(2008/06) June 2008

For me and my hb, we sort of plan to have next year cos we are not young (me is 29 years old this year coming to 30 soon). It is actually me who still reluctant to give up my freedom n er ren shi jie (couple life) more than my hb. Hb has actually persuading me to try more for higher chance of success. I remember i was still debating to him on the issue at the time of conception.

Another thing is also financially I dun tink we are fully prepared yet bec' we are still paying off loans and debts frm our wedding last year and house renovation etc.

This baby news came around the time when we are celebrating our 1st year anniversary ( i have such bad MS that i can't eat much during the free hotel anniversary buffet).

Nonetheless, I am coming to love bb and idea of pregnancy.

Somehow, I think that it is better to have a bb when both parents are mentally prepared.

Hi angie
Cheers, I think your HB a bit like my HB last time leh. They didnt know words hurt lor. The first gynae visit, my hb says "huh, cannot see, false alarm lah". very loudly somemore... I was SO SO SO pissed.
Now tt we both older, we learn to speak properly lor.

Too much TV shows... you know the TV always show mothers crying when they see their newnborn?? I tell you hor, for me, the first thing I said was "eeee...very smelly" My fren say I no feeling one. hahaha... but true mah and that doesnt make me a bad mummy, I was just being honest. kekekeke

Hi verniz/ starmoon
Was looking at the Ameda pumps... but a bit too early yah? kekekeke
But I reckon this is my last kid so I still hesitant in paying good $$ for this "last time". Even second hand ones cost $200+ lor.

Hi Girls!

Hope you don't mind me joining this group. I am now PG with #2. As per my OBGYN, my EDD is on the 23 June 08.

Congrats to all MTBs and 2nd time Moms!!!
May we have a H&H PG!!!

Linda, I will not pay so much for a breast pump since this is also going to be my last child. Maybe you can think of rentaling from Thomson Medical on their dual power Medela breast pump (hear suction is good, powerful enough which is adjustable and that it is quiet even when bb next to you) then you won't have to pay so much lor.

Crystal, you are welcome, we are here to help one and other rite? Even when I had problems yesterday you all also helped me.

Ellysia, feel sad for you that you couldn't enjoy your buffet. Next time lar, after birth liao can eat anything. It is true, once we have planning for child, it will be better. But like some unplans, as long as we are sane, we still can plan along the way as time passes lor.

Veniz,

Have no choice but to plan along the way lor..
like now our financial also not v good also bo piang, have to plan along the way.

Yah now i can't eat buffet liao.. i hope we can all eat buffet after our 1st trim

Does anyone know where sells delicious laksa?? I'm craving it so much.. but cannot have "hum", those laksa with chicken will be good. Any recommendations??

Wooo... tell me abt laksa... Katong laksa you like? But got cockles one, can ask them dun put though.
I like Lor Mee... anyone can recommend too?

feifei and cactus,
ya, could see and hear the heart beat! my husband and I were so awestruck. haha 1st baby, so like sua1 gu1 like that. my gyne says 18mm is about right for 8 weeks.

Veinz,
how many weeks are u now? it's must be an amazing feeling to see your baby right?

Linda.. where do you stay? There's a very nice lor mee at Toa Payoh market... but only in the morning, and the auntie very fierce. hehe..

Do you want to try the craypot laksa at alexandra hawker. The one opp Queensway shopping centre. Zhen San mei.

don go too late. I usually go in the morning.

Sparks

I tried drinking tea b4 meal but doesn't seem help. When I felt hungry, I think of cabbage then feel like vomiting. The more I think of cabbage taste, the vomiting feel get worse. Totally don dare to touch cabbage.

I'm now 7 weeks, how long will this last?

Hi Linda,
the LOR MEE at Tiong Bahru Hawker is very good!!! I even have to queue up for a while at 3pm imagine! Yummy

I used the Medela single electrical pump, and I found it does not work well on me. When I using at Avent Duo and it's good. I wonder why bcos a lot of mummies said Medela single is good *puzzled*

How are you all feeling today? MS strike again at 5ish AM. Had to go to the living room so that I do not wake-up DH and DS.

OSCAR - We went for the OSCAR for our #1 as I am already in my 30s. Its better to be safe bah. Furthermore, its really awesome to see our little BB via the screen.

DHs who are still not into the fatherhood swing - I guess some men are slower than others. As my nephew said (he is a young father himself), it takes time leh. I could see that he changed alot after he could see a real baby via the ultra scans, hear the heartbeat and feel the BB moves. I know that its best of DH to follow his wife to the obgyn appts so that he will be involved and watch the development of the baby. Now, my newphew is a loving, caring and can't get enough of his son type of father...he!he! Hang in there girls!!! They will come around.

Breast Pumps - I too use the Mendela Pump. As my BMS was low, I had to take a hot drink and massage it first before I pump. Its a good pump to use.

Laksa - There is a wonderful stall at Toa Payoh which sells delicious laksa. If its too far, Katong will be another good area.

Lor Mee - The best I ever tried is at Tiong Bahru. There is another similiar stall at food market near Amara Hotel.

Connie - I know that MS sucks but I guess some of us have to go through with it. One thing I know works for me - ginger. You can get the ginger crystals from Cold Storage or Taka or just those ginger tidbits from those tidbits stalls. Hope this helps! Others swears by cream crackers.

BTW, may I know when are your EDD?

Happy holiday!
can I check with u girls what antentatl vitamins u all are taking? I'm only taking folate and iron.

JP, there's a chart with our EDDs a few pages back.

Yes JP, there was a great stall in Toa Payoh selling laksa! Not sure if you are referring to the same one, but it moved!!!!! That's why I'm now so lost! haha.. The one I'm referring to is near the library opposite to the CC.

My DH started giving me extra care when my tummy gets bigger, when it's VISIBLE. I think men are visual. So hang on there girls..

salmonfish - OIC, I know that one too. The one which I was referring to is the one at TP Central called the Sungei Road Laksa.

All the talk abt food...
Cant wait for my HB to wake then can go eat Lor Mee.

Hi Luz
The TP market you mention is at Lorong what? I am quite familiar with Toa Payoh cos hb stays there prior to marriage. I like the Yong Tau Hoo at Lor 1 and Bak Chor Mee at Lor 5 market.

Hi salmonfish
I tried that, the one with shark meat one isnt it? I prefer the traditional ones with lor bak and ngor niang. I have been told Amoy Street Market has a stall very nice too... maybe shld try. I stay in Woodlands BTW.

Hi JP,
This Sungei Rd Laksa is near where of TP Central? The coffeeshop with green chairs facing the new blocks?

Hi Kylene
I am taking my turinal (still
), folate, iron and calcium. But the iron seemed to be making me constipate so i might be stopping or reducing.

Hi Connie
Personally I lke to use Khong Guan Lemon puffs (biscuits) to ease MS.

will update you the EDD after I see the doctor on 19 Nov'07.

I don really crave for foods at this point, only can't stand the cabbage thought.

Will go buy ginger stuff later.

Morning mummies, wow ... so many post early in the morning.

Haiz ... I still had very bad MS lei, wake up in the middle of the night and vomit only gastrics juice out, MS MS go away !!!

Enjoy your holiday mummies

Linda, your food talk does make me hungryyyyyy .... ask my hb go packet BK Breakfast for me, heheh.

morning ladies!

Happy Deepavali!!

Hi Kylene - I'm only taking folic acid. I didn't think I needed iron cos I am able to take red meat still. But I may start calcium soon. Doctor offered me iron, calcium and folic pills last time. I only took folic pills.

I was asking about the vitamins cos my gf said she took a multivitamin and folate - so i was wondering if i should take a multivitamin as well.

Linda - Its kind of hidden. If I remembered correctly, you will pass a ladies accessories shop before you turn left into a small lane. I think you will see food stalls right away.

Hi Kylene, when I scanned my tummy last Friday, baby also 18mm and at exactly 8 weeks, but my baby's shape looked like 'hu lu'(gourd shape).

I am currently taking Obamin women multivits (pink bottle), calcium tablets coz I can't drink milk, folic acid and also my own vit C plus iron. The only vit I lack eating now is fishoil, which I will start after my MS. Otherwise, will be too much and too heaty.

Yesterday evening, upon reaching home, I had my first ever puke for this pregnancy. Puked all the sweet plums I had eaten in office but mine, it was a great comfort after the puke. I just hope I will be ok today, as I am going for a Deepavali Invitation later this evening, think of the curries and stuff, hope I will be alright there so I can eat lots, heehee.

hi connie,
what's the brand of your prenavit?

my obgyn only gave me folate and iron but my gf was saying that i should be more proactive :p and suggests that i take a multivit as well

woah mommies you are all early risers!!!

All these food... gosh. And all I had was 2 slice of bread with a slice of cheddar cheese for breakfast!

Went to the Gynae yest, and BB is now at 10mm for 6 weeks. Had to do a V scan coz too much gas in stomach, cannot see the BB.

Hubby was excited when I showed him the scan last night. The moment he came home, he asked for "our lama beanie" it's in that shape... so i nicknamed it "lama beanie" Din manage to detect heartbeat... normal?

Next appt is in 2 weeks time.

all talking abt food, me also hungry liao..hee

sheepysheeps,
So cute leh e name u gave ur bb =)...Its normal lor, cos only 6th wk now, normally can only see bb's heartbeat in the 7th week wor...I only get to see mine during my 8th week =)..But during my 7th week, i feel my heart pumping faster =D...

Kylene,
I also only take folic acid now...Heard that when 2nd trim time, no need to take folic acid anymore...time to take mult vit etc..

hi feifei,

really looking like a lama bean now ma. hahaha... curled up and tiny looking.

oh... heart will pump faster ar, was it coz you did something or even when u sit down?

Mommies: I'm taking a ton of things now.... Folic, Calcium, fish oil. Duphaston (can't be sure of the spelling) and another hormones pills. Coz my spotting have not gone away yet.

So you all take afew only very good. Wonder when then the spotting will ceased. =(

i was given folic and multivits.. and calcium too.. kekeke..

my oscar test is scheduled on 22 nov at 930am.. anyone same day? i will be goin alone cos hubby not free tat day.. anyone koes abt the oscar test? like hubby allow to be wif us? or have to wait outside?

Hi Kylene,

I'ts better to check with your doctor whether you need to take multivitamin. Cos our bodies can't absorb some excess vitamins and it will be a waste. Also, it may be harmful to absorb too much of certain types of vitamins. Usually vtamins is given if you are not able to eat a balanced meals in 1st trimester.

hi veniz, wow u pump for an hour ah...not painful ah? u know when i was BF-ing, i ate lotsa of fish & papaya soup cos it helps boost the supply. Me most of the time latch on cos I find it easier and also no need to wash the pump and bottles...only back at work no choice so gotta pump. I'm sure the pump will be useful when itz back at your hands.

Linda, hmm, since itz gonna be your last child and will you be intending to BF for a long time? cos if not, i suggest u not waste that money and perhaps just try latching on first.

feifei, my gynae told me that folic acid cannot stop!! it is very impt to take it all the way to delivery and in fact if you are going to BF, then u are suppose to continue till you stopped BF. For my first one, I only ate all the way till delivery cos I got so sick of popping pills everyday so didnt take it even when i was BF-ing.

Report on Lor Mee @ Amoy Street - Not that fantastic to me...

Hi JP,
Eh... hidden near where?

Hi Starmoon
I dunno if I will BF for long or IF i can anot. Just wondering if a good (electric) pump will help in pumping more milk. I think I prefer to express than latching all the time cos HB can help to feed and bond and my maid too. If 2 kids also stick to me I will die for sure.

Hi Linda,
the lor mee not lorong wat ley. it's at Tiong Bahru Market, 2nd floor one. the stall got a lot of newspaper and award one hehee. sure u will not disappoint.

JP,
you saying the lor mee at near armana hotel? do u mean the tanjong pagar plaza market there? wow if really so, i must try the lor mee. i stay near there hehee

hi Kylene,

The medicine are precribe by the gynae. My aching reduce after taking them. As wat Cactus suggest, u need to ask ur gynae and they will precribe accordingly. It's not necessary for every1 to take, depend on ur body condition.

I read a book saying that not everyone should take zinc, iron pill. excessive not good for baby.

I extract calcium from milk and Protein from beef intake. I was told to talk 1 glass of milk b4 bed to have better sleep cos eversince I'm pregnant, I have sleeping problem at night.

Anyone have sleeping problem at night?

Connie,
I have difficulty sleeping at night only when i feel like vomit, but cannot vomit but. the feeling in the chest really not good, until vomit out feels better.

Connie,
Yup that's the famous one! hehee worth queuing for ley. but hor i eat liao, after few hours vomit out, wasted :p

Luz,

haha, think wat go in will come out.
Are you having food craving?

touch wood. I didn't vomit yet. only strong feel.
I always talk to baby to ask him don let me vomit. Then will start to feel better.

Connie,
Oscar scan do around 11-12 weeks. Normal gynae clinic dun have one ley. your gynae will recommend you to it elsewhere. my gynae recommend i go TMC or NUH do.