(2008/05) May 2008

CRANBERRY BEANS
Cranberry beans are about a half-inch long and are brownish with pink splotches that disappear when cooked. Cranberry beans have a nutty flavor. Their creamy, red streaked flesh has a smooth texture.
Nutritionally speaking, cranberry beans are an excellent source of folate and a good source of iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, and copper.

Got the above from the net

diana,
yes. this zhen zhu dou is very healthy and its also abit ex frm wat my mum told me =) i like to eat it too. =P

yanling,

my PD also prescribed tat phytonutrients thingy.....and now boy also on reutefene (probiotics for bb)....

same as u lor PD give i take lor...:p

**intruder from April thread haha

any babies is on Friso follow-on ... i have got a tin of 900g to give away. I bought to let Rayden try as he rejected milk, but still, he also dun like. So better not waste .... pls let me know.

hi mummies.. aldan's cough got worse this mornin n i brot him to tmc PD, took blood test n xray n was diagnosed w w pnuemonia =( has to be on neubliser for nxt few days n if dun recover by sunday, may hv to admit to hosp. so heartache to c him cryin when he was on the neubliser at the clinic. sighz... n PD said he has sensitive lungs so wil be prone to infection =( din expect a cough to be so serious. prayin hard he wil recover real soon. gd thing is he's stil as active n appetite stil ok.

nana...u so cute leh...next time i post in april thread..i must put intruder from May

hahahaaaaa

ant...take care wor...so serious ah!

ant_ting

it is really heart pain to see our kid having have to go through all this. Take care of yourself too so u can take care of Aldan.

ant,

just to share how to make baby inhale from the nebulizer not crying.. cos darren also kena it last week, and he struggle/cried big time at the clinic when the nurse did for him.
when i brought him home, i on the "your baby can read" video and try not to press the mask on his face. so he won't feel scared by the mask... after a few tries, he was ok with it and at the some time, he can still smile at the tv.. so maybe u want to try?

Ant,

Yes, I agree with Yanling!

Try to distract your boy while using the nebulizer and if he really hates it, u can remove the mask and just use the tube to blow thou some might said it's less effective but this is less traumatised for the baby (one PD told me to use this method coz he said it's ok so long baby inhale the meds).

To share my experience, when my boy was on nebu in one clinic at TMC, he cried until so badly and the nurse told me that it's ok for the baby to cry coz they will inhale more. Later on after doing more reading, i found out that it's crap!! the meds wont go thru if bb cry.

So, please distract ur boy with toys, fave cds anything that he likes while doing the nebu so he will inhale the meds and quickly recover.

Hang in there! Hope Aldan gets well soon!

**Again, me intruding May thread (hope the mummies here don't mind)

na na ,

hahah :p intruder hahaha funny mummy .

Hope your little one recover liao

Val,
coz i don like the thought that he swallow toothpaste, so i haven give it to him yet.. but if u want, can put some on the toothbrush. =)

Diana,
where to get the zhen zhu dou. thanks..

Ant,
hope Aldan get well soon...

Wahahaa.. choc, ur 2nd pic make me laugh out loud out of sudden, my hubb tot what am i surfing...

Ant
Hang on. Stay strong for your baby. Aldan will recover soon.

ant,
hope aldan get well fast...sayang him for me

choc,
raphael so cute in his red car...

just got back this evening and now tim is more sticky to us.. apparently he didn't drink milk the last few days..so lost some weight.he has been crying so much tat his voice has become husky.. he must be thinking tat me and my hubby deserted him

ant,
oh dear, take extra care and monitor your boi's condition ya...i dun know much about pnuemonia but I know its not a laughing matter.

Dolly/Alice,
me think and think and think...finally, decided not to bring my baby. think if i bring him, i will be super tired x 3...especially when i'm unsure of the terrain den lagi no no....(me first time going taipei)
but will be brining randall to KL for a week in June. =)

Joint passport:
ya, think no more liao....but even if there is this option, i will not go for joint application as i prefer baby to have his own....just a thought, if mummy is detained or something, den baby has no travel document and will be troublesome to get out of the country also.

Choc, your pic is so farnie! my hubby finds it farnie too!

Sugar... U are back!! How's the trip?? Hehe.. Must be fun hor... Aiyo... Tim cry till voice husky ah.. Must have missed u alot lor...

Nana... U so funny leh.. U not intruder lar... Already one of us liao..

Car: actually initially I was abit disappointed on the red motor car coz I keep feeling it's abit too 'adult' for my boy...
And also becoz my mum place too small.. They told me too big lar etc... Until today I bring it home... Phew... My worries were gone...

Hehe.. Think u all can consider getting this or the little tikes car...
I too anxious to get... So didn't wan to wait for other colors... Pink also not bad ah.. If next one gal.. Can reuse

ant,

oh dear, sound beri serious...do take care and hope ur boy get well soon....

beebee,

normally if u pre boil the soup base 1st wif the meat and bean, then use the soup to cook the porridge, i dun tink u nid to feed bb the bean le...coz all the nutrient in the soup then transfer to the porridge le...

chobits,

i tink u can get in those wet market de...

i'm a mom from the Oct 08 thread. My SIL's personal fren's son has got Leukemia and needs B negative blood. Pls help to forward this message on.

Dear Friends,

My friend's little boy, Barney Allan Jeffs, is in need of B negative blood. The blood bank does not have any B negative blood in storage as it is fairly uncommon blood type in Asians. If you are B negative blood type please contact me so we can add your name to a donor list specifically for donation to Barney. The Blood Bank will follow up by contacting you to ask you to come in and donate. If you contact the blood bank directly, they have told us they will give the blood to the next B negative recipient in need.

Barney is 5 years old and he was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia unexpectedly on Tuesday. His only symptoms were that he had been tired and pale during the past week. Today Barney had a bone marrow aspiration test to type his Leukemia and received his first infusion of Platelets and Blood to increase his blood count to an acceptable level so that he can have a central IV line placed tomorrow. The line will allow him to start receiving chemotherapy. As there was no B negative blood available in Singapore this evening, he had to be given B positive blood tonight. This not only increases his chances of a reaction to the blood, but it means he has to have a special injection so that his body won't react to the rhesus positive blood. As you can imagine, each additional injection is torture to a five year old!

Barney's battle with Leukemia will be a long and hard one. The family has been living in Singapore several years and his mom Annie is Irish and his dad David is from New Zealand. They are alone here without family to help them through this, so any support we can give them by trying to get donors is very much appreciated. Please help to forward the request especially around the Caucasian communities in Singapore that are more likely to have people of B negative blood type. The hospital has explained that Barney will require many transfusions of blood and platelets over this initial first week of treatment and in the coming months and a list of at least ten donors will be needed.

Thank you to those who have already started circulating information out. Please do have people continue to contact me if they can donate. We have already had a great initial response of 5 Irish B negative donors tonight but more are needed. Please contact me by phone or email with your name, IC or passport number, contact number and date of birth so I can collate the listing to send to the blood bank.

Sincerely,

Erin
9833-4954
Friend of Annie, David and Barney Jeffs

If you are not B negative, but wish to donate to blood bank you may want to visit www.redcross.org.sg

Choc ,

hahahah ...so Rachael really got the season parking !!! So funny and cute :p

Diana ,

They can eat zhen zhu bean liao huh ...very hard to find in market nowadays ...i love to eat when is the soup .

Sugar ,

huh ??? Tim is more sticky to you now !!
What abt his latching ???And he dun drink milk and lost weight ....
must be very heart pain .

As you are Sahm that why he tend to be more sticky to you

Does Tim latch during the day too when you taking care of him ?

Now i think better think twice now for a holiday without him .

Choc,
buay tahan you lor, like that also can .... but there again, Raphael car looked so mini beside the daddy's car, so better make plans to upgrade ... hahaha

Buttercup,
oh yes, defintely will be more tiring if you are bringing baby, and especially if it is meant for shopping trip .... maybe you can consider to bring Randall along for the R & R trip like resort, it shd be better. I am planning to bring Rayden for Club Med or Bintan in July.

Sugar,
welcome back ... shiok shiok life is over, and now back in SIN. Hiyo Tim must have missed you alot lor. Tell you, when i came back that evening and went to fetch Rayden, he was like normal leh, not specially sticky to me or what, instead when he saw his daddy, he wants him instead, dun even look for me lor, so sad

ant,
Aldan will get well. Altho he still actively creating mess everywhere but its a gd sign, better than he keep quiet unlike his usual self ok. hehehe. take these few days to rest well. =)

choc,
gd pics! =)

sugar,
aiyo..sayang Tim...so did he manage to kick off latching?

buttercup,
terrain in taiwan is ok la. can bring pram for most places. people there are v friendly =)

choc,
why u say bring hm liao phew?

Jo,
can find it at the market at 605. my mum always go there to get.

Val ,

Ok ...will tell my MIL to get from there

Thank for the information !!

Re :Taiwan

Buttercup ,

But i think the places there not baby friendly loh ...and the ground like very hard to walk not easy to push pram too .

Like what Dolly mentioned bring him to resort or cruise like me loh ahahah !!

jo,

i dun noe if bb can eat the bean yet...but i dun tink my nanny let him eat the bean....but juz use it to boil his porridge nia ba...

Jo,
no prob =)

hahaha. conclusion: sg still nt best rite? save and terrain is gd. not natural disaster too. hehehe.

i sld faster go n do damien's passport liao coz hubby actually asked if we sld bring him to bintan for his 1st bday. no passport no travel, got passport will travel =P

val..
coz my mum's home too small mah... then i feel so stress leaving it at her house..until last nite we bring home

i feel a sense of relief... no more nagging and the car seems FINE!! hahahaaaaa.. somemore got remote control..so my hb remote control it down the carpark and Raphael cannot resist and wan to sit inside..
then me this siao mummy...got to put on his "Seat belt" and run together with him..to avoid him from slipping off..fun lar..but tiring lar....

i tink damien will look cool in the car..come lar..buy lar..

WAHHAAA

chobit,
actually me havent buy any toothpaste yet le..any recommendation which brand to buy? heard that the 1st toothpaste is safe for babies but seems to be discountinued le...hard to find...

choc,
u trying to tempt me rite? poisonous choc!!! hehehe. But actually i do like the motorised car le...i think my hubby will like too coz he is always buying motorised toys...hehehe.

can buy for damien 1st bday. next bp then! hahaha.

when raphael grows up can do away with the remote n he drives himself rite?

Hi Suagr

I am sure how much Tim misses you and hb... No joke ok. Cos Megan will cry if i leave the house wout her and i can even hear her cries when i am downstairs... sighz...then when i am back.. she will stick to me like super glue.

Hey Choc

Reali buay tahan you.... your pictures always full of ideas... make me LOL!!

re;latching
tim still latch on me last night.. apparently my mum say he miss my breasts...so dun wanna drink from the bottle... and he's hooked on cereal now..i had to wake up at 5 this morning to feed him cereal as my milk not substantial enough for him!!!

jo,
agree with you tat i'm a sahm tats why he's so sticky... must have felt abandoned by me

Sugar ,

hahaha 5am to feed cereal hahah Tim must be said Mummy you have your fun now you back hahah work harder for me

hmmm ...so still cannot cut off the latching part !! I think our boys miss our breasts so badly when we are away i think now is harder now .

My supply now super low even though i only latch him in the nite feed . He suck so hard until i feel the sore and pain .Jorel only got two front teeths if more coming up i dunno what going happen to my boobs .AHHHHHHHHHHHHH HELP

But BO-PIAN sigh ...dunno what to do .

sugar, mayb u wan to start gifing him dilute FM first...tat is if u gifing him 180ml of FM, instead of full 6 scoops, u put 5 and a half scoop of milk powder lor...then wen he more acceptable to FM then put to full lor...

Val ,

I fully agreed .

I cannot imagine me still BF him !!

My hubby nowadays easy way out if he dun want to sleep or nap . Everytime ask me to latch him on make me fed up .

jo,
hahahhaa. my hubby long ago will push damien to me asking me to latch if he dun wanan slp..he will ask damien to look for the magic nipples. haaha

i think they dun really understand wats going on and duno why we dun wana latch them...all they know is they wan milk = look for breasts...they wan comfort = look for breasts...

so when we dun latch them they may feel we dun wan them?

its gd to be able to breastfeed them but dwnside is hard to kick the habit of latching coz they are too used to it le. unless we break this habit that is...but i also duno hw...

val...
the motor car yes when he older and noe how to drive can..got a pedal at the below like our normal car patten press liao will go forward..

reverse got to press a button then step on the pedal... have to admit i start to like the car liao..hahahaaaa
initially still thought is an investment go wrong..WHhahahahahaaaa

diana...
who poison??? *act innocent* ??

angela..
hehee..i very bo liao rite..last nite at car park..i told hb i wan take pict..heheee...so i go to the other end and take lor..hehee..then ask my boy sit inside..
hahaaa.. too free

sugar..

u tried mixing some cereal into milk and let tim tim drink?? i always scoop 2 teaspoon into raphael every feed..hahahaaaa
make him feel fuller!! hahaa

FM... i tried to give when my boy awake...at most drink 40ml nia...at nite when he aslp..i dream feed him..drink ard 100ml then dun wan...
tink he can tell the diff coz normally he drink ard 180ml... try lor...
i dun wan to give BM forever...now trying to cut down on my supply..hahaa... seems successful... now can endure till 5hourly!! yeah..

toothpaste..
u wan to try first teeth toothpaste? can eat one..safe to swallow

choc,
gd. mayb u can start to be spokeperson for this motorised car le. hehehe. no investment gone wrong la. ur big boy n small boy also like $$ well spent. hahaha.

so now u will try to give him mixed fm with bm for every meal ah?

yes, i wanna buy the 1st teeth toothpaste le but most of the overseas sprees org dun have extra le...