(2008/06) June 2008

hihi...going to rain, lagi more sleepy...

Hi peachbloom,
haha... really leh, my boobs shrunk big time! My old bras were a laughing stock to hubby. Prob also cos i lost a lot of weight then. Personally, I do not think there is a need to buy maternity bras, quite costly too. I made do with bra extensions, $0.50 can get from pasar malam those stores that sells all the nick nacks like kitchen utensils, thread, needles, combs etc?

Hi Angie,
If you cannot stomach milk, try calcium pills from gynae. Alternatively, MOO ice cream also a good source of calcium.

Hi sparks,
Guess what?? I hate garlic smell too!!!! Yucks! My maid loves garlic, can u imagine I can wake up to her frying garlic to cook her meals at 8am? It actually irritate me enough to wake me leh. Feel like vomiting each time I smell that.

On maternity wear - depending on how much you wanna spend, can wear those drawstring pants (like yoga pants??) during early maternity. I bought a lot from Ebay USA last time, the cost including shipping can be cheaper than some boutiques in Spore, esp with the USD exchange SO low now. They carry brands like Old Navy and Gap which I find very comfy and good for jeans and pants. Cutting also very nice. Tops - can get babydolls from This Fashion or Bugis Street, after birth still can wear. I also got a lot from yahoo auctions at low prices, but of course, those is pre-owned, if you dun mind.

Hi iamsnow,
Diff baby develop diff. I could only see heartbeat at week 7.

Hi crystal,
Experts says colouring is ok, but not rebonding - i hear it from FM 97.2's talk by Eddy the haridresser. I also did colouring during my girl's time.

On tummy - 2nd child mummies, do you find tt the tummy grows faster this 2nd time? I remember last time I didnt have a tummy till 4 mths!!

Hi I am new here. been following this thread. my EDD is 11 June 2008. u gals really have been passing useful info.

iamsnow, i just saw my gynae on sat and one of the things she told me was cannot drink cough syrup lei. think you better consult ur gynae again.

Crystal,
That's my hubby's logic.
He said can go for pedi and mani ... or he cut for me ... but I cannot cut the nails myself.
Buay tahan. No logic.

Yesterday I have a bad day too, can't finish many food. I took Eno ginger drink again (it yucks) to reduce the air.

Today my brown discharge come back, yesterday also.. sometimes on and off. Quite worried but nothing i can do.

on the cutting of nails, i just cut my nails just now. Too long and the edge ored chip. My hb is super buay pang dang type (he is christian) so he still ask me to cut my nails as they growing unsightly. I oso dun know pang dang until i see the post here.

shufen, cannot drink cough syrup??!!! I got it from my GP leh, and I told my GP I'm pregnant, ask him to give me something safe..... chiam ar.....

hi angie, i reai dun understand. but could it be he worried tat when u bend over to cut your toenails, u will over-exerted yourself? if so, then i guess he is jus concern for u n baby lar. if not, i also scratching head... kekekke

hi linda, thanks for sharing yur tip on colouring, but if the colouring or highlight gets into the scalp, it will also result in chemical entering the body rite? so highlight n colour still ok?

hi shufen, welcome!
btw, we seem to ve the same chinese name ....

LADIES - time for luncheon!!!!!

salmonfish,
yup, will apply on 20th morning b4 I go for e oscar test lor =D..

Ellysia,
ur appt 10+am? Tink maybe we wills ee each other..

iamsnow, i think there r cough syrup that r safe for preggies...think ur GP should hv prescribed something safe for bb bah...

iamsnow, I am sure its alright. GP also know what should give or not to a preggie mummy, only that the medic will take a slower effect on you but still safe for you to drink. When I preggie first child, I also took some medics coz i fell ill serveral times.

Shufen, welcome and congrats. Maybe your gynae is refering to certain kinds of cough syrup?

Ellysia, y dun you just try ginger water (those in sachet like ginger tea, but its actually just ginger water). I find this can calm me down. Currently I am too heaty thus replace this ginger drink with my daily doses of Milo.

Hi iamsnow,

don't worry. I'm sure your GP gave you something safe. most doctors these days are very very kiasi. If you are concerned, you can research on the nature of the cough syrup on the internet. Bear in mind that USA standards may not be our standards though. So their classification may be different from ours. If you are still concerned, you may want to ask your gynae if the cough syrup is okay.

The cough syrup - not safe is referring to those off the shelf. According to my pregnancy book, it says those off the shelf are usually not safe for pregnancy so have to get from doctor. If it is frm doc, shd be safe. Nonetheless, try to avoid flu and cough medicine as i understand most of them have content that will harm the bb.

Hi Veniz,

I really hate the ginger smell, btw i bot the ginger tea ored frm supermarket but hasn't drank it, except i took Eno (ginger) which gynae told me is safe. I just dun want my stomach to be overbloated for next visit cos the last round of scan due to bloatness, my ultrascan has to be done frm virginal area and not at the stomach.

Hi salmonfish and feifei,

I am taking half day leave on next appt (i.e. the test), however if after taking the test i find that i am too tired or uncomfortable i may take afternoon MC frm gynae, but if avoid will try to avoid taking MC if need be.

iamsnow - sorry if made u worry abt ur cough syrup...mebbe u can bring the syrup to show ur gynae or call them to ask to get assurance? gd thing is u already reduced the dosage.

crystal~07 - we have the same chines name ah? hee..

i saw some of u already scheduled to take the oscar test. when shd we be taking it? i am in my 8weeks now.

Hello Ladies,

i just join this forum.. Pregnant for nearly 7 weeks.. Do you gers have increased in diet? Tend to feel hungry easily? Tired easily and visit toilet often?

Hi priscilla think the rest still at lunch...lemme reply u hee

i do have a slightly bigger appetite now, although each time i cannot eat too much, if not have indigestion and bloatedness. i definitely feel tired no matter how much i sleep, every morning wake up dun feel like gg to work :p i also go toilet more often and i read that it's bec 1) we MTBs been told to drink more fluids and hence more urine 2) our enlarging uterus is pressing on our bladder so we have the tendency to pee more

Jazol, its ok, I already read so many and once after reading, more or less forget liao. Heehee. I just dun feel right today lor, very xinku compared to yesterday which was ok. Didn't manage to eat much also.

Ellysia, I like ginger, but now, if you ask me to eat the real thing, I cannot lor. Drink still alright as it is sweet.

hi catcus, it's ok. at least I'm more aware.... must be careful.....

i also cannot tahan ginger. I bought one packet of ginger tea. but cannot stand the smell and taste.... aiyo....

priscilla, the symptons u have are normal. do not worry.

Hi Priscilla,

I definately feel hungry more often, but I normally eat less than pre-pregnancy per meal. I have breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner every day now....

I don't really feel tired easily (maybe cos I sleep between 830pm to 10pm and wake up at 630am) but I feel thirsty and go to toilet more often.

cactus, hi 5! I also having a lot of meals now.... but all mainly smaller portions....

u all heard abt increase price in flour? means food prices going to increase??? I think bread price will increase... so my tea break will be more exp now.... my canteen already increased their prices for breakfast already..... *heartache*

babycupid, me got thalassaemia, so now my hb testing...he should have tested b4 we got married but he was lazy n nv bother to test...

iamsnow, ya, the increase here and there is horrible. My gardenia bread - fruits & nuts already cost $4.00 a small loaf, not enough to eat for two days (share with hubby). last time only $3.60 leh. I can't think what outside bakery shops charging now and in near future. Wat about cooked food outside at hawkers and restaurants, sure more expensive.

i heard noodle stalls going to increase by 50cents leh.....

my canteen breakfast increase by 50 cents leh!!!!! wah lau....

juliet,
oh.. so u r alpha or beta? jus a carrier rite? cos yd when we went for scanning.. Dr Wong asked my hubby to test 1st.. den result out stating he might be a carrier.. so goin for a 2nd check to see if its beta or alpha.. and i mus go check earlier tooo.. abit worry..

wow, looks like spore living std is on the rise again. my lunch in office is getting exp too unlike last time.

is it a must to do Thalassaemia test? cos we are not sure if we hv tat... nw after so many posts begin to worry abt those tests.

Hi babycupid,

I haven't test yet as gynae arrange for the testing to be together with Oscar (they take the same blood sample).

But my hb has already tested and is okay.

jazol,
i dunno issit a mUSt.. but i did heard some ppl did not take the test at all.. so mayb u wan to check it out wif ur gynae..

thalassaemia (if memory didn't fail me) is bascially a blood disorder caused by deformed haemoglobin.

best to test coz if both parent r of the same kind (alpha- or beta-) of thalessaemia, then there's a 50% chance of bb being a thalessaemia major. bb will then need monthly blood transfusion...heard that in recent yrs, thalessaemia-major can be cured w/ bone marrow transplant...

am alpha..

i hv a fren who suffers frm thalassaemia, bt din hear that she needs to go for blood transfusion lei. we were advised to do so, so prob the next appt will do it. my gynae had taken my blood sample for test bt cnt remember they are for what. hehe.. dun quite understand the medical terms

jazol, a thalessaemia carrier typically doesn't need any medical attention. only a thalessaemia major needs monthly blood transfusions.

i myself am a carrier...no biggie, just anaemic too..keke...

again, it is impt to check only because if both hb n urself r carriers, then the risk of having a major bb is increased to 50% chance.

thalessaemia major is as bad as lukaemia.

juliet,
ya.. if jus carrier is ok.. jus like norm ppl.. but if both parties are carrier.. there are 25% chances bb is major.. so ur hubby took the test already? we are goin this sat.. result is bery fast..

hubby + wife
minor + norm
there are 50% bb would be minor and 50% be normal..

Minor+ minor
25% normal.. 25% major.. 50% minor..

juliet,
I agreed with u lor...Doc als suspect I hv thalessaemia, so will be taking the test together with my oscar test...

WOW long post so fast!

Juliet, I also have Thalassaemia. I have done the test for my 1st gal, hb are required to do so. Lucky hb dun have so the risk is not there. Normally will check what type you are. Alpha / beta. From there gynae wil advise. Normally jus minor which we belong jus anaemic and low blood nothing much serious too yeah. Heard seldom happen to MEN! Only women got it.. funny.

Jazol,
When you done blood test about 13 or 14weeks, from there your gynae will advise if you have any Hep B, Thalassaemia, any other problems. If blood test normal so not to worry too.

Veniz,
Hehehe I don mind early match making!

Sparks,
Well done! try lighter food which may turn out good for you too okie. Take steps by steps and you will realise ur appeitie wil come back n funny no more vomiting.

Where is Krispy & starmoon... didnt see them around... Hmm who is updating our profile here?

ellysia,
ya no need..
if both carrier.. den have to further test the bb to see if major.. in KK.. have to wait ard 1mth.. for the test..

cynthia, think it's more genetic than gender-bias la...kekeke...coz my BIL and cousin also got...all genetic one mah...my bro damn heng lor, my sis n i r carriers, my bro nothing! :p

oic, babycupid yr gynae is at KK?

I dunno how much blood they are going to take frm me for the next few tests bec' gynae arrange for them all together but not sure if nurse got write down cos i only saw Oscar paper given to me for next appt.. hmm. See how.

Worried abt Oscar cos nurse says can be as long as 2 hrs cos sometimes bb turn wrong way, have to wait for it to turn correctly then can take full scan.