(2008/05) May 2008

re:fruits
fyi, my mil have been giving fresh fruits such as apple, strawberry and banana (without steaming) to my twins ever since they are 6 months old.. so far no problem...but cannot eat too much banana else they will 'lau sai'

did anyone start to give orange to your toddler now? I gave them last night...my maid said can give... but i'm worried it will caused phelgm

bb08 ,

Heard orange will produce phelgm and wind in the tummy . So maybe better not give now .

Cos i have not start my boy on orange yet . Tried the above mention without steaming .

Winnedy ,

Like yesterday i put potato /egg and some fish in it . Nice but abit think so i put some warm water to make it softer loh !!

alice,
i dun know the strength of the cyclone...but USA very prone to all these and i heard some of the pple need to rush home and board up windows one...
din know calcutta also have such strong winds!
oh, you were also in shanghai in 2007?
so farnie, my hubby was in singapore den, and he was so worried, kept asking me to stay away from the window...
wah liew, den i sleep where?

Jo,
I will try to steam some egg for Rachel to add as side dish to her porridge =)

Buttercup,
Ya lor, me too first time heard of Cyclone in India >_<
The wind is damn damn strong, so far already uproot two trees as far as i can see now. But the air is so fresh hahaha! The Cyclone must have blow away all the polluted air here =)
No, i was in Shanghai in 2005 for a company trip not 2007 lei, that's means is quite common there too.
haha... yr hb is so loving (",)

Val,
received your mail liao, thanks. Haha.. finally got one pic that can use for Keon passport, those taken by my sis, he never look straight.

cheri,
haha.. same as Keon, when ask him do flying kiss, he will put his hand on his mouth then to our mouth. Yesterday, Keon did something very sweet to his korkor. His korkor was crying while lying on the bed then Keon go kiss his korkor forehead. see liao very heart-warming. haiz.. i miss the gap sales...

Re:milk
initially i thought keon was drinking less milk so on last fri and sat, i record down his milk intake and to my surprise he was drinking about 700-800ml per day.

Jo,
welcome. you gonna have a mail from me

re: fruits
before keon turned one, he already eating fruits without steaming because everytime we adults eat fruits he will snatch. He loves to have apple on both his hands so that he can take turns to bite the apple from each side.

bb08,
i gave orange to keon le but he dun eat often, only if my in laws buy orange then he gets to eat. haha.. everytime keon eats orange, the next day he will poo the pulp out. disgusting hor :x whether it cause phelgm a not i not sure because when keon eats the orange nothing happens but he got phelgm when he never eat any orange at all so i dunno how he got his phelgm.

Finally in to post as I'm @ work now. If not, Rene will keep pressing any buttons on my laptop till it hang or shut down.

Angela,
Thanks for the website. It definitely save me some trouble to think of the meals to whip for Rene. Rene's meal always consists 1 meat &amp; veg.

Ting,
the wait @ KKH A&amp;E is very long, anytime of the day. Once, Rene's fever hit 40degC, went there close to 2am AND waited for more than 3 hrs to see the doctor. I realized whenever Rene has fever, her fever shot up very fast &amp; high during the night. Sponging is the best way to bring down the temp but it is damn tiring.

RE: Zoo Outing
Keen on going, need to check with hubby 1st.
1 day Zoo Trip @ 4/7/09 Saturday 10.00am.

Zoo admission of $18.00 per adult and $9.00 per child applies

List of participants
1. Corynn wif hubby
2. Dolly23 wif hubby
3. Jo wif hubby-tentative ok bfast wif animals
4. ting wif hubby
5. Val wif hubby - bfast with animals
6. Diana
7. Poky
8. Choc wif hubby
9. Jer
10. Alice wif hubby
11. winnedy
12. Evie_82
13. bb08 wif maid
14. Gina
15. Gina with hubby (Tentatively)

*Just curious, who is the other Gina?

RE: Steamed Egg
My PD was advising me against feeding them steamed egg. He told me to feed them fully cooked food.

RE: Fruits
I have been feeding Rene raw pear, apple and prune. I cut into tiny pieces for her to feed herself.

RE: Infant care in Woodlands / Ang Mo Kio
Mummies, any recommendations? My neighbour discouraged me to send Rene to Learning Vision @ RP as her daughter fell ill very often after sending her there.

Gina ...
oops, all along i thought it was you ... hahaha now when i track back the posting, i saw it was lukemommy leh ... nevermind lah, just come and join us, long time never see Rene, and i saw the photos u took during ur KL trip, looked fun.

Gina,
steam egg not fully cooked food ah? How long did your neighbour daughter attend the infant care at learning vision? because for the first six month of attending infant/child care it is common for them to be sick often as their body is building up the immune system for the new environment. Thats what happen to my no 1.

jer,
quite hard to make the baby look straight at the cam le...damien one also nv look at cam but i still submit the photo for the passport la..hehehe. so far, think only Keon and Megan looks at the cam le...
Keon very sweet le...kiss his kor kor like tt...u must be a very happy mummy. hehehe.

gina,
why advised nt to give steamed egg?

Dolly,
it was fun and Rene behave herself. She befriended more frenz than us. Bcos of her, we got to know an architect &amp; hitched a free ride from a bank exec. Both guys left their hp no.

Lukemommy, my memory is failing, I forgot u r Gina too. Oops...

Jer,
According to my PD, steamed egg is close to half-boiled, not considered fully-cooked. Her daughter is 18mths old and she actually got pneunomia (hope I got it right) after attending Learning Vision and was hospitalized for 3 days.

Val,
as steamed egg is not fully-cooked, it might have bacteria in it.

hahahaa...ya...i also blur how come 2 ginas on the list...hahahaaaaa

gina..miss rene leh! hope to see her soon..and then my boy can learn something from her...still remember during our CNY gathering my boy pick up standing from ur gal

val,
I was SAHM, now changed to FTWM. Just started work ytd, my hubby faced some difficulties in his work.

Re: Apple
The same time, I brought Rene to Eu Yen Sang TMC clinic. The physician said that apple will cause phelgm wor. Anyway, I believe if we feed them in moderation, it's ok de.

hi hi...
just a pic to share to start the day...
managed to capture my niece stealing the first kiss of darren when she came over to play.
heheeh

2496284.jpg

choc,
NO! NO! Dun learn from Rene. She's biting Mummy very often now. Haha... Rene's still learning to walk, she can only walk 2 steps unassisted. But Rene knows how to french kiss. Actually, she's greedy, she will stick her tongue in our mouths to taste the forbidden food such as cold Pepsi and iced latte.

gina,
hmmm....but if steam long enuff sld be cooked rite?
orh. eehehe. so now u ftwm..then who looked aft ur gal? same co or diff co as ur hubby?

yanling,
hahaha. the pic is so cute and funny. hehehe.

Val,
not sure abt steaming long enuf.

MIL is looking after Rene for now, am searching for infant care now. Last evening, when I brought her back, she became very naughty + playful. She started to defy me le, so sad lo. @ MIL plc, she played too much le and MIL is spoiling her. I insisted on cooking Rene's lunch as MIL always give in to kids. That's how my nephew ended refusing to take fish, meat &amp; veg, resulted in constipation. Therefore, I must send her to infant care before such thing happen to her.

Ya, talking about shopping. My hands a bit itchy liao, been enduring for so long le. I oso missed playing MJ.

Val,
haha.. i not happy cos after he kiss his kor kor, he went on to kiss his father for numerous time! I only got a kiss when i asked for it -_-"

gina,
did your neighbour daughter take pneumococcal vaccine? its quite common for children under 5 to get it especially for 2 yo and below. so better to take those optional vaccine if we are placing our kids in childcare.

Yanling,
Darren too charming for your niece to resist. lol!

dolly, val
i also want to join FTWM, sending out resume le, hope to join u all soon. I also want to shop freely without restriction from hubby!

Jer,
I super KS, Rene finished those vaccinations le. Going for chickenpox and flu vaccinations this week. I even bot Dettol disinfectant spray to put @ MIL plc and get her to clean all my nephew's toys with Dettol weekly (she never clean them b4.)

Honestly, I'm more worried placing Rene under MIL's care than infant care. My nephew is always down with flu (at least once a mth) and they dun hv good hygenie habits.

Wish you tons of luck on getting a job fast.

gina,
hmmm...i personally tried the steamed egg b4 giving to my boy le...and i thot its cooked le..hmm...grandparents mostly spoilt the grandkids de. hope u can find a suitable infant care soon =)
hahaha. itchy rite? peifu u can tahan for so long...i duno if i can tahan so long dun shop nt. hahaha.

jer,
whahaha. Keon prefers to kiss males ah? hehehe. mayb he shy abt kissing u la.hehehe. dun worry, u will find a job soon and u can join us shop non stop. hehehe.

gina,
hmmm...nt all old ppl have gd hygiene habits de...coz in their olden times, they are nt so hygiene mah...but still their kids grow up fine...so they always say "last time also nv clean bleah bleah bleah"...thx God my mum clean the toys everyday =P

choc, evie, haha.. i guess matthias just like gain IQ..

val, yesterday i feel the teeth again and it has grown out more.. yeah, finally he has teeth... LOL..
i think we are too hard to satisfy, got a pretty flexible job but still complaining.. haha.. that's why we are ladies.. think my hubby put up alot of my nonsenses.. keke.. u give damien avocado by itself or mixed with something? he will eat ar?

dolly, u really very hardworking, still steam and puree, i seldom give matthias fruits unless my dad cut them, i'll let him taste abit.. he even taste durian before.. but after alittle of it, he doesn't want and will shake his head vigorously, think it stinks.. haha..

alice, so scary! cyclone in india somemore.. think nowadays weather is super haywire.. hope everything will be well for you.. take care..

jer, keon so cute will kiss kiern.. matthias don't like to kiss us leh.. he will only do flying kiss.. haha.. wow.. keon drinking alot of milk.. so u don't need to worry about him not drinking enough. i wish matthias can eat the raw fruits by himself too but no teeth leh.. only now then can feel it.. took so long.. btw, hope you can find a job soon and can do lots of shopping after that..! hehe..

gina, welcome back.. and welcome to FTWM club.. hope you will enjoy your work! i think it's ok to give steamed egg cos previously while doing my research on salmonella, i did find out the temperature to cook an egg.. perhaps the below will help.

<font color="0000ff">quote from http://www.eggsafety.org/f_a_q.htm#9
What is an adequate temperature to cook an egg?
Egg white coagulates between 144 and 149°F, egg yolk coagulates between 149 and 158°F and whole eggs between 144 and 158°F. Plain whole eggs without added ingredients are pasteurized but not cooked by bringing them to 140°F and maintaining that temperature for 3 and 1/2 minutes. According to the FDA Food Code, eggs for immediate consumption can be cooked to 145°F for 15 seconds.

If the eggs are to be used in a recipe with other food items, dilute the eggs with with liquid or other ingredients, such as milk, or sugar (at least ¼ cup liquid or sugar per egg as in custard) and cook the egg mixture to 160°F, which will destroy harmful bacteria in a few seconds. Adequate cooking brings eggs and other foods to a temperature high enough to destroy bacteria that might be present.</font>

maybe i will go steam the egg and see how long it takes for the egg to reach 160°F(~72°C)

dolly, gina, i just played mj last friday.. till 5am.. LOL.. cos my hubby's friends(all guys and my hubby doesn't play mj) want to play.. damn tiring lo.. but ya.. before that also long time didn't play..

re: HK trip
think my HK trip in July may need to cancel or change route.. so sian.. 7th case of swine flu in HK..

cheri,
wahhahhaa. ur bday wish for matthias finally come true liao la. hhehee. damien upper teeth also quite obvious liao and it hurts when he bites when i latch him. hahaha. ok la, there is no ends in finish a perfect job lo...even if we landed 1, mayb aft sometimes we will get bored of the scope or pay and wan to search again? rite nt? hahaha. same goes to my hubby...he put up alot of nonsenses frm me...heng he got hight tolerance level...if nt duno where we will land now =P
yes. i give him plain avocado. he is ok le...at first dun really like but nw he is used to it le..can take quite alot. i planning to give avocado with tofu soon.
hey, i let damien try durian also and he likes it! keep asking for more! hehehe. i dun give him he goes "ahhh ahhhh ahhh". hahaha.

Re: steam egg
hmmm....i steam for 10mins with the full fire (using conventional stove)... sld be ok la...

Angela,
thanks for the webby. got a few dishes that i want to try.

gina,
ya like what val said, not all old ppl have good hygiene becos they used to stay in kampong. lucky my mil and mum are modern type one.

val,
prefer to kiss male? better not then i must ask him to keep kissing me liao! haha.. but keon is more of daddy's boy. whenever his dad is at home, he will try to attract his dad attention and will find him if he falls. But if his dad not at home which happens frequently cos of my hubby job nature then he will find me...

dolly,
my hand also itchy, pregnant that time will still play quite often wif mil and her sis, after giving birth, never play at all liao.

cheri,
haha.. matthias teeth really took so long to grow ho? just like his hair. once his teeth are out then easier liao, dun need to steam the fruits. i gonna try steam egg later. after seeing val tasty steam egg, i also tempted to try.

buttercup,
at the mean time will be mil and maid, till i find a childcare, intending to put both brothers at the same childcare.

Angela,

i really jin pei the lady of the webby lor...she really take alot of effort to plan food for her gal...nt like me...alway the boring few porridge till daryl also sianz le..muahahaha

another link to share on our bb food also...i am interested to try giving bird nest porridge lor...muahaha...
http://meetscarlett.xanga.com/

wow...so many ladies here play mj de huh....i juz play on sat wif hb and his couple frenz at nite after daryl zzz also, we played 2 round but the 1st round take abt 3 hr coz daryl wake up for 3 times and the 3rd time he wake up, we decide to bring him out le then after we finish 1st round we make him another bottle of milk and let him go zzz again....muahahaa..

let see how many of us play mj and ware we lived ya...

MJ players and street we lived in :

(1) Diana and Hubby - AMK Street 31

Re: steam egg

I steam egg with milk powder.

I let Shaine tried egg white, she got allergy ler. I can't confirm is cos by egg white but it may b lor.

Diana,
you are damn fast ... haha , pplay MJ must count me in ..

MJ players and street we lived in :

(1) Diana and Hubby - AMK Street 31
(2) Dolly and Hubby - Punggol

Yanling,
The photo so cute.

Dolly,
What is FTWM stand for?

Jer,
I also not steam the avocado. But don't over give, it will cause phlegm.

Diana,
I remember u mention feel time of giving honey to ur boy. It will also cos phlegm ler.

MJ??? Mahjong? I am not but my mum love it. And she is so boring that can't find kaki in Singapore.

jer,
gd and bad if Keon sticks to ur hubby rite? like that u can do ur things freely =P train him to kiss gals more la. i dun mind being his model for him to kiss. hahahaa.
no. i didnt steam avocado. no need to le.

corynn,
u let Shaine try yolk before? if yes, sld be white la...so far damien ok.

Re: mahjong
i cai niao can or nt? my hubby is my teacher. hahaha.

Corynn,

FTWM is Full Time Working Mum...

o..honey will cause phlegm also huh...hmmm...then i tink i dun gif him honey 1st le...

dolly,

hahaha...fast fast then can plan 1 soon mah...

Val,

no prob de...play school fee to learn lor...muahahaha

re: honey
i thot we cannt give honey to our babies yet?

diana/dolly,
ahaha. pay sch fees to u ladies ah. got guarantee will pass one nt? hehehe. beginner's luck...can ask for tian hu not? heehehe.

Val,
She tried egg yolk. So far ok. After her 1st trial on egg white at evening then next day morning face red rashes and also for below eye portion.

So excited to u see u all start MJ. I dont' knwo at all.