(2008/06) June 2008

TF,

I also believed that TCM will help to cure flu etc at the root problem than western medicine.

However, as my colleague have encountered complications during her pregnancy and she suspected is due to the TCM herbs that she took, i am a bit cautious on what TCM items to take.

My mum said she took TCM "an tai yao" during the time she had me and i have "huang dan bing" when i am a bb. Later she asked gynae and gynae told her TCM medicine got a content tat will cause tat so it is recommended to take the western one "duphaston". My mum practice tat for my younger bro and bro dun have tat problem. So my mum told me not to touch chinese herbs during 1st trimester as it is advised by her gynae.

So when it come to TCM herbs and tonics, i will be more cautious and not over take cos unsure of the effects.

Btw, i got preggy when i took "bai feng wan" the mth on the conception month. But cos tat time i just started on "bai feng wan" so i am also not v sure if this really helps. But it do help in regulating menses cramps.

cactus,

Yup i have been going to toilet lesser too. But sometimes if i drink water within 1-2 hrs b4 sleep, i may still need to go in the middle of night or be disturbed during sleep.

cactus,

Dunno i haven't been to batam before. U go so long? Tot nothing much to see there.

Btw i am running out of maternity top. I tink i need to go Toa Payoh to see tat recommended shop.

cactus, batam resort/hotels accept SGD. as for shopping, not sure.... prob u can check out the hotel if they provide money exchange services. no need to change too much. else if u end up with a lot of excess, will be quite wasted.

that time i went batam, there was not much things to buy when i go shopping. but up to individual lah. my friend bought a lot of things though.....

Hi all, may I join in the forum. Im currently a 28 yrs old SAHM, hv 2 beautiful gals and this will be my 3rd child. Elder girl is 5 this year and younger 1 is 13 months. My EDD is 2 June 2008. Hope to make some friends

Hi, for those entering the 2nd trimester, can you all share what brand of DHA(fish oil)and calcium you all are taking?
My gyne recommended me this brand called EPAX from Australia.

Kylene,

Tink my fish oil is also Epax. I checked tonite when i get back home to confirm.

Mine is all given by gynae, i didn't bother abt the brand.

kylene, my gynae gave me multigain for fish oil. (something like that)

how much does your fish oil cost? mine is quite exp. are fish oil exp?

for calcium, i think it's caltrate.

welcome babyjo

So now yr bb is 14 weeks? Who is yr gynae?

iamsnow and Ellysia,

mine is nature's care EPAX - quite expensive, $45 for 30 tablets (excluding GST) so I'm wondering if there's a cheaper option :p

Cactus_79,

Hey, u going on a batam trip?? after coming back share with us ok?? cuz i've tot of going batam to relax, but heard tt there's nothing to see or shopping leh...

hi kylene, mine is DHA250 from Natural Farm. my gynae went thru' the ingrendients n approve it. Now in 2nd trim but she still wants me to continue wif it together wif folic acid.

kylene, i think mine cost $30+ for a bottle of 30. can't remember the exact price.

u taking multi vitamins also?

iamsnow,
ya i'm taking Obimin, a multivitamin. some of my friends take Sangobion or Neurobion. $30 + is much cheaper than mine!

morning everyone

Went for my 1st scan yesterday. Finali can c my baby.. veri active~! Dating EDD is on 4 Jun but wil stil take 2 Jun as nt much dif. Brought my ger in throughout the whole scanning & she kip saying 'mummy baby'
Nxt scan wil b on 20 wks ba.. awaiting for it~!

HI Lamb,

Happy to hear tat yr scan results is ok. So are u doing Oscar test or any down sydrome test? U went to KK to scan?

This morn i take taxi to work liao.. most likely be taking taxi to work in future, bec' standing too long at MRT and squeezing in the morning crowd is quite straining for me.. find a big difference, at least this morn i didn't come to office tired.

Lamb,

Better do it for a peace of mind.. dun tink it makes any difference whether 1st one ok, cos each pregnancy is different.

Ya.. my mum also say no need to worry if no history.. but just do for peace of mind leh.

I lose 1 KG during the week when i have severe LS. Then gain back the 1 KG on the week when i recovered. So in total i am still 2 KG gain from pre-pregnancy.

I am from the May08 thread, but i guess i can join here too? since my original EDD is 31May but sometimes the scan also shows somewhere early June08.

Anywhere, i went to the toa payoh shop last nite tat was recommended here. I went around 9 plus after dinner, and their closing time is 930pm. but the auntie there is very helpful, she took so many clothes for me to try and is not pushy to ask me to buy all. she just said"if you dun like, just throw them aside.. and pick those you like" In the end i bought two pants, one skirt and three tops, which cost abt 140. but it's much cheaper than those maternity wear boutiques. the average price is around 20plus bah.

most of the maternity wear are outside the shop. they do sell non-maternity wear also. but dun expect a lot of choices or fanciful designs. most of them are quite plain-looking maternity wear. but i guess for a start, it's a good choice for some basic maternity clothes.

Hi TF, is ur chinese sinseh good? can you PM me the contact? i am thinking of bringing my father to see one. Thank you.

kylene, i'm also taking obimin. i think this is quite cheap. around $5 per bottle only.

cactus, the seafood there is simply yummy and cheap!!! i loved it! but dun ask me where is it. my friend brought us there..... haha... but be careful not to take any uncooked food.

cactus, how come so qiao? my folks also gg china on dec 19 - 28...they gg har-er-bin...where were ur folks intended to go in china?

cactus,

OIC initially me and hb booked Jiu Zhai gou too.. but we have to change our plans when i know i am preggy.

Actually relaxing is more impt cos now we cannot have too rushed trip.. simple and easy one be good.

I hope my next week taiwan trip will be fine.. cos i am going to part mountains/some farm resort/some city. Hope the mountain part is not too strenuous cos i like to see nice scenery.

lamb, i didnt gain any wtg at all over the last 14 wks ley...except tummy now a bit more visible oreadi. 2kgs over a wk, is tat a lot?

hi gals...
seems like many of u have gone for the Oscar test...but i have chosen instead to take a blood test to determine the risk of DS...i hope i made the right decision.

Hi Ellysia,

do skip the hot springs if you are going to any in taiwan. also, be careful about the food that you eat if you plan to visit shilin night market or other night markets. The fermented bean curd may not be good for us now. finally, if you go to alishan area, make a conscious effort to walk slower, cos due to the high altitude, you may feel a bit breathless or have a dry cough.

hihi all mrn,
ellysia,
i went to that toa payoh shop already... it's quite hard to reach that shop which they recommended. but finally i found that shop. i notice their top clothes its not that nice but so so only... i end up only bought their pants and skirt.. all of their small size still too big for me...faint (maybe i'm too skinny)

seems like a lot of pple going for holidays.... i going to phuket the week after next also....

how much have u all gained now? I've gained around 6kg, now 14th week. not sure where the weight comes from. never eat much and vomit a lot....

iamsnow,
you gain so many weight ah? i'm now only 14th weeks plus but from beginning i pregnant till now only gain 2kg -.-

ellysia,
baby is nw 82mm & 14 wks ya

cactus,
i dun expect my weight to grow so fast~! During my 1st preggie, i put on oni 2kg on my 1st tri but whole preggie I put on almost 15kg~! I tink tis time rd 20kg oso come *faintz*

shycloud,
im oso taking blood test for the DS...

liew, ya, i also dunno how come I gain so much..... so sad. think prob all the weight will be put on me.... prob will end up gaining 20kg since i'm already 6kg.... *faint*

iamsnow,
don worry so much.. as long you and ur bb sweetie healthy.. i believe now ur stomach is bigger than last time? mine still can't see yet. my mummy said like nothing...

liew,
my tummy is horribly big. so sad. prob all end up being tummy fats after birth. but i think now the bb so small, the tummy should not be too big....