(2008/05) May 2008

icebubbles,
maybe cos my baby drinks less milk so one side is enough for him. This week he just 'upgraded' to 130ml and interval drag to 3-4hourly. He's a small drinker.

Nurses always tell us to alternate sides after 15mins, but I read from the website (Jack Newman's) and he recommends to finish the first breast first and let baby unlatch himself then offer second breast.

Jas,
Wat I do for daytime is I will latch him on one side and manual pump the other. So both sides are balanced. Night times I feed him one side only and leave the other. Too tired liao. And when I go shopping, I nurse him one side only and sometimes if he can take the other side, good for me, less engorged.

Morning ladies.

did ur go to Taka baby fair?
got anyting cheap & must buy ?

Hi Jas

my baby blog address are www.rebangela.blogspot.com

I am staying at Joo Chiat, so to drive to Punggol will be a distance.. You teaching?? Tao Nan?? heehee...

RE : Solid Food

I think i will start my ger after 6months to avoid allegies.. I am reading this book called " Super baby food " ans the suggested after 6months too.. But i am looking forward to that.. already bought the food blender from Isetan called " U - Like ", is a apnese brand and looks really good.

I was at the fair with dolly23& muzicalgal!

Actually nothing much loh after our delivery . Think almost the same .

But pigeon have deals are 50percent off for exchange any brand 4oz or 8oz wide neck bottle.

Tracy ,

Sorry to ask ...your little one how many months...isn`t all the while small drinker.

Cos my boy used to drink 120ml FM when in his 6 weeks... now he 8 weeks plus his appetite become small hardly can finish 100ml. As for latching I will let him unlatch or not more than 15mins.

Angela ,

Do let me know what there to buy in metro sales.
When it ended ...do you know ?

Hi Everyone!

I'm back. Had been really busy with Baby Adam. Was exclusively pumping coz he can't latch on. Life was feeding, pumping, washing up for every 2hours.

My boy likes fine dining... as he cries for feed every 2hours. Tiring.

Until 2days back. Interestingly, he searched for my nipple while i was feeding him from the bottle and tried latched on. He went "chap chap chap" and drink from my breast.

My husband and I were stunned. As we had been trying to establish breast feeding with him since birth but he refuse and can't get a grip at my nip (my nip short la) So each outing, we have to bring all our barang barang out and worry about engorgement.

Went to parkway yesterday and finally, i was able to shop for more than 3hours and free from barangs barangs. Tried breastfeeding him in the nursing room and he went "chap chap chap" n i extending my shopping. ha...

Realized that bb do not have wind in his stomach as often now. N he is happier.

Can't upload bb's photo. Using imac. Dunno which is the function. Anyone uses imac too? can teach me how to do it?

went to see the baby swimming webby just nw
so cute!!!
they say baby swimming is gd
nw hv promo, $112 for 5 sessions
tot of bringing him there liao
but scared he cry leh
is it really safe?

Tracy,

tis week my gal is 12weeks. but she still drinking 100ml with interval 3-4hours, sometime 60ml with interval 2hours.. really small drinker rite?

hi luvbella,

i'm also back at work and ss have been really low. i tried to express but only managed to squeeze time to express once a day. but the last 2 days, i was really tired with both kids that i didn't express.....really wonder whether i should stop.....

Hi Faith ,

You the one who suppose to deliver on 28may ... but deliver early rite . And got the hubby and my hubby got the same surname ?
Do you have a blog so that I can update yours!!

Long time no see!! Glad you are going well with your boy ! I`m also busy taking care my boy Jorel .

As for me i have been latching him since his birth .But I think i got not enough supply on partial formula milk Now he drinking every 4 hours now ... so much better now. The only free time is while he is napping . Anyway going back to work in 2 weeks time and kinda of worry how my mum going to handle him cos he is kinda of sticky to me at time

my baby also drink very little le..now 12weeks liao oly drink 100-140ml... when he happi he drink more.. nt so happi drink lesser n start to play wid the teats.. and the no. of feeds also decreased...quite worried if he gt enough milk...but when he go for check up his weight did increased.. so juz wondering how much milk is enough??

Felval- my boy’s nxt appt is this comin mon but hor tinkin if I shd bring him to PD instead of the polyclinic.. yalor, my hb says I at hm also can spend money! Haha…but gd buys mah =D
I also wan to bring my boy to the thermal pool but my hb says wat for waste the money when we can go to his parents’ condo pool foc! Sighz
Hehe. U go try lah. Sekali can fit also leh! I managed to button up but tight lah. Happy alrdy.. hahahha… althou stil got 7kg of fats to lose.

Fion- I did put him on his side. But he wil be bk to his normal position. Nw his head like harden liao leh. sm more he got nt much hair so the flatness is v obvious =(

Buttoncup- I only took out my boy’s mittens in the day, stil let him wear in the nite in case he scratches his face. True enough, the nite b4, realize his rite mitten dropped off n he got a scratch on his nose there! Got blood sm more!

Jas- ur boy looks so happy in the pics! Shall show my hb n c if can change his mind anot! Hahah

Re: milk intake
My boy is 13 wks nw n drinkin 120ml every 3 hrs. there was a period 2-3 wks back where he drank v little, like 90ml or smtimes cant even finish! I was so worried thn. But his appetite went bk to normal few days after tat. Tink it’s a phase every bb wil go thru bah…

re: mummies who r bfg
r u all takin calcium pills? can advise where to buy? mine finish liao n tot of gettin frm pharmacy instead gg dwn to my gynae's clinic to buy.

jovial, i tink it is normal for bb at 3 mths old de. at least tat is wat my PD tell me. He say tat nw, bb are more curious and tend to look ard more often. and they might nt drink as much. if u worry, u can check wif ur PD.

ladies, me back to work on monday. gosh, was like so out of touch of my work. took me awhile to recall some tings on my reports etc. wahaha....and it is so tiring to pump in office also de lor. coz my office nursing room is on a diff floor, and hv to take keys then can go. lucky is tat beside me, there are only 3 other ladies using the room. so we hv make our own arrangement on the nursing room slot which ease us the trouble of gng to our admin dept. Nw i pump 3 times in office. Once in the morning wen i reach, one during lunch time another one in the evening....

btw, my boy nw weight 6.26kg at 3mths 5 days lor...my PD say normally, 6mth bb weight at 6kg but Daryl is nw 6.26kg lor...wahaha...but he say it is ok de...

Hey Jo,

Yap. I'm the one you are talking about. hee... Water bag burst on 25th may. 26th deliver through c-sect. 12 bloody hours in labour and went for c-sect on the 13th hour. A bit of drama mama.
I don't have a blog. Ere... only friendster. Can add me la. [email protected].
Jorel has bright and alert eyes!
As for me, i was pumping most of the time.. at every 3hrs. N my maid has to help feed and entertain him while i pump.(my maid is in the room while i pump lor. so peiseh... but no choice) So sad... can't really bond and play with bb. He likes playing with my hubby but forgets all about poor mummy.
Felt so guilty that all my time has been spent on pumping.
But since he started to latch on few days back, he smiles at me whenever i appear and started playing with me. That's so wonderful.
I started bringing him to my mum's when he is 1month old and my mum helped take care of him so that i can rest and pump. So far, he is ok with my mum and dad. Got to let him get used to his caregiver early ba.

was worried about my bb boy how come drink so little and he is 11 weeks old now..he only drinks like 2 or 3 oz every 2 or 3 hours, so small eater..but after reading some of you mommies facing the same issue, i guess its a passing phase for babies around this time...so no more worry !!:)

now kinda regret using the rocker, must rock him then will sleep..sianz...there was once no one at home, i needed to poo , had to carry the rocker into the bathroom, rocked him while pooing..geez....

ant,
i'm taking Caltrate 600. One tablet every morning, prescribed by gynae but can buy from pharmacies too.

Lukemommy,
hahaha, it's like that one. When you look after alone, sometimes no time to poo, bathe, eat. Last time I also had to put my gal in the exersauce in front of me to watch me poo!

lukemummy- haha.. same lah. smtimes i need to poo, my boy wil watch me in his rocker while i do my biz n sing to him at the same time! faintz manz.

tracy- hw much r the pills?

Hi Jo

Not so sure when the Metro sales will end. Nothing much at the fair too... but they do have baby cloths, wipes, strollers, toys there. But there is a Borders sales going on @ Expo also and end this Sunday which they sell quite a numbers of children books.

Hi Adeline

I incld Pheumococcus in my bb jabs... did her 1st @ 2months.

hi all.
today brought baby to the PD for the 3mth 5-1n-1 jab. ask you all hor, the 5-in-1 include polio also rite? cos the vaccination table in the health booklet there wrote polio is oral leh... but the PD only gave him one jab on the thigh.

anw, my boi is 8.84kg at 3 mths.... the PD said he is overweight liao.. sigh.. must go on diet. the prob is in the afternoon, we tried to delay his feeding time by giving him pacifier/water. but end up he cried and cried and cannot be pacified even we gave in and gave milk in the end. end up have to bring him downstairs in stroller, then only he quieten down.

currently stil using hte small avent bottle, each time give him full bottle, he will cry for milk in 1-2 hrs time leh. like tat how to make him go on diet? sigh... really headache.. cos heartpain to see him cry until face red and voice gone. got any suggestions?

Jane:
I am a new teacher, probabtion got extended due to maternity leave somemore! My bb is borned on 15th May. I am back for only a day so not sure how it will be next time. But will try my best to pump. I calculated need two free periods to sterilise, pump and wash. Can save money and bb gets the best too!

icebubbles:
My boy is a late bird, coz when I was expecting I sleep late around 1am so now his sleeping pattern is the same. He is a really power sucking machine. Better than the machine!

I latch one side then when he stop, I latch him on same side until he don't want anymore then latch the other side. I read that the more the bb latch on, the more the milk supply will be.

My friend told me normally will have one side more milk, it's natural. If you pump out from the left side? Can you see how much your supply is? It might help to increase supply also.

Tracy:
I find pumping quite painful after a while coz i used to feed then pump out excess. that was what the nurse taught me to increase supply. Now I prefer latch on and more comfortable. It's like a massage session unlike the beginning very painful.

Angela:
I am teaching not at Tao Nan. My school is St Stephen's School, all boys.. Perhaps Vivo area is nearer for you. There is one outlet there..

Are you teaching too? How was the taka fair? Must have been crowded.

Re: Garage sales
I am taking a stall with Pasir Ris East CC on 13th Sep 8am to 5pm to sell off some stuff. If you are interested to join, you are most welcomed!

MIL came over last weekend from msia. no time to post, very bz with her... shopping around.

Kelcqi, is ok, teats can keep. wait till your current one worn out then change to ur #3 & #4. Me too, kS bought some of #3 and all kinds of pacifiers then realised my boy dun really like that.

felval, thanks for your info. But i couldnt stand my hair and went to perm and highlight yesterday already.hahahha... My hairstylist checked ok to perm and used the mild chemical and he was very careful never touch my scalp. hopefully all ok.

Jas/icebubbles/tracy and aall mommies who latch thier babies...
i am so sad that my boy dun like to be latch on, he prefer bottle feed. whenever i put him at my nipples, he will scream and vomit... why huh?? since birth till now coming to 12 weeks, he latch on not more than 10 times.

Angela, how much you bought the baby food blender? m interested to introduce solid to my boy at about 4 month...

Yanling, wow.. ur boy is big ler. it is quite hard to go on diet for a baby. think u need some times to reduce his milk intake slowly and prolong his playing time. hopefully ur bb will get back to ideal weight soon. jia you!

Phew been a tiring week. Totally not enough sleep! Was back to work since Monday and it's terrible shuttling from home to MIL place then to work in the morning, then back to MIL place, and then back home and night. Worse still I'm driving with bb alone in the car. The other day got stuck in a jam for 1 hour and bb crying 3/4 the journey away, so heart pain can't do anything to comfort her cos she in the back seat. Worse still she was actually settling into a pretty nice pattern just before I started work, feedings also regularly at 130ml 3 hrly for BM and 130ml 4 hrly for FM, but now dunno if becos of her new routine, everything go haywire already. Sometimes she can't even finish 80ml now, and takes up to 1 hour to drink sometimes. Also getting extremely fussy. Very worried for her.

Tracy, lukemummy, ant,
When I'm alone I have to let bb watch me poo too! Haha, sometimes she watches me bathe cos my bathroom door is glass. Sometimes will be trying to dry myself then she cry, so have to sing and dance ard to distract her while trying to dry and dress myself.

Jer,
Some books recommending starting to introduce solids at 4 months, some say 6 months. I think I might want to start at 6 months, kiasu lah.

birdy,
previously I was planning on stopping BF just before I started work, but thought mabbe try and see if I can continue awhile longer. So now pumping 2x a day, sometimes also too tired to pump. Supply drop by 50%!

Jas,
Welcome to the thread! I didn't know there was this 3 month cranky thing, so they will get better after that??
I'm also interested in the swimming thing, but I stay at AMK, kinda far.

Re: sucking/biting fingers
My gal simply loves sucking on her fists as well, until saliva all over the mouth, she still can't control her fingers though, so sometimes will accidentally put one or two fingers into the mouth and end up poking herself. She also likes to turn to the side when she's lying down and lick the bedsheet. Yucks. Can't seem to stop her from doing this. Each time I try to hold her hands down and tell her no, but once I let go and turn my back, she's at it again. haha.

Hi Jas

I am not teaching. I am a SAHM but with full help from my mother too... so is 2 adults to 1 baby.. hahaha!! Wanted to start work but HB thinks i should just stay at home since i am still breastfeeding.. My mum do most of the stuffs like feeding her ( i express my milk ), bathe her, change her, sleep with her. I only play with her as my mum want to do everything :p

Hi Lynn

The blender selling @ $69.90 from Isetan. I bought them from Isetan @ Parkway.. according to the sales people, is on sales if not original price is $129.90.. Find it really good as it can even blend brown rice to powder form... very impress!

Re: sucking/biting fingers

asked PD when doing the jab, the PD say it's better not let bb suck on fingers leh cos it's a habit very difficult to wean off later. he said anytime he would prefer pacifier than fingers.

jas,
i like latching too cos so convenient and faster than pump! hehem my colleague's sons all from st. stephen's. he's got 4 boys!

jer,
i plan to start solids after 6mths. easier to feed milk when outdoor than solids :p

yanling,
ya..your boy is good weight! but to diet now like quite difficult leh. if they really hungry then we hv to feed them right. when i was young, i also demand milk alot and overweight but my mum didn't make me 'diet'. now i'm not overweight so i guess erm..ok bah.

angela ,

You sooo lucky to have your mum to help out !!
Hahah ...me too my mom help us but since the 1st day me and hubby wanna to try parenthood sooo everything done by us. Me feed and pat him to sleep. Hubby job is bath him haha :p

But going back to work ...my mom and in law will take turn to take care my son .

RE : carrying

Ladies do your babies play on his own ...my son if he is awake ...he wanna ppl to carry him . only time he will play on his own after a milk , the most only 30mins .

My mom and in law also scared of him ... dun want to carry him for long . Sigh !!

Lynn:
Is your nipple short or inverted? Did the nurses show and help you to latch on in the hospital? my bb couldn't latch on right side at all until i use the Medela Nipple Shield. Now i don't need it anymore. got one BN box not opened. if you're keen can sell you cheap. bought at $17.90

cutie188 and all:
Happy National Day too!

Diamondust:
I was in the same situation as you on Friday. had to pull over by the road shoulder. One couple actually stopped over and helped me. The wife carried my bb while i drive home and husband followed behind my car. My place was quite far from them! Very grateful to them.

the crankiness will go away after couple of days. like a monthly cycle coz they are growing n patterns change.

Angela:
Wow, you're so lucky to have your mum helping and husband's support. I would die to be a SAHM

Tracy:
haha what a coindence that you know St Stephen's. Now that I have a boy and everything we buy is so boyish. It would be quite cost saving if I have boys in future. Can share!

Hi mummies I've updated my son's site with your site links.

Any more? I've categorised into Princes and Princesses.. With the DOB next to the names. Very cool coz they will all be the same age group.

Pls pls pls repost your blog address here

hi all mummies. i am new here. My baby is born on 30 May via c-sect.

i've been a silent readers all the while since my baby's birth & had learn a great deal of baby stuff from the mummies here.

Hi Jas,

After reading ur post on baby swimming, I brought my baby for a swim @ punggol too. She totally enjoy it. I was psycho by the staff to sign up a 5 session package already.

my baby swimming - 10 weeks old

1624353.jpg

Do include my bb's blog in your site as well ya

http://www.lexuan-fairytale.blogspot.com

tracy/diamondust,

my supply was only 30-40ml..really tiring to handle 2 kids plus work.....i think this is the end of my BM supply......sad....

Jas,
That's so nice of the couple!

Birdy,
Is your #1 very sticky to you? It's really tiring if #1 sticks to you. At least you gave about 4mths BM, very good liao.

Re:Savings on breastfeeding
My mum was telling me the newspaper reported if a woman breastfeed exclusively for 6mths will save in all $720. I was saying the report is probably not accurate! The amount I spend on breastpads, milkbags is so quite alot wor.

Jo,
I remember my #1 was like dat, always want carry all the time, gotta carry and rock to sleep everytime. I was soooo tired cos she only wanted me and not hubby to rock her. When she grew older, dun need to carry, only need to pat to sleep. Then eventually no need any of this and now she sleeps on her own. So it's a phase gotta 'tong' thru.

There's a belief that one child will be difficult to handle and the another one easy. Hopefully it'll be true for you so your #2 will be easy. It's true for me cos now #2 is so much easier and it's not just because it's my 2nd baby!

Tracy ,

thank for your advise !!Hopefully thing will be easier later on

Now I won`t even want think of another 1 ... all my time is on him ! Maybe I will consider after 3 yrs later ba .

Xiao Hua ,

Saw your blog ...so nicely decorated. Your gal so dear!!

And you hava put your gal on the jumperoo already ...so she have start jumping in it ??
Do she like it !!

Jo,

She can't jump yet.. Just "gong gong" sit inside. Then within minutes, she dozed off.. Haha

Jas,

Added ur handsome prince on my blog too

Hi ant1712 (ant1712),

I have a bottle of calcium tablet to give away. I dun dare to swallow the pills hence stop taking after 2 pills. You want?

This is the one I am referring to:

1624528.jpg

If u want, can drop by my work place at Novena to collect from me ya!