(2008/06) June 2008

hi starmoon, my SIL when she was preggie keep having durians every other days. in the end she put on 20+kgs which she is still trying to lose now. btw, her child is now 7 yrs old. so agreed with veniz tat it is better tat u go easy on the durians yeah....

Just now i feel like eating spaggetti so i take spaggetti from Hans (tomato based) but after eating a few noodles, i feel v full but force myself to eat until 70% then i give up. Later i eat some apples to help digestion, but vomit apples (into my mouth, lucky not out).

I scared of hungry in office so i force myself to eat more, but feel very much wanna vomit. then if dun eat much, feel hungry v fast and biscuits also make me feel nausea.

I just had a small cup of coke though i know must avoid due to caffeine but cannot tahan so drink a bit of coke, feel much better.

Hi crystal, for my aunt's case is different. She ate too much durians till when birthing time, my cousin was too big for her already fully diluted vaginal. So in the end, push to theatre for C-section and vacuum suction (forget what's it called) baby out.

I don't eat durians, but I do know when the craving starts, it is difficult to ignore, am I right starmoon? My hubby's colleague is super kaisu. I guess his wife is preggie before me (I think only one two mths before me), and now he is asking my hubby where to get durian coz he wants to get his wife to eat durians to boost his baby's birth weight. I heard this I almost fainted.

Sometimes the weight may not go to the bb, it may only go to mother.

One thing is the blood pressure, do take note cos durians may be high BP, not v good for pregnant women cos pregnancy will ored cause yr BP to be higher.

Salt intake, sugar intake also need to take note.

Thats wat my mum advise, she told me not to eat a lot or bb if grow too big, hard to give birth. But i guess its v hard for me cos i get hungry easily thus may eat more too.

MS or ADS makes us feel so lousy right. My fren told me 'hang on and enjoy, it will all be worth it'. It's difficult for me to comprehend this sentence now.. ha ha..

For all working mummies, I thought ADS shd be better since i'm 10w+ liao. I'm planning to start my job nx wk. Realli worried if my body can take it. Can mummies tell me how to cope with it ?

I am new here. Currently at 8wks, but on-off bleeding hence is on turinal and jab. This is my fourth pregnancy, 1st MC, 2nd girl, 3rd MC. So hoping tt baby will continue to grow healthy.

Same like you girls, I love western food, and anything raw. kekkee... Salad, sashimi, half done steak... Oh yes, chilli and coke too alike when i carry my girl. I also develop a very acute sense of smell and more MS compared to my girl's time which was a breeze.

Durian - avoid too much cos VERY high sugar intake.

Durian,

Try eat less of it bah & moderation. Now beginning of stage bb wont be absorbing much. Durian high sugar not only make our blood pressure high but also make bb becoming "too big" so watch that out.

Western food.
I love beef! Killer for beef. Esp medium raw but now du think can anymore..I love Black Angus Lunch set. Had ate with my collegues though once awhile treat lo. TASTE GREAT! But big portion. That was before I was preg la. Now cant seems to eat too much. Appeitite stil not very good. So sian!

Salt intake
A MUST TO REDUCE ESP those junk foods tibits (Which i controlling too) Will cause our foot to swell which is not a good sign, bad for our liver kidney too and indirect to bb. So all agar agar moderation again bah.

Sharon,
Throw temper at hb? Not ur fault la. Emotionally we are coming to terms to accept been a mother and handling bbs. So its normal la. BUT dun leave ur hb out of ur pregnancy. Get him involve so he wil wont be blurr blurr scold for nothing yeah.

WELCOME LINDA!

Jessl,
Made ur condition known to your boss and they can be more understanding. Main u gotta relax too. I having terrible MS i keep telling myself relax relax dun think of it and keep telling bb to be good lo. Don make my life miserable!

Where does the wights goes to?
---------------------------------------

Baby: 3.4kg (7.5lb)
Placenta: 0.68kg (1.5lb)
Extra fluid: 1.36kg (3lb)
Increased blood: 1.25kg (2.5lb)
Amniotic fluid: 0.8kg (1.5lb
Uterus: 0.9kg (2lb)
Fat deposits: 3.18kg (7lb)
Breasts: 0.5kg (1lb)
TOTAL GAIN: 12.02kg (26.5lb)*

Cynthia, i also luv black angus! that day boss wanted to bring me there for lunch...i was like "eh?! i dun wan a well-done steak! dun torture me!!" hahaha...

eh, i didn't get your PM leh..dunno why...

Juliet,

Didnt receive my PM? Hmm funny.. i try again yeah.
I also cant possible have my steak welldone....
Beef is good for bb too. But be prepared bb will tend to be easily to sweat cos beef can be bit heaty too. My gal she always sweat easily. Think too much beef too hehehe.

Heee..

Eat beef will sweat meh?

Anyway i am buddhist so i dun eat beef. My mum also dun take beef and i dun sweat a lot (in fact sweat little).

Btw do u experience temperature fluctuations? Like sometimes a bit hot, sometimes more normal.

Cynthia, is it? Eat a lot beef baby will sweat more?

Coz hor, my parents never touch beef for their whole lives and I am always sweating. Its either they ate other stuff which makes me sweat or in genes.

Cynthia,

Yr infor on weight is it the final wt near due pregnancy?

During my last visit, i gain around 2KG in 2 months. I hope i didn't overgain too much wt. How much wt u all gain?

Veniz,

Hehehe.. i think so bah. This is wat ppl tel mi. I just listen and dun bother much. As long eat those gd for bb. But beef also cant too much. High calories, high carbo. So my pregnancy theory ------ all eat moderations.

BUT vege.. esp green leafy. EAT MORE of these high in folate
-------------------------------------------------

1) brocooli
2) Aspargaus
3) Green leafy

Ellysia,

The weight is for final when due.
Even from 1st mth didnt gain weight still ok as bb is stil developing.
Normally weight gain wil start alot alot more from 5mth. About 1-2kg in a week!

As long eat right not the though of eating for Two ok la. For me previous preg, I gain about 8kg. I belongs to plump side so gain wont be much. I have friends who gain 20+kg!

20+KG is horrible.

For me i am still eating for 1 (i.e. not eating 2 meals) cos of MS. I dun really tink abt eating for 2 but cos now feel more hungry than normal, i will tend to force myself to eat slightly more even though MS.

Ellysia,

Now not really eat for two. Just eat small bite here and there. I also having terrible MS so try some here n there. As in 2nd trim, automatically we wil tends to keep finding food for sure yeah.

Just went to Dr Wong for my 2nd scan.. Now at my 8 wks and able to see bb heartbeat le.. Dr Wong said bb is fine and the size 16mm is rite for the age of the bb.. my nex visit is on 22 nov.. kekeke..

Pls update my info..
EDD: 7 June 2008
Dr Jocelyn Wong
TMC
Staying in Fernvale..
1st child

Hi babycupid and salmonfish,

Mine also Dr Wong and same EDD as u 2!!
Hee and mine next appt in the same week as u 2, for Oscar. Forget the exact date.

During my first pregnancy, first 3 months, i lost 2kg. Was scared by nurses that I may need drip. Luckily doc saw I was still lively so forego the scare. Then later on, I just put on 8KG from 13th mth to 38th mth before I gave birth. All in all, after the calculation, I only put on 6KG in total. And my son comes out on 38th week at 2.599KG. I wonder this time round, can I just put on like less than 10Kg, if can, I will be most happy (put on less weight eat more nutritious and less fat food).

Babycupid, your EDD same as my hubby's Bday leh.

Mine is early in the morning, i cannot remember if it is but i tink is 20 Nov (anyway sure is that week).

What time is yr appt with Dr Wong (after the Oscar test)?

Mine is 10am i tink, cos i told the nurse i can only take half day leave. Dun intend to know the result immediately (they say will call us to inform).

Ellysia, mine is a boy. Hmm, I dunno how many pounds to 2.59KG leh, coz my maths very poor one, sorry.

Salmonfish, maybe your weight you put on at your breasts or the ammonic water, etc. I tell you, my breasts during the first pregnancy are horribly as small as it was before. Now, I also cannot see any improvement in size. I always drool at ladies with well endowed assets, even after they have given birth, mine still remain same, haiz.

Aiyoh, you all making me drool with medium steaks... I also believe in eating in moderation, esp when my MS being worst this round, I like to cheer myself by eating whatever I wanna eat. Also cos maybe 2nd one, not as gan cheong bah.

I put on 10kg for my first girl and had a tiny tummy. She was 3.38kg at birth. My gynae says all the good things all went to her liao.
Most people put on the most during last trimester... Mine was so cos during CNY period, all the bak kwa and pineapple tarts..but i 'compensate' by losing back due to endless mahjong games throughout the nights...

Veniz,
At least your boobs remain the same lor... mine was a 36B pre pregnancy... then after birth abt 5 mths, shrunk to 32A lor.

Starmoon, thanks for the info... wah $2,275, so expensive!!! I tink I can sign up his package liao, coz that time hospitalised I saw him at clinic before but not sure whether want to sign up or not... Me also hope to stop Duphaston, lotsa MS recently. Not sure if it caused by medication. Can hug toilet bowl at least twice a day and feeling so miserable.. haiz
Today so sleepy, woke up at 12pm, ate something and medicine went back sleep at 1pm and just woke up at 6!! So pig, wanted to come in here and post, end up sleep whole afternoon away...
Glad to hear your baby is ok, when are you seeing him again? My next visit is in 2 days time...

jessl, hope you are feeling better now. Do not be worried about bleeding, as long as baby stays strong and healthy, everything will be fine. I have also been hospitalised twice for bleeding, now trying to stay positive too

Wow.. so many posts in one day. Can't keep up. I just got back all my blood tests etc. Looks good. My progesterone levels went up after being on Utrogestan and Hcg levels looks good as well. Was 3,360 on Friday and went up to over 8,000 today.

Btw, anyone know how much is the package for Dr Fong from Tiong Bahru clinic? The almost weekly visits to him are burning a hole in my pocket. Each visit averages about S$200 or so. If this continues, I think I should just ask my company to Giro my monthly salary to him in advance.

Btw, I realise another type of juice which tastes 'normal'. Carrot which you can get at NTUC etc. :D

juliet, veniz, crystal
no more durains after dis liao...craving satisfied liao mah....my last preggie oso like dis....crave liao then eat after dat no more cravings. hahahah, in fact when inlaws bought more i was like hmm, dun feel like eating liao. so i dun think will haf anymore durians afer dis.

roxy,
me oso like u leh....feel tired all the time. Dr Cheng says it isnt due to the medication leh but more of the pregnancy itself. But i personally feel this pregnancy is more tiring for me. the last pregnancy i was still working full time and though i feel tired but certainly not as tired as now. me oso like u, woke up at 9.30am, by 11am feel tired and wanna nap liao but cannot so waited till 1plus then put my girl to nap and then i nap with her till around 4plus, she woke up but i still cannot drage myself out of bed so i laze in bed with her till MIL came to take her at 5plus then i continue to sleep until 6 plus then finally wake to bathe. then after bath, suddenly got urge to puke but nuttin came up...i suspect itz the gas in my stomach dat made me wanna puke. then i went to drink a glass of sarsi then feel much better liao. now keep craving for soft drinks. me will be seeing him on 14 nov. sorry for the long post...

krispy,
glad dat your results are good.

wah today like kena a stab at my tailbone! whole day cannot even sit! very tired... sob sob sob now i can only lean sideways! How to chat in forum.

Going to see gynae tmr, call him today and he said he's FULL! my hubby also 'shock'!

Oh, i remembered... i need to update my sis CL's performance! Seems like we r only told today, when we purchase "confinement herbs" from the agency... it comes along with "confinement food planning" too. Certain food can only be taken after delivery e.g. 7 days, 12 days and 14 days later!

ellysia - usually abt 30min wait... sometimes even longer!

Oh now that you mention, maybe I will not go back for the results in the pm too. Very troublesome..

hello ladies!
thanks for the warm welcome Veniz, starmoon, feifei and all
wow i agree, this thread moves real fast.. but happened to be having conference this whole week so cannot access computer to visit the forum during office hours...

hahah, Linda, i'm quite tickled by your description about the boob size. really that big a change ah? that means when i buy maternity bra, how many sizes should i be looking at? i'm a tiny 70a pre-pregnant stage.. now probably one cup bigger liao... how much more room to give allowance for?

i went to the gynae about 2 weeks ago, measured baby was 4.4mm then, and my gynae was saying should be 5+ weeks (though i counted 6 weeks). saw the heartbeat too. going back for my 2nd visit next tuesday, and i can't wait to see how much baby has grown. by then should be 8+ weeks.

when do you girls start feeling the tightness of wearing your usual clothes? i wonder how much longer my clothes can hold out, but i suspect not much more... it's helpful to read from you ladies which places have got sales, heehee

oh i shared the news only with family and closer friends also, and boss.. but thinking when everything's more settled after 2nd visit then will share with some of the rest..

caught the bug from some friends and/or colleagues... feeling sick :S will probably knock out very soon... need lots of rest since i'm choosing not to take any medicine as much as i can help it...

Hi Jesslyn,
Sorry ... missed your posts just now. I took half day leave to go home and rest. Keep having headaches cos cannot sleep well.
Btw, try to wait till after 1st Trimester. This is what most of the elders said.
That day, I could not stand my long nails ... I cut them myself. Got scolding from my hubby.

Hi Rena,
I experienced green stool too. After a few days, I had black stool.
I went to GP to ask about it, he said it's ok. Just monitor if the black or green stool persist.
Did you got frighten somewhere? I was when I experienced that green stool.

I think I have allegy to milk ... I stopped Enmum for quite some time due to my diarrhoea.
I tried to take Enmum on weekends ... my diarrhoea comes back.

Will have to let my gynae know tomoro.

peachbloom,
I am wearing maternity bottoms already.
I have big tummy b4 pregnant. So, mine grows pretty fast.

Hi Krispy
You also visited your gynae weekly ah? Me too... although i signed packaged with him liao, i still need to spend almost $100 every week cos of injection...

MTBs
You know what, i keep on showing my hubby my 'flat tummy'... always ask him how come my tummy not growing one, so worried...
Actually very irony, when i'm not pregnant, i got bulging tummy...but once i pregnant, my tummy is flat... not goog.