(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff0000">Sharon,

So Chey AH!!

In this case, either u "forget" to buy their lunch OR say u need to do errands and u may not have to buy lunch or eat lunch.

Btw do u know which food they dislike most? if they dislike fast food u can say u be ta bao frm there as u have errands and won't have time to buy other items.

Of course by doing so, means next time they won't da bao for u lah. but since u say they pull this trick at u so many times and v little chance they buy for u, then u are not obliged to buy for them wat.</font>

<font color="e4287c">Re: Herbal Bath</font>
<font color="e47287c">My mum not buying chinese herbs for me to bath. She heard from my godmother that the herb for bathing is smelly. What she will use for me to bath is only white wine. Anyone heard of bathing white wine?</font>

Felicia,

Then yr breakfast kakis wat did they say?? They agree meh? why dun yr kakis buy for her instead?

Then maybe u say the stall sold out liao lor, so u didn't buy for her lor..

or like wat ioio suggest, pretend u forget.

Sharon,

I only heard tat wine can be used to rub on body but not to bathe leh.

And also, my mum said she ever use wine to rub body but doesn't have good effects.. may develop rashes and i heard rub wine may cause more hairs appearance.

<font color="e4287c">Ellysia</font>
<font color="e4287c">Have.... sushi lor. Cause exp.. I thought they will not eat. In the end the princess say use company fund!! kns lor! I think buy food in advance will be better.

I gtg for my sushi buffet! chat with u guys tomorrow.</font>

Ellysia, it's going to be hard not to abthe bb during confinement.. I really really want to bathe bb..sigh... can't we use cooled boiled water to bathe bb too? If so, then okay to touch that type of water right?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">sharon.. it's smelly ah? tt part I dunno.. but my CL told me to keep my old towels n dun throw away.. she say after bathe with da fong cao.. it's gg to be black and hard to wash so can keep for confrontment..</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,

As per my earlier post, nobody want to argue or 'de zui' her. So they just said ok , but tat kakis was quite good, he go to ta pau and pass to me.
Not able to said sold out lor, coz is our company canteen and food menus is fix and her normal order is sure at least got coffee. So, now my kakis asked me to ta pau the drink in advance and let it cool when i passed to her. Then if she ask me to ta pau nasi lemak, purposely put food that she dont like.

She dont asked them to ta pau coz my breakfast kakis is from oth section, though know each oth but i'm more easy to be bully lor.

In fact i dont mind ta pau for collegue,but she's really take me for granted liao , really macam i'm her maid lor.

Her attitude is like tat and everyone is avoiding to be friendly with her. She even dare to ask my oth collegue to peel oranges for her. When my collegue asked why she cant do herself, she had the face to reply coz will dirtied her hand.
She knows we are avoiding her but she still 'buay pai seh' try to stick with us.</font>

cactus,

BB bathe water have to be lukewarm. actually shd be safe for us to touch. But my mum said play safe dun touch too much water as not v good.

Actually wat u can do is to ask yr hb to bathe bb bec' feeding bb is our bonding time with BB, but our hb has no other ways to bond with BB. So bathing OR change diapers either task shd be hb doing. Then in this way, 3 person (yr MIL, yr hb and yrself) can all bond with BB.

Try not to do everything by yrself during confinement as u need to do more resting and sleeping when BB does not need feed, so tat yr MS can be established better too.

Felicia,

Buay zhi dong person!

Has she been doing tis since u preggy or before preggy? Some people see preggy women like v easy to bully.

If it won't cause work problems, then dun bother to do for her lah. Doing 1 more time for her is to give her chance to bully u more. This kind of people u have to tougher or else will keep bully u one.

ioio,

i also heard the herbs is smelly and oily.. my colleagues said after bathing like dun feel clean, still feel dirty.

Then wat she do is to rinse with water after using the herb bath water.

dunno will spoil the effect or not. But if cannot tahan maybe can use tat.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio, i dont find the da fong chao to be smelly but like no bath at all, coz whole body bit black after that. Even the towel oso become black lor.

So, normally after confinement, i'll throw away the towel.

Cactus,
I wud advise you do not bath for baby. I did that for my ger out of no choice , and i suffer from it. After 1st confinement ,i now really believe chinese confinement rules. Of course oso cannot blindly follow lah.

After 1st delivery, i always fall sick easily and my bloatness not able to get rid, then even western doc asked me to seek TCM, saying my body trapped with lot of wind and water.
So, only bath ur baby after 1 mth. And must remember lied down often during confinement especially after bathing.</font>

cactus,

dun use cooled boiled water to wash hands.

If u need to wash and boil water is v troublesome, i tink water heater water will be better bec' it is at least hot.

oh no! The herbs is smelly and oily ah??!!

I hear some mothers bathing with ginger slices only. Is it a good idea to just do that?? Gosh.. I worry about bb being in contact with our skin too... cos definately we will carry bb, play with bb and breast feed right?

SHaron,
Sakae sushi! Was telling HB just now tonight I lazy to cook many bring our gal along to Sakae eat hehehe. My frd told mi Turf City gota buffet very good. Japanese Buffet I think the name is Hokkaido cant rember also not bad and worth the $$$

I also use white wine to wipe body during 1st week lo. Smetime wipe liao smell very nice but end up sweating cos I hide inside toilet and do and close windows &amp; door. For me after 12days I bath herbs cos feel body damn sticky leh... esp my last confinement is in Aug which is super duper hot too! Hia...when about 3rd week I also secretly bath in the afternoon using cool boiling water. Hygiene very impt I cant take it just tat I prevent washing my hair lo. Do drink DOM which warm our body and helps alot. Try drink it after expressing out BM and need about 4-6hrs later b4 can feed baby..

That y its quite true BF bb we must watch our diet etc...

Try to lie down as much as possible during confinement, if nothing to do just rest lor.

it is true tat some people cannot loose water and trapped wind even after long time since delivery.

<font color="119911">hi all mummies... am back from FP sale

hot and dusty keke

here's some stuff i bought and my damage :p

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2265217
$60

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2341&amp;e=detail&amp;pcat=bulnl&amp;pid=32831
$5

http://service.mattel.com/us/product_detail.asp?id=73463&amp;Ntt=73463&amp;Pn=1&amp;Brand=Fisher-Price+Infant+Toys&amp;Cat=Other+Fisher-Price+Infant+Toys
$5

And some other teethers and rattlers at $5 each...</font>

<font color="ff0000">Btw have a spare FP mobile for sale... tink cost abt S$60 - $70 (including shipping but havent compute actual shipping costs yet) Item is brand new but need to pick up at Bishan coz Im lazy to go down... interested, pls PM me.. Sing selling brand new one for S$99</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> ellysia, before preggie she only occasionally asked me to ta pau. Actually after i felt she treat me like maid, i purposely told her now i cant stand too long else V part will feel pain. Then she was 'so nice' saying if i din eat at the stall she want to ta pau, then dont need to ta pau for her. But tats only one day only lor, the next day early morning still called me lor.

So, i'll just 'ren' till delivery.</font>

cactus,

My mum said if use ginger to bathe, some people cannot tahan bec' the smell and it sting the skin, some people skin cannot tahan.

Cynthia, my mom drank DOM also.. but I think last time Ellysia brought up that DOm has alcohol and will be passed through breastmilk to bb? My parents bought a couple of bottles of DOM for me already, but that was before I learnt from ELlysia that not safe if I want to breast feed. last time, my mom drank 10 bottles of DOM during her 28 days of confinement. alot hor?! But she didn't breast feed me.

Ellysia, I think I will try to bathe with ginger slices..and then rub with wine after bathe. I dun know if I'm going to drink DOM though cos scared alcohol goes to bb.. sigh. so many considerations. I think I can tahan ginger. I like ginger smell actually. last time, before pregnancy, during massages, I will request for a ginger/lemongrass blend massage oil... haha.

Er... to prepare ginger slices for bathe, does anyone know the procedure?

I remember reading about buying old ginger, thinly slice off the ginger, one at a time, then dry in the sun, and store. When want to use, then use? Throw a handful into hot boiling water? Does anyone nkow how much ginger to throw per pail?

cactus,

yesh pre-natal class told us not to drink DOM or alchool during BF, can only take alcohol used to cook in dishes as it is diluted, as class instructor says may "burn" BB kidney or lungs cos bb is too young.

I noticed cynthia drink after she bf so tat the time gap is longer &amp; prob the effects won't be tat much??

cactus,

i tink either fei fei or felicia or someone has been advising on the ways to use ginger to prepare bath water.. cannot remember who.

Ellysia, true. I have some concerns.. cos DOM is herbal.. not sure if herbs will pass on to bb. also alcohol. although it is 4 to 6 hours later, not sure if it is sufficient time for our liver to metabolise the alcohol too.. maybe I will ask the PD.

cactus,

i go n read up see if got any articles on drinking alcohol while bf.. see if got any prove or not.

hmm crystal says she is using littledreamers herb lotion to bathe. maybe u want to try tat instead? But i tink those herbs are more westerners herbs..

i am considering if i use the chinese herbs and it smelly and black.. maybe i ask my mum to use only half dosage then dilute with more boiled water so tat the effect is not tat bad lor.. in fact my mum never ask me to use herbs, cos she use normal boiled water to bathe during her confinement. But cos my mum own confinement is not done good and she got aftereffects, i am trying to do more proper ones.

cactus,

Do DOM have dang gui??

cos i heard dang gui will reduce BM, some forummer say Mrs Wong said during one of the pre-natal class. Cos mrs wong is senior lactation consultant, tink she said shd be more valid.

PD will know or not?? i tink lactation consultant knew better.

Ellysia, I will prefer to be kiasu.. dun want to regret next time loh. scared later my good intention to breast feed bb hurt bb instead cos of stupid things I drink or apply on my body...

Ellysia, I think PD will know... cos it's quite a technical question. how long does the liver take to metabolise alcohol mah... I think lactation consultant will just say better not drink at all... to be on the safe side. but if I'm keen to drink, then may need to ask more pple. Perhaps I should ask the lactation consultant also...

you're right. I think DOM have dang gui. Guess I cannot drink that already..

Ellysia, thanks for the advice. I think I won't drink DOM. Cos not only the alcohol but also the herbs. chinese herbs can be very scary loh.

cactus,

yah i ored decided not to drink DOM.. in fact if any relative gave me maybe i will pass some to mum.

anyway DOM can keep for v long. In any way if anyone give, we can still keep and drink it after we decide to stop bf our bb. can still keep our body strong after that.

another thing, i maybe cannot drink DOM too bec' i may develop rashes once i drink past a point.. and tat means my kidney dissolve alcohol slow.. so maybe not so ideal for me to consume alchohol.

Good idea, Ellysia. I think it's nice to drink DOM after we stop to breastfeed... my mom drinks youmeishu now... no more DOM.. cannot give her. my MIL has health problems. she doesn't drink alcohol and takes western medicine (diabetes and bp) so she stays away from chinese herbs.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,

For ginger bath, as far as i know, is not slices leh. You had to use knife to 'hack' the ginger till bit smash (means the giner is open up, can see the fresh), then boiled with water. The concept is almost the same as boiled with herb , just only substiture herb pack with old ginger. U had to use fresh ginger not those dried up type.</font>

Oh.. thanks for the tip Felicia. I dun know who said last time it is thinly slice the ginger.. then dry up for future use leh.. It is fresh OLD ginger right? How much per pail do you know?

<font color="aa00aa">cactus/ ellysia,

For DOM, you still can drink but not directly drink it, you can choose to steam with chicken meat. After the steam the alcohol is evaporated so it wont harm even if u BF.</font>

cactus,

i drink yomeishu some years back. But didn't manage to finish even half a bottle.

Cos the herbs make me so "Bu" and cos i can't absorb alcohol well, it makes me heaty and sometimes got rashes, even if i only drink half of recommended dosage.

I found that ginseng + tian qi serve me better in terms of "Bu qi" and increase warmth (i.e. less afraid of cold). I was v afraid of cold temp and always easily catch cold. After i took ginseng tablets + tian qi tablets for abt 1 year, my condition improve a lot.

Hi catcus
If your MIL is not too strict, what i did was to boil a pot of very concentrated one, then add to a BIG pail of water (from water heater) only in the bathroom. Hence no need to lug the heavy pails into bath room.

By "right" we are not supposed to DO anything other than breastfeed baby during confinement. But I guess mothers these days are hands on. In fact, I did housework too, however, I wont know the side effects yet maybe? kekeke... try to sleep while the baby sleeps but bathing/feeding/ taking care of baby can do lah. If not, I feel that we wont know the 'pattern' of baby.

Felicia,

yes, if cook the alcohol, we can drink it safety.

But i am unlike to cook it i guess, cos i be ordering newbaby catering.

I may have to order end of this mth, cos i want to enjoy the early bird discount.

<font color="ff6000">u all read abt the news on the cabin crew being slapped by the tycoon wife?

case was closed due to settlement out of court.. heard its S$250,000...</font>