(2008/06) June 2008

onsansg

KKH doc said to give a dose of nebuliser then follow by the oral ventolin is best effective.

I told u i stop ventolin after 3 days? Then his wheezing came back.. so we decide to let him finish the ventolin.

I was wondering if everyting is connected. Bec when he had the 1st bronchitis attack, 2 mths later he got a food allergy attack then follow by MMR jab, then 1 week later he got fever then bronchitis liao. Maybe his body is weaken by the MMR jab.

Tinkerbelle

OIC, mine is the upper part.

Btw during confinement wat did u use to bathe? I bathe using ginger water.

Ellysia,
mine also lower part so guess is epidural side effects bah. maybe not totally due to it but guess it kind of adds to the back spasm.

oh can use ginger water ah? umm i used those chinese herbs to bathe and the best thing is i bathe everyday. now i regret but too late liao. mummies who having #2 must really do proper confinement lo.

Eve

I bathe every 3 to 4 days.
Yes i use the ginger bath lotion from little dreamers website, its quite good and help to expel wind and water fast. I feel its better than the chinese herbs which i feel no effect.

Ellysia, i just had a word with the respiratory doc at sbcc who treated my bb with one dose of nebuliser and come back to continue for another 3 days of salbutamol (ventolin). i expressed my concern as i told her bb has taken a total of 40times of ventolin from the 12th april to coming 23rd apr. she said it's alright and that doesn't mean overdose. overdose is to feed medicine above the prescribed ml. she said if cough is not fully and completely treated with ventolin, the cough will be much worse in the next attack. my bb has little phlegmy cough and i tot that is like us adult, trying to cough out phlegm but she said, bb doesn't know how to spit. any cough sound be it with wet phlegm or no phlegm is called cough.

i din know why kkh din want to let bb oral nebuliser on sunday. i went to the emergency dept then, hoping the doc able to confirm if bb is alright and any wheezing. turn out, the doc said x-ray as pneumonia and since no wheezing, no nid nebuliser.

till yesterday, when bb breathless and had deep inhaled breath with hehe sound at exhalation, i rushed her to sbcc respiratory doc, gleneagles. she asked me if bb was given nebuliser at kkh? she also read the xray film and said bb doesn't have pneumonia, the film shows mucus and phlegm in bb lung. to her, that is not pneumonia.

my confused point now, is how many days of amoxyillin i should let bb complete? kkh prescribed 10days doses but the respiratory doc at sbcc said, 5 days is enough since bb doesn't have pneumonia. furthermore, she was given 5 days of klacid antibiotic prior to amoxycillin. tht already added to 10days of antibiotic. i don't know who to listen now?

mothers, for your bb who's having flu, cough and phlegm symptom now, normally how many days of antibiotic did you put your bb on and what is the name of the antibiotic? do you all treat until the phlegm is totally gone? if not, how do you all handle the phlegm after all medication is completed - just leave it alone or go chinese medication or boiled any special soup for bb to clear phlegm and nourish lung? pls advise me.

hi, i oso had c-section with below anesthetics. it's so much emotional able to see doc delivered the bb to you, after they clean and weigh bb. they will covered a piece of cloth at your tummy upwards like a curtain drawn, u won't even know the doc pry open your tummy. my gynae good at removing my tension, he said - now, i'm going to draw a line on you. i replied, draw lor - i so naive, tot he use marker pen to draw a line for prying. neither did i know he pried and get bb out. bb was out, the moment he finished his sentence of drawing a line on me. lol..

i so much wish i can have another kid, if the clock can turn back my age. i'm an advanced age mother, so having this bb at my age is a true blessing.

as for pain in the spine at the epidural site, i oso had had then ard the 1st 3-5mths. my gynae said it's unlikely epidural but more of our postural and furthermore, if we breastfeed or carry bb. he gave me metsal analgesic cream, which you can also get from pharmacy. i applied and the pain was gone.

during confinement and post confinement whenever i have pain, i use boiled "daun serai, ginger and onion" water to bathe, to remove wind and pain.

you may like to go back to your gynae, let him/her feel the area of pain and tell you appropriately if it's due to muscle or postural. don't be alarmed first.

Eve,
I never take any oral med, juz those tuina and occasional plasters loh. Haha... My hb always suan me say like his grandma age when I am nt even 30. :p

Mommies are the most wei da ppl on earth, cos we know we are nt suppose to carry heavy stuff yet we still carry our kid. Ahem, Yeah, I also belong to a weida mummy like my mum. LOL...

Ellysia,
Upper part as in shoulder area?

I was using the "Da Feng Chao" to bath during my confinement. I started bathing after 1 wk. Den my mum so pissed off with me, but smelly leh...

Onsansg,
Is your gal ok now? Hmm, for my gal's case the doc only gave her 5 days dosage for med.

U must take care yeah. When bbs sick, we adults suffer the most, heart pain, physically tired or sometimes we fall sick. So u must take good care ya.

On my opinion, I would suggest u juz stick to 1 doc. Different docs hav diff ways of viewing the scenario and treatment, either way they still want recovery for our little ones. So I feel tt juz stick to 1 doc, den if she nv recover, at least its easier to recify the problem.

haiz so many kids sick isaiah oso down wif plegmy cough n runny nose 2 wks le seems like since he went cc he never fully recovered..

Can I check which rhinithiol are u all talking abt? Is it rhianthiol e light red cough syrup? I tok dat was quite mild? Coz bb having cough nw n doc says she can take dis I dun want her take wrong med..

btw Zuen do u noe bb gender le? Quick share!

roxy

I tink it is quite mild bec it is available at pharmacy too.

Tinkerbelle

I started bathing when i came back from hospital le.. so dirty cannot tahan leh.

Upper back area slightly below shoulder.

Anyone has any contacts for agar agar cake? want to order for my boy. Look at aunty yochana & ejelly but can't find ideal one.

Ongsansg,

When my boy finish the medication and if he still have phelgm, i will give him the chinese tonic soup for cough.

Yah my hb also say overdose is to give too much at one feed.. not feed for a lot of days.

2 months ago when my boy had his first bronchitis attack, KKH doc give him neuberalisr even though there is no wheezing but he is breatheless.

hi Ellysia, may i have the name of chinese tonic soup for cough and where do you get it from?

hi Tinkerbelle, i think my gal is on the road of recovery since having the nebuliser treatment on wed given by respiratory doc at sbcc. i can see that she finally able to breathe normally though there is still phlemy cough.

i was really at a loss yesterday with so many diff docs giving diff views on whether to reduce no of days for amoxycillin or remain for 10days as prescribed.

finally, late last evening i managed to get through the line at KKH, tel 63941177. a doctor happen to pick up the call. i asked him, exactly what is the diagnosis as shown on my bb's xray. he told me what he see is acute broncholitis and not pneumonia. what the attending doctor who tend to my bb written on the system is chest infection. but, somehow the child mc is indicated as pneumonia..

then, i further ask him, since there is no pneumonia can i reduce the no of days of amoxycillin to 5 days given that my baby has a stronger klacid antibiotic from private clinic, prior to kkh visit. what he explained to me was disregard klacid and to continue amoxycillin for the no of days as prescribed to ensure all bacterias are totally killed off. we only reduce amoxycillin to 5-7days if bb develops rashes and diarrhoe. if we stop prematurely, any remaining bacterias will be resistant for antibiotics in the future next attacks.

my decision finally, to continue bb with amoxycillin as bb went in to see kkh doc then was with very phlegmy chest, hence better let her complete the whole course as prescribed. respiratory doc who saw bb on wed is during bb has less phlegm and lung was clear although bb had some breathlessness. so, to her at that point in time is minor but to kkh on sunday, was acute.

tis doc told me, amoxycillin can clear infection and phlegms are not that big worry to them, as it will be absorbed back in the body system.

i hope with all my length findings and checkings with doctors could somehow help mummies to have a clearer picture, if you are also at a loss like me.

hi, upper part as in shoulder area or below shoulder area or around shoulder blades are usually the muscular pain due to us, carry heavy babies or heavy things lor.

if you are to be given epidural, ask your gynae, if you can be injected with morphine instead to numb that site. i tink my anesthetic told me at the labour ward, that he decided to inject me with morphine, less side effect or something like that.

at one point, my inner upper arm stretch to armpit was also painful. i was so frighten it is those "fearful thing" at the lymp node. quickly ran to my gynae. he straight away touched my complaint area and twist my arm. diagnosis, muscular tension due to carry baby. he say, that part of the inner upper arm and armpit near glands are also near big artery. cannot anyhow rub with medication, ample rest can relieve the pain and true enough, pain stops after 2 months of minimise carrying baby. LOL.

onsansg,

How old is yr baby?

My pain happen before childbirth, so i dun tink is due to epidural. But it has worsen after childbirth. Have to do more push-up.

Btw i tink my epidural dosage is v high, bec i had 13 hours of epi dosage. My labour was 19 hours long since contractions pain.

Roxy,
My gal taking that n she recover. bb cannot take too strong type ba. maybe u try.
my son diff medi.
Now they only occassionally cough but I'm still coughing.

Hi Ellysia, my bb gal is 17mth old, today on 24th.

I see her face already so red, maybe from the too many times of ventolin. i decided to stop completely from today.

for your long-time pain, guess you may want to go for a warm physiotherapy with gel applied on the back. this may help but take many months. otherwise, could it be an underlying cause like endometriosis? does this pain comes more frequent when you have menses? ask your gynae/doc all kinds of questions that flies in your mind.

i had a tail spine pain since 12years old, injured by many roller skating falls. the pain was with me for 25 years and worse when menses come or when the vehicle i'm in hit a bumper road. wah, i'll jerk up in pain. Miracolously, the pain has gone when i have my fibroid and endometriosis removed. don't know is it connected with the growth or the injury pain finally decided to leave me.

mommies,
jus heard from a fren on bao ying dan. any mommies use it on their child and what is it for?

anyone hires myammar maid and can share on the experience, if you have?

ongsansg,

My advise is NOT to hire myammar maid. Firstly, they have little or no prior training in their country. Secondly is language problem. My mum hired a myanmmar maid.., super headache with her. So do reconsider.

hi janivity, can describe how superheadache it is? what types of duties did your mum's myammar maid handled and the sleeping & waking hours like? did the myammar maid calculative of working hours? Is myammar maid more country bumpkin than an indonesian? will they throw sanitary towels into toilet bowl, can they use washing machine and electrical appliances? how long did that myammar maid work for your mum?

i'm already on 2 year no-pay leave and may have to go back to work by jan 2011. my current indonesian maid contracts expires in may 2011. i doubt my employer will allow me for another year of no-pay leave extension..

i'm at the verge of thinking to lose the penalty charges by letting go of the myammar maid that i have chosen.

thinking of giving the current indon maid another chance (though tis one has had been giving us numerous problems. Current maid doesn't admit faults, we discovered children's clothings in her bag, but she dare to say i accused her of stealing when i showed her the clothings, sometimes retort me and mum, use our phone to call home without seeking permission, etc, etc.).

tis maid is well trained to multi-task and even cook our daily chinese home meals to our taste (not salty). she's not calculative with working hours - just a bit slack in housework which i attribute to bb now already learnt to walk. hence, more time has to be spent on bb already. i also exposing her more to bb care to prepare her when i return to workface.

so, we'll compensate her by letting her have good meals and continue to treat her well, despite several negative attitutes that she has.

we try to close one eye, until at one point - i decided to look for other maid, hence end up choosing a myammar candidate where passport application is in process..

But, due to recent episode where my bb is sick, i see that current indon maid helps to take care of my bb without any complaints. i feel like mitigate it and let bygones be bygones..any advise, mummies? what is the wise plan that i should take given that current maid contracts end in next may and i need to go back to work by jan? should i go for new maid, with premature termination on current one or should i continue with current one until contract lapses? penalty by maid agency if i cancelled off myammar maid is at $88. a myammar maid salary is $360 vs indon maid at $340.

thks ellysia n ong.. My mum let my gal take once n she recovered now she has stuck nose with some phlegm but I nvr let her take med for it.. Let her heal naturally

Isaiah got cough n flu 2 wks till having fever on n off.. I brought him see nam Seng n he got prescribed ventolin n antibitotics no choice I let him take n can see effect he is getting better..

Kelcqi I oso csect with epi twice.. Ok lah u wun noe when they cut u open no feelings de.. So sad I never experience contractions before..

onsansg I tink honesty is v impt my curent indo maid wif me 1 yr n I must say she is v Good.. No complaints so far except she abit dirty when washg tings sometimes my boy nw closer to her than me haiz.. But she is v good to him all e tings he know she teach de.. Now he can even differentiate blue,red, green colour etc all taught by her..
If she is no good then maybe change her..how much is e penalty?

Isaiah finally called mama today.. He was looking at my poto n he said a very clear definite mama n point at my picture.. He considered v slow le but I'm glad he finally called mama

Training paints
It is adviseable to use? How does it works.
I getting more worried since my boy is turnng 2 soon. Poo n pee still nvr say. Sometimes, after poo want to remove diaper, sometimes cont. to play. If wash, will cry.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Yest was in KKH and it was so so crowded. So many sick kids.
YuJie upper lip was 'cut' by her own teeth as my eldest accidentally knock YuJie's chin with her head when she was trying to get up. YuJie cry till so badly and the blood just flow out till kena her shirt. Actually we went to a nearby clinic 1st, but the doc ask us to go to KKH as it might need stitches due to deep wound.
Then waited for almost 2 hrs, only managed to see doc, tats also my hubby go to request nurse to expedite the Q as we are told not to feed any milk or drink to YuJie in case she need to put on sedation. And she was making fuss as she's hungry, so hubby go and ask nurse for help.
If not, sure need to wait at least 3 hrs.
When the doc saw YuJie, his 1st word is 'very deep, need to stitch'. But when he saw YuJie's history of fits, he change his mind and say can leave it as the upper lip can heal quite fast. I dont even dare to see the wound area when the doc try to open YuJie's lip. Luckily she's quite a good girl, obediently open her mouth. (Well, i think the hospital stay last round really make YuJie so comfortable with doc now.)

ok, one thing i learn from this incident. According to the doc, if the kid is in pain for such situation, we can use ice cube try to numb the area and if the bleeding does not stop within 5mins, pls rush to clinic/hospital asap.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Connie,
Dont worry, my YuJie oso still dont tell us when she want to poo or pee. Only when sometimes she's in super good mood, she'll said poo poo. But come to pee, she dont even bother to tell us.</font>

Felicia,
Oh dear..*sayang Yujie*...sounds bery deep wound leh..now all dried up le?

Connie,
Dun worry lor, char also doesn't really know how to tell us yet, onli after she poo, she will point to her diaper n say change change lor..

Recently, she has been imitating those jiejies in the CC. They will take off their pants and run to the kids toilet, char imitate them by takign off her pants, but with her diapers on, then sit on e stool and say shhshh...then aft that put on her pants herself again..Hmm...I tink its time i shd start to give her toliet training le..

Eve,
do take care of your back. i also suffer from backaches now and then and i also took epi. i usu go to those chinese sinseh when i have backaches. :p

roxy,
guess this reply is late but yes, my pd also gave rhiniathiol, the red colour one for cough.

Btw, did isaiah continue to call you 'mama' after that? cos Lucas also pointed at me yest and said 'mama' very clearly cos it was the 1st time he called me. i was elated to hear it but after that no more.

feifei,
aiyo, 3 days mc? you ok now?

felicia,
thanks for the advice. my niece had a deep cut on her lower lip before which needed stitches. hope yu jie recovers soon.

ongsangsg,
my current maid is from myanmar and i second what janiviy said about the language barrier. sometimes, it is very frustrating not being able to communicate very simple things. so basically, you will have to use very simple english. it might help if u opt for a uni grad cos my bro's maid who is also from myanmar is quite good in her english.

other than the language part, household chores wise she's quite diligent and she takes good care of my boy. overall she's ok. i will be extending her for 1 more year when her contract ends in june this year.

Last weekend is v busy for us. On sat my boy pee on the floor before i wear the diapers for him. Cos previously he is uncooperative when i undress him for bathing, so built up frustration then i beat him badly at his thigh until got red marks took half an hr to disappear. Then yest his poo leak from his diapers sideway on the floor and his legs, he is v scared and keep crying when i took him to bathe n wash off, he tot i am going to beat him. After i assure him then he is okay.

Btw wat is yr tot weight &amp; height at the moment?

hi, my bb is on the road of recovery after the one dose of nebuliser. now, she is completing her 10days of amoxycillin. thanks.

the next time if you go to kkh emergency, let the 1st station attending nurse know to help you let your bb see the senior medical officer (IF your baby is a High Risk bb like ever has FITS before or something like that). the queue will be so much faster. I did that for my bb as she was contracted with a strong respiratory virus at 3mths old which is dangerous for young babies before 6mths, hence considered a high risk type. so, my bb was given priority to see the senior medical officer..within half hour.

my current indon maid was a transfer and her loan is fully cleared as she is already with us for 1 year. we tolerate her attitude as seeing she is good to bb. but, very inclined to change her and retrain a new one before i start work in jan 2011. however, now hesitate again due to recent episode of my bb falling sick and she can help me to tend to bb pretty well.

i should say, tis maid always had some kind of good luck - each time, i'm about to convince myself to change her, surely there is some incidence popped up to make me change my plan..that's why i've been delaying the decision to now. should i go ahead with myammar maid candidate that i have chosen, retain current indon maid or rechoose another new maid and if rechoose, which nationality is better to multi-task duties (cook, bb care and housework)?

this current indon maid has always been the cause of our family tiffs as she is also nosy and like to put oil into fire, pretentious in front of my hubby appearing she agrees totally to wat my hubby says, always tell me that my hubby reminds me of hers(till my mum sometimes say, surely legal wife no place to stand, if she is the mistress)..

what should i do?

Tera,
Ya lor, 3days mc cos high fever and bad throat infection lor..hiaz, was feeling so terrible last week...Now better liao =)...Tks ger..MIL just called n said char cried when my mil leave hiaz...i guess her separation anxiety set in...

Hi Ellysia,

remember the name of the attending medical officer that you feel comfortable with that has ever attended to your child. u can ask for that doc on next visits if he is on duty, otherwise request for a senior medical office to attend to you. very fast, all within half to one hour.

how does your boy got fits? what's the trigger factor?

i understand your frustration especially, if you have to shoulder the care all by yourself or your elderly unable to help you. i oso scolded my bb in her first year when she kept vomited milk and semi-solids every 2-3 days n refuse to have her day naps.

please don't scold your boy for wetting himself. pls potty train him more often.

mine, since nappy rash we keep potty train her. she still doesn't say "shishi" or "urm urm", but she will go straight to the potty, lay a piece of toilet paper in it and bring a stoolchair nearer to the potty. everyday when bb busy playing, she oso refuse to go towards potty and just wet herself on the playmat. one day, she even poohed a small piece on her cloth nappy dropped right onto the floor, she looked frightened and picked the little pellet to show my mum..

my mum has chronic eczyema that i couldn't even let her take care of my bb since birth as bb skin is sensitive. got to handle bb care by myself with some help from the domestic maid.

hubby's work too stressful and tires out, only want to recharge himself over the weekends. i got to to think twice whether to tell him about bb progress or inform him of negative feedback.

Hi Teragram, just saw your reply. appreciate if you could share more with me?

my myammar candidate that i have choosen is born in Shan state but present address at Yangon. She, middle child in the family. she claims to be able to speak basic chinese grade 3 of their country's standard (guess must be our very junior primary level type)..

how is your myammar maid personal hygience when she first joined you? can she accept scolding when do wrongly, is she a buddhist or christian, from which province, is her pride too strong like those negative remarks we have been reading on mhood forum on myammar maid? how old is yours, single? does she throw sanitary towel into toilet bowl? do you feel comfortable drinking her boiling water? do you let her cook? do you let her wash milk bottles?

how did you first communicated with her when she came? written paper and sign language? is she able to understand and perform correctly to your work instructions? how long did you take to train her to multi-task? can she cook, at least porridge meal for your bb? is she calculative with working and resting hours as quite hard to be so rigid to 8 hours of rest if got to take care of bb, right?

do we need to pay myammar maid income tax when their contract ends and decide to return to their country? how long have you been having this myammar maid and is she your 1st myammar maid? why did you choose a myammar maid over an indonesian?

hope your replies can give me some lights to my decision making, please, Tera? thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei/ Tera, thanks.
This morning i called back, my MIL said YuJie is ok, finish her milk, playing alone. My worry is only that her lip wont be pretty when she's getting bigger, but hubby said leave it to fate.But on oth hand consider lucky the cut is inner lor.

Ellysia,
I think my ger only 80-81cm nia. Her weight is 11.1kg, sure accurate coz just weigh at KKH yest nite. haha.....
Why? u worry about YuZhe's height? I remember he's quite tall, rite?</font>

onsansg

Ya i know not suppose to scold him or beat him due to him pee on the floor.. just frustrated in a fit of anger. Feel really regretted after the act.

He has the tendency to pee himself once he is not on diapers after bathe.. so will try to make him pee in toilet potty but tat day too rushed, didnt make him pee at toilet.

I dun have maid, weekends only myself n hubby taking care. Not staying with elderly also.

Felicia

He is 90cm tall but weight is around 12-14KG, i dunno is good or not. My breastmilk drop to v low amts &amp; i tink soon is going to wean liao, i checking with his specialist doc on the alternative. Was informed maybe have to try neocate or alfare which are v smelly. If he doesn't like it, there won't be any other formula for him to take.. can only give rice milk + solids.

Felicia

Just check and his weight is 12KG. tink it is slightly below 50% according to World health organisation growth chart. But height is 80% percentile.

i admire you, Ellysia. u still can breastfeed your boy. are you a SAHM? why can't you move your boy to infant formula milk now? milk is only crucial to bb at the 1st 4mths of their life. after which, it's the nutritious solids that counts.

my 17mth gal is only 75cm and 9kg, very small size.

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
What about fresh milk? Can he take? But if YuZhe is good in solid food, it wont be a big problem coz by then he's 2 yrs old oredy. Suddenly think of Milo. he can take?

Felicia and onsansg,

No he cannot take any form of dairy, soy, peanut &amp; egg as he still has allergies to these food. Thus he still cannot take any milk or soy formula. He oso cannot take milo as even the powder contain milk. No ice-cream, cakes, tofu etc too. Very sad but no choice.

Even recently in school, just an incident of milo splash on his face only (no consumption) cause hives to develop on his face within seconds, and he has to take an antihistamine which i given to school.

Today school called and said his face got allergy spots again but dunno is due to wat reason cos he eat the same type of food.

leng leng I saw dat article too so upset by e way e company handled e matter..

Tera, he called a few times ydae btw today no mood to call le haiz.. Lucas got call today?

Feifei glad u feel better nw!

Felicia hope yujie get well soon.. She is a brave gal

Ellysia,
Haha, my neighbour in TMC. We same fate, I was on Epi for 13+ hrs also. And the dosage was rather high until my gynae said he needs to put me on GA for C-sec cos anymore epi is very toxicating for the body. And I threw up very badly after that, plus the shivering effect also, n the rashes also. Did u get those side effects?

U still pumping 3 times a day? Salute salute...

Roxy,
Trust me, contractions no fun man. I endure 7 plus hrs of contractions before I gave in to Epi cos that time act hero mah, told my hb my mum can do it without Epi, so can I. In e end the nurse see me so exhausted from the whole nite of contractions, told me to give in to Epi else later no strenght to push, and I did get some 2-3 hrs sleep after that. And lucky I listened, else imagine the next 13 hrs of pain, can die.

Leng Leng,
I was horrified at the thread. To think so many of our kids consumed HT cereals.

kelcqi hee never try before so want to try ah...

wah the thread got removed, must be smh scared gena sued...

connie, got he is 11kg now... weigh a few times at pd

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mummies!

Roxy, thanks!

Re: HT
Me too feel dissappointed and just remember that recently i just brought one pack of HT puff.</font>