(2008/06) June 2008

juliet, oic...tat's true...me also at wk n a damn bloody idiotic colleague jus managed to piss me off badly. reai feel like wanting to slap him across e face...i know it sounds violent but i feel reai violent towards him rite now when i see his sickening snickler...

at work, maybe i suggest u take things a bit easier today then...if can dun rush, then dun rush, tackle oni those with datelines today 1st lor...i know easier say than done also...

juliet, please dun get stressed up, just keep cool.

I haven't been eating rice for past week and just eaten some with fresh lemonhoney juice, but was feeling very bad, seems like the food is trying to force out of me but i am trying to keep it down now. I dun feel like continuing this preg, making me very difficult and stuff...

When told my hubby I want to eat waffle to day, he scolded me for eating and eating, when I never even eaten a full meal these days. Yesterday I just bought soyabean milk with tangyuan, he scolded me for not eating full meal. He asked me to get birdnest for myself, I went Eu Ren Shang buy the discounted 1 liang @$128.00 (x 2boxes) was being scolded for wasting $$. I can't even get full support from him, always being scolded for small things. Very chiam.

Sorry for this rant as I am feel like I am having a real bad mood today.

hang in there ladies..1 and a half more day to a PH.

Veniz,
Agree with Cactus. Look at it as ur hubby is concerned that u are not eating proper meal except he prob din express it too well. Or maybe he's had a bad day at work?

hi verniz
Men are like this lah, they never had MS so they dun understand and think we kicking up a big fuss. My hb says "its all in the mind" when I tell him I feel bad. wow lau, i told him off and ask him how he will feel if he wakes up every morning feeling pukish?
cool down cool down.

veniz, agree w/ cactus...maybe ur hb xim tia u not eating enuff? sometimes they just a bit insensitive when it comes to responding to our actions...they shoot words w/o gg thru' brain sometimes... :p

u tell me to keep cool, u also must keep cool leh...

am trying not to stress also lor, but today a lot of things surfacing..sigh...

veniz, btw, i had minestrone soup from Soup Spoon for lunch...v. appetizing leh! had half a chicken caeser sandwich to go along too...think my bb dun like chinese food...i find myself eating a lot of sandwiches these days... :p

hi veniz, perhaps u may try explaining to yur hb tat u can take large meals n can oni take small meals thruout the day? n u ve an aversion to certain food so can oni snack? alternatively, print out wat we mention here or from the preggie websites on this matter & show him tat wat u are going thru is normal & part n parcel of being preggie?

on the birdnest, maybe like wat the rest said, he may not realise the px of it?

jus to share tat whenever my hb tells me i snack lots nowsaday or make him carry stuff, i tell him to shut up since he is the one who puts me in tis predictment to start off...kekekkeke...bitchy aren't i? hahahahhha.....

Hello gals, thanks for your encouragements. I noe he xim tia as he only saw half of my ms during first preggie, but just that he is very insensitive lor. Now, I even thinking of selling one box of the birdnest away and pay all $$ back to him. I really can't take chinese food and now, even western fast food also tired of them liao. Currently eating a lot of sweet stuff which I am going to cut down on. I can't even do my work fast like before preggie and luckily my mgr told me to do impt ones first, the rest slowly as he understands (he is very caring to his wife who is more advance preg, thus he more understanding).

I will try to cool down, not going to make myself depress or anything as I have no time for depression. Just like to rant here nia.

Juliet, I find soup spoon soups very thick, if I eat too much (even when I wasn't preggie) I will feel 'nin' after half bowl leh. I work at bukit batok here dun have the angmoh type of sandwiches, sianz. I love O'briens triple sandwiches best.

Crystal, no lar, you are not bitchy lar. At least made them help hor, just to think of it, if after birth, will your partner help with taking care of baby? This will need to discuss also leh.

My husband never carry stuffs for me hor, only I carry for him. He will not want to step in there to view the website lar, heee. Also, when my son is sick, I will be the one to take care lor, if I ask him to help, he will nag and nag like old woman.

veniz, agreed - their soup quite thick, but the minestrone quite kai wei...so i managed to finish the soup (but not the ingredients in it..hehe)...

eh, veniz, next time he goes to the gynae w/ u, ask gynae to tell you (indirectly to him) that it's better to break into 6 small meals instead 3 big meals..n have the gynae emphasis how terrible it must be for the mummies to experience MS! your hb sure shut up after that...kekeke...

me v. evil hor? kekekek

veniz, u sound like ur hb v. MCP leh... :p
my hb so far been v. good...he will carry my bags, stuff (even b4 marriage) and most importantly, he's the one cleaning up our house! :p
Kudos to him...else our house dunno like wat liao! kekke...

Hi veniz,
I also think that you shld explain to your hb that small meals thru'out the day makes you feel better. In this way, you will not waste food too. As for the birdnest, tell him ... not only you get the nutrition, baby does too. ;-) Cheer up, gal.

you gals so cute ... use the word xim tia ... it's hokkien, right?

I have cravings for junk food, which I dun like b4 pregnancy. Just now I bought KAKA ... those chicken corn snack that we ate during our young times. I was so happy to see this ... but disappointed cos i bought the lau hong ones. I dun dare to tell my hb that I have this cravings cos he will nag at me non-stop.

There was once i got craving for shui kueh from late afternoon, i could not find. I told my hb that by hook or by cook, i must find it that night ... if not he will not be able to sleep. :p

haha...angie, shui kueh v. hard to get after lunch time leh...u torture ur hb sia...hahaha...

am enjoying being "privileged" too leh...now at mum's plc hor, dun even hv to wash the dishes after dinner liao! haha...my bro also buay tahan me...haha

Juliet,
This is the only time that I can torture him.

My hb is a MCP too. He never carry bag for me b4 pregnancy.
My MIL reminded him not to let me carry heavy things, thats why he bo bian.

Btw, anyone has multiply blog?

veniz, by all means rant n vent here. dun bottle up cos not going to be gd for your health. dun need to sell the birdnest cos u would reai need it to "bu". i cant even eat birdnest cos will throw everything up - hate the sight of them...

maybe u can print out for him to read instead of veing him to come into the sites?

juliet's suggestion is gd - get yur gynae to tell him instead of u telling him, some guys will oni listen to professionals.

on taking care of baby after birth, i told my hb oreadi tat esp for nite feeds, either he takes care or both of us will wake up to take care. + the baby crib going to be place next to his side of the bed, so if baby cries, i can nug him to do the feed n i sleep...hahaha...he cant place the baby on my side of the bed cos the air-con will be blowing directly on baby which is not going to be good....hahahahahaha.....now, isnt this evil? kekkekek...gosh....seeing horns on top of my head oreadi...

angie, my MIL also "instructed" my hb not to let me carry heavy stuff and also make sure he gets me anything that i want to eat! hahaa...the power of having their grandchild in my womb...mwahahhaa...

well, for all the sufferings we have to endure for the next 7 - 9 months, it's only fair that they suffer a tad too! hahaha...

Crystal, no lar, you are not bitchy lar. At least made them help hor, just to think of it, if after birth, will your partner help with taking care of baby? This will need to discuss also leh.

My husband never carry stuffs for me hor, only I carry for him. He will not want to step in there to view the website lar, heee. Also, when my son is sick, I will be the one to take care lor, if I ask him to help, he will nag and nag like old woman.

sometimes men jus koe hw to say.. say i will do this do tat.. help this help tat.. ended up might be nothing.. hahaha..

wow...thinking of ways to "murder" our hbs already?
kekeke... shld do so lah, some men, esp those who worked in male dominated industries (ie bldg construction, maintenance, etc), cannot understand the agony of MTBs and mothers...

My hb never care much abt what I eat, what I do cos he knows I know more than him. hahaha... then again, cos he never asks, so sometimes feel as if he doesnt care lor. Imagine this morning he asked me why I never eat folic acid this round to "stop nausea". wau lau!!!
I fainted man!! Folic for nausea. hahaha...

linda, not 'murder', tat's too strong a word to use oreadi....let's jus say we r teaching them how to share some chores wif us considering tat most of us here are working as well, so hsewk n childcare shd split also, if not we also not super women, will sure die one lar...

I am now thinking of how to handle my kids next yr. Currently my MIL looking after my son, if I gave birth, will be send to a nanny for taking care, then I will have to pay around 1k to both MIL and nanny per month. I am earning not much, so after all deduction, only left around 500 bucks to spend. Thinking of these, I fainting liao. Going to tell my husband tonight i am going to consider childcare for son liao, can get subsidy and cheaper than my MIL. I bet he won't agree to it and he is not helping me with this extra expense.

veniz, i m also surprise. the kids are his too, shd he not help in their expenses? unless there r monetary difficulties tat he is facing, even then, my tots is still tat he shd contribute a token to show the committment. maybe i m back-dated in my thinking in tis aspect, but just my 1-cent worth...

Veniz, considering getting a maid might help. though, good maid are difficult to get but it's a matter of giving them the proper 'culture' and 'training'.

angie, my hubby ensure i cannot carry anything heavy e.g. shopping bags, he even tested the weight of my handbag! chairs also don allow! Now, i'm staying at my sis place (b'cos there's an additional helper around) soon, when the CL gone, i'm going back to my place again. till then, dun know how to cope again...

Hi crystal
but sometimes really feel like murdering lor... Last time prior to getting a maid, I do EVERYTHING hor, from childcare to housework to work outside. He was too busy working and craving a career. It was only last year that I had a better life. i always tell him how suffering I was then. hahaha

hi babycupid,
I think housewife is even worst lor. Cos most hubbies dun see it as a full time work with no MC, no OT pay, no benefits and additional bonus. They only see it as "wow, you very good life hor, can stay home the whole day."
they dunno what goes on in the life of a housewife, cos when they stay at home, they just laze and watch telly while we fret over what to cook for the kids, bring them to bathe, to the loo, to play with them. Even worst then working leh.

Hi verniz
i think have to settle this kind of thing soon. If he is not going to subsidise the cost to your MIL, then he is in no position to comment if you decided to send the elder to CC. After subsidy can be as low as $350, the balance from the $1K to MIL can pay for nanny le!
Can your MIL care for another bb? Top up a little for her better than pay nanny $650.

Linda,
me also sahm, but i very fortunate ley, bcos i had a one year old boy my hubby still let me keep my maid. i totally agreed with you that housewife is even worst if there is no help. for sure if i have no maid, i will surely craze out! baby and toddler really not easy to take care ah.

hello. I have a 2yr old boy and working and hubby mthly expenses is $2.5k (he also pay electricity and water bills) i take care of HP bills and playgroup expenses for my boy, no maid but have an hourly part-time maid to clean the whole house everyweekend for 4 hours. Now preggy, as usual consultations all my hubby pay and think need to readjust the mthly expenses liao.. kekeke

hehee Sparks mentioned can give maid proper culture and training. too bad cannot train our Hubbies, if not, Life will be much easier for us. heee

sparks,

maids quality are 80% by luck and 20% by training i think..

once i went airport to pick my husband and saw this family of 4 frantically waving n beaming with big smiles. it was the maid on the other side of the glass panel, which i think she went back indonesia for a holiday of something. the 2 kids n the wife looked very happy as if one of their family member is back. i can see that the maid is very well liked by the whole family! she must ve been a gd help in the hse. this kind of maid that get on well with the family not easy to find.

i have overheard employers scolding the maid "stupid brain" very loudly as my apartment is next to a common area where the residents use to sun their clothes. coz the maid just drap the wet laundry over the bamboo without "spreading out" it properly.

my husband tot of engaging a maid n start to train her with the hsework first so by the time the baby arrives, she can also cook, wash, iron and clean the hse properly and on top of that help me with the baby.

i guess i will engage one once my baby is stable after the 1st trimester.

as for eating ang mo sandwiches, make sure they dun ve raw eggs content in the sandwiches yah! esp hmemade mayo and caeser salad's dressing and even tiramisu has raw eggs in them

Well, we have agreement before on my son, that I should pay to my MIL to just look after him. I was paying $600 then and recently, I couldnt take it and only pay her $500.00 (told her son is attending playgroup and currently I can only afford $500.00). Husband paying for arts enrichment class and playgroup (next yr nursery), he will be paying for the milk powders and diapers.

If next yr with 2nd child, I am not sure if my MIL can take it to take care the 2nd one as she spoilt rotten my elder son (he will tend to bully her when at her hse). So next option will be looking for a nanny around $550.00. So add up to be $1050.00 (estimated) for both her and a nanny. If she can look after both, will need pay her total $900.00. If any of my kids sick, I will be recall back for reservist to bring them go see doctor, otherwise she will keep calling and calling while I am at work (1 time experience already). My hubby will only be willing to pay for their food and lessons lor.

So now I am thinking, whether to send elder to childcare, or pick up a maid. I prefer to have the first option as I dun really like to have another person at my home, but if worst come to worst (hubby going for part time studies next yr) if I am unable to cope, then I will hire a maid. We are not poor or anything, just that I am not really earning much, but my dear hubby is a real stingy man.

Now, think about it, being woman is not as easy as before. Even our earlier generations women also gone through much hardships, but still, better woman than man.

tinyfeet,
i got my maid when i was in my 2nd trimester, bcos i tot wan to train and monitor if she is a good maid or not. if not i still have time to change another one before baby come out. but luckily, she is still with me till today. actually my expectations of maid is very low. she is not very hardworking and like to keng. but she can play with my boy very well. dun give me trouble can liao. sometimes is really by your luck, if can get a good maid is the best.

Sparks, so who is looking after your boy now? Seems like you spread out your expenses with your hubby well.

Maybe I may look for part time maid to clean house instead of a full time.

luz, we can never change leopards their spots one, we have to stick to our own husband, through thick and thin, unless we really cannot tahan which will lead to divorce, which I really believe should be the very last resort.

yes, getting a good maid is actually luck.... but there will be times where the maid met a bad employer and turns out bad too... How? See if lucky anot lor...

verniz,
maybe you should try to ask your hubby to pay more. although u said he's stingy, i bet he must have saved a lot.

when i was working, i paid everything in the household. my husband do not pay anything, so i let him save up $ since he's good at saving, and i'm good at spending. but ultimately, i should be allowed to "touch" his savings if i need.

so you and hubby can work out a plan which both of u r comfortable, then wont need to worry so much?

linda,
ya.. i koe hsewife is even worse.. but it is even worse worse worse if ur hubby expect u to do things that hsewife does when u r working.. so if my hubby dun help.. i will jus say.. u r working.. i am working too.. u tired.. i am tired too.. so its fair enuff that we spilt the hsechores.. kekekee

hmmmm linda, so far i ven't had e feel to wan murder mine yet even wif e confinement issue i had wif his mum, the most i go is wan to strangle him reai badly...hahahahah. but honestly when i reai upset, i clam up rather...so he knows my temper...

luz, sometimes its like that lor, if they make us angry, we tend to shout, me too.

Before marrying my hubby, he seems ok, only like no so nice to his family, i told him cannot like that,he change a bit. Then marry him liao, aiyo, all patterns come out, ask questions like principle asking noti students for explanations, demanding, sacastic, etc. When bought current hse, I no much savings coz I like to spend, he will laugh at me, saying my CPF money so little after all these years I have worked (I dip holder, he degree holder) and that I never contribute to reno, furnitures, etc. Shouted at him a few times that I earn lesser and that my parents and even aunts & grandma also contribute at least up to 7K, wat about his parents, contributed nothing. So you can imagine from a goody guy before married turn 180 deg attitude.

Haiz, but still, he is not too bad lar, still treat me well besides all these.

wow veniz, esti $1050 to your MIL for 2 kids is lots of $ ley. CC also dun need $ tat amt. somemore all from yur pocket...

my tat SIL dun even give a cent to my MIL to care for her 2 kids lah. somemore free stay, free food, free electricity, subsidise maid, u name it, u ve it...

so hb said oreadi tat if my MIL wants to look after our kid next time, he himself said give ard $300 mthly can oreadi cos oni day time from 9am to 8pm, mon to Fri oni, then we bring hm oreadi. + my hb studying part-time still, so he said he will tell his mum, financially a bit tight, dun ve much to give....

crystal,
wah.. so gd.. my mil said she will quit her job and help us take care.. so oso dunno hw much to give her.. quit job meaning lost of her own income.. she is a clerk in a sch.. so at least 1k plus lor..

Wow, BabyCupid, you are indeed fortunate leh. I believe your MIL wants to retire and enjoy her days with her dear grandchild.

Crystal, no lar, if MIl take care will give maybe $800 - $900 lar. If Mil-1st son, nanny-2nd child, then need around $1050.00. In fact, $300.00 for family rate is ok, but for me, i give her market rate coz she last time help her wealthy sis take care of son (go her hse, still can relax one lor) she earning around $800.00 lor.

I now doing another plan, hehee. I will try to full breastfeed baby, then I won't need to pay much to milk powder which prices have been increased. Haha, can save $$.

haha... sparks... I like your "husband is we choose one". very true leh.... Sometimes hb not so good also dunno blame who right? kekeke...

Hi Verniz
OIC... Can consider getting a maid (your hb pay) and you put both kids at your MIL house with the maid to help? every household has its own probs lah... Me is no one can help me look after my second one...

hahaha... People always say marriage is the death of romance. Cos find out the hb's true colours. kekeke... think it is more on managing our expectations yah?

My hb always laugh at me say the house I only own the balcony cos my contribution SO little when we bought the unit. I will tell him yah lor, what to do, and he knows it before marrying me what. At most then I dun sleep in his bed lor. kekeke....

Hi babycupid
Good to hv a hubby who helps. Mine is cos he was working VERY hard then...often till wee hours in the night as in 3am+. So you wanna blame him also like very difficult. He wasnt able to help me at all since the birth of my girl. I did all the feeds, changing, everything lah. Also thank goodness I got a MIL who helps me quite a bit, she does the laundry and ironing.

Last year, he switch job and now everything is so much better plus we got a maid. He's got more time with us.

Hi crystal
kekeke...
Confinement issues. I can only think of conspiracy... cos me and HB cannot tahan stay home all the time, so the first sunday after her birth, we sneak the girl out to East Coast for breakfast. My poor MIL want to stop also cannot, end up follow us and try to nag at me to go home faster

babycupid, my tots lar....if she volunteer to quit her job to retire n help look after her grandkid, then she must be mentally prepared tat u n yur hb cant be "employing" her for the same amt of her salary, rite? somemore u ve diapers, milk powder, etc to pay for....sure cant tahan. then later if u go for 2nd kid, u ve to top up close to $2K for her? cannot be rite? but also cant maintain at same amt cos she will sure say look after 2 is more tough mah. i suggest u re-discuss wif yur hb on his mum's expectation of how much she expect of u guys. my tots is tat $ can oni give more, not less. wan to increase her allw later is always ok, but if u need to decrease cos ve PAP, Tuition, etc to pay for, she may not be too please. jus my tots, no offense yeah....

veinz,
ya.. fortunate that someone is actually willing to help.. but quite worry there will be more conflicts.. so far me n mil is in gd terms.. so bery scare after hearing stories of my frends' experiences wif mil after having kids..

crystal,
ya lor.. true.. we will discuss on hw much to give.. i tink mil is quite ok..

linda,
its gd that u have a maid to help u out now. if not sure cant cope.. when cant cope den our temper and mood oso not bery the good.. den when hubby back home...... u koe la.. hahahaha