(2008/06) June 2008

ladies good morning...

kylene, u r most welcome. no txs needed lar.

hi cactus,

when i deliver my 1st boy, i requested for induced labour so e day b4 delivery went to gynae clinic to check n he mention tat my cervix already dilate 1cm so can induced. Admitted e next day 9am. gynae came to see me ard 9++am towards 10am to admit e induced med. I requested epidural immediately after tat cos i dont want to go through those pain. everythg was well till 12pm. e nurse check me n says i'm already 8cm dilated...wow tat's fast but i start to feel e contraction so call for e nurse immediately, so they increase my epidural dosage...but no use. i feel e contraction every time it comes by.... really cant stand so nurse ask me whether wanna wait longer or call for gynae immediately.... i requested for gynae to come immediately.... after all e pushing... n assisted by gynae using forcep my boy is out ard 2pm. my epidural goes off completely ard evening 8-9pm. so far i didnt experience any backache. This time round i will still opt for epidural in e very begining of e labour.
I do have a friend who told me tat she experience backache too due to epidural but she only take epidural at e middle part of labour when she cant tahan e pain. But i do read up books before tat backache after delivery is usually cos by bad posture during pregnancy n not due to epidural.

another thing is whether how fast ur cervix open up depends on e thickness of e cervix wall. nobody can control it.

Hi elaine, I think my doctor won't give me epidural too early in pregnancy cos (1) with epidural, there is a risk that labour will be longer (ie. about 1hr longer than without), and (2) may need to top up additional epidural dose during labour. so I was thinking, if without epidural in early labour, need to feel pain for so long, might as well feel pain throughout since later part of labour is going to be relatively quick.

With epidural, did you experience nausea? was your boy sleepy and found it difficult to latch on soon after birth or was he very alert?

Oh.. also, elaine, with epidural, could you sip water/drinks/ice chips? eat dry biscuits? Did you have to constantly lie on your back on the bed? Or could you lie on your side on the bed? Could you walk around the room? Sorry to ask so many questions...

oh cactus,
i didnt feel nausea, maybe becos i vomitted before i admit e hospital.... my boy wasnt sleepy n e nurse did let him latch my nipple straight after they weighs him.but my 1st month of BF wasnt very smooth cos my boy cant latch well on my nipple so in e end i express to feed him until after his 1st month then i latch him back.
I didnt eat or drink..... cos maybe feeling too excited didnt think of drinking n eating in e waiting process. I cant remember whether i lie on my back or side but i didnt walk ard cos of all e drips with me.

i have just wend to kk to do my ds test. everything was ok. and the baby was really growing fast. 3wks ago when i knew it and did the scan i can only see the heartbeat. now i can see the hand, legs, body and head. so interesting. finally today is the beginning of my 2nd tri. really look forward to more excitement.

cactus,

If u read the epidural thread, i tink the side effects is uncontrollable shivering after giving birth but temporary and will go off soon. I didn't read other side effects of epidural.

Actually there is no hurry to decide on the mode of delivery becos sometimes gynae will recommend at 3rd trim according to size of bb, any complications etc.

I read on a thread, one MTB on epidural and she said her hb got feed her ice chips (but only ice chips, no biscuits or anything).

For BF, according to my colleagues, must do constant and periodic BF (e.g. follow the time promptly) and also depend on whether bb want to latch on or not.. a lot of factors.

Thanks so much for sharing, elaine. I guess I need to talk to the doctor to see if he will encourage delivery without epidural.... still quite keen on it leh. perhaps inspired by my friend.

Hi Ellysia, I'm hoping to be able to decide my preferred mode of delivery (of course I'm prepared to change my mind if medical intervention is needed for safety of me and/or bb) cos I need to find a doctor who would support my beliefs. I know some doctors are more keen on c-section and that's something I really wnat to avoid.

Yesterday nite after work i went to Toa Payoh that recommended neighbourhood shop. Not that hard to find, maybe also becos i am familar with Toa Payoh. Its just behind courts, opposite to coffee shop (which is next to NTUC).

Becos yest was raining so the maternity clothes are all squeeze inside but the salesgal is v entertaining.

They have actually quite nice tops though the material are more inferior than those found at theme/spring etc. But price per top is $19.90. Price per bottom is around $28.90.

The bottom is not so nice but they have quite a collection of casual shorts and three quarters.

The tops are also quite nice, actually not bad when i compared with other maternity shops.

I bot 4 tops and 1 bottom at around $100. They only allow NETS and cash, no credit card.

In comparison with other major maternity shops, i find this shop is considered quite good with the price. And look younger as compared to other shops (not so auntie looking).

Of course if u compare with our normal clothes (pre-pregnancy), these are considered simple but i almost give up on singapore maternity clothes.. all look so auntie.. haiz.

Morning girls.

Yay, 1 more day to weekend! Went for my OSCAR yesterday and was really relieved and happy to see baby again after a 1-month break. Hee. Baby was very active, kept moving its body and hands but luckily v cooperative so scan took only 15 min. Will be seeing gynae in another month's time which by then gynae said hope to see the gender.

Hi Kylene,
The DHA my gynae is letting me try is this brand called Neurogain. As for calcium, there's no brand cos it's in those medicine tabs (like folic acid you buy from pharmacy), just has the word Calcium Lactate printed behind. I was also given pre-natal multi-vits, the brand is Pramilets. How did your OSCAR test go? My EDD has shifted to 11 June now. Any change in yours?

Ellysia,
My 2 colls just came back from Taiwan and commented that it is very cold. I was there in mid Dec last year and yes, it was very cold. So remember to bring sufficient warm clothing ya?

cactus,

My hb will prefer i give birth natural. We have told gynae at 1st appt, she has not given any comments. I tink my gynae not pro anything..

If i go natural, maybe will need epidural bec' i have a low pain threshold and last time when i have severe menses cramp i can even faint due to pain. I scare i will faint during labour.

But a recent article i read, it says if use epdural, the prob is the mother dun know when to push and end up have to use suction method which will leave a mark on bb face tempoaray (go off after few mths).

Probably the best is do natural and if really cannot tahan then ask for epdural.. but epidural has to be ask earlier cos they take some time to get the thing ready etc.

ellysia,
you went that shop last nite? ya, that salesgal is very cute and friendly.. all their top i cant wear now.. due to my small built so have to wait ard 7-8 mths then can wear ba... she ask me to go bk ard that mths. she told me end of this mths will coming more new design tops and pants too...i'm looking forward abt that.

Tera,

How cold at Taiwan now??

I dunno if its going to be as cold as my last year trip to Europe..

I have bot 2 thermal wear (one to wear during sleep), then i intend to bring along more t-shirts so i can wear more if really too cold.
Will also bring along scarf, jackets, windbreaker, even gloves.

Very kiasu hor.

liew,

YUP, they also told me next mth will have new stock bec' CNY coming. They said the clothes are produced locally so can sell v cheap. I guess maybe the clothes are from malaysia? Tats why can be so cheap.

U cannot wear their clothes?? Wah u are really petite leh. Then u cannot buy from other maternity shops liao also. Cos i find the 2 tops i bot from perfect mum is too big.. maybe will wear them in later mths when tummy is bigger. The tops at the Toa Payoh shop is actually smaller than the 2 i bot at perfect mum lor.

I suggest u get those with tie string around waist type.. cos it will make us look slimer and not so big.

Btw, i have email the spree organiser for the CCT fashion and ordered 3 items already (paid her too). Suggest u can also email her, she is quite prompt.

Btw, u know how to check our pm? i dunno where to check leh.

Yest colleagues commented that my breasts have become bigger.. i noticed now i have increase by 1 cup size ored! Damn scary.

ellysia,
i find their skirts n 3/4pants, casual shorts nice.. pants i dun really like.. abit goons.. but comfy.. so i oso bought 2.. hahaha..

Ellysia,
Just asked my Taiwan colleague who is in Taiwan now, she said the temp is going to hit 10+ degree this weekend. Also, Taipei will be colder than the other cities. For me, I feel it's the strong wind that makes it worse. Better to be kiasu, it's good to bring thermal wear which I didn't bring.
I wasn't v prepared when I went, only bought sweaters and a windbreaker, ended up I bought a coat from one of the shopping malls there. I guess it didn't help that it was raining the days I was there.

In comparison to Europe, Europe is definitely colder in Dec (went to Italy in 2005) cos the temp can go to like 5 degrees, speaking of it now makes me want to shiver. I'm scared of cold weather.

Babycupid,

Yup their 3 quarters is good. A similar three quarter / shorts which i saw at Spring cost $50-$70. I find in general their clothes are quite nice.

Their long pants not really v nice.. but the ones i saw at perfect mum also so-so.. but Spring pants although more auntie but also got more formal pants.. however on comfortable wise, spring one is not as comfortable than perfect mum ones. The pants sold at this shop i see is similar to spring one.

Tera,

thanks for asking for me. Tour guide says it be around 10+ degrees too. I guess it will be the same as last year trip cos last year i went around October (autumn season) and Paris is around 10+ degrees too (but switzerland and finland is much much colder). U are right as long as no wind is fine, with wind is horrible.

I will dig out my last year items to bring along.. just tat i need to buy thermal wear this time bec' last year i bot a wool thermal wear and end up i have terrible allegy to wool and develop cold rashes. This time i bot a cotton one, i hope will be fine.

Actually wanted to bring along the coat i bot at Paris last year but i dun tink i can fit in them now.. sob cos its v fitting and now i have grown..

Ellysia,

U gg taiwan??..I went to taiwan in april. The temp ard 13-14..actually nt very cold la..i didnt wear long john or thermal wear too..juz a jacket and muffler..stil can tahan tt time..But nw coz we pregnant, maybe different..

It is actually the wind tt is cold..if wind nv blow..quite cooling..i am there for 9 days..first 7 days nv c sunlight at all..oni get to c sunlight on my last 2 day there..

If u go there, i suggest u dun buy anything fr ximending 1st..coz the pricing there is comparable to s'pore..when u go to other night mkts, u wil c more bargain..esp shilin mkt..there wil b more things after 8.30pm..those 'illegal' vendor wil start selling their things..

'Wu fen pu' oso gt alot bargains..there sell amostly wholesales items..bb clothings r very cheap too..but for adult, coz their size mostly free size, so i din manage to buy any..

Ellysia,
No prob. Dun be sad about the coat, I can understand cos coats are meant to be fitting so once preggie usu cannot wear. Well, I'm sure you will be able to wear it again post-pregnancy!
Oh, actually, I realise that shoes are v impt in cold weather (cos once feet is cold u can be v uncomfortable) so do try to wear a pair of comfortable shoes. Last but not least, have a good time in Taiwan!

Now onto clothing, I haven't bought any pants yet tho' I intend to. I only bought 3/4 ones from Perfect Mum and Spring. Agree that the long pants at Perfect Mum not v nice.

Tera,

Ya shoes also quite impt.. tink i just wear sports shoes.. easiest to walk.

I prefer to wear pants to work bec' easier to move around and if necessary to go site it be more convenient. So i have no choice but to bot pants for whole week. Tat time during 1st trim is so tired, dun have energy to hunt around and since perfect mum near my office i just went to snap a bunch of them. Not nice but comfortable yes.

twinky,

thks for giving so many tips. I dunno wat to buy at taiwan leh cos no go there b4.. if buy maternity? or maybe i can also buy some normal wear and keep until after give birth then wear heeeeee.

Hi Ellysia, I suggest you can buy the nursing pyjamas (those button in front one). If you go WuFenPu, can get quite a good deal. Even babies clothes also cheap

Ellysia

For the CCT Fashion, would you know what it means by shipping cost for clothes is 1 unit? What is the 1 unit's equivalent to S$? Thanks

twinky,

I was in Taipei in April too. Maybe we saw each other, haha.

Ellysia,

It gets super cold when it is cloudy/ rainy.. Thermal wear wasnt necessary when I went in April too. However, have to arm yourself with a thicker jacket when the weather turns cloudy/ rainy.

Si Men Ding sells trendy clothes, but at a higher price. Wu Fen Pu is good if you buy in bulk, else you cant get much discount. I dun rem seeing any maternity wear then.. or maybe I wasnt paying attention.

Oh boy, I missed shopping spree.

Ellysia,

Shooping for clothings & accessories wil break ur leg oredi..too many many barang barang liao..when i went there, i wore sport shoes as well..ended up didn't get ant shoes fr there coz lazy & difficult to take off them to try..reali lose a gd deal lo..

There can buy clothings, bags, shoes, accessoreis & titbits..alot alot variety..

TF,

I am not sure but i dun tink the shipping cost can be a lot and also the shipping cost is shared if u buy through the bulk purchase.

I order 3 tops and its only $36.00 singapore dollars. I tink even if add shipping (e.g. $14) $50 divide by 3 clothes is still cheap.

Haha Zeun,

Wat is the period u there?? I was there from 5th to 13th..I join the Namho tour..and extended 2 days F&E myself..

Hi Ellysia,

Yah, there is a higher chance of use of forceps or vacuum if use epidural.ALthough the marks will go away after some time, it's a bit heart breaking to know that a small bb came into the world in such a rough manner. heart pain loh.. that's my view lah. I was just thinking, last time, our grandmas also deliver at home.. no prob. no pain relief.

I was in taiwan late August this year, bought quite a bit of clothes, but now cannot wear coz preggie, haiz. Shilin night market clothes are cheaper, for those office wear clothes, 2 pcs is about TWD 350. Quite a good buy and quality not bad.

Ellysia,
Wu Fen Pu might be selling mainly, if not all winter clothings and shoes (mainly boots) this time of the year (that was the case in Dec last year). Xi Men Ding has more non-winter clothes cos there are some small shopping centres and shops. My impression of it is that it's a good place to get sports stuff. I bought a pair of puma sneakers and it was cheaper by S$30+. Oh and when you are at Xi Men Ding, rem to check out Ah Zong Main Xian, famous for its Oyster Mee Sua. Of course, the oyster cannot take now since preggie but can try the mee sua if you are game, it taste super good standing there eating on a chilly night.

Wah all the shopping....! I cannot even go for night market opp my street... sob sob. Everyone will nag... bed rest..bed rest.. Aiyo! Very Boring le...

so many people talking about the toa payoh shop. I want to go see see later today =) see can get anything or not.

will be seeing my gynae later.... yeah!!! get to see bb again.

Teragram,

Ah Zong Mian Xian is nt using oyster..they use the intestine..i ate it almost 3-4 times when i was there..coz me staying near Ximending..

The bubble milk tea very nice oso..better than S'pore one..hahhaa

hi cactus,

you all discussing about delivery methods? Maybe I can share a bit.

rate of dilation really defers person to person. For me, took 4 hours for 2cm (2cm at admission to 4cm.) mentally cave in after that cos must thot must tahan another 12 hours for to reach full 10 cm!!!! screamed for epi .... epi administered. then suddenly my dilation speed up to 8cm within the next hour. So I was ready to push before the epi could set in!!!! waste my money leh.....

But ability to tolerate labour pain really can't predict up front. Must see how it turns out on the actual day.

Oh ya, my bb delivered with forceps. But don't think it's cos of epi. But rather I didn't push at the right place. got marking.... you want to see, I can go find his pic. Goes away quite quickly. no worries..... more importantly is to have bb delivered safe and sound.

Twinky,
Oh, pai seh, I thought I heard the tour guide say oyster. No wonder it didn't taste like oyster cos I thought it was rather small and chewy. But it's very nice right?
Oh yes, how could I forget the bubble milk tea, with a lot a lot of flavours to choose from!

as to whether can eat or not during labour. Think up to the gynae. The midwives told me my gynae very particular. Strictly no food. can only sip water if mouth is dry.

actually contraction so painful. really no mood to eat. Just want to get it quickly over.

Haha..My tour guide told me they used to use oyster..but coz of health conscious, they change it to the intestine..super delicious if u put alot of chilli and vinegar..**mouth drooling liao**

Ellysia,

U dun eat the intestine..u juz eat the mian xian..if u go taiwan dun eat quite wasted lo..But when u there becareful wif the food u eat.esp. those stall by the road one..not very healthy for preggy..

cactus,

Yup.. anyway its hard to control.. lets worry when its near..

Sometimes i read those stories of labour, its quite scary.. prefer to worry when come 3rd trim.

Tera and mog,

so much info provided! Heee.. hope to have enuff energy to shop lor..and good weather

Hi piyoz,

I'm told that dilation in the early stages is very slow so need alot of stamina to last. The prob with epi is it numbs the legs so harder to push together with contractions. need to rely alot on CTG machine. That's what I'm told lah. Most pple dilate very quickly from 6cm onwards. A good number dilate quickly from 4cm onwards.. and that's when epi is usually given (between 3cm to 6cm). Once hit 7cm, no one will give epi already. Of course, diff doctors have diff thresholds. As for drinking, I'm told should stay at home as much as possbile during early labour so can eat and drink for energy. no energy, definately harder to cope with delivery. I know can suck ice chips, but not every doctor will allow lemon/honey water or dry biscuits once admitted to hospital...

Sigh... you are lucky liao. my friend 3cm to 4cm had contracts for 13 hours leh! but she went from 4cm to delivery in just 6 hours.

twinky and Tera,

Ya tour guide also mention on the mian xian.. hee.. and many nice food at taiwan. I hope i got the appetite to eat them! Cos sometimes appetite fluctuate and slight heartburn (or want to vomit but no vomit) will visit me sometimes.

I still have to bring ginger biscuits, "chen PI", bird nest along..

cactus,

Yup.. me also scared too hungry no strength. Plus i have some gastric problems.. if too hungry my stomach will growl until painful + headache everything will come.. if hungry for 2 hrs, my whole body become v weak.. so dunno how to cope w/o food also.

Hi Ellysia, Twinky, I'm like you both too! Cannot do without food at all.

The reason for us not having food is cos epidural may cause us to vomit due to feeling nauseated. Another reason if we need to go for emergency c-section cos somehow, we fail to progress during natural labour, the doctor will need to push our stomachs to get bb out during c-section and if we had eaten food, it may cause the food particular to travel up our oesophagus (can't remembe rhow to spell), and cause us to choke on our vomit/food, and die. So usually, nurses won't let us eat when we reach the hospital. The trick, I learnt, is to eat easily digestable meals, like digestive biscuits and drink water before we enter hospital. If we can find a sympathetic doctor who believes that food is required to give a labouring mother the energy to deliver the bb, even better. I will definately try to eat biscuits and drink honey/lemon water during labour. If not, no way can have energy loh. but if I think there's going to be a risk of c-section, I'll stop the eating and drinking. I was hospitalized for suspected appendicitis in May.. and I was lucky that the surgeon I was under was kind enough to allow me to eat biscuits and some water whilst I was waiting for the test results to come out even though we all knew there was a chance that I could be a case of emergency operation. Some mothers swear by chicken essence. But I dun think it'll work for me. I will try but so far I drink chicken essence, I don't find that it helps me stay alert leh. Instead, I know that chicken essence increases matabolism.. which means food gets digested faster?

sorry gals, just want to complain.

really angry with this staff of mine. she really too much. recently i changed her portfolio. she already throw out everything. but never take in any new things yet. don't know what she busy with. give her some simple task, she can take the whole day to do. already told her she got a lot of other things to learn. esp when i maternity, she got to cover me, she still not scared. everyday only know how to complain to me abt other pple, how incapable other pple is. i already hinted to her abt her own working attitude, but she just see flaws in other pple and not herself. then keep taking leave some more. really angry leh...... sigh.....

cactus,

I tink eat meat will make digestion slower.

Wah u go chopsticks to eat? I remember the noodles there v nice. Just now wanted to go chopstick (raffles link) but later lazy to walk, so i just go market street eat claypot abalone laksa. Yummy!

iamsnow,

not tat i want to say, some people not afraid covering one.. cos they just anyhow cover lor. My Admin asst go maternity, another one also anyhow cover for her. She come back, all things messy.