(2008/06) June 2008

for Caesarian delivery (4 days stay at hospital) can use medisave up to $3650.

for Vaginal delivery (3 days stay at hospital) can use up to $2250

connie,
i tried last night drinking hot milo-o with some biscuits..it did help me sleep better than the past few nights..although i still woke up ard 5pm. ;p...will try again for the next few nites.

luz,
pardon me..cos a few of them here from TMC...i tot just a trend haha..

im abit nervous abt not getting enuff nutrients
...what should i do? i have poor appetite nowadays..eat little bit very full. For MS...
wanna vomit but nothing comes out..

janken,
hahaa no worries :p abt your nutrients, try to take more fruits too? fruits can give water content, bcos after vomit, we also lost water. i like apple nowadays. try to eat soupy guo tiao with pork? pork can give energy. for me i find i eat guo tiao soup with minced pork can reduce my MS a lot, and wont vomit it out, as compared to other food. hehee see what other mummies got any tips too. cracker thing also work for me.

if i cannot vomit out, i can stay in the bathroom till vomit out ley. then i feel better. if not the feeling is like a fish bone like stuck at the chest very xin gu. after vomit also drink some warm water, it helps to give back the water to our body. most impt lesson i learnt from my 1st pregnancy is DUN GET DEHYRDATED! :D

Tinyfeet,

U r 6 wks pregnant and ur embroy is only 0.281cm?? So small ah?? When i went for my 1st scan, mine is already 0.77cm..And gynae told me i am 6 wks pregnant then. Nw i am abt 9 wks liao. Gg for my 2nd visit tml.

Dear all MTBs,

Noticed tt u all r having food craving ah?? Not much of u have MS..So envy..I haf been suffering fr MS since the day i noe i am pregnant.

I am currently take more fruits, fresk milk and Anmum milk to supplement some nutrients. Coz haf nt been eating well and puking non-stop.

Sometimes, even puke until feel like my whole face gg to explode soon. Nw oso puke until throat very pain..So suffering..

twinky,
my scan according to the fetus's age is 6th weeks at 0.3cm ley. so i am similar to tinyfeet. so tinyfeet dun worry hor.

for the throat sore & pain, now i try to overcome it by chewing my food real small. so when throw out, the abrasion wont be as bad as when the food is big pcs.. haha just my theory and it work ok for me. due to bad ms during my number 1, i now devise ideas to try and alleviate it for my number 2. dun laugh at me ah hehee

For me is a lot of air bloated in my stomach and if i dun lose the air utimately i will feel full and can't eat anything.

So now i have been drinking ginger tea, yakult and eating apple or drinking apple juice, cranberry juice & eating chen pi (dried orange peels) to help digestion and reduce air.

The overbloated of air cause me to vomit air and vomit food (in my mouth) so if reduce the amt of air will not be so bad.

last time when i hospitalized at KKH for drip, a 1st time mtb opposite bed of me lost 10kg in her 1st trimester. she also has gastric pain. her case is really bad. so whenever i tot i am suffering like hell, i sometimes think of there are some mummies even worse, and they also went thru it. really must be brave. by 4th month should subside liao. Hang on!

twinky,
i tink ur 0.77cm is the waterbag.. cos i scan at 5wks+ is 0.9cm and scan at 8wks my bb is 17.5mm.. so i believed the 0.281cm of tinyfeet is refering to the bb not the waterbag..

Ellysia,
is this your number 2? bcos my number 2 tummy shows up real fast and big. i dunno if it's bloated bcos of air or not

luz - Same here..DH said, wow, can see liao, can see liao...
Yup, same thinking. Some really have it really really bad. So, our MS even though vomit here and there is nothing compare to other hor. I remembered hearing one of the moms who had to be in the hospital almost all her PG period. Ya, Ya...sometimes after vomit it out, feel so much better.

starmoon - Yup, both also under LC Cheng. His queue very long hor.

Ellysia - He!He! I guess we will find all ways to make us comfy-comfy as possible.

twinky - I have bad bad bad MS. Worst than when I was carrying my son. Just puked my lunch out...apologies TMI.

janken - I don't think we are pro or con TMC. I guess most obgyns have several hospitals which they frequent lor.

Hi Luz & Babycupid,

I oso nt sure leh..But my gynae told me my bb is 0.77cm (77mm) big. Which meant tt i am onli 5-6 wks pregnant. TT time i told i am 10 wks pregnant coz i went to GP & she cal. based on my last menses. But after scan, gynae told me onli 5-6 wks coz based on bb size.

Ended up i 'yi chang huan xi yi chang kong'..Coz i tot my MS gg to fade soon..Ended up i haf to suffer another 4-5 weeks..

Ellysia,

Me too burp alot..Even halfway thru the meal, i wil keep burping..Like so awful coz colleague eating in front of me..So paiseh..

JP..

Me is puke out my breakfast. Lunch onli took 1/4 of my food..

Do you all realise tt what we puke is very selective?? Coz a few times i puke out food i took abt 6 hrs ago. But in btw these 6 hrs, i gt eat other food. Juz tt i puke out non of the food i ate during these period..

Reali so weird and puzzling..Any one oso same same like me??

Wow JP, hospitalized all the way is really bad case ley. i heard of mummies vomit all the way till delivery, but 1st time i heard hospitalized till 9th month. wah... *still in shocked*

Twinky, u so cute hahaa hang on going to be over soon. before my number 1, i dun even experience what is burp. OMG, when i have my number 1, i burp all the time. till delivery for a year liao still burp. guess too much air bah
then i heard spicy and oily food will worsen MS? so i try to avoid lor. hehee

twinky - Yup, I do notice that. Selective ouput! He!He!

luz - Yup, I thought only in the movies but it was true. She had a weak womb or something. Had to be in bed most of the time. So charm!!! She was in and out of the hospital coz spotting won't stop or something. Anyway, she had a wonderful son now.

JP,
wat thing why ar? hahaha..

twinky,
0.77cm is 7.7mm not 77mm.. kekeke.. ya.. can koe the age by waterbag too.. normally when cant see the bb.. gynae will measure the waterbag..

JP,
kekeke.. thanks thanks.. cos my hubby side has a kid with austism so wondering whether issit genetic..

Opps BabyCupid!

Paiseh..Maths fail.. Tot 1cm = 100mm..

Hi Luz,

Hopefully MS will be gone soon..Coz gg holiday in mid dec'07. Worried tt MS still there & mood wil be affected..Est. by then ard 14-15 wks liao..

Hi luz,

Nope it is my 1st pregnancy but tummy ored show up fast too, maybe cos i dun have much tummy muscles (i suck at sit ups). Gynae said my tummy is all bloated with air.

Hi Twinky,

I feel much better after burping out air. Or else i will feel like vomit (but not vomit yet) and i have to force the air out or i will feel suffocated.

The condition is much worst during the day. Usually by dinnertime will have improved. However, during last few weeks when i have severe bloatness, I can feel full for the whole day without the appetite to eat. It is v terrible. Then suddenly at a point i will feel severe hunger then i realise i am v hungry. But when i eat a little, i feel v full again.

Later i realise part of this problem is caused by the air inside my stomach. After i drank Eno and ginger tea (as recommend by Gynae and several forummers here), stomach not so bloated and got appetite to eat

babycupid,

Yr bb at 8 weeks is 17.5mm?

Mine at 9 weeks is 3cm ored.. Gynae says that is double the size during my last visit (6th week).

Hi Ellysia,

What type of ginger tea u took? Those instant type? I tried taking. But smell too strong for me and very spicy. Onli tried a few sip cannot take it liao..

We can take eno ah?

ellysia,
yup... kekkee.. last scan on 29 Oct.. its 17.5mm.. is abt there during 8wks.. some ppl 18mm.. ya.. grow bery fast one.. so when my nex scan i tink even bigger (12wks)

Twinky - U can do yourself also. Just shave some ginger into a cup of hot water and add sugar. Some ppl must have it with tea. It really depends on the individual lor.

hi twinky,
i oso bgt the instant ginger tea sometime back... but now i cant take the drink... i smell it already very turned off.
for me, sparkly h-two-o oso works... :p
and oh... saw ur comment to tinyfeet's post abt baby size... when i saw my gynae at 6 weeks, she oso said my baby is abt 3mm only...

hi tinyfeet,
i recall reading u seeing dr mary yang at glene? me too leh...
i'll be seeing her next tue...

JP, yalor his waiting time is madness one.

seems like none of the mummies here get up to pee at nite? Me even though i dun drink before i sleep but still seems to have alot of water inside me...gotta wake up every 2-3 hours to pee....max. i can last is 4 hours. think gotta ask my gynae how come i got so much water inside me.

starmoon - Dr Cheng got check for water retention bo? He did for me. When is your next visit? I do get up at least once to wee-wee lah.

JP, he didnt check water retention for me....i remembered he only checked for me when i was in 3rd tri the last time. my next visit is tuesday...how abt u?

i have a Avent manual pump and only used for 1week. I'd like to let go as my milk ss is very low and given up for BF due to some personal reason. The UP is $99 , pls kindly PM me for those who is interested, price is negotiable.
1064123.jpg

wld like to share the condition "hyperemesis gravidarum" which i kenna during my number 1. hope to bring awareness so that seeking of treatment can be done timley.

What if I just can't keep anything down?
Call your provider if you haven't been able to keep anything including fluids down for 24 hours. (If you're newly pregnant and don't yet have a doctor or midwife, go to the emergency room.)

You may have a condition called hyperemesis gravidarum literally, "excessive vomiting in pregnancy." This condition can be difficult to manage, but the sooner you're diagnosed and begin treatment, the more likely you'll be able to avoid severe symptoms.

Your caregiver will probably want to give you some intravenous fluids right away, since you'll most likely be seriously dehydrated. Then she'll need to do some tests to check your electrolyte levels and make sure no underlying illness is causing your constant vomiting. Depending on your condition, you may need to be hospitalized for a few days so that you can continue to receive IV fluids and medication.

Many women feel much better after they're rehydrated and are able to control their symptoms with anti-nausea medication. In rare cases, you'll need to continue to receive intravenous therapy on and off either in the hospital or at home.

If inadequately treated, hyperemesis gravidarum can result in chronic dehydration, weight loss, malnutrition, and other complications for you and your baby.

hi twinky,

my gynae just told me "yr baby is 0.281cm" and it was also reflected on the scan that i took home.

on my first visit, they told me that my sac was 4mm.

was thinking my baby couldnt ve shrunk! so i guess at week 5 my sac was 4mm.

at week 6 the sac should be bigger but since the baby was visiable, i guess she took the size of the baby itself at 0.281cm. i hope that is normal!! coz i dunnoe much abt the size it shld be...

hi soyabean!!

thats great!! we ve the same gynae!! how big is yr little one now? and how did u get to be referred to Dr Mary Yang?? i just randomly chose a female gynae coz i wanted to deliver at gleneagles...im more familiar with the hospital thats all...no particular reason for choosing her.

as for the peeing topic, i drink whenevr im thirsty or just to wet my throat before turning in...i can go toilet in the middle of the night(never check time) empty my bladder and then again .....and again!!! 3 times in a night!!! where did all the water come from????

dear all... u can try out this website

www.parentingweekly.com

u will first register with yr first day of last menustration cycle and then they will calculate yr EDD and u can then save it under "favourites" on yr computer.

so every now and then, i will go the website and they will ve infomation of what is the baby development this week eg at week 5 etc

u can also start yr little journal in it and its a private journal..not like a blog.

its pretty infomative. what i like its that its personalized n tracks the number of weeks n days of yr baby.

hope u like it too!

fatty1234,
thank you,
cutting down on my sprees already.

This one is an "accident"... oops.... :p

rachel8378,
yup yup,
you nick rings a bell.

feifei,
I think 2 kids with close gap are easier to handle,
cause they'll play with themselves,
days when 1 of them ain't around,
the lonely one will ask for a lot of attention.

My #1 & #2 are 19 mths apart.

hi tinyfeet,
nt sure how big is my baby now. will know when i see dr yang on tue.
my fren recommended me to her cos i was looking for a gynae at Glene as well.
so far she has been very nice and i like her.

soyabean,

so how big is my baby by weeks now? did Dr Yang offer u a package??

how much is it and when did u ask u to sign the package??

coz 2 of my visits cost me $350 already

tinyfeet..
u r rite.. when u 1st scan in 5wks the measurement 4mm given is ur waterbag, and the measurement givien in ur 2nd scan 0.2+mm is ur bb.. cos at tat time bb is already visible so gynae only gif the measurement of ur bb..so everything is ok.. not to worry..

starmoon - he got check me leh. For my 1st PG, I gained abt 17kg. I nearly fainted. I remembered him checking my water retention thingy since 1st Trimester. Maybe becoz I look so bloated and fat. OIC, my next appt in on the 19th.
Signing up for his pkg?

tinyfeet - thanks for the link!

TanLL - Hi there! I was kind of worried that my 2nd one is so close to my 1st (abt 2 yrs apart). Nice to hear something positive.

luz - Thanks for the info on hyperemesis gravidarum.

JP, dunno y he didnt check me until 3rd tri. me gained abt 10kg for 1st pregnancy....think this time round will prob gain more cos i eat more this time and not much MS compared to last. yup, will be signing his package cos more worth it lor....his package price increase so much....last time i only paid 1.8k

Water rententiom - reduce salt intake... i remember I had very bad rentention during my confinement initially cos of my MIL's cooking. It stopped once I asked hubby to rely the message.

Lucky for me, my gynae package never increased since 3 years ago. But I am sure Mt E hospital bills will though.

congrats to all mother to be.

i'm a mother of two and have just tested positive on monday and thurs. I tested twice becos cannot believe am pregnant actually.

wanted to ask, any mummy who tested positive but dont have any symptoms at all?

Thats my case. I dont have any MS (actually i dont have for my earlier two as well), no sore breasts, appeitite is still per normal and i just felt so normal so i think something is not right.

I had a miscarriage at my 2nd pregnancy as there is no heartbeat detected till 8th week. So im worried whether it will be same thing. Or would it just be an empty sac this time round?

Trying not to think abt it till i see gynae and get final conclusion two weeks later. But i cant help feeling frustrated at times while waiting. I get irritated easily and also flare up these days.

Hi mummies out there, not sure whether is there any coffee addict drinker like me out there.

Just visited Dr Wong yesterday, my baby is 2.51mm at week 9, is that normal ? Dr never say anything.

I drink about 3 to 4 cups of coffee per day before pregnant, after I know about this pregnancy, I tried to cut down to 1 cup per day. Does caffine affect ?

Any advise ?

Hi miracle,
rest well first... Some people only have MS kick in full strength in their 7-8 weeks. Maybe you are as lucky as me in first pregnancy, no MS at all, no symptoms at all. Really nothing, except for being tired easily.
I understand how it feels to worry and yet can do nothing abt it. I lost 2 pregnancies prior to this too. Though it is easier said than done, but docs and books have mentioned in early miscarriages, there is really nothing one can do to change the situation. So try to take each day as it comes. Meanwhile, keep the spirits up!

Hi Mogudog,
I was a coffee addict too. My gynae expressed that there isnt much harm. I still drink coffee daily and sometimes up to 3 a day during my first pregnancy. Only thing is my girl seriously likes coffee now. hahaha... bitter ones also ok. IMO, do what you like to do, eat what you like to eat, MODERATION is the key word. And since you mentioned now you drink 1 cup per day, I think it is fine. I went for antenatal class for my first, even the midwife at KKH says 1 -2 cups of coffee or tea is alright. If you have to drink more due to habit, she says the trick is to reduce the intensity of coffee or tea.