(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Krispy,

Can you please include the following info for me the next time you compile the list?

Hospital - SGH
Child # - 1

Many thanks!!

hi juliet
hahahah...i thot itz the "yi ying" from the stress given by yr boss! wahahahah.....okie....guess we cant control wad we dream...maybe think of something nice then maybe will haf sweet dreams?

Hi CONNIE,

Dr Adrian is a nice gynae. My 1st gal is delivered by him. And his pricing is reasonable to me.

Can add me in this thread? Just discover preg again... expecting 2nd one. My 1st gal is now 14mths..

Hi Krispy,

Mind adding me too?

Thanks thanks!

Nick : Cynthia
EDD: 18 June
Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodworth
Hospital : MT A
Child : 2nd

iamsnow,
i am prescribed 2 boxes.. 3 times a day.. 40tabs in total.. did u spot? i tot normally wont be given unless spotting.. diff gynae diff.. my frends nvr heard of duphaston b4..

Hi Krispy, sure. We will have the chance to meet up.

iamsnow, wow, you really can tahan wait for 3 hours. I think once you have changed to private suite, the waiting time will be better.

juliet, like what starmoon said, dreams we cannot control, but if you have more happy thoughts, maybe they will change for better? This is what I think and also feel.

hmmm mummies i always experience problem with the forum since yesterday ley. do u all have this prob. slow and sometimes dun show up. :-(

alamak, i always have happy tots, but i still dream of strange and unpleasant dreams. got used to it liao, so not affected by the bad dreams. best is dun let the bad dreams affect u in the morning when u wake up. just forget the bad dream :p

ta

I plan to just go polyclinic for the antenatal check-ups and to do the scans at KKH/SGH. Do you think it's a gd idea? Eventually, I would like to deliver at SGH cos hb works there and it's more convenient for him if I'm there. I confirmed my pregnancy at polyclinic and was referred to KKH 24 hr clinic cos suspected ectopic. Thankfully not ectopic. Since I was already there, the doctor asked me to return for a review scan to make sure everythign is ok and do a dating scan at KKH in 3 weeks' time. I'd be seeing her at the private suite.

I stay with parents, alternating between Tampines and Bishan. KKH and SGH is quite inconvenient for me to go there for monthly checkups. I prefer to go to Tampines polyclinic which is just opp my parents' home for the monthly checkups. The waiting time is not too long. From the time I register to the time I pay is less than an hour. Cos I understand that normal visits, if uncomplicated, only take blood pressure, feel tummy and urine test, and take weight. Scan and take blood only if we request or if doctor thinks somethign is wrong, or if doctor just wants to earn extra $ from the optional scans...

I just want to hear what other MTBs have to say about going to polyclinic for checkups. Thanks in advance.

luz, isit? Maybe happy tots work for some pple only? Well dunno. What I know is if I think of a matter (mostly not very good feeling one), then that night I will dream about it, and have the whole situation mixed up and even nastier.

Still, dreams are dreams, so try to forget the unpleasant ones and keep the sweet ones.

babycupid, so u took for 1 week plus? dunno leh, my gynae gave me once I was pregnant. he say to stabilise the pregnancy. so far, I don't have any spotting.... i'm taking it everyday.....

veniz, ya that wait was horrible. almost flared up..... hopefully pte suite will be better.

Hi Luz,

Cactus,
What I can comment about is most important you must be comfortable with your gynae and cost.Maybe others have their own views too. Lets start the ball rolling....

Veniz,
Maybe find a day lets try to meet up. I was previously from Aug Thread 2006 and we do help out each other, organize some outings etc. Main is to share all our worries with babies... in laws :p and alot others more..

I think during these period who need support from friends and ppl who is experiencing the same as us bah.

luz, i think the forum got problem yesterday. I can't get in at all......

babycupid, find something to munch.... haha....

yup yup verniz dreams are still dreams hehee

cactus,
will u need to run b/w polyclinic and KKH/SGH in between? for e.g. in a day, u run to 2 places? very tiring ah. then hor delivery at most is 4 nights in hospital for c section. so no need to think of convenience for your hubby. he will get the 2 days paternal leave too mah. so best if what's comfortable for yourself. delivery siong ley, so need to rest well. let's hear of other mummies' opinion :D

like tat.. i nex appt is 29oct.. not sure whether dr wong will gif duphaston too..

juliet,
did dr wong gif u tat to eat?

babycupid...eat wat?? duphaston?
dr wong didn't prescribe me w/ anything other the gel to ease my backache...am on my usual dose of folic acid now and nothing else...

am damn sleepy too!!! esp after the green curry chicken lunch! hahahaha...

starmoon, boss not ard yesterday mah! so no "yin ying" from him...he's back today but will be out tomorrow! yeah...hahahaha...

juliet,
ohhh.. meaning dr wong dun prescribe that as well.. kekeke... its a kind of hormones pill to stablise the preg

Juliet08,

WOW curry! U love spicy food all the while or when preg with current? Try reduce coconut milk as it may cause some discomfort to us too yeah. I also cant resist curry!!!!! DON fall asleep yeah!

Hi Cynthia,

Actually, its not really about cost... cos my hb works with singhealth and I have benefits. KKH, SGH and Tampines polyclinic all within singhealth.

The real issue here is one of convenience. My parents' place is within 3 minutes walk to Tampines polyclinic. I take 25 min car ride to SGH and KKH respectively.

I will ultimately deliver at SGH cos hb works there and it will be easier for him to spend time with me when he is there. And I know most of his friends who work there too.. so I will definately not be lonely when I'm warded at SGH.

my only concern is whether it will be seen as "abnormal' to go to polyclinic for check ups.. cos the baby is my parent's 1st grandchild, my grandma's 1st great grand child, and my IL's first "nei" grandchild..

hey cynthia...am not exactly a fan of spicy food but i totally love that green curry chicken from Sukhothai...once in a while i'll go there with my boss...hehe...

i told my boss maybe i shouldn't take curry today but he was like, stop avoiding everything! just eat as per normal...u r not having curry everyday!haha..

babycupid, think most docs won't prescribe "an tai yao" unless the bb is too small or there are other symptoms which r not too good? I don't know leh, dr wong not v. into prescribing any pills i think...or at least that how i feel...she only say from 2nd tri then will give me some multi-vits niah...nothing else...she'd prefer i get the necessary vits n all from food...

Hi Luz,

At the moment, I think no need to run to and fro 2 places.
Cos I'm doing dating scan at KKH. (was referred there for suspected ectopic pregnancy so thought might as well continue the next scan there too since doctor wanted me to return there for review).

The next scan is at 19 to 22 wks.. that will be done at SGH. for all antenatal checks, it will be polyclinic... if I get my way.

It's more for my convenience when I'm pregnant to go to polyclinic. I will have problems going to SGH for check ups... cos they dun have weekday evening appointment time slots. I'm seeing a doctor at KKH at the premier suite now.. that's why can see her on weekday evening.

Due to my travelling to and fro parents' place and ILs place, I can only go to KKH or SGH during weekday evenings, and go to polyclinic on Saturday mornings...

cactus,
if u feel comfortable with polyclinic checkup, then do not need to worry the eyes of others.

i think most of us will do scanning when we go for the gynae checkup. in your case, i got a feeling like you need to run to polyclinic to do blood pressure, weight, urine test, and separately to SGH/KKH to do scan ley. i think it's like more inconvenience?

Hi... having very bad MS! puke until nothing to puke! now gastric pain... haiz.. hb ask me to eat at least something so that will have something to vomit! Faintz.

hi feifei and all...

i had my first gynae visit ytd.

quite depressed n worried after seeing gynae.

according to LMP, fetus shld be 6 weeks old now.

But after Dr Lim checked n scanned ytd, it was only abt 5.4mm, which he said is very small, prob abt 5 weeks old only.

He said cld be due to my once irregular menses, thus delayed ovulation. but for the past 7-8 mths, menses have been accurate. but he did say fetus is unstable as at now.

anyway, he gave me duphaston (medi to "an tai", or stabilise the preg), and also asked me to go back to him 10 days later in early nov.

but last evening, i got home, realised there's some brown spotting

this morning, nothing.

but just now before lunch, had quite abit of brown spotting

i called the gynae. and he said its better for me to go down and do another scan, do a blood test, injection, and see him as per next schedule to do another blood test to compare the ratio.

i'm leaving ofc at 4pm, cause cant just let go and leave like dat.

I'm really worried girls.

Stomach also abit crampy this morn.

I hope bb'll be fine.

I even managed to confirm the "take-over" of baby clothes n stuff from my fren last night... sobsob. hope bb healthy.

sparks,
ur hubby is very cute hor hahaaa drink water ley? at least then the stomach/gastric juice wont get vomited out?

cheekymonkey,
Hope everything is ok. Please don't worry k. Take more rest and try to distract your mind till 4pm. Let us know how you are k. Take care. Hugs!

Mini,
Any updates? Hope you're doing ok. (worried)

Hi luv,

actually, my hb is a doctor. He told me normally only 2 scans. Dating scan at about 6 to 8 weeks, then scan for abnomality at 19 to 22 weeks. That's about it. If there are complications, then more scans. If not complicated, then every visit only urine test, blood pressure taking, weight taking and feel tummy.
His sister had many scans last time.. and he disagreed with them... saying that the doctor wanted to earn more $ from her and that those scans are unnecessarily.
I feel that I trust my hb in this area, especially since my friend who had and delivered a baby in UK said she only had 2 scans there... and every visit is the same as at polyclinic here. She said in UK, it's normal to just have 2 scans.

oh...babycupid, i quite like dr wong leh..i find her quite patient..my hb had to do a blood test coz i am a thalesaemia carrier..she helped to arranged for it but later on we figured my hb can do it for free at his camp..so we told dr wong n she was ok w/ it..says if foc of coz go back and do la! hahaha...feels like she's not out to squeeze $$$ out of u kind..

Latest updates.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlemini</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jazol</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Jen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Sengkang East Way </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Cynthia, ya, we will see how it goes and arrange for a meet up. imagine meeting up in a group, all with big tummies, haha, will scare other pple. (they may think why these mummies meeting in groups? to fight? joking only hor)

Wow, juliet, eat curry leh. Babycupid just now also had good food for lunch, crayfish sphagetti. You all so good, I can't stomach full meals now, have to take light ones to keep myself ok.

Cactus, in fact, if polyclinic is convenience for you to do checkup, go ahead. My aunt went to polyclinic to do hers a few yrs back and told me it wasn't so bad, convenience and cheap too. only minus point is, they sent her to KKH for delivery, and the doctors there were newbies (she had C-section) so she wasn't very well taken care of during her delivery. But if you choose SGH, should be ok. Coz I heard from many pple that SGH doctors are much more professional and they should be good.

actually, there's a small part of me which hopes to do more scans, cos I feel assured when I am able to see the baby on the monitor...

but travelling between KKH/SGH and home can be very very tiring. Like... my appointment at KKH has to be at 830pm.. cos only like this then have enough time for hb and I to have dinner before going down to KKH for scan. If it's at polyclinic, then just walk over. dun know if I'm too selfish leh.

juliet,
oh really.. tats gd.. my neigh recommended her too.. she said she bery gd.. both her kids are with her..

cheekymonkey,
you may want to check out this site.. http://www.babywonderland.co.uk/pregnancy_week_by_week/index.html

It shows wkly development of the bb and the size.. here stated.. "This is a 6 weeks ultrasound scan. The little black spot in the shape of a teardrop, being measured, is the baby, only 5 mm at the time." so i tink ur 5.4mm shld be normal rite?

cactus,
oic understand your point of view liao thanks for sharing your stories. aiyoh but for me hor kia si one ley, so want to see scan too hahaa i got bad experience and some more i see for my own eyes my another gf bb got abnormal marker detected by scan, then gynae recommend her go further amino test, she dun go, later the bb deliver really abnorxxx... so heartbreaking. so i felt Regular scanning very impt lor

not sure if u all koe.. i am alittle confused by the measurement stated in the scan pics..cos...

My 1st scan stated 0.9cm = 9mm (gynae commented is still bery small.. cant see anything)

my frend's 1st kid scan stated 2.6mm (at 6 wks)
her 2nd kid scan stated 8.8mm (at 5wks plus)

why are there diff kind of measurements? issit some are measured by waterbag and some is by sac?

like cheekymonkey.. 5.4mm is meant for 5wks?

Hmm, I personally think that if baby is doing well, there's no need for extra scans. BUT... that's just my personal opinion lar. Cos from what I read online, it's also 1 scan at 6-8 weeks to hear heartbeat, then just monitor till later.

Veniz...i realise my MS gets a lot better if i eat...the moment i feel hungry (esp. in the morning since sleep thru' the night) i get the bad naeseous feeling...

anyway, i finished the chicken and half the curry but not the rice...hehe...

Thanks for your advice, Veniz. I will be selective when it comes to the doctor doing the last 8 weeks of antenatal care and delivery.

babycupid,
dun be confused. your 0.9cm should be your Embroyo bah bcos i compare last time my Embryo 8th wk is 1.14cm ley.

i scan the pic for u to see to understand hehee
1034145.jpg