(2008/06) June 2008

HI Maryann, thank you for your advice... GUess i will be going for my oscar test too... mine cost $298.. how abt u all... My gynae is Dr Caroline form TMC...

I wanna faint liao.

Angry angry angry, my BIL's behaviour is getting more and more atrocious.

We just changed the bedsheets over the weekends. I came back after dinner with hubby and found pubic hairs and blood stains on the quilt cover. Damn gross loh, I had to take tissues to pick up those hairs.

Hubby said tell me to "REN" for a while more, we'll be out of this. I complaint said this is getting overboard,from bad to worse loh! U do on ppl's bed already very disrespectful, now started to leave evidences around. He really treats us like chambermaids and treats our beds like hotel loh. #%^*#

Hubby said he'll go talk to his bro. I think he better talk to him, else one day I really cannot take it, I'll just do a open confrontation liao. In front of my MIL and FIL! Urgh...

I think I'm almost ready to kill him liao.

God, please grant me more patience to remain sane...

Morning ladies...

Kelcqi,
Oh dear....ur BIL really too much leh...I also feel u shd comfront him lor...cos everytime ur hb say he will talk to his bro, maybe he did not lor..Hiaz...its really so gross leh...somemore can leave evidence ...ahyoyoy....

Ellyisa,cactus,
I also started to listen to mozart music and soem nursery songs =)...But bb can only hear in wk20 leh...hehe...my hb said I KS, so fast want tai jiao liao =D...Yest took my 1st bird nest at nite before I go to bed, felt so man zhu yest =D...keke..

hihi all sweetie,
very good mrn to all sweetie mummy....

morning gers! m at home tis today. my gynae put me on 5 days MC starting yd.
she said my immune system down to nil oreadi due to work stress so i ve to be put on hm rest. just took 6 pills tis am...arrrggg....

crystal,
you must take good care and rest well at home don't go anywhere.... eat more and rest more... kambateh ya!

morning ladies!!!

kelcqi, i think u shld ask your hubby to speak to his bro.... actually i think its quite disrepectful to do that...

juliet, my hb bought the Wii set some time back, IMHO, it is worth it to get ley....
i like the Wii sports series n the super mario series...very fun. e sports series reai give a real workout cos the 1st few time i played, wow, arms reai aching like hell man, from bowling to boxing to tennis...my hb bought it from tis shop in ang mo kio central for ard $600+.

kelchq, yur hb too much lar. he expect u to bottle all tis unhappiness up in u now meh? not good for u n bb ley, he knows or not? if he dun wan u to complain to him, then u need another outlet mah. nvr mind, u come in here n vent to us. wif all of us here, u sure feel better in time to come ok? i wish i ve another soln for u, let me crack my brain a bit n i let u know if i come up wif anything...okie? tat time when i ve not got my new hse yet n ve to sleep @ my MIL's plc in hb's old rm, the boys ve a habit of climbing onto our bed n stomp all over it. i feel so unhygenic. jus told them of in front of my SIL/BIL & MIL lor. they know i very particular abt things like tat. my hb like yurs also say nvr mind. i told him i ve very sensitive skin n dun fancy putting my face on the spot where his nephews had just put their dirty feet on. thereafter, e boys learnt not to bring their feet onto my bed... darn.....

oh yes kelchq, pls dun overexert yurself over the chnging of bedsht okie? get yur hb to do while u supervise him cos we cant carry or lag too heavy things rite now, dangerous still, alrite? *hug hug*

crystal...last nite me itchy backside, when i was on my way home, i drop by Jurong Point n bought home a wii set too!!! burnt a big hole in my pocket...ya...i totally love wii sports...i tried playing mario galaxy last nite..fun leh..hahaha...

icegal,
for mine is 398 den after FBI discount is 360+ and it includes the 20 wk detailed scan..

ur 298 is include the 20 wk scan? cos my frend oso paid 200+ but doesnt include the 20wk scan..

babycupid,icegal,
for mine is 420(include gst)...it's a package oscar scan plus 20th weeks detail scan.

goodness Kelcqi, blood stains??? WTF!!!! dun tell me they still do tat when the gf is having her period????? i swear i burst man if i were u. would not ve tolerate for so long. any chance u can move back to yur parents' hm for the time being till yur hb resolve this issue? i dun meant to sow discord but i do think tis is going beyond basic decency.

liew, will do tat...but i throw up everything i eat also...now in my 14wks but m still not gaining any wtg. in fact i lost 3 kgs since i start preggie till now. ok lah, console myself lesser to lose next time. my ex-colleagues coming to drive me out for lunch later, so looking forward to being able to eat something lor.

juliet, yipppeeee....mario galaxy is fun yeah! u try the rabbit one before? not bad also. i like these games. want to buy the academy one but my wii console cant read the game...sian...

crystal, u mean the raving rabbit? or the 1st few stage where you have to catch the rabbit on the galaxy? wah lau, i catch until i blur leh! keep gg round circles (not used to the controls yet)...my hubby laugh at my stupidity for the longest time & loudest for the 1st time is soooo many years lor...

crystal,
don worry so much.. i'm also 14th weeks.. coming fri then 15th weeks.. lets we wait for 2 more weeks to go..think will stop vomiting and nauseas. later lunch if u can't able to eat more then try to eat porridge or light food while going bk office buy some bread in case after 3pm you'll feel hungry.. i'm always got lots bread or pizza with me and will eat ard 4pm... my baby very naughty.. always complaint not enough food.hee

juliet, opppsss...i meant the raving rabbit, not the one on the galaxy. i stupid one, i cant coordinate n make the rabbits dance to the tune, so always die lor. my hb also laf at me till he pang. but i see him do, like so easy like tat. life is jus not fair...*pout*

liew, me opposite, always not hungry. before preg, always hungry n snack. now? dun even feel like snacking at all.

Kelcqi,

I told my hb on yr incident and he also dun tink it nice on yr BIL.

On the "pang dang" matter, maybe u see if can find some feng shui book tat mention abt the matrimonial bed and show to yr hb and MIL. Said some fengshui master say one. Maybe mention it will affect kid or someting (yr MIL probably won't bother abt yr rs with hb anyway but she may be concern on kid). If i am not wrong, it is not auspicious for marriage if another person share your matrimonial bed. In fact, best not to let other people touch it (except MIL bec she need to ang chuan).

Not every new bed need to an chuan. Only yr new bed for yr wedding need to.

Actually if u are now preggy and need to move house, also not ideal bec' a lot of moving is not auspicious for preggy.. but for me my bed also shift a bit (cos my hb is chasing the cockroach tat time) when i am preggy and my mum ored shouting when she see (she happen to be at my house tat time). Dunno is bec' of this my pregnancy is not v smooth cos of the spotting but i choose not to tink so much on the pang dang stuff..

However i do believe matriomonial bed cannot share with another person cos i heard it will lead to 3rd party or someting.. not sure. anyway dun sound auspicious to me.

icegal,

No good methods to solve the outbreak.. it will go off in 2nd trim usually.. one way is to use facial wash often.. but dun use other products or do facial (some chemicals are harmful to bb).. u can try to eat bird nest closer to yr 12 week.. it will help a lot.

mary,

After my Oscar test, the next day gynae called to inform on results. Then next visit gynae passed me the results report.

roxy,

I see. My gynae didn't give me any injection, only take duphaston. Now gynae also said cannot do anything except continue on duphaston and avoid strenous exercise/too much walking. I tink next week when i go trip i have to be more careful.

My colleague say if placenta low, need to do c-section earlier (i.e. not full term) and bb will be a bit "zhao chan".

What to do.. if we encounter on this.. hopefully it will go up soon and no need c-section.

Really, pregnancy and giving birth, we have no control one. sometimes i feel helpless.. but have to trust that gynae will help us. My mum said dun worry just let gynae handle.

My flu has worsen to include sore throat now. I just went to see my company doc.. he said cannot give me antibiotics bec' antibiotics dun have "suppose to be safe for pregnancy" i.e. no guarantee safe one. In fact he say no 100% safe medicine so what docs do is always to give weaker medicine and lower dosage, tats why our sickness takes longer to heal. The only way is to eat fruits and water to recover faster.

So no choice, i gonna suffer my terrible flu and sore throat now.. luckily typing here no need to tok haaa.

ellysia, mine also bad flu, sore throat, fever, etc. but my gynae did give me medicine + 1000mg vit c....maybe u can try the vit c?

kelcqi... ur BIL is really too much! If it's me, I will be so grossed out! Blood stains and pubic hair... oh dear... can u lock the room when you are away? Or perhaps tell your hubby that you want to move out.. that there might be no space for baby...

Ellysia, you are on duphaston ah? Ic, my friend told me beore that duphaston cause tiredness, not sure how true it is, but when i took it in the past, i really can sleep whole day, now is much better after i stop taking. But could just be first trimester lethargic. Yeah loh, nothing much we can do.. just pray and wait and must avoid streneous activities

babycupid.. how did u know it include the 20th week scan? I paid abt 300 but i tink it doesnt include detailed scan... that time when i paid, they didnt ask me whether i wanted to take up 5th week detailed scan package..

crystal, me wanna try the raving rabbit...my fren got..so think i'll just borrow from her...i got long christmas break..can play until peng san! kkeke

crystal,

I have vit c but last time whenever i take vit c, i got even more sick. I tink maybe vitamins are too heaty and i am heaty nature. Anyway the mult-vits tablets gynae gave got vit C also, so i tink maybe i dun eat extra vit C tablets... instead will eat more fruits.

Yest i bot $8 fruit juice at Raffles place (apple + cranberry) and honeydew to eat. I drink so much water that my stomach all bloated until cannot sit. Then go back keep going toilet haa.. but feel better.

Tink today have to do the same.. i drink too little water every day then also my bb like to eat western food so much.. so keep eating fried food recently. Too heaty for me.

roxy,
if i am not wrong it is stated on the receipts.. i go home check tonite and let u koe.. and i oso ask the counter when i paying and she told me is included..

roxy,

Duphaston will cause tireness? No leh.. i find nothing different. But it did make me feel stronger and less strenous when climbing stairs. I am still on duphaston.

My hb paid around $398 for the Oscar test, which we noticed also include the 20 week scan. Cos i remember the nurse at TMC got mentioned tat it includes another scan.

Package for my clinic is only including consultions & normal scan by gynae. Doesn't include medications, tests etc. We just sign the package $688 last sat.

Are u still bleeding on and off now? I still have spotting on and off. This morn just spotted.

My 20 week scan is ored scheduled on 15 January. But will see gynae on 1 week Jan.

roxy,

I have colleague who bleed at 5th month and need to do many injections. She is also v worried. Another colleague also told me she has bleeding for 1st trim.

juliet, actually can ask yur fren if can burn a copy of hers cos tat was wat my hb fren did - he borrowed my hb's metal slug n burn a copy for his own use. of cos, his become 'pirated" version lor...ekkekke... but the raving rabbit reai fun, try it n let me know lar.

ellysia, my body used to be the cooling type, now becomes very heaty after preggie. my gynae say we cant ve enf of vit c now cos bb also absorbing from us. usually she gives me the 500mg ones but now i not well, she asked me to take the 1000mg vit c for a few days to get well 1st, tis is on top of my multivits tat she gives. or maybe cos i too weak in immue lar, tat's y she makes me take so much?

crystal,

If sick always take more vit C one mah..

I didn't tell my gynae i always fall sick leh..

cos i always have flu even before pregnancy..partly due to sinus partly due to diet. But it worsen during pregnancy.

I dunno read where, Vit c cannot eat too much.
Anyway i take fruits, easier to absorb into body.

Too much vits, will have constipation.

crystal, burn a copy can play ah? mine not mod set leh...tot won't be able to...ok, i'll ask my fren to burn a copy for me n try...kekeke

Prima Deli cakes

MORE than 100 people came down with food poisoning in the last 10 days or so and public health authorities have singled out chocolate cakes from the Prima Deli chain of bakeries as the likely source of the outbreak.
The company with 39 outlets islandwide has been told to stop making and selling all chocolate cakes and to recall unsold cakes from store counters as well.

Members of the public are also advised to throw away any uneaten chocolate cakes bought from Prima Deli and to see a doctor if they fall ill.

In a joint statement yesterday, the Ministry of Health (MOH) and the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority said that of the 106 who fell ill, six were hospitalised but have since been discharged.

Six of those who fell ill tested positive for salmonella enteritidis, with symptoms such as fever, diarrhoea, vomiting and abdominal pain.

MOH was first notified of a food poisoning case on Nov 23 and as more cases surfaced, investigations indicated that the common link was Prima Deli chocolate cakes, purchased as early as Nov 19.

To date, the ministry has been notified of eight such food poisoning cases linked to the chocolate cakes from the company. The last person to fall ill started showing symptoms on Nov 26.

The two agencies then carried out joint inspections of Prima Food's main factory in Keppel Road, which produces the chocolate cakes for all Prima Deli retail outlets.

Test results out yesterday on samples taken from the company suggest salmonella as the likely cause. Employees who handled the food are being screened and investigations into the source of the infection are continuing.

When contacted last night, Ms Pansy Wong, deputy general manager of Prima Food, said that about 50 of the factory's 100 employees were tested last week and that the tests have narrowed it down to one employee who handled butter cream - one of the ingredients used in the chocolate cakes.

Initial findings suggest that this employee may be the carrier of the salmonella bacteria, but he did not not show any symptoms which made the health hazard harder to spot.

The company stopped all production and recalled two types of chocolate cakes - chocolate truffle and hazelnut indulgence - last Friday, as these flavours contained the butter cream handled by the employee.

As a further measure, Prima Food ceased production of all chocolate-related cakes yesterday.

Ms Wong estimated that 300 to 400 cakes in total have been recalled and will be destroyed.

Prima Food's next course of action sees its entire facility in Keppel Road disinfected tomorrow.

Speaking to The Straits Times last night, Ms Wong said: 'This has never happened before. The damage is immense - it is not so much about the money but the brand itself and we care about the consumer more than anything else.

'We did not expect this to happen at all, especially when all the regulations have been followed.'

icegal, yup mine too $298 still got to add 7% gst so $300+.

oh i didn't know there is the package that includes 20th week scan! early know i take that package.

and you girls are right, i received a call from my gynae's clinic this morning and the nurse told me my results indicate low risk so quite relived because i'm an old mummy mah hehe, turning 34 this friday! :p

alright, you girls have a great tuesday ahead!

wah! lucky me. Wanted to get prima deli cake for hb bday on 26 nov...can't find it in clementi, so made do w/ bengawan solo! Phew!

now preggy, we must be more careful on the food we eat.

Luckily i bot bakerzin cake for my hb bday in Nov.

thanks babycupid!! Think mine dun have... nurse never tell me... if i had known, would have taken package...

ellysia... my gynae told me bleeding and spotting is extremely common now and not to be too worried... my brown discharge stopped yesterday, phew. I dun have spotting..go straight to bright red bleeding
But once that stops and I cease from physical exertions, bleeding stops and no spotting. Lucky you, can still climb stairs.. but be very careful k? I suspect was the stairs that caused my bleeding..pls try to avoid climbing stairs. Maybe if you stop the stairs, the spotting might stop too...

crystal.. perhaps u can try redoxon vitamin c tablet... those dissolve in water type.. one day take a glass to boost our immune system up.

roxy,

I also tink is the climbling stairs tat is giving problem. But i can't avoid stairs cos my house to work (to and fro) has stairs. No other alternative route too.

roxy,
icic.. cos my frend told me hers is 200+ too.. den i asked her abt the detailed scan.. she said her gynae included tat into her package le..

hey ladies, any idea that when we are preggie, we arent able to eat any raw food especially sharkfins and half boiled eggs?? GUess it will cause the bb to develop incompletely... for me i dun touch all these food but i still saw some preggies eating all these stuff like my sis in law and my lady boss.. just wanna clarify whether its true or not...

hi icegirl.

im not sure but my gynae told me that i can eat everything but they must be COOKED. since she let me eat everything n stress that i shldnt eat undone food, so i skip uncooked stuff altogether.

i even skip sunny-side up egg yolks.

but i ate sharkfin nonetheless.

Sorry that I didnt knw there's a tinyfeet, its ok to address me TF then. Hope nt confusing any of you.

Maryann, if you think you are 34, i'm 35. I will be going for my OSCAR next Monday and also hope everythg is fine. My husband was paranoid whenever the gynae has to do their part to address down symdrome statistic.

BTW, I'm in my Week 13 and my gynae is Adelina Wong from TMC, EDD 18 June.

I spent some time typing my message, n got hang twice in posting (think some server problem), so nw I'm splitting the postings in case i've to retype.

I've read quite a some of you have flu, fever, etc.. Fr my experience, I will consult my Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) doc if i'm unwell during pregnancy. Reason being when we are unwell, symptoms such as headaches, etc surface. So if we go for the western panadol n antibiotic, we are merely suppressing the symptom rather than finding the real cause.

I knw its nt easy for some to believe TCM, however, I was with my TCM for last 1 year when i was trying to conceive, fr a friend's recommendation who conceived also aft 1 year. Basically, the medication helps to balance or ying/yang and tonic our body. So it was thru my tonic stage that i got pregnant already and continue with the An Tai Yao. My 1st gynae gv me Duphaston when i visited. However, whn i see Adelina (2nd gynae), she say its ok to continue my An Tai until Week 12 and dun take the Duphaston.

At early stage, I had some crampy feeling initially. I was scared that sthg is nt going right. Later, the TCM doc did my pulse and tongue reading, she assure me its just wind in the tummy. So the medication given by her are pregnancy safe cos she specialize in helping those who wnt to get pregnant or even seeing children. Hope this helps if you are looking for alternative.

I spent some time typing my message, n got hang twice in posting (think some server problem), so nw I'm splitting the postings in case i've to retype.

I've read quite a some of you have flu, fever, etc.. Fr my experience, I will consult my Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) doc if i'm unwell during pregnancy. Reason being when we are unwell, symptoms such as headaches, etc surface. So if we go for the western panadol n antibiotic, we are merely suppressing the symptom rather than finding the real cause.

I knw its nt easy for some to believe TCM, however, I was with my TCM for last 1 year when i was trying to conceive, fr a friend's recommendation who conceived also aft 1 year. Basically, the medication helps to balance or ying/yang and tonic our body. So it was thru my tonic stage that i got pregnant already and continue with the An Tai Yao. My 1st gynae gv me Duphaston when i visited. However, whn i see Adelina (2nd gynae), she say its ok to continue my An Tai until Week 12 and dun take the Duphaston.

At early stage, I had some crampy feeling initially. I was scared that sthg is nt going right. Later, the TCM doc did my pulse and tongue reading, she assure me its just wind in the tummy. So the medication given by her are pregnancy safe cos she specialize in helping those who wnt to get pregnant or even seeing children. Hope this helps if you are looking for alternative.

Morning ladies!!

Just a quick question! I find that I'm going to the toilet much less often these few weeks. LIke, once per night as compared to once every 2 or 3 hours earlier in the pregnancy. Does anyone experience the same thing too?

Icegal - Yes. Do avoid all uncooked and halfcooked stuff. I'm even more kiasu. I go for stuff which is still hot but not reheated. So it has to be either fast food, or noodles or fried rice, so there is less chance of bacteria multiplying. The idea is once food is at room temp, whether it is cooked or uncooked, bacteria will infest and multiply. Bacteria in small amounts is ok. I mean, we all eat cold food once in a while. But when we are pregnancy, our bodies are more sensitive to bacteria. What may not harm us may harm the developing fetus. As for sharksfin, shark meat is very high in mercury, and is to be avoided during pregnancy. I assume the fin is also high in mercury since it is part of the shark. But the amount of fin in soups out there, esp at wedding dinner, unless it is bao chi, is very little, so it's ok. Cos the soup is actually chicken stock soup. They just cook the soup, add starch, then add some fins. That's it. It's not as if we have the soup every day. It's just once in a while, so it's okay.

icegal,

Sharksfin soup - why people say cannot eat is bec' of the mercury content, not bec' it is raw or watever. But sharksfin content is usu not a lot, so a little bit maybe is ok.

Half boiled egg - Not recommended as it is not fully cooked and may have bacteria inside.