(2008/05) May 2008

loomi,

think the jap culture in raising kids are really different from singaporean...

my niece last time got fever 39 degree plus, my sis brought her to see pd the doc just say monitor and dun worry.. nothing wrong and didn't give her anything.. if in singapore, we will be home with a bag full of medicine.

And the Japanese tend to be more relaxed with the food given to babies leh. My niece also started solid earlier and now not yet 2 yo but she eats everything we eat. Tat time my sis also keep asking me to give baby the wheat tea while he was just 2-3mths old. And for snacks for baby the recommended age also earlier. Same for the cheese biscuit,, the jap one recommended age is 9mth, but the Heinz one is 1YO…but I like the jap baby biscuit.. most of the biscuit I give to my boi are the japanese one.

For the cough I think u better consult another pd. Cos tat time my boy also nite time wake up coughing and got phlegm in the throat,end up become bronchitis.

the infantcare in Singapore got provide solid food lah. U just need to provide the milk powder/diaper/milk bottles and stuff like tat.

I run through the post quickly i found that you all discussing about the wheel on bus.

Actually i am thinking to get from the ebay. But i found actually they have few diff volume and it's different from Toy'r'us.

Can anyone show me which are the title of wheel on bus you all get? I also interested to get the Laugh and Learn and Pee-A-Boo.

Recently I bought 2 baby genius DVD from ebay....the sound quality not good (Volume very soft)as compare to the other 2 DVD I bought from KP. Do you all experience this as well.

Also advice me to get from BP better or KP. I really no time to compare. Thanks.

ant, glad tat aldan recovered
wow so tall not sure how tall is my gal now think muz wait until 1yr when bring her for prevnar jab then can measure.

val, thanks thanks jus ordered some dvds for my gal from e link

choc, i like e 2nd pic look soo handsome in e water haahaa...

mummies, ask u all those who using first teeth toothpaste do u clean off e toothpaste after brushing?

these few days my gal very stick to me leh think its her 4th teeth piercing thru her gums dun wana eat much porridge and dun wan daddy to carry onli me. my arms are aching big time...

jo/loomi,
i used to call my grandma mama too...then i call my mum mummy... think your mils are peranakans lah... haha its our culture

Loomi- I suggest u bring him to another PD. The 1st 2 docs I went also said aldan was alright, his lungs r clear but his cough went on for 3weeks. He wil cough n kept wakin up in the nite n was v disruptive to his slp. Can hear lots of phelgm too. So I decided to bring him to TMC PD n took blood test n xray. The xray showed a huge patch of white substance in his lungs. PD said it’s pneumonia n he had to be on neubliser to clear the phelgm. He’s much beta nw, can finally slp well at nite.

Sugar/jer- my ILs r teochews n aldan goten call ma ma n gong gong. Thn recently my mil start to teach him to call her nai nai instead. Hahah… tink he’s reali confused cos smtimes she forgets n revert bk to ma ma

hehee... now i declare my boy call me mama...i dun care lar..as long as call me... mama, mummy anything also can...as long as call me..

hahaaa...too desperate liao rite?

annabelle.. first teeth toothpaste no need to rinse one..if u worried, use a wet hanky wipe wipe lor..so far my boy been using..till now ok..

Annabelle,
for the first teeth toothpaste, what i did is after brushing my boi's teeth, i let him drink water, machiam like rinsing his mouth, and swollen it. I dun know how to teach him to spit out. So far, he is ok with it as well.

today is like a bad day for me!!! I kanna UTI since last nite... feels a slight burning sensation but thought is minor. Who knows ard mid nite it got worse and this morning when i woke up it was so bad that each time i pee was damn painful.

I down 2 litres of water and keep on drinking hoping it will go away but who knows... notice a few spots of blood and later on it starts to bleed big time!!! Me so scare... rush to GlenEagles to see Specialist. But the Gynae there like damn relax abt my case wor, and somemore juz give me some painkiller and refused to give anti-biotic until the urine report comes out "3 days" later *faint ah* I remember in Sg, my gynae can produce test and tell me on the spot.

The best part is i couldn't produce any urine sample cos' the bleeding is so bad... i can't be collecting blood sample instead rite *sori if it sounds too scary* =< So i went back to the Specialist and he said then let's do an ultra sound. Then i got my bladder damn full in order to scan after drinking plently of water, but they keep me waiting for so long until i need to burst liao. I even want to give up and juz cheong to pee!! But then, juz when i was at the verge of giving up they called me in. The doc check and keep pressing somemore *can die ah...* finally it is done and the result is ok.
So now i'm so confused... not sure wat to do, but i feel safer to consult my own Gynae back in Sg, at least to find out why am i bleeding?? Cos' i have never experience UTI with bleeding b4. Back then, i always kanna cos' while in Sales realli no time to drink water and pee, Hiaz! But this time like so jialat!

So i have decided to take a flight back home with Rachel tml... hope everything is fine =(

What an experience for me.......

Alice, take care, sound pain pee blood. Sound like Dr in India very relax type .. like here boo boo...

Ant, hubby just brought him to see the PD again, hubby stubborn say this PD is good and experience #$%@, again PD still say take the same medicine again, but if we suspect and worry about his out of breathe at night, we can get the neubliser to let him breath. The neubliser cost $400+ to buy .. dun know if really need or not. He did not even suggest to go hospital to do x-ray etc ... Aloy cough about 5 times less than 5 mins just about once each night not like cough and cough all night, so my hubby think maybe is not that serious. I will go get 2nd option tonight w/o hubby.

Yanling, ya somehow japanese cannot drink plain water must have some taste. Lucky my boy still take plain water, but he very happy when he see water is brown color !!! baby snacks very nice here, the egg ball taste same as the normal adult's !

Re: Child care
Do we need to apply way before hand for child care ? If I want to join Jan next year, when do I apply ? Can reserve place now for next year ? Need to have prove that both parents working and really no one to help look after kid ?

loomi, u coming back sin to work? i tink for those high demand or popular child care, mayb u nid to call and register early in order to secure a place ba...mayb u juz email to those childcare u looking at to see how their Q is like...

alice...issit menses??? are u ok... oh dear... take care ah...

loomi...for child care i heard some places must "chope" real early leh....so if u got target some childcare..better go register or chope first.....

can u try not to give ah boy biscuit for time being? coz maybe heaty leh...i duno lar..when my boy sick..i cut down on biscuit..hahaa...very KS hor... coz i remember the gerber star very heaty... take care ah

alice, i can understand..
cos i also kena uti after giving birth.so my gynae refer me to a female urologist at mt a...
if you need the contact, email me?

choc,
u measure raphael's height already mah?

ant,
lol. grow 10cm in 1 yr sure no prob lo. Aldan sure v tall next time. Guy tall built very man. plus if he loves the sun, sand n beach then will be tall n tan = a hunk liao. hehehe.

loomi,
hehehe. still got time. u and ur hubby tall mah? me n my hubby nt tt tall so pray hard Damien will be taller than 1.7m. hahaha. ya lo, think let them roam abt the hse is gd lo coz they can practise more. in winter is the flr cold? dun worry la, diff babies develop differently one.

Corynn,
frm BP is cheaper but got to wait for 4-5weeks for the vcd/dvd to be delivered lo. if u can wait then can get frm BP la. if not go KP got instant gratification =)

Re: babies calling MIL
didnt know so many peranakan ladies in our thread. so u ladies must have watched the show? hmm..my MIL is peranakan but she is a hokkien so wans my boy to call her Ah Ma...however, my boy calls my mum ah ma so my boy will call her po po.

ant,
me n my hubby are teochews =P

alice,
aiyo. that sounds bad le. hope its nthing major. u take care n keep us updated ya.

haiz..my boy past 2 days total milk intake less than 150ml for entire day..me duno wats wrong...

oh mommies..
after many days of babbling, last nite darren knows how to call "da - di" which really sounded like "daddy" make my hubby so happpy..
and i so sad...the heart=less baby.. hmm...

Bad day for me too... my gal fell from my bed yesterday nite... was not in time to catch her fall. now she has a bah lu ku on her left forehead and this morning her eyes also swollen leh... now mil monitoring her. taking her to e pd tonite.

Going to get a bed rail for her already... haiz 2nd time she fell from my bed already. any mummies here got e bed rail which brand better?

Diana, must chop place huh.. I better research now. Yap.. going Spore end of the year .. cos kanna fried sotong ! :p

Choc, oh ok I better stop giving biscuit. Think I am the one who spolit him with snacks.

annabelle,
sayang ur gal. rem to monitor her. esp her fontaelle. so long as nt tense and bulging.

bed railing for adult bed ah? got such thing ah? i thot only available for kid le. my bed quite high n my boy fell frm it a few times le. me also would like to keep a lookout for bed railing for adults bed le.

loomi,
ya. I think biscult are generally heaty. if nt well, then cut dwn first la. and drink plenty of water...haiz...my boy dun like to drink water still...

val, think have leh those bed rail tat can be fit at e side of e bed i saw before forgot where think will check out kiddy palace. my bed also very high lor haiz... this morning her left eye swollen until very jialat leh her big eyes suddenly like so small
me feeling so guilty cant catch her in time fall rite before my eyes.

Val, tink bed railing for adult bed is usually used for old folks de...to prevent them from falling...

annabelle, ur gal fall sound bad le....tink mayb u shld bring her to see PD soon and dun wait till evening le...coz her eyes also swollen liao...i might sound kan cheong but i alway believe early treatment is the best lor...

loomi, aiya...u shld noe ma...we singaporean are well known for kiasu-ness lor....muiahahaha

loomi..can eat biscuit lar..but when ur case..he cough and got phelgm..maybe try to reduce and increase water intake??

hehee..typical chinese...to say biscuit is heaty..LOL...

annabelle...can apply zambak anot? ya..agree with diana...bring to pd asap ba...eyes leh... very impt

annabelle/diana,
then the bed rails attach to where? the bed or is it standing on the flr type?

that time my boy was playing on the bed with my hubby and he fell off the bed n my hubby felt v guilty he cant catch him in time too. his eyebrow there got a blue black.

loomi,
just rem to give plenty of water if give biscults. too much biscult not enuff water for adults sometimes also can get sore throat le. at least for me sure sore throat if too much biscults =)

annabelle, i tink i noe which type u referring to....i tink i saw it in taka fair tat time...it is those removable rails...but normall people use on child bed nt sure if can fix on master bed bo....

val, tink attached to the side of the bed ba...

diana,
those removable rails i have seen before but also to child bed le. if really can fix on masterbed then gd. hehehe.

pooh,
u going to be SAHM?

Alice,
you sounded bad ... i also always kena UTI, but it was not as bad as you mentioned leh, quite scary ... so its good that you fly back to SG to do a proper check, take care !

Annabelle,
hiyo "sayang your gal" ... like what the gals said, apply "zambak" for the blueblack, it does help.

jer/val
not gg to be SAHM but full time student

my co sent me back to sch, it's a 3 yrs course.. finally no more working nights, and i could have my weekends and PH back!! somemore i got sch holidays!!! haha

annabelle
u can put ice in a hanky and put it at the baluku there for abt 15-20 mins.. after that apply zambak.. the baluku will subside very fast.. abt the swollen eyes, think ask ur MIL bring her to pd have a check 1st

Kindermusik Lesson , every Sun at 10am , starting from 3 May 09.

Charges for 8 lesson : $190.40 /each lesson : $23.80
Homepack material : $63 (compulsory)
Registration fee : $50 (lifetime)
Total after 7% GST : $324.64

1. Dolly/BB Rayden
2. Jo / BB Jorel (Tentative)
3. Adnes/ BB Morgan Faith
4. Yvonne/ BB Cheng Xuan

alice,
your condition sounds scary... better take care..you can try drinking more barley water and cranberry juice..works well for me..

pooh,
hehhee. ya. coz i rem u in r in the same profession as my cousin. she also did her full time studies in the past 2 yrs. she so happy coz can spend more times with my nephew. hehehe. good for u and jia you in ur studies! hehehe.

wow.. so many posts these 2 days.. hehe..

alice, aiyo.. how come your UTI so jialat.. sounds really scary lo.. drink more cranberry juice... cranberry juice supposed to help alot. hope you'll be well soon..

pooh, wow.. so good got send for classes and no need to work.. how nice.. hehe..

loomi, coming back liao ar? if you going those neighbourhood childcare usually don't really need to book one. But best is to call and check with them to see if there is waiting list.. be kiasu abit lo..
and ya.. biscuits don't give them too much... must drink lots of water..

val, damien's milk intake very low leh.. everyday should drink at least 200ml.. is his other tooth coming out?

last night, i dreamt that matthias' bottom teeth coming out.. hahahaha.. think i'm crazy liao..

Alice,
Oh no, your UTI sounds bad. Glad to hear that you are coming back to Sg tomorrow for check up. Think see doc here will put ur heart more at ease ah. Meanwhile do take the painkillers coz it's not good for u to hold ur urine..take care ah..

update on 1st bday preparation

I am nw checking out caterer le....juz email the caterer i used for daryl full month celebration see if got discount bo...muahahaha

cheri,
ya..i also think its way too low!!! i even told my mum no matter wat must make him drink..spoon feed or wat i dun care! just now called back he drink 10ml nia...-_-''' i m v stressful le scare he get dehyrated...nt sure if his teeths are coming out again...did touch the gum yest but looks ok le..nt swollen or wat...but his solid is still as per normal...

hahaha. u been thinking much abt his teeth izit? nvm la, come out later = drop later =)

Alice,
Sounds so painful... Hope you can get well soon. Remember drink more water.

Annabelle,
I think I saw those bed rail at Kiddy Palace before, you can go take a look. You can try rub hard boil egg for your ger also. Suppose to help to reduce swelling.

diana,
he looks normal to me le. eating solids, playing as per normal. i asked my mum for updates during daytimes also. she says he looks n behaves as per normal lo...just that nt drinking well..even when i pump out fresh n bottle feed him he also dun wan...he only drinks when latched on..can see his fontanelle is actually sink in abit which to me means nt enuff fluid. so for his dinner, i add more water to make it more watery lo. hopefully it helps and his milk intake will increase.

going to monitor him for these few days..if still the same think i rather look silly n foolish but will bring him to pd le. =( *pray he is fine*

val
thx! how much ur boy drinking?

cheri
ya lor.. i looking forward to schooling again :p

diana
i haben do anything abt my boy's bdae lor.. i just ordered some stuff from hellobee only.. haben search for caterer and cakes.. that time, i saw someone post a link on cakes.. cupdivine something.. anyone still got the link?

alice
got see lokun anot? come to nuh find me la.. now got study for ladies with UTI.. admit for one day, dun need pay anything.. somemore got a small fee for u cause u participate in this study :p

Kindermusik Lesson , every Sun at 10am , starting from 3 May 09.

Charges for 8 lesson : $190.40 /each lesson : $23.80
Homepack material : $63 (compulsory)
Registration fee : $50 (lifetime)
Total after 7% GST : $324.64

1. Dolly/BB Rayden
2. Jo / BB Jorel (Tentative)
3. Adnes/ BB Morgan Faith
4. Yvonne/ BB Cheng Xuan
5. Choc/ BB Raphael

u try formula milk already? my boy drink lesser of bm but more of fm leh.. once he dun drink bm from bottle when i'm working, i bot friso.. in the end, he gulp 240mls down in one feeding.. now when i work, he will take fm, if not i'll latch all the way