(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Jang,

Coke has gas which may worsen any heartburn probs. In addition, there is caffeine which may be harmful to bb. Restrict to 1 cup per day i tink.

Eno is to drink if u have too many gas inside and cannot be release causing heartburn problems. If no such prob no need to drink Eno.

For MS - u can eat ginger biscuits, ginger tea, sour plums to relieve nausea.

Laksa, mee soto, curry etc - understand that there is this "huang Jiang" used within and may cause yellow skin in bb. Take in moderation.

Fried food and chilli may worsen MS so if u want to reduce MS, avoid them.

ladies, what exactly is heartburn? I've been having pain (in between my ribcage) after meals...and it feels like gastric pain...v. xinku...

piyopiyo,

Yup u are right that sweet stuff will make the bb active. I was chewing a sweet obtained from my gynae office just before i enter gynae's room during my last scan at 15+ week. So thus able to see bb moving and jumping around and can see someting tat indicate the gender.

Morning all,

PIYO,
I drank apple juice (those bottled kind) before I went in for my scan yesterday cos I also read that it helps. It's true that bb was active but position was still not ideal for scanning. Bb was doing headstands at certain points during the scan and gynae was shaking her head, haha. Maybe too active cos I drank too much? :p Gynae also prepared me that if during detailed scan, bb is again not in good position, be prepared to stay awhile cos need to go out and take a walk in between the scans.

ZuEn,
Good luck on the test results tmr, don't worry, I think it will be fine.

Feifei,
So it's really 50-50 chance wor. You will know soon.

Morraine,
Try to cut down on the coke.
Maybe substitute with some other drinks eg fruit juice at least no caffeine. Also don't forget to up your calcium intake cos some studies have shown that caffeine can decrease calcium absorption.

juliet08,
my heartburn feeling is I can feel my heart beats at the top of my throat like dif to breathe kind.. gynae gave me actal to take if it acts up again.

Ellysia,
hmm.. maybe I should chew some sweets before my appt the next time :p

iamsnow,

I tink at least come back from hospital need to bathe once?

i intend to bathe when come back then later will depend on how long i can tahan w/o bathing.

i just thinking the month we had confinement is the most hottest month leh. No bath, with sweat, cant imagine!!!
I think i better lock myself in my aircon room when doin confinement. hehe.....

Anyone experience having small fine red veins appearing at the stomach area (not womb), center slightly below the betw breasts? What is it huh?

what fruit juices are you drinking now? I am running out of fruit juices to drink! cos some fruits like too liang? and do you all put ice?

Teragram,
During the neck fold scan, my bb was also in not so good position.. gynae wanted me to go walk walk a bit but prior to that, he asked me to cough and bb moved to right position hehe.. maybe this time round drink fruit juice then go in..

<font color="ff6000">teragram~

me trying hard leh but bb refuse leh.. if i drink coke, my MS will improve tremendously.... unbelievable rite? haiz

felicia~

my concept of confinement as in sleeping with slight air con is fine as inside hospital oso have air con already mah!! wahahahha</font>

Felicia,
Yah, I was telling my hubby this is the hottestmonth of the year, jia lat liao! but consolation is got sun to "sun our bb" if touchwood got jaundice? and no publich holidays all the way for our maternity leave except National Day? haha!

I sleep in aircon room at nights during confinement.. we also sleep in aircon rooms in hospital mah..my CL gave me some herbs to drink due to that..

Ellysia,
if you wanna tahan wo bathing then dun even start cos start you will feel like bathing each time.. actually staying in hospital is good! got aircon, got nurses pamper etc..and won't perspire!

*piyo*
During first trimester, I was drinking Cranberry juice. I will pour a cup and then leave it for a while before drinking cos not so cold. Now in second trim, I just drink ribena when I don't feel like plain water. :p

morraine,

The clarins oil is the clarins treatment oil. U just ask the clarins counter or sasa counter the oil for stretch marks, they will recommend u.

piyo,

My habit is i will bathe when i come back from outside to home.. so everytime i go out i will bathe when i come back.. has been habit for many many years, can't change or i feel v dirty.

Hi Morraine, as long as you are not taking in more than 300 mg of caffeine each day, baby should be ok. A can of coke (12oz) is about 34 mg of caffeine. So, 1 can shd be ok. Its also the sugar level that you have to watch out.

I've been told by my gynae in US to avoid herbal tea including green tea too, esp chinese tea (you don't know where the tea leaves come from and most of us are not knowledgeable about herbs (good or bad). Green tea should be avoided as it contains a chemical that prevents your pregnant body from absorbing folic acid, a key to help prevent birth defects and affect the devt of your baby such as the brain, heart, or spinal cord. Basically, I am downing pre-natal vitamins (more % than the normal multi-vits) everyday for the past 3 mths since i found out i am pregnant. I find it really useful as it gives me all the nutrients the baby need in 1 pill and makes your hair shiny and face glow somehow. Try to see if its available from your gynae.

Felicia and *Piyo*,
The first thing my mum commented when she knew I was delivering in June was wah, very hot then. And I was thinking yah man, siao liao.

*Piyo*,
LOL, yah true hor, that's the "dryest" period for working ppl cos no PH which is good for us cos we won't lugi.

Morraine,
Oh, maybe your bb likes coke, hehe.
I know MS is horrible so since it helps, stay to one cup per day and when u feel MS subsiding, see if can cut down.

Jang...
Normally drink root beer is only if the root beer does not contain caffeine. There is a brand called Mug root beer which does not contain caffeine so it's prob safer to drink that than Coke which contains alot of caffeine

Most MTBs will opt for detailed scan coz it's where they measure alot of baby health eg arms, legs, organs forming well or not etc.

Yes, super cold day today! Wish Im still in bed Zzzing...

piyo/morraine,

sleep in aircon as long as it dont blow direct to us shldnt be a problem loh.

talk about jaundice, i'm bit worry coz my hubby recent blood test report showing his bilirubin (that hormone causing jaundice) is higher than norm level. And if not wrong, this jaundice will be inherited. Just hopefully my bb is free from it.

Hi lengleng, juz sent u a pm for my orders.. But I think gonna take some time to reach u..

Can I hv your email instead?

Morraine

The Clarins oil is call "Tonic" Body Treatment Oil. It has Geranium, Hazelnut n Rosemary essential. I love this oil very much, nice smell.

Ellysia

Is it really ok to use since it has essential oil cos I read that pregnant woman must be careful with some essential oil smells.

<font color="ff6000">TF~

thanks for ur post on the Clarins oil.. since they did mentioned its suitable for pregnant women usage so i assumed its safe to be used though it contains some essential oil? coz i noe there are certain essential oil to avoid but Geranium, Hazelnut and Rosemary sounds like those common safe ones in the market?</font>

Hi lengLeng,
i wan! but collection pt very far from my place

Hi felicia,
ya my CL says the same too.. it's better than fan blowing direct at us..but best no aircon which I cfm cannot!

Hi teragram,
ya so we maximise our Maternity leave haha!

Hi Ellysia,
is the clarins oil mention by TF the same as what you are using?

Hi SF Piyo,
You amended your nick!:p what's the brand of the pre natal vit you are taking?

Morraine, Ellysia

Ya, I saw that they put prevention of stretch marks for pregnancy. Anyway, i will get one too cos i always love this oil n nw even give me the reason to buy :p. Will be getting thro' friends at Airport Duty Free wif 10% disc further since they are crew staff.

Ladies, also found a site on what oils to avoid during pregnancy http://www.commonsense-nutrition.com/oils-preg.htm

hey gals..
u guys talking abt stretch marks cream...im using none. instead im using nivea reshaping massage cream...had 2 bottles of these. so might as well use it. dunno whether suitable anot...

Think most MTB already know about the baby's gender. Do you gals get disappointed over the baby's gender? Like you are expecting it to be gal then it turn out to be a boy. For me, I really hope for a Mickey as I already got a gal in my first pregnancy but gynae told this one is a Minnie. But I did my scan when I am 14 weeks plus so now still hoping for some miracles.
However I realise something. Normally those with a lot of outbreak are carrying gals. Also if your tummy is fat and round , most likely its a gal.

hi pkdust,
hmmm, not true for me leh on the outbreak.. I dun haf outbreak when I was carrying my ger.. in fact my skin was much better!

2 gers good too... they can bond better as sisters? and can use lots of hand-me-downs?

Teragram,
Thanks. I hope all of us clear all tests too.

Piyo(secret-garden),
Wat exactly is heartburn? I oni have feeling of bad indigestion. Feels as if food is struck in the chest or at the end of the throat. Then I will feel like vomiting but will burp instead and will feel better after burping. Then the indigestion feeling will come back again and the cycle can continue for a few hours. Is that heartburn too? During such times, I will look/ crave for softdrinks with gas and my hb will give in to me.

Re: Laska/ spicy food
I had that for lunch yday and finished all the gravy.. ;p In the end, indigestion, giddiness and felt pukey. I swear that it will be my last bowl for a long time. ;p Serve me right for being greedy.

<font color="ff6000">pkdust~

same as piyo.. when i had my #1 who is a ger, my skin was fine just tat it was dryer den normal times and this round my #2 who is a boy, my skin is oso facing the same problems as my #1 pregnancy too.. i think all this are quite individual? and i do agree tat as along as ur baby is strong and healthy is most impt! having 2 princesses mite be someone else's dream oso therefore.. dun feel sad if ur #2 really turns out to be a another little princess
afterall this is all fated.. i always think so :0 cheer up!

in regards to spicy food~

for both pregnancy i MUST have spicy food which is oso my usual love.. i cannot take food without any spice in them.. so bland
but i compensate with lots of water lor.. i always tel myself.. no choice la.. if i feel better and happy after i eat the food i want, den i go ahead.. rather den i forgo the food and pinning for it day and nite.. ha ha</font>

Hi Leng Leng,
me wanna order GNC Triflex, friend collecting for me.. I posting in your thread liao
Are you a GNC member? Do I take the Sale price or member's price?

hiya mummies
I was reading through the advice on green tea and heartburn. plus mee soto and mee siam. hehehe. thanks

i'm avoiding garlic because that was one of the food that can cause heartburnt? too.

as for green tea, i was at this isetan scotts restaurant the other day and they served roasted green tea. the caffeine level is lower than normal tea/green tea from what they put on a label. so mummy that wants to drink green tea should opt for such tea. they are selling them at $4.50 / packet. I'm not drinking chinese tea because chinese tea will help digesion and also if have gastric juice will make matter worse.

apples is also not good for people with too much wei suan. this is confirmed by a chinese physician because she told me to eat apples but i told her i have much wei suan so she said cannot eat.

i thought carrying boys will have breakouts? girl will have good skin? but my friend whom has just given birth to a boy said she has good skin throughout the pregnancy.

if 12weeks can know the gender then very good. at least can start buying baby clothes.

if those of u have scv cable and takes digital box, look at ch70. they will have those plastic surgery and some are mummies who have sagged breasts, big lump of stomach skin and also the stretch marks. so really scary. then they also have babies (showing actual birth scene etc but of course censored here n there). quite scary to see cesearan. hehhehehe. i must see less often so as not to freak myself out.

*piyo* - hahaha, agree with you. Got at least hope MS can faster subside then we won't feel so terrible mah. I will also feel giddy and headache till can't work, on unpaid leave for the mth of Jan resting at home now. The gynae should be able to scan for the baby gender at wk 16 if baby co-operate and open the legs.

Teragram, yeah, my detailed scan on the 25th Jan, let's countdown !!!

Ha, mine on 21st Jan.. soon all the gender will pop out by end-Jan.

Morraine, I duno the Oil px. But 2 days ago, just got the Clarins Pore Minimizing Serum at $43.92 (fr airport w/o 10% is $48.80) when retail is selling $66.30.

Afternoon ladies, wow the thread is really moving very fast. Im going for check up later, hopefully can tell the gender. Very nervous now, I thk my MIL is more nervous than me. Wish me luck and hope my wish will come true.

Maybe the outbreak thingy is up to individual. But I really believe in the shape of the tummy. Those carrying boys tend to have a more pointed tummy and not so rounded.
I saw some post about confinement food. I had personally tried Natal Essential before. Do not know about other caterers but I find Natal is quite good. I only ordered for lunch but the portion is big enough for two meals. I also like their soup as they put a lot of herbs inside. My mum told me those herbs are good for woman during confinement and help to get rid of "wind" and build up the body. Think for this round, I will order them again. But really hate confinement as I am having it somewhere in Feb and it is really hot period. Also my appetite really very bad then.