bak kwa', so during the weekend got myself 'bak kwa' from chinatown.
Though i had craving but i dont eat much loh (except tat durian lah. hehe..). Maybe tats why my weight had not be gaining. My 1st pregnancy i gain 22kgs though i dont eat much.

I just have coke light during lunch but only drink half of the cup to avoid too much gas.

Then i bot some rocher chocolate and ate 2 as i am typing here to u all :p

felicia,

How are u feeling after drinking the Eno yest? prob solved?

Hi Linda,
That time I was like a cow 24/7, latch and pump and drink lots of fluids, hot massage, sleep and the whole cycle repeats. I even woke up in the middle of night to pump if bb dun latch so to keep the milk ss up.. Agree with babyjo, invest in good pump..helps alot but.. then any prob, look for mrs wong hahaha...go back work pump diligently... not easy but must be determined...

Hi morraine,
You checking out today??? I email you after this.. can meet at cedele hahaha next time can go lim teh there haha

Hi babyjo
WOW!!! 80mls per breast leh? Mine combined only 20mls at max.... what is wrong? I using avent manual but honestly, I wasnt very patience lor.... My boobs also dun feel full when I start pumping wor.

Hi Morriane
It hurts like mad when I latch her (position maybe wrong) and I realised she was using me as a pacificer!! Esp for her night feed. She had milk already but refused to sleep. The min I latch her, she stop. But when I tried milk in bott, she refused to suck and cry again.

Hi pk
I started wearing maternity wear abt 3 weeks ago lor.
i also have craving for SPICY food. Spicy everything.
Tom Yum, curry, mee hoon soup with chilli padi. hahaha
Experts says craving could be a sign of deficiency of that in our diet. Like for your pig liver soup, maybe your body is telling you that you need more iron?
But chilli?? I also dunno leh.

Ellysia,
Yes, it help! In fact today after lunch oso feel bit heartburn but is not as serious as yest, so i din take Eno. But sure will stock up Eno from now. Hehe....

not today la.. lazy leh.. wasted la... i went sasa yesterday den oso bo tot of checking out the pricing leh.. *faint*

linda~

no wonder u dislike latching
ha ha i oso love chilli..

Hi piyo
I must admit I was not determined at all then. Hmm... reckon first time mummy lack of experience and wanting to do everything myself even though my MIL was there to help. Didnt help tt I was constantly upset with hb for working late thruout.... Now tt i am more experience in baby caring, and hb changed job = slightly better hours, I am hoping i can bf lor...but very concern abt the condition of my aerola (ecezma) if I can.

Linda,
Me too failed my 1st BF. So this round, i hope i can succeed. Last time, i only pump out my milk during day and nite i sleep like a pig, dont bother to wake up at all.
I really salute to those mummies whom can BF their bb for so long loh.

Felicia,

Yup anyway the problem may repeat after a few days or a week or so.. depending on diet.. so just take when necessary. I have this prob since 1st trim, but it stop for some weeks then come back again recently.

morraine,

Anyway the normal price is $70++ so if it is cheaper than $70 then u can grab it. Cos my colleague sister bot at clarins counter i tink, $70plus plus. I bot at Sasa $67.

talking abt supplements, I used to throw up immediately I swallow all my supplements. My coll taught me a way. I tried and it works for me.

take your pills progressively when u eat your bf. eg if u eating bee hoon, take a few bites of bee hoon, swallow one pill first. few more bites, then another pill and so on. I usually start with the fish oil first as that is the one which is most yucky!

see if it works for u all....

Teragram
Ok can, any question abt bf can ask me. Oh, too bad miss each other. Maybe, can visit each other after when deliver at TMC.

Linda
Yup....Im an human cow.....but supply drop when i return to work. Like what *piyo* mention, drink lots of fluid. I tried Avent manual before. Pump until my hand numb, then i read from this forum and decided to invest on Medela PIS for #2. Really a saviour for me.....it's gd at emptying my breast and maintain my bm. Too bad i sold it away as I didnt intend to have #3, so nw gg to try out Ameda since alot of them say the quality is same as Medela and is lighter.

Going to order from this webby and send to SG vy VPOST USA:
http://www.healthchecksystems.com/ameda-breastpumps.htm

If you prefer medela, you can try this webby:
http://www.hackleyhme.com/products.php/cPath/90/Medela_Breast_Pumps.html

Their prices is really very very cheap after conversion. My total cost + VPOST fee = SGD400++ at that time. But you need to buy a converter in home fix before using it in Singapore.

Medela PIS advanced is $799 in Singapore. I thk First few years selling at $599, BSMG selling at $699 if im nt wrong.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia &amp; piyo~

wow sasa sells so ex oso arh.. den i think i mite be ordering from strawberrynet.com coz its onli $59 from there leh.. piyo u want?</font>

i had no problem at all to swallow pills during my 1st pregnancy but this round i really hate taking the pills.
This few days my condition did improve a bit as i separate out the pill taking period. So, sometimes i tend to forgot to take one of the pills.

ok, me goin off soon. Bye2

iamsnow,

Now i take my pills at different timing. Morn i take calcium pills cos no effect even if empty stomach. Noon or night time then i take multi-vits and fish oil. And usu at least 2 hrs after meal.

morraine,

Yup the price is around there. I dare not order from website or watever cos dunno if the quality is ok or not.. (u never know) play safe better get from store.

Hi felicia
You still can sleep like pig at night leh...
I also have to wake for night feeds by the bottle lor... It became so robotic that I didnt even open my eyes when making milk and I scalded my thumb. Good thing tt it didnt scalded my girl.

Hi babyjo
Actually I thot of buying a second hand ameda. But I didnt know if I can bf or not, so even though it will be cheaper than a brand new one, I wonder if I shld spend that kind of $ lor. Esp when I have no intention for #3....Maybe beg steal borrow my fren's Nuk electrical one?

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

oic.. but strawberrynet.com i have ordered before a few times and very efficient and items are geunine coz its from Hong Kong i think.. anyway shall see.. if piyo wants to buy in store den jus follow suit ba..</font>

Re: bf topic

How do u all bf at office? I understand need to sterilise milk bottles whenever we fill in any milk. So sterilise at office or we can sterilise at home first then bring to office to use for pumping? Not very sure on the process cos me 1st time mum here.

Hi babyjo
I just saw the website. The pump itself without the backpack and all cost abt $218 (at 1.45 USD). Quite cheap. How much does VPOST cost?

morraine,

Up to u..

for me cos i am a gan cheong person, dun want to wait liao i just buy from store. Plus i having itching ored, i scared if dun apply will have stretch marks liao.

For me first few tries i only apply once and v little to try out, then also i apply alt days, not every day. To test whether skin can tolerate the oil or not.

I suggest u all try moderately and not everyday when start to use, so if anyting sensitive then stop using cos different person different type of skin.

Hey mummies, never used 2nd hand breast pump. The reason is becos you won't know whether the mum gt any bleeding nipple during pumping. Even though u change the bottles and all the accessories, it's still unsafe. u can read more information from medela webby. But I know some mum dun mind buying a 2nd hand.

Both Ameda and Medela is machine dual. Just that Medela got 2 phrase pumping and let down mode, whereas Ameda got a dual hygiene technology.

EBM (when return to work)
For me, I will sterilise everything before bringing the pump to work. after each pumping session i will wash the kit, and sealed up inside a zip lock bag then throw into the office freezer.

Some mum will buy a microwave sterilizer and put at the office. Some will buy sterilising tablets.
Others may leave the pump at office then go back latch bb